About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Dealer Panel | Are you a dealer? Learn more
Search
Back
Start your review of John Smith.
John Smith
John Smith, Used Sales Manager, Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick
not yet rated

John Smith

Used Sales Manager

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick

4620 Blackfoot Trail SE
Calgary, AB T2G 4G2

Contact Me

I have been with Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick Since 2009 and the Pre-Own Sale Manager since 2012. I have been in the automotive industry for over 8 years now. I started my automotive career first as a sales consultant and exceled in other opportunities through the years within the industry such as the leasing and financial service department. I enjoy numerous sports activities such as Golf, Hockey, Football and when I can, Love to travel.

Contact Me

5 Reviews of John Smith

December 09, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Poor service; unfriendly policy on refunds"

- Lostacustomer

Spent 2-3 hours onsite to paper an offer; made a deposit; were slow to obtain financing; got a better deal at another dealer; informed Shaw gmc finance person right away and requested refund; response was delayed then was told I needed to attend dealership to process refund; asked finance manager why he couldn’t just return to my card; delayed response again; said I needed to attend; went there; made to wait; finally got refund; falsely claimed the other dealer used shaw’s Financing approval to get approved; they were difficult and unreasonable and I had a vastly better experience at capital Chev.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Jason Sprague, Robert Mantei

Dec 14, 2017

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded

Hello; Thanks for taking the extra time and posting a review of your experience here at . I’m very sorry to hear about your recent experience with our dealership. We try our best to avoid these situations. Please contact me directly to see what we could do about this. I am sincerely sorry about the service you received. Thank-you again, Gady Firmeza, Used Sales Manager - (403)287-5912, gfirmeza@shawgmc.com

May 17, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Really Poor Customer Service"

- Kevin From Hanna

I recently purchased a 2012 Sonic LTZ Turbo from Rich, recommended by a friend who works for Shaw. The vehicle came with a completed AMVIC form, I was able to get a great deal on the car without any negotiation and was very happy with the experience but that is where it ended. I drove the car 200km home and within another 100km...there was complete failure and destruction of the clutch and flywheel. I had it fixed at the local chev dealership since the car was not drivable at a cost of just under $2000. It was brought to Rich's attention who was supposed to have passed it on to his managers. After a week of no news, I forwarded an email with a copy of the receipt to both Gady Firmeza and John Smith( the two managers) explaining my situation and if there was anything they could do for me. After yet another week of no response from either manager, I sent a further email expressing my further disappointment which through the grapevine, I know for a fact they received but it has now been 9 more days and still I have yet to be personally contacted by anyone of the three people now involved. I realize the car was used with 72,000km, but a good mechanic should have been able to diagnose a clutch problem during the AMVIC inspection, I wasn't really expecting much if any compensation but I did only put 300km on it. I was however expecting for at least one of the three involved to respond to me personally but now of the three could take two min of there time to address my concern...Sadly disappointed with Shaw GMC as a whole!!! I'm sure this review on this site will will be responded to by either Gady or John with typical "sorry to hear of your bad experience, please contact us to see if there is something to do to make it right", what a joke...I will never buy another vehicle from Shaw nor would I recommend them!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Gady Firmeza, Rich Pili

May 19, 2017

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded

Dear Kevin, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are concerned about your comments and would like to get in touch with you to discuss this matter further. At Shaw GMC, we take customer reviews very seriously. We look forward to working together with you to come up with a solution. Sincerely, Piotr Kulaga, General Manager - (403) 287-5969, pkulaga@shawgmc.com

October 17, 2016

Dealership Rating

"Bad Info when buying Warranty"

- alanw

Bought a used car and within a week had to go back for AC not working and found the fuse box was badly corroded. After 2 weeks of waiting I picked it up. Everything seemed ok but still had to clean fuse terminals to get my high beams to work Then another problem came up that it would stall intermittently. Bought the car back and this time was told I had to pay 100 dollars diagnostic fee and 200 dollars deductible which I lnew about the deductible then to be told that warranty may not pay for it. Anyway the Salesman Adam promised he would try and talk to the service manager and his boss about it and "See what they can do" . That was 2 weeks ago. I wrote an email and got a reply from Adam that his boss would call me. He did once and I was working and missed the call. I have tried to call him back a few times and no reply and no return call. I then tried calling Adam a few times and same thing no answer and no reply call. I am now paying for a vehicle that I cant trust and cannot let my wife use it as I dont want to leave her stranded or myself for that matter. If you buy a vehicle from this dealer dont waste your money on a useless warranty . Its a shame but I will not recomend this dealership to anyone because of the very poor after service I have experienced. I feel like the attitude there is I have your money now so thats it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Adam Spurrell , Ryan who does not work there anymore and a female service advisor

September 16, 2016

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Zero Integrity by saleman and manager."

- kevin1991

I went for a test drive with the salesman Adam, where he specifically told me the truck i was buying was an 6.2L and the only thing making my truck not a Denali class was that it's missing the sunroof. So after the 10 minute test drive we get back to the dealership, where we got into the paper work, which I still have copies of and no where does it specify the size of the engine. Me of course not knowing a whole lot about vehicles took Adams word. It turns out that the truck is actually has a significant smaller engine as I was told, even when we popped the hood there was nothing popping out which I could read anywhere on the engine which specified what type of engine it was. I feel completely taken advantage of and think its quite of an disgrace how salespeople can tell such blatant lies to make a sell. When I made a complaint, the manager John Smith called me, I told him what happened, thinking maybe Adam just got his fact wrong or somebody told him the wrong information therefore he accidentally passed the wrong information onto me and it was all just an honest mistake. But as I tried explaining the situation, John had no sympathy what so ever and exclaimed there's nothing he will do to help me in this situation. I have not been able to get a hold of Adam yet to get his side of the story, I'm hoping that he has some type of morals/integrity and will at least be able to say he made a mistake and give a sincere apology, as right now I feel so sad and upset over this and a like a complete idiot. As far as John goes, I can not believe how someone so unsympathetic can be in customer service let alone the manager at a GMC dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Adam Spurrell

Sep 21, 2016

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded

Good Morning Kevin, We thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for your negative experience. We always want our customers to be completely satisfied, and we definitely want them to feel confident with the service we provide. We would like to discuss this situation further with you, and we encourage you to contact us. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to discussing this with you. Sincerely, Piotr Kulaga - General Manager Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick 403-287-5969 pkulaga@shawgmc.com

Sep 16, 2016

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded

.

November 27, 2015

Dealership Rating

"**READ THIS BEFORE GOING TO SHAW GMC** $600 admin fees!!"

- Jeepguy

I’m going to report what happened as unbiased as I can first and then weigh in with my opinion. I saw an ad for a used Jeep at the dealership listed at a good price and I called ahead to see if they still had it and the salesperson confirmed they did. I went to the dealership and when I arrived it turns out the vehicle of that description was actually listed a thousand dollars higher – it gets a little confusing here but they had two almost identical jeeps on the lot – one had a smaller engine and a manual transmission but both were listed as having the bigger engine and automatic transmission. The salesperson recognized this and said he would honor the lower price on the bigger engine automatic one – the one I came in for. I was thinking great but when we got down to signing the papers I was told I would have to pay $599 of administrative fees. The dealership told me I would have to pay up to $700-900 of administrative fees at other dealerships. When I got home I did a bit of research about admin fees and this lead to me calling the Alberta Motor Vehicle Industry Council and explaining exactly what happened. They told me that they were unable to retrieve these funds because I already signed but I should call the dealership under goodwill to see if they could have them lowered as they are trying to crack down on this practice and it’s actually illegal to put them on of top an advertised price. By leading me to believe I would have to pay these fees anywhere on any vehicle mislead me into thinking they were legitimately honoring the price which to me seems pretty shady when in fact they just shifted the costs around and still gave me a discount but less than half of what honoring the price really meant. I should also note that the dealership did offer to do some additional work to the hood of the vehicle when the price we negotiated to fix it was not enough to do what they said it would. In addition to this when I went to finance the vehicle I was told I would pay a certain rate but when it came time to print the documents I was informed I would have to pay an additional $550 or pay a higher finance rate – I understand that mistakes like this can happen but please don’t calculate the rates assuming I’m going to buy a bunch of additional stuff. The salesperson did use this as an opportunity to try and up sell me and tried to sell me a undercoating … When I asked if I needed it he straight up told me that he has sold it to people who don’t need it before but wouldn’t do that to me … this I found extremely upsetting. Long story short I sent an email and ended up talking to the sales manager who offered to cancel the deal and give me my money back but basically told me to **** myself when I told him I think I should be reimbursed some of the admin fees and keep the vehicle – I was told there is more to AMVIC than I understand and I spoke with the “consumer sympathy” side of the organization. He then went on to basically accuse me of trying to rip off the dealership of and interrogated me as to why I hadn’t picked the vehicle up yet - I asked if the work on it was done and he said it would be by tomorrow. I called back the next day and was told it wouldn’t be ready until next week. Now for my opinion - I personally won’t ever go back here again and advise anyone going to this dealership to protect themselves and make sure what their telling you is true. I legitimately don’t think everyone at the dealership is bad but I experienced some really questionable stuff from multiple individuals. Bottom line if you tell someone that you will honor a price and then charge them a made up fee on top of the honored price and tell them that they will have to pay that fee on top no matter where you go in my opinion is just wrong and even not fair to other dealerships who listed vehicles correctly. The manager, John Smith, (and this is the only name I will mention) told me that he thinks there is nothing wrong with this ... so I guess that’s how they do business … perhaps I’m just naïve but I have a feeling others might be too so hopefully this might help you.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Dec 14, 2015

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded

Thanks for taking the extra time and posting a review of your experience here at Shaw GMC. I’m very sorry to hear about your recent experience with our dealership. We try our best to avoid these situations. Please contact me directly to see what we could do about this. Sincerely, Gady Firmeza, Used Sales Manager - (403)287-5912, gfirmeza@shawgmc.com

1
1 - 5 of 5 results

Dealership Inventory (474 Vehicles)

2017 Chevrolet Cruze

$16,307

2017 Chevrolet Cruze

$17,380

2017 Chevrolet Cruze

$15,680

2017 Chevrolet Cruze

$15,986

2017 Chevrolet Cruze

$15,986

2017 GMC Acadia

$40,488

2017 GMC Sierra 1500

$36,796

2017 GMC Acadia

$42,235