Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Start your review of John McAvoy.
John McAvoy
John McAvoy, Service Advisor, Don Wheaton Chevrolet GMC Buick Cadillac Ltd.
4.8

John McAvoy

Service Advisor

Don Wheaton Chevrolet GMC Buick Cadillac Ltd.

10727 - 82 Avenue NW
Edmonton, AB T6E 2B1

25 Reviews of John McAvoy

August 07, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great customer service"

- Garry26

Great customer service with a friendly atmosphere. Would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for another vehicle either new or used and their prices are good also

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Corey Sayer

Aug 12, 2019

Don Wheaton Chevrolet GMC Buick Cadillac Ltd. responded

Thank you for the review Garry!

June 15, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Excellent Customer Service"

- ttenetuik

From beginning to end, I found the customer service exceptional. Compliments to Ethan Shaw, Very nice to deal with and found home very professional. No pressure sales tactics, very accommodating and helpful. I will certainly forward his name to others I know are looking for a vehicle. From service I received excellent service. From the time I brought my truck in for service, they were knowledgeable, helpful and answered all my questions clearly and in a timely manner. I most certainly will be back for service as well.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jun 17, 2019

Don Wheaton Chevrolet GMC Buick Cadillac Ltd. responded

Thank you for the great review! We hope to work with you again in the future.

June 11, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Customer service"

- GMMAN

Everyone at Don Wheaton was really good to deal with during my recent purchase of a new vehicle. They treated me with respect. Ethan introduced me to everyone that was required to make the transaction as smooth as possible.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jun 13, 2019

Don Wheaton Chevrolet GMC Buick Cadillac Ltd. responded

Thank you for the review! It was a pleasure doing business with you.

May 13, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Keyless entry programming"

- Car nut

Went to Wolfe Cadillac on Saturday to see if I could get a couple of new fobs programmed and was told they only had apprentice mechanics in on the weekend, I asked how much it would be to have this done and was told $85.00, I then made my way to Wheaton's were I spoke to a service advisor and was told they couldn't help me that day but I could bring it in during the week. I asked how much it would be and was told 0.5 hour which is what Wolfe told me so i made an appointment for Monday. When I arrived I spoke to John McAvoy and right away he was telling me it would take an hour around $150. I told John I was in on Saturday and was told 0.5. This morning before going to Wheaton's I grabbed a new ignition key so I'd have an extra when I mentioned this to John his first words were we'll have to charge you more for this if you want to have it programmed my reply was I'd do it myself as (I thought it was like my Chevy and Pontiacs where you just cycled the good key then immediately cycled the new key) which it wasn't. They got my car into the shop and a tech finnaly started to work on it and next thing John is calling me to say the reciever in the car was not accepting signals and asked me if i wanted them to spend more time to find the problem but it would cost me more, I said go ahead as I wanted to know if I needed to pull a new receiver out of a parts dealer in the US cause all the Canadian suppliers were saying discontinued no longer available for sale, I found a new one online. In the end the Tech # 413 disconnected the receiver and reconnected it and it started working again so he was able to program my 2 fobs so I left feeling good about the car but bad as I feel I was mislead on pricing. If John really knew his product he would have informed me there was no self programming on my Caddy. I'm sure my car is not the first to need a receiver reset which should be part of the fob programming procedure, I watched the Tech from the moment my car was brought into the shop and he finally started working on it which was about 20 minutes total yet I was charged 0.8 so $ 122 labor, 19.52 Misc for a total of $ 148.60 . When John let me know it was done I asked if they had programmed my extra key and he replied no you said you'd do it yourself, again I didn't realize self programming was not an option so when I got home I tried setting up my key but failed, my point being the Tech already had the scan tool hooked up to the car but I would have to pay even more for a 2 minute job so now I'll have to make another trip and pay more to have an extra key for this car. Maybe if we were charged quoted rates a lot of people wouldn't have such a negative feeling about using dealership service departments. There is no customer development or retention at this dealership all it's about is we'll have to charge you more, so sad. Once they have your car your a hostage not impressive at all every little thing is we'll have to charge you more. You can probably get just as good of service at much better pricing elsewhere. Should have gone Wolfe for the real Caddy experience. Don't feel good about Wheaton's at all.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

April 10, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"This was the smoothest car purchase for me to date!"

- Dena

Ethan was incredible to work with, took time to explain everything to me, made sure my experience was superior. I feel like I left with exactly what I wanted in a vehicle without any of the usual frustration associated with car shopping.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Apr 16, 2019

Don Wheaton Chevrolet GMC Buick Cadillac Ltd. responded

Thank you for the great review Dena, we enjoyed working with you and hope you enjoy your new vehicle!

March 16, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great purchase experience!"

- Rickwool

Just took delivery of my new 2019 Chevrolet Colorado Z71 and have to give kudos to Shawn MacDougall and the whole team at Don Wheaton for a great sales experience - thanks!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Tim Florek, Shawn MacDougall, James Cormack

October 02, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great Experience"

- Danno

Dileep was a pleasure to work with and did everything he could to make my deal work including getting Nick into the office a couple of times to sign off. Dileep fulfilled his commitment to me and delivered the vehicle on time and was a true gentleman. I would recommend him as someone you would want to do a deal with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

October 02, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Best Customer Service Experience"

- DKOPP

Hands down John was awesome and the best service ive ever experienced i was helped out and my issue was covered through warranty which was awesome. Definitely recommend seeing John if your getting service done. He exceeded my expectations. Thanks John

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

September 24, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Thank You to Cassidy & Nik Jr"

- Pearl

It was nice to walk in to a roomy dealership. Cassidy was very knowledgeable, I had not given any thought to buying a Cadillac in my 4 months of vehicle shopping so I give Cassidy a lot of credit for how helpful he was. I didn't have to listen to "how great this dealership was and their great ratings etc" as I heard from other dealerships. It's been quite an experience for me as a single senior lady. Test driving a suv with sold sign in window but "no that doesn't mean anything " 2 hrs later I'm told "sorry it's sold but here is another one" a lot higher price. Thank you Cassidy & Nik Jr your honesty and professionalism was appreciated, no other dealership could I say came anywhere close!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Nik Jr., Cassidy Palmer-Ruben

September 20, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Excellent service and exceptional knowledge from staff"

- Mirandajones

I would highly recommend the don Wheaton crew - they were quick, eager to please and friendly to deal with. I will continue to use the dealership for new purchases and services too.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
1
1 - 10 of 25 results