Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Start your review of Ian Riddell.
Ian Riddell
Ian Riddell, Sales Consultant, Key West Ford Sales Ltd
4.3

Ian Riddell

Sales Consultant

Key West Ford Sales Ltd

301 Stewardson Way
New Westminster, BC V3M 2A5

Contact Me
Contact Me

21 Reviews of Ian Riddell

June 16, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great prices and service!"

- Denny S

Everything about my trip to Key West was great, Erick, Ian, Gurj, and Kal were amazing to deal with. Super patient guys with a knack for customer service, never once did I feel like I was at a normal dealership, these guys made the car buying process super easy and not stressful. I would definitely refer family and friends to shop here for a vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jul 29, 2019

Key West Ford Sales Ltd responded

Hi Denny, thank you for sharing about your experience with Erick, Ian, Gurj & Kal! We are honoured that you would refer your friends & family! If you need anything in the future, please let us know!

September 21, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Used Forester XT"

- Njeff

Thank you For giving me a great deal on this used vehicle. In addition, all of the staff was very polite and well mannered. Dealership worth looking at!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Sep 21, 2018

Key West Ford Sales Ltd responded

Congrats on your new vehicle! We are so glad to hear you had a good experience and you got a great deal! If you need anything in the future, please let us know!

May 28, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Wrong Review Given"

- Roger Razon

I realized that they charged me extra fees ($199 transfer fee, $695 service fee and $599 doc fee) that they said were industry standard but not so standard with Hallmark Ford which only charges $499 doc fee. Ian never told me the car was a rental then Ivan tried to tell me it really doesn't matter if it is - excuse me! Then after using it yesterday, my wife noticed, which looks like a sharp blade cut, right in the driver's seat. Lots of deceits from this dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Ivan Matulik, Michelle Kellough

May 29, 2018

Key West Ford Sales Ltd responded

Dear Roger Razon, Which of the 3 reviews you posted on here in the last 48 hrs is the "wrong review given"? Is it the one you blindsided us about our service charges which you were fully disclosed and signed off on all your documentation without so much as a courtesy phone call to your acquaintance Ian ? Is it the one when we offered to give you some relief in regards to those service charges even though you were fully disclosed and signed off all legal documents ? I screened shot that one, it is really good , in fact a 5 star review across the board. Seems You couldn't be more satisfied with your purchase. Or.. Is the current review you posted "the wrong review given"? Which one is the "wrong review given" ??? Let's break this down and reveal exactly what did occur and what you are all about, Here are the facts, You came in Saturday and test drove a really nice VW. You requested we let you take the vehicle for a few hours to show your daughter, I assume to get her blessing to purchase it. You had possession of the VW for several hours, no pressure to purchase it whatsoever. You had ample time to go over the car and make a well informed decision. You returned and proceeded with the transaction. During the transaction EVERYTHING was fully disclosed to you including documentation fees and the finance service charge. Same can be said for the x-lease/rental declaration as you in fact signed off on at least 3 legal documents clearly stating all the above and initialed every single page of the carproof. Yet , you claim and I quote you "Lots of deceits from this dealer." What "deceits" are you referring to ? Virtually every used vehicle sold today in the marketplace has a xlease/rental declaration on it, check that out with Hallmark Ford. (Ivan is absolutely correct, in fact it does not matter and does not devalue the vehicle in any way.) Also, their documentation fee may be 495.00, what about their finance service and other charges? The reason for this 3rd libelous review is because once again you complained and insisted we take the vehicle back for no valid reason. It should be noted, all our phone calls are recorded and in those calls you threaten us with legal action and more nasty social media attacks. We do not take vehicles back however we do have a 30 day no hassle exchange available which you are well aware of. So who are you and what is your motivation here? I am positive intelligent people who read your baseless complaint and our response will no doubt determine what your angle is here which is Give you what you want or you will attempt to damage our reputation. Our interaction and your subsequent social media attack then a retraction then attack again with threats of legal action and more negative reviews when we would not give in to your unreasonable ridiculous claims and demands says it all about who you are. We standby our business practices and are absolutely comfortable we always do everything we can to give the best customer experience to everyone. You said so yourself in the second review you posted before you deleted it and posted this one. By far most people on the site agree we are excellent to deal with. We will never give in to social media bullying and we will never be falsely libelled by anyone. You need to have proof there was any "deceit" on our part at anytime before you can publicly state it or you need to retract now. You do not have the right to willfully falsely attempt to damage our reputation through social media or any other medium. We will forward this nonsense to our legal team for a swift remedy. Again, we will not stand for being falsely liabled, you should check with your legal counsel to understand the ramifications you are facing. Social media bashing is not a free pass for anyone, you must prove before you bash. That is the law. General Sales Manager

April 29, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Feeling Heartbroken & Ripped Off"

- charbear

Was quoted a certain price on a vehicle. When I arrived they decided it would be appropriate for them to raise the price by $1,000. Gave me some xxxxxxxx excuse that because I didn't bring them my trade, which they were going to give me $5,000, that was why they had to raise the price. I guess it didn't matter that I had upped my cash downpayment from $10,000 to $15,000. Then they take me to the so called manager. He shows me a screen with the dealers cost on said vehicle. I see that there is a fee of roughly $580.00 that is listed as service/shop costs. I said that I would not pay for the shop fees that I felt it should be on their dime not mine. They then tried to give me some xxxxxxxx excuse saying, "Oh, you don't have to pay for that because it gets added into the cost of the vehicle!" I don't know what planet these people are on. If it gets added to the cost of the vehicle I'm buying then, "xxxx YES" I'm paying for it. The only paper they could produce for me from the shop showed a bill of $198.00, $150 of which was for an oil change. I guess because I have tits and a xxxxxx they assume I'm an idiot. They wouldn't even budge on their documentation fee of almost $600.00. I held back tears the whole time I was there. Buying my first fully loaded vehicle and waiting almost 40 years to do so should have been a happy experience. Sadly to say it was one of the worst days of my life. Please do not give Key West Ford in New Westminster your time or money! Side note: Yes they were friendly. You have to put on that type of fake facade when you know you are literally screwing someone up the xxx.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Kal Bhatti , I was told that Kal Bhatti is the manager. I was either lied to or they need to update their information on this web page.

May 03, 2018

charbear responded

Rather than erase my previous emotionally and somewhat irrational filled story, I would like to correct a few things. Firstly, I apologize for making derogatory comments! I was emotionally charged when I wrote this and did not stop to think of my poor choice in words. I retract my comment that stated, "my gender had anything to do with it." I also agree that I should not have written about the price change as I have come to realize where the dealership was coming from and agree that my first purchase agreement was made null and void due to the fact that my trade vehicle had died in my driveway. I did not intentionally negate on our original deal but my vehicle mysteriously died when I went to start it that morning. Here's where I feel that things were unjust: I got three charges on my contract with you that I should not have been charged. Yes, you've accepted responsibility for two of them and have said the cheque is in the mail. For that I thank you. However, there is one charge that I feel you have not acknowledged and that is a service fee of $695. I've tried to communicate this to you through emails. I've even sent proof that these charges are in fact illegal from the Vehicle Sales Authority. You have now stopped communicating with me and have told me to file a complaint in order to get what is rightfully mine back. I wish we could have resolved this matter without involving the law but with no communication on your part I really don't know what else to do.

May 01, 2018

Key West Ford Sales Ltd responded

Hi " Feeling heartbroken & ripped off", Thank you for YOUR version of the events that took place during your visit with us, As per usual when we receive a poor rating on social media from an unreasonably disgruntled client the story told is never what factually occurred. It is always a one sided spun tale by the complainant. So here is what did happened. The vehicle you purchased was advertised at a sale price of $ 42900.00, NOT $ 40900.00. The vehicle was advertised at that price on every medium we use to market our vehicles. You had a trade, we made the deal based on you trading in your vehicle. We showed a $2000.00 price reduction off the advertised price and an additional $5000.00 off for your trade. You decided not to trade your vehicle at the last minute thereby negating / breaching our agreement. The moment you withdrew your trade you cancelled the agreement in place, not us, you did. At that moment we were appropriately within our rights to not proceed with the transaction as it was not what we mutually agreed to. We were gambling on the sale of your trade to recoup some of the additional discount ($2000.00) we showed off the advertised sale price as we were in a loss position. Taking your trade out of the equation prevented us from doing that thereby killing the deal in place. In regards to your downpayment, it does not matter if you put $10k or $15k down, why would it matter ? When Kal ("so called manager") was showing you his computer screen he was fully disclosing our position on the deal with full transparency. He was merely trying to show you our position in regards to cost, etc. Nothing wrong with that action. As for your incredibly tasteless comment regarding being female (nice choice of words by the way) and how we assume you must be an idiot is utterly ridiculous . We have several highly regarded professional females working here and everyone of them is treated with the utmost respect. Our client base is 30000 strong and never have we been accused of assuming any woman is an idiot at any time. Only actual idiots get that assumption, male or female. It should be noted, at no time were you forced, cohorst or pushed to buy anything. As a sign of good faith we discounted the vehicle $1000.00 to keep the deal together and finish the transaction on a high note. That obviously did not work as planned. I suggest next time you feel this way during a purchase you probably should not go through with it. Worse is to go through with it then proceed to tirade on social media about your experience. Your version of what took place. We feel it is only fair to express ours as it actually happened. You have since emailed the salesperson threatening you will go to the VSABC if we do not give in to your "demands". Please feel free to contact them as we are happy to state our side and back it up with supporting documentation. As for us being referred to as "imbeciles" in your post, well that kind of goes back to the idiot reference you made in your post. You are correct on two points, you should not have been charged $ 100.00 air conditioning recovery tax on a pre owned vehicle and the $ 199.00 transfer is charged when you trade in a vehicle which you did not. Definitely a mistake on our part and now $ 299.00 is in the mail to you. No problem. As for the rest of your complaints, we are fully compliant in regards to the legislation set forth by the VSABC. Feel free to contact me if you wish to discuss the matter civilly and in person without name calling, social media rage and baseless nonsensical accusations in regards to your experience with Key West Ford. We have thousands of very happy customers all over the web and we are open to improving our service when a client is legitimately upset because of a poor customer experience caused by us. We will never be receptive or accommodating to those who on a whim or vengeance of some sort and without regard for the facts of the matter try and hurt us on social media or anywhere else. Tony Terezakis

May 01, 2018

charbear responded

I will only communicate with you through email. That way I have written proof of what was said to me. Please get Ian to send you a copy of the email I sent him yesterday and the one I sent this morning. I’m sure it will shed some light as to who has legal rights with regards to this situation.

May 01, 2018

Key West Ford Sales Ltd responded

Hi Charlene, please see response from Tony Terezakis

April 11, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Amazing Service in all departments"

- Adrian F

I Had the pleasure of buying a used Ford Focus ST from Key West Ford about a month ago after having a bad experience at another dealership. We went to look at the car, Ian came out and greeted us and then left us alone unless we had questions, he wasn't pushy or aggressive which was a nice change. I decided to take the car to my shop to do my own mechanical inspection, car checked out except for a small oil leak, but I decided to pull the trigger since it would be repaired under warranty. This was my first time financing a car but Ian, Gurj and Michael Nokes explained everything in great detail and didn't rush anything. Brought the car home and waited a few days to book it in to get the oil leak repaired. I phoned the Key West service department and was helped by Tony and Sue and made the appointment. Two days later I went to pick up the car and being a mechanic, decided to bring the car back to my shop to check out the repair which was done very well. A week later I phoned the parts department to ask about some accessories and was happy to see that the amazing customer service covers the entire dealership. Michael even phoned me a few days after to ask me how I liked the car, he also answered every question I had after buying the car promptly and thoroughly. This is an amazing dealership with amazing customer service, I would go to Key West Ford even if I wasn't buying a Ford. Thank you Ian, Gurj, Michael, Sue, Tony and everyone else at Key West Ford for taking the stress out of buying a car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Sue Charbonneau, Gurj Khera, Michael Nokes

Apr 12, 2018

Key West Ford Sales Ltd responded

Good Morning Adrian, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write us a review! We are so happy to hear about your amazing service at our dealership start to finish! We are always here for you at Key West Ford if you need anything! Congrats on your beautiful car!

March 19, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great pre-sale service, unhappy with after sales service "

- galladam

I purchased my 2013 Focus ST in Tangerine Scream in late July 2017. I initially met with Ian when I went to look at the car. Ian was very professional and friendly and I was very interested in the car after my first visit. On my second visit, Ian was not in at the moment and I was directed to Michael Nokes. When I first met Michael he was very nice and easy to deal with. Took the car for a test drive and worked out some numbers. Picked up the car a few days later and was overall happy. There are a few issues that I have that have made me unhappy with Keywest. When I initially bought the car I was only given 1 key FOB. I was told that they would try to get in touch with the last owners about getting any other keys. Also never received the CarProof that I was supposed to receive. After about a month I got into contact with Michael again about the Key FOB as I had not heard anything back from him. I went and met with him, once again very nice and friendly. Told me he was going to still try and get the Key FOB as well as get some pricing for some other items I was interested in for the Focus. The only thing I ever heard back for was the Paint pen I ordered. That's it. As someone who used to work in customer service I would never consider this to be acceptable. Even if I was unable to get the customer what they were asking for I would still contact them, but instead, I had to chase them down to get a response. Overall, I am happy with the car. It has some issues that need to be addressed. Pretty sure all warranty work. But I do enjoy driving it daily. But would I go back? I don't think so. In the end I was unhappy on the post sales service side of things

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Michael Nokes

Apr 09, 2018

Key West Ford Sales Ltd responded

It's great to hear you're enjoying the car but we're sorry to hear you felt the post sale service was lack luster. We would appreciate it if you emailed us at consumerrelations@keywestford.com so that someone can get in touch with you and we may address any outstanding issues and concern and earn your trust back.

February 25, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"great team"

- danny.

great guys. Rob set me up with a great truck, at a good price. when we were finishing, Ian came out and helped get the truck ready with paper work licence plates etc... Wes was a down to earth manager. I was impressed how these guys and everyone else in the sales department worked as a team. my truck was detailed perfectly. I would recommend this dealership to anyone looking for a new or used vehicle. I have certainly found the dealership that I would do business with in the future.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Wes Upton, Robert Antoniak , robert antoniak, ian riddel, jeff upton

Feb 26, 2018

Key West Ford Sales Ltd responded

Thanks for the review. I'm glad to hear that Rob and Ian made your experience here great. Have fun in the new truck, we look forward to seeing you in the future!

February 07, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"amazing team"

- jonathan oaing

this guys in keywest ford knows how to go above and beyond in terms of customer satisfaction. we purchased a vehicle last week and all within 3 hours everything was done. the guys are really time efficient. robert was there all theway from the start to explain everything we need to know about the vehicle. he was very friendly. michelle was the best in getting us approved for the loan as well as finding the best rates for us. you will just notice the entire office staff working closely in a very happy environment.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Michelle Kellough, Robert Antoniak

Feb 13, 2018

Key West Ford Sales Ltd responded

Thanks for the review. One of our biggest goals is making sure the environment here at Key West is stress-free and positive. Glad to hear that Robert and Michelle were able to get you into the right vehicle!

November 27, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"First time buyer, whose experience couldn't have been better"

- BLOODRED666

I am from Alberta and I was in the stressful position last week of finding out I couldn't insure my car here because it was in poor condition, it would cost over $3000 to repair it to code and that old car wasn't even worth $100. I needed a new vehicle and I needed it quick but never having bought a car from a dealership before and being young I was worried I would not be able to get a loan approval to make this happen. Then Key West came to my rescue, within about 2 hours of being there I was sitting in my new car. They had everything in-store from the sales team, the financing team and even an ICBC broker. Not only was I in this beautiful new car, they also took my old crap car for me and even paid me $100 for it when I was told I would be lucky if I got $80 for it! Here I am, a week later, all the paperwork done, switched over to ICBC and a affordable bi-weekly payment plan that my partner and I can actually afford! Every team member has been super helpful along the way and I know if I ever need anything I can just call and they will help me out! I never thought buying a car would be this easy but.....it really is. I have put off buying a new car for years because the fear of how expensive an complicated it would be but, I was so wrong!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Michelle Kellough, Gurj Khera, Robert Antoniak , ICBC Emplyee

Nov 28, 2017

Key West Ford Sales Ltd responded

Thank you for the positive review! Robert, Ian, & our sales team always do the best they can to help meet our customer's needs with friendly & professional service. More often than not we can get customer's approved quickly & into a new vehicle in the blink of an eye, we're happy to hear we could do just that for you. Our goal is to make buying a car quick and easy as we recognize how valuable our customer's time is. Hope your new car is treating you well, we look forward to seeing you again.

November 06, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"First time working with Key West - really enjoyed it"

- S Poole

I came to Key West Ford looking at a very specific vehicle, hoping to trade out of a sedan into a small SUV. Ian was the sales guy on deck, and was very friendly and helpful. He understood that although a deal was possible, it wasn't guaranteed as I had appointments to see other vehicles. We test drove the vehicle I was there to see (2017 Nissan Rogue), and he was very patient with the bad traffic on a Friday afternoon. He wasn't pushy or in a rush to get out of the car. We talked trade in potential on my old car, and about a possibility of a deal. I reviewed what he offered, and said I'd keep him in mind as I finished my other test drives. Once those were done the next day, I selected the Key West Rogue as my car of choice. Ian was kind enough to come in on his Saturday off to help secure the offer he'd made me the day before, prepare the paperwork, and walk me through the process. I was never left alone, and never felt lost in the shuffle. He also went to work scrambling to find me replacement floor mats (which had gone missing from the car) and a gas card to make up for the partially emptied tank. It's worth mentioning too, every other employee I dealt with - every single one - was friendly. Whether it was another sales person taking two seconds to tell me where Ian was, the ladies at the front desk giving me directions, or dealing with the finance (Michelle was also awesome!), I didn't meet a single person at Key West that gave me a bad feeling. Ian was a pro - dealt well, listened well, showed patience in asking for and landing the deal, and made me feel valued as a customer before moving on to any other business. I had a great experience dealing with him, and would do so again. This has been the easiest car purchase I've ever made. Thanks Ian!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Michelle Kellough

Nov 06, 2017

Key West Ford Sales Ltd responded

Hey Mr. Poole, thanks for the review! Ian & our sales team work hard to match customer needs with the perfect vehicle & provide top quality, friendly service. Professionalism is a trait that all of our employees take pride in having. Enjoy your new Nissan Rogue, thank you again for your business.

1
1 - 10 of 21 results

Dealership Inventory (530 Vehicles)

2018 Ford EcoSport

$31,139

2019 Ford Mustang

$56,639

2019 Ford Explorer

$50,389

2018 Ford Edge

$56,939

2019 Ford Mustang

$56,639

2019 Ford Mustang

$43,375

2018 Ford Expedition

$89,044

2019 Ford Escape

$31,239