Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Suburban Motors

3.2

42 Lifetime Reviews

3377 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8Z 3L4 Directions
Call (250) 475-2255

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

42 Reviews of Suburban Motors

Sort by Write a review
April 04, 2020

"I've taken my vehicles to Suburban for repair Now and..."

- Mark D.

I've taken my vehicles to Suburban for repair Now and then over the last 30+ years and have always enjoyed the consistent professionalism and customer consideration provided by all their service representatives. I recently (during COVID-19) dropped off my wife's vehicle for a quick fix and was mildly surprised that they had their building closed for waiting (there was no sign or posting of their policy on the door). Another customer was waiting outside so I decided to join her (6'+ away). After a while another customer arrived, obviously with similar circumstances and requested a chair, which was provided. The chilly 3 degree weather and their seemingly arbitrary customer consideration had me text my annoyance to my wife, who then called the manager to politely express her disappointment with communication and consistency of policy. Manager Ian Jones was only able to condescendingly ask her if she knew there was a global pandemic. After the call he then decided it was time to come outside and ask me the same question. I'll use this opportunity to apologize to Mr. Jones and his staff for not handling his snarky condescension nearly as well as my wife. Simple put, the virus seems to have caused Mr. Jones to forget his professional mission as "service" manager. I'll be generous and allow that he was - like many in these strange times - overcome by irrational fear.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service manager Ian Jones
November 20, 2019

"30 year customer notices decline in customer service"

- Dissapointed

Remember the days of great customer service? I do and I haven't seen it recently at Suburban Motors. When Rob the shop foreman was overseeing the service department, the quality of workmanship was impeccable. Rob has now retired after all those years. The level of customer service has declined with his departure. I was in the service department on September 5, 2019 regarding some warranty related issues on my 2019 F150. The file/work order was created pending a reply from Ford warranty department. Two months later after not hearing back from anyone, I dropped into to speak to a service advisor. He said the work order was closed reason unknown and flagged to call me in January 2020. Had to go through the whole process again including photos of the warranty issue with Alex. I must say that he seems to be a very good service advisor and was genuinely concerned about my issues. He kept me informed as promised. More than I can say for two other service advisors I spoke with about the issue at hand. I was ignored by the first two advisors. I am not sure what has happened at Suburban Motors, but they have a lot of work to do on their customer service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alex Morgan, Steve
October 03, 2019

"Repairs and service"

- Pete

Took my 2017 F150 truck in for ICBC repairs The work was poor and sloppy the service was garbage. The truck came out in worst shape than it went in . They managed to screw up so much i had to take it to a ( GM dealer ) down the street to get my Ford fixed. Wow!!.. a Chevrolet dealer fixing a Ford because Suburban couldn't fix the problem. Now i had to get warranty stuff done and few other things. So I had to take the truck to another Carson owned dealership to have them fix what Suburban screwed up But at my expense $$$$$, Keep in mind they had gotten payed to do the job from ICBC already. The positive reviews are from blind or naive people. Customer service is no help so don't waste your time with them. Don't trust Suburban to touch your vehicle. If i could the rating would be -5 stars Peter K

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dont remember
August 18, 2019

"Used vehicle purchase"

- Will R.

Pleasant experience purchasing a used vehicle from this dealership. Matt was able to hold the vehicle for us until we could come look at it and they fairly valued our trade-in. Sales staff and experience was not pushy and we left with a very fair deal and were well attended to during the process. Professional and expedient. Would return.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Maillot; Dave Cao
June 23, 2019

"Absolutely embarrassing experience"

- Laura

I used to be happy with suburban motors until Loyalty Manager Chris Brookes called me into the office. Before I start, I do want to say that I did put in a complaint with the General Sales Manager Rob. He was very kind, sat with me and let me say my piece, and was very apologetic. My original sales agent was lovely. Now, back to Chris. I told him more than once I didn’t want to trade my car, and he told me he’d have other options. I’m told it’ll be about a 20 minutes appointment, so I go there on my lunch break from work. He says that someone needs to appraise my car, and I’ll have to leave it and come back. So, I do. When I come back, I tell him again I’m not interested in trading my car. He tells me I have no other options, but he wanted to help me because I’m close to his kids ages and if I was his child he would want me to make a good choice. Why older men like Chris think it’s okay to parent their customers, I’m not really sure. I hope that’s not in Ford’s training, it’s extremely inappropriate and about time that stops happening. I’m not a child, nor is anyone my age. We are adults now. Anyways, I tell him that I can see the pattern, and that this has happened before. I get a call from a dealership that wants me to trade my car, they call me in, they convince me... so on and so forth.... He obviously didn’t really look at my file because he gets himself confused about who would have been calling me. I tell him some reasons why I’m not happy with Ford specifically, one being I was told I would get oil changes for the first year included. He mocked me, tells me that it’s $79X2, and that’s barely worth it. Now, that’s not the point here though, the point is I was lied to before. The loyalty manager stands up, and promptly kicks me out of his office. He yelled to me “I WILL NOT HAVE SOME 26 YEAR OLD GIRL TELL ME honestly I’m not sure what he said here, something about me being in debt because they sold me a car…? GET OUT OF MY OFFICE. I don’t get up immediately, probably because some stranger that literally asked me to come to his office just yelled at me. He then COMES BACK, yelled at me AGAIN to get out of his office! If I’m not mistaken, loyalty generally deals with customers that have bought a vehicle before from Ford… customers that probably have a complaint or two, and customers that you’re going to need to convince to stay with Ford. His training was very poorly done. I have worked in Loyalty care, and in sales myself and I know for sure that I am better than Chris at it. Is this the man you want running your loyalty team? Someone that can’t handle a “26 year old little girl” asking questions? To sum it up, Chris Brookes called me out of no where to come into his office. He tried to sell me a car, I say no. He literally throws a temper tantrum and kicks me out of his office. Embarrassing.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Brookes, Loyalty Manager
March 20, 2019

"Not happy "

- NB

Bought a Chevy Suburban from them and was told it went through the inspection shop with flying colors. It uses a ton of oil. Couldn't have known from short test drives. They said better just keep adding oil it should run fine then... motor packed it in $5000-$6000 to replace.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
can not remember.
January 03, 2019

"Best 1st New Car Expieriance "

- JWear

So In December of 2018, my daughter turned 19. She has worked hard over the last 3 years working nights and weekends while finishing school. She really wanted to get a new vehicle when she turned 19. She has been in love with the Ford Escapes for a number of years now, and when the opportunity to purchase one came up, she jumped on it. Now, as a father, of course I wanted to get in there and guide her through it. But she wanted to do it all on her own. She dealt with Ben Beattie in sales, along with the help of Colin Bancks the General Sales Manager. These two gentlemen made her experiance TOP NOTCH. They went above and beyond to make sure my daughter got the best deal, best service and got her into the exact vehicle she wanted. I am now looking at purchasing 2 new vehicles through Suburban Motors and will highly recommend to anyone looking for a new or used vehicle to shop at Suburban Motors Victoria. Top Not Team!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ben Beattie and Colin Bancks
November 20, 2018

"Five stars & Two thumbs up!"

- carlyo

My husband and I had a really great experience from start to finish. We spoke with Chris Brookes and set up a meeting for first thing Monday morning. We explained that we were from Vancouver and the weekend prior we were visiting the island and our truck broke down. He was more than accommodating and offered to pick us up on his day off from the ferry. He helped us to figure out solutions for what to do with our truck, as well as made sure he knew what exactly we wanted in a new one. Within the first few hours we found the perfect one and were on our way to getting the paper work done. We were introduced to the manager who made sure we got the price we were comfortable with, and then brought in to meet Justin in the finance department. We hit it off with him right away and it was smooth sailing from there. We came in that day hesitant because we had not intended for our truck to break down and be purchasing a vehicle. But the staff at Suburban Motors made it fun and easy. We left very happy with our new truck!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Brookes, Justin Sotkowy, Michael Iorio
October 11, 2018

"Felt like a Queen."

- Lgilly

Colin Bancks and Chris Brookes went above and beyond to help us find the perfect vehicle to fit baby, two dogs and all the gear that goes along with. They took the time to make the buying process easy and enjoyable with new baby in tow. Would highly recommend Suburban Motors and will for sure be a return costumer! Thank you!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Colin Bancks, Chris Brookes
March 08, 2018

"Complementary Service for new Escape"

- Escape

Yesterday I took my new Ford Escape in for the Complementary Service check. That alone is wonderful of a car lot to do as it made me feel they didn't forget about me. My name was on the sign to see Alex Morgan. He was very personal, professional and focused on me and my car. Very helpful and courteous. He called me twice letting me know what was going on with my car and when I could come and pick it up. When I arrived Alex was busy with another customer and so I was waiting. Within 1 minute another service advisor, Spencer Carlson, called me over. I told him Alex was helping me but he said you don't need to wait it is all on the computer and I can get the paper work. Wow. He was happy, upbeat and ready to help. He went through all the paper work, and then found out where my car had been parked and said he would go get it for me as it was at the end of the service bay, I felt like both of them loved their job, were happy to assist me and make my experience a great one. And they did. I've owned 4 other Ford Escapes and one of the reasons, other than I love the car, is the follow up and the Service/Parts departments of Surburban Motors and how you are treated. Thank you to the people in charge of Surburban for making follow up and maintenance so great!!!!!!!!!! Colleen Walton

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alex Morgan, Spencer Carlson
1
...
1 - 10 of 42 results