Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Start your review of Robert Mennie.
Robert Mennie
Robert Mennie at Northgate Chevrolet Buick GMC Ltd
not yet rated

Robert Mennie

Sales & Leasing Consultant

Northgate Chevrolet Buick GMC Ltd

13215 - 97 St NW
Edmonton, AB T5E 4C7

Contact Me
Contact Me

7 Reviews of Robert Mennie

August 01, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Best car buying experience in almost 40 years!"

- Martin.Dinel

So... first off... I was thinking of buying a new truck, but I wasn't 100% sure. I drove buy Northgate Chevrolet around 8:30 at night... The dealership was supposed to be closed by 8:00, but they would not close until all clients had left, so they let me and my girlfriend in. Good start, but that was just the start! One of the partners, Mike Lowe greeted us, introduced us to one of his new employees Bob (sorry, I forgot his last name!) and took us in his office to hear about what we were looking for. We discuss what we had in mind and he popped up a few choices on his computer screen first, then got the ones we liked brought to the doors! Didn't even have to go walkabout! Him and Bob "gave us the tour of the vehicles"... Chevy Colorado... Beautiful truck by the way! Nice new color, shadow grey... Talked about options... Talked very knowledgeably about what the one truck we were most interested in had... Then we went back in to talk about the deal they had with Costco. Fleet price... fantastic financing rates (I took 3 years at 0.99%)… He suggested some upgrades we could do to even improve the looks of the truck... Offered some of these for free... I decided to take the truck for a spin, which they let me do with my girlfriend without having to come with us for the ride... I was hooked without an actual hook! They won me over just by being honest and giving me a good deal!!! … but wait there is more... Came back the following day to finalize the deal with finance because... well... it was 9:30 pm by the time we left and I did not want to make them stay any later! Met Shawn Dempsey, their finance guy... We talked about options and he explained what they were about... the great deals that were available... I picked some of them, but not others. THERE WAS NO PRESSURE AT ALL! I mean... I got all the info I needed to make a decision, but I never was made to feel like I had to take any of them or else I was an idiot... Shawn gave me great deals on the options I took and did all the paperwork quickly... I was out of there in minutes and I was a happy customer. All in all this was my best experience buying a car or a truck ever! I can't wait to experience their ongoing maintenance service as I bought the 5 year maintenance/care worry free package. Based on what I have seen so far, it should be pain free and fun as opposed to the normal "what's this gonna cost me this time" feeling! Thanks guys!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Mike Lowe , Shawn Dempsey

July 27, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Excellent Dealership."

- Perform Dan

We have purchased several new trucks from Robert Mennie in the last 6 months. It has been a long time since I have found such great people to deal with. Thanks goes out to Robert Mennie and Mike Lowe. Shawn Dempsey for putting this together. As well Peter Jewer for the assist on the last one. Simply amazing!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Mike Lowe, Pete Jewer

March 17, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Awesome "

- Carguy

My experience at Northgate was great dealing with Robert and Shawn they were both a great help with my purchase of my new 2019 Clevey equinox they both took the time to answer all my questions and on delivery they were very helpful going through the car with me Rob Piper

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Shawn Dempsey

August 21, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Amazing Service and Welcoming and knowledgeable staff"

- DavidB77

Got an amazing deal on a vehicle through the hard work of Shawn Dempsey and Robert. Extremely satisfied and would recommend Northgate GMC to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Shawn, Dempsey

May 31, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"A great and easy buying process"

- Kali13

This was by far the best vehicle buying experience I've ever had. No stress or pressure. It was all so very good and easy. I would definitely recommend buying a vehicle here. The staff are great and knowledgeable.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Karen Proulx , Chelsey and Travis

Jun 01, 2017

Northgate Chevrolet Buick GMC Ltd responded

We do our best to make the process as stress free as possible. We feel it should be an enjoyable experience. Thanks for the review!

December 01, 2016

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Stay away from this terrible, deceptive dealership"

- landyn

This dealership is terrible! Poor service, deception, unprofessionalism, inefficiency, incompetence, and discourtesy has been my experience with Northgate Chevrolet! In short, this dealership accepted a $500 deposit from me that they promised was refundable, and later refused to refund that same deposit. To elaborate: I started shopping at Northgate for a half-ton pick-up truck in July 2015. I visited the dealership and test drove a Sierra 1500 (either model year 2014 or 2015), and mostly liked the vehicle. I asked for pricing, and the salesman said he’d have it to me within the week. After that visit, I sent a few questions to him by email. Weeks passed with no pricing, and few answers. Eventually, after sending several follow-up emails, I was referred to another (younger) salesman. He made first contact via email, and I met him at the dealership on September 4, 2015. I asked for pricing at that time, and was told that pricing for 2016 models had not yet been announced. He also told me that day that a factory-ordered ’16 Sierra would take 4-5 months or longer to arrive (“maybe January but probably February”). For this reason, the salesman suggested that we order the vehicle that day. To do that, he said they’d need a $500 deposit. I had repeatedly told both salesmen that I needed pricing before anything. Not wanting to wait longer than necessary for the truck to arrive, I agreed to provide a deposit after he assured me that it was fully refundable. So on September 4, 2015, Northgate accepted a $500 deposit from me for a 2016 GMC Sierra 1500 Denali, 6.2L V8, crew cab, short box. I made it very clear to the salesman that I was not fully committing to the truck at that time. The truck arrived after 2.5 months. The salesman sent me a text message on November 16, 2015, to inform me that it had arrived. At that time, I still didn’t have pricing on the truck. I told him at that time that I was not ready to take delivery of the vehicle, and I reiterated for perhaps the dozenth time that I will need pricing well in advance of actually purchasing the truck. We scheduled a time to meet to discuss everything; he cancelled that appointment at the last minute. We rescheduled, and he cancelled that appointment as well. We’d finally planned to meet on December 4, 2015; I texted him the day before to confirm, and was told that this meeting would be to get approved for financing. I’d told him many times that we’d likely be paying cash or using an outside loan or line of credit. I’d learned by this point that he didn’t have very good listening skills, so I told him again. At that point, he told me that I’d need to go buy my truck elsewhere. Conversation ensued, during which he accused me of being racist. At that point, I was so disgusted and frustrated at the lack of competence, courtesy, and professionalism, that I was all too happy to oblige. I visited Northgate Chevrolet on the afternoon of December 4th to talk to Bob or Don Humphreys about the situation. I ended up talking to Don Humphreys, and showed him an excerpt from the transcript of my text message conversation with his salesman from the day before. He read the conversation, and learned that way that I was very dissatisfied with the service provided thus far and that I was there to recover my $500 deposit. Instead, he suggested that he personally handle my file from that point forward. He was aware from having read the conversation that I’d provided a deposit, and that I’d be expecting it back if the service didn’t henceforth meet my expectations, or if I ultimately decided not to purchase the vehicle for any reason. I graciously decided to give Northgate Chevrolet yet another chance after it had taken them five months and two salesman to accomplish essentially nothing (since I still didn’t have pricing on the vehicle), and after they’d caused me excessive hassle and frustration. After Don Humphreys assumed responsibility for my file, things did improve somewhat. I found that I had to ask many questions multiple times to get the answers I was looking for, but he did provide some of the information that I asked for. One of my concerns was the interior trim. The Sierra 1500 Denali comes with wood veneer interior trim, and I don’t like it, so I was exploring alternatives. One of the alternatives that I was considering was replacing the trim pieces with counterparts from other Sierra models. I consulted with Northgate’s parts department about this, only to find that the attendant was rude and lazy, and seemingly irritated at the prospect of having to do his job. Later, I was on the phone with a particularly helpful gentleman from a shop in Edmonton that re-finishes interior and exterior automotive parts, and I learned from him that the parts attendant at Northgate has a reputation for ineptitude. He suggested that I talk to a guy from Western GMC. I phoned him the following day and learned during that conversation that Northgate’s parts attendant had provided me with information that was inaccurate. I sent an email to Don Humphreys in January 2016 posing some questions. That email went unanswered. That was the last straw, so to speak. In combination with everything else this dealership bungled, I decided at that point that I would not be purchasing the truck from them. I wrote an email to Don on October 17th, 2016 to request that he return my deposit. In his October 19th reply, he told me that he has no record of my deposit, but if they did indeed accept one, that they’d be keeping it as “liquidated damages.” I replied the same day, reminding him that his salesman told me explicitly that the deposit was refundable, and that the customer service they’d provided was horrendous. I also informed him that I had record of the deposit, and that I’d be filing complaints with AMVIC, the BBB, and GM Canada if the money wasn’t returned, and that I’d be making the story public. Northgate Chevrolet seems so averse to doing the right thing, that they rather endure the bad publicity, and spend the time/money dealing with the many complaints I promised to file, than to simply return my $500. The bad publicity and complaints were almost certain to cost them more than $500, but the dealership evidently has so little respect for its customers, that it’s willing to incur a higher cost than to ensure customer satisfaction. As if all of this weren’t bad enough, this isn’t the first issue I’ve had with Northgate Chevrolet. My family and I have purchased several vehicles from them over the years. In July 2010, I took my 2009 Pontiac G8 to Northgate’s service department to deal with a warranty issue (related to the ball joints), after which it was to be handed over to the body shop to fix a large dent in the rear bumper from when another driver backed into my car in a parking lot (work that was to be paid for by the other driver’s insurance company). The dealership had it for nearly a month, during which I drove a car worth less than half my own, and that reeked with the distinct smell of cat piss. When I went to pick it up, I immediately noticed that the windshield had a large horizontal crack running along the eye-line on the driver’s side, that had not been there before, and shortly after, that there was a new scratch on the rear passenger side. I immediately brought this to the attention of the body shop manager, who decided without deliberation that they were not responsible for the damage, and that even if they were, they couldn’t be held responsible for the entire cost of a new windshield, because the existing (original) windshield had been pitted by a year and a half of regular wear and tear. He denied any responsibility for the damage on the body as well. By his logic, the damage to both the windshield and the paint could have happened in the parking lot, and they aren’t responsible for that (despite the fact that the risk of damage while the vehicle sits in the parking lot increases the longer it sits there, so even if the damage was sustained by an unknown third party while in the parking lot, it may not have happened if they hadn’t completed the work at a glacial pace). If you peeled up the plastic strip along the bottom of the windshield, it was evident that the crack originated from an are that was shattered under that plastic strip. It was obvious that a technician had dropped a tool on the windshield while that strip had been removed, shattering it, thereby causing the crack, and then attempted to cover it up. While we had no idea what might have caused the damage to the paint, it was likely that the dealership was also directly responsible for that given the carelessness and dishonesty they demonstrated with respect to the windshield. The following day, I called the owner (and president) of the dealership, Bob Humphreys, who also initially denied any responsibility for any of the damage. I brought the vehicle to the dealership that day, and showed it to Bob Humphreys. After taking a look, and reconvening with several of his employees, he reluctantly agreed to cover the cost of the damages, after wasting my time and providing a poor customer experience. His body shop manager delivered a half-hearted apology, presumably having been instructed to do so. On October 15, 2010, I brought the G8 back for a service appointment to deal with the same problem they were supposed to have fixed during the summer. I waited for the vehicle at Kingsway Mall all day, only to learn at the end of the day that they hadn’t even touched it. The shuttle driver gave me short notice of his arrival for the return trip, threatened to leave without me when I wasn’t there immediately upon his arrival, and was rude when I did manage to get there. There’ve been several other instances of slow or ineffective service at Northgate Chevrolet, particularly as it pertains to my 2009 Pontiac G8. In light of these facts, I think it’s clear that I’ve been very patient and extremely forgiving with this organization, but I refuse to be stolen from. I’ve filed complaints against them with the Alberta Motor Vehicle Industry Council (AMVIC) and the Edmonton Better Business Bureau (BBB), and written a letter to General Motors CEO Mary Barra detailing Northgate’s poor business practices. I strongly discourage anyone from purchasing a vehicle from Northgate, or from having a vehicle serviced/repaired there. If you’ve already purchased a vehicle from Northgate, have it serviced at another Chevrolet, Buick, or GMC dealership. Management is slippery, and this seems to have influenced the shady and deceitful practices of some of its staff. If they ripped me off, they likely won’t have any qualms doing it to you, too. After all, if they can’t be trusted with a $500 deposit, how can they possibly be trusted with a piece of property worth many times that amount? If you peruse the past reviews, you’ll find that their own employees have denigrated them in the comments. One admits publicly that they have poor customer retention, and no wonder! It is likewise telling that all of its BBB reviews are negative, and that neither of the two complaints against it with the BBB were successfully resolved - Northgate Chevrolet didn't even bother to respond to one of them (from September 2014)! Given all of what I’ve detailed above, it is clear that neither Bob nor Don Humphreys can be trusted! Do business with people of integrity instead - Western GMC Buick is a well-reviewed alternative if you’re in the market for GMC or Buick products, and Lakewood Chevrolet on the south side scores well if you’re looking for a Chevy. I've had very positive experiences with Go Auto's dealerships as well!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Rafman Samad - poor; Don Humphreys - poor; Jeremy (parts) - poor

Dec 14, 2016

Northgate Chevrolet Buick GMC Ltd responded

Thank you for your review. We apologize for any frustration that this situation may have caused. This is a very complex scenario that we have never seen before here at Northgate Chevrolet. The pricing on this truck was delayed because the factory order was submitted before GM had published their pricing of the 2016 model year. In addition, we researched and priced 39 accessories at your request totaling over $14,000. The Alberta Motor Vehicle Industry Council or AMVIC is a provincial regulation group that has been put in place to ensure the fair treatment of customer and retailers in the automotive industry. After reviewing this situation AMVIC has determined we incurred substantial costs in factory ordering and holding this vehicle for you and concluded we are within our rights to retain your deposit to recuperate some of that cost. We are sorry you were unable to take delivery of this vehicle. Once again we apologize for any frustration this situation may have caused and wish you all the best in the future.

October 27, 2016

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Absolutely the BEST!"

- Lady from Pasadina

Probably the only dealership I'd ever consider... START to FINISH! Management: Excellent; Showroom/Front Desk: Excellent; Sales: Excellent; Service: Excellent. Absolutely the most friendly and helpful staff a person could ever find!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Quick Lube Centre, June Dennis

Oct 27, 2016

Northgate Chevrolet Buick GMC Ltd responded

We are glad you have enjoyed your Northgate experience. Thanks for the wonderful review!

1
1 - 7 of 7 results