Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Magnuson Ford Sales Ltd

3.6

18 Lifetime Reviews

32562 S Fraser Way , Abbotsford, British Columbia V2T 1X6 Directions
Sales: (877) 578-6544

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

18 Reviews of Magnuson Ford Sales Ltd

Sort by Write a review
September 29, 2019

"Great!"

- MathieuDonaldson

Chris and heather went above and beyond, got me the car I wanted without even telling me. Very satisfied after my first crash they replaced the vehicle with no issues. Thank you so much chris and heather

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Penner, heather
June 18, 2019

"Great experience"

- Happy Lady 4444

No pressure, nice people, fair to deal with. Best dealer in the Fraser Valley. Lots of easy parking. My experience was great I have no complaints.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Don, Gary, JP
May 22, 2019

"Thank you JP and Heather your the best! Rhonda"

- Rhonda

I just recently purchased a 2018 Ecosport! JP and Tyler sales person and Heather fiancé lady!! The best!! They made the impossible happen love it !! These people went above and beyond tot make my vehicle purchase happen. I just came out of a very difficult situation and these people worked so hard to make this happen !! Thank you so much!! My Ecosport is amazing so much room for a compact vehicle, the fuel consumption is awesome!! Again I can’t thank you’s enough! Thank you so much!! Rhonda

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
JP, Tyler, Heather, the best!!
May 04, 2019

"Worst experience with the service manager Brad Wilson ever!!"

- Mustang owner

I brought my 2016 Mustang Convertible in for a service in February, 2019. It was suppose to have the navigation update and an oil change. There was also an issue that at 108 kms remaining on a tank of gas, the fuel warning system suddenly changed to "8 kilometres remaining to empty" and the gas gauge showed the vehicle as "empty". I did not want to wreck my car so when the gauge read as empty, I put some gas in it. I took it in for my service appointment for the three issues and they put me in a rental car (the cost for the rental is covered if warrantee work is completed). I left my car there for two days with the service advisor David Coughlin thinking that all the work would be completed. I received a call the second day to come in and pick up my car. David advised that the oil change was completed, but the navigation upgrade was not because it wasn't in (according to the parts department), and more importantly they could not fix my fuel issue because the car had too much gas in it and they couldn't diagnose the problem. I was told to bring it back in WHEN the car fuel indicator jumped from 108 to 8 kms remaining till empty. I explained I live out of town and it was not convenient to just head to Abbotsford when I was driving and the car gave me that reading, and furthermore, if it gave me the reading that my car was empty and I drove it and something happened, would they cover me??? I ended up paying 150.00 for the oil change and the two day rental for the "courtesy vehicle" as they couldn't diagnose the fuel issue. I left the dealership hoping by some miracle that the fuel issue had resolved and I would not have to take my vehicle back. It didn't. At 108 kms remaining on the tank of gas, the fuel warning system suddenly read "8 kms remaining till empty", then the fuel gauge went to "E" and I kept driving (on the advise of David) as he believed that there was a problem with the gas sensor and there would still be the fuel in the car 1/4 tank roughly and that I didn't need to treat it as an emergent situation and put gas in. I felt like the service department let me down by not fixing my problems and sent me away telling me to come back when the fuel warning indicator came back on which in itself was inconvenient but I understood, but the problem was that they had my car for two days and I ended up paying for that rental knowing that this was a warrantee issue and the car should have been provided for free. On March 1, 2019, I looked on the Ford Owners website and looked at the service records for my car. There was a message saying that my navigation/entertainment Sync system required an update from a version 1.0 to a 3.0. The Sync update was going to provide me with additional features and I treated this update request just like my Apple products "IOS updates". Basically if you don't update the version you are running will become obsolete. I went on the Ford Owners website and completed all the Sync update instructions and put the USB into the USB port in my car and nothing happened. No update notice or instructions were received on the system and I believed it didn't work. I checked the version and it said it updated from Sync 1.0 to 3.0. however I had none of the new features the update promised, and suddenly the voice on my navigation system stopped working and more importantly my vehicles "hands-free" stopped working with a message saying "voice recognition not recognized". I completed the "Master Reset" to reset but nothing happened. I then went back to my computer and looked up that error message and was horrified that many others had also completed the update and their cars hand free stopped working as well. Some were threatening to sue Ford, some were complaining about the high cost to fix the Sync system as a result of the Ford update and I was concerned about this and contacted my regular service provider Chris Alpine via email on March 22, 2019. I didn't hear back from Chris so I emailed him again on March 28, 2019. He advised that the navigation upgrade wasn't in yet and made no mention of my complaint about the two day rental I was charged, the fuel gauge issue and now the Sync update issue. So on April 12, 2019 (5 days before my 60,000 km 2 year bumper to bumper warrantee expired) I found out the service manager was Brad Wilson and sent him the email I had sent to Chris Alpine. I waited for a response. There was NO response from Brad. On April 21, 2019 I sent Brad Wilson another email message asking him if he was the service manager (as it says on the Magnuson Ford website and did he get my message?) In that message, I specifically asked to speak directly to him and informed him that I was having an issue with the Sync update and my hands free was not working or the navigation voice prompts was not working even though it was set to work on the navigation system itself. I heard nothing back from him. I was very concerned and called the service department on April 24, 2019 and spoke to the receptionist. I told her about my problems and she said that they were currently taking appointment the second week of May. I asked her if Brad Wilson was the service manager and I told her I was trying to get a hold of him. She confirmed that he was and he was in today and she would give him a message to call me directly. I waited all day and at 3:08 p.m., I sent Brad ANOTHER email and I told him I KNEW he was in today and to call me!!! He finally called and told me to bring my vehicle in May 2, 2019 and he would have a car for me to use. I took my car in with it showing "no fuel" as instructed so they could diagnose the fuel issue. Also on the work order was the issue of the Sync update and the inability to access my "hand free" and the error message displayed when you press the "hand free call" option on the steering wheel. As well, I ALWAYS have them put on the work order for them to NOT wash my car as the brushes they use make scratches on the paint. I was given the courtesy car and went home. Chris Alpine, service advisor called me later in the day and told me that my car needed a "fuel pump" (my car has 32,000 kms on it!!!!!!) He said they ordered it and it would be in tomorrow and to keep the courtesy car. On May 3, 2019, I received a call from Chris saying that the fuel issue was resolved but regarding the Sync issue, I needed a brand new Sync navigation/entertainment system at the cost of 1400.00 to fix the problem caused by the update. (which I might add you can just do over Wifi if you choose the "regular updates option" on your system settings menu). I told Chris that I read the Ford forums about the Sync update issues and told him how owners were complaining they were not supported by their service departments and by Ford for this issue. Chris said he would speak to Brad about this issue because my car was "just out of warrantee" and other Ford owners were having the same Sync issues and he said they would see what they could do for me. He also advised that they were also going to call Ford and complain. I requested a meeting with Chris and Brad when I got to the dealership. Chris assured me that he would tell Brad I wanted to speak directly to him. I got to the dealership and Chris was accommodating and told Brad I was there to see him. Chris said Brad would be about 10 minutes. I waited for abut 20 minutes and Brad was no where to be seen. Chris went to get him again. A few minutes later Brad emerged from the back and peaked his head around the corner. I locked eyes with him and followed him into his office. I was very annoyed that he never answered my previous emails and kept me waiting for our appointment and appeared to be "hiding" in the back to avoid speaking to me. I told him I had advised him of the Sync issues prior to my warrantee expiration and I wanted the 1400 bill to be covered by Ford because it was known to the entire service department including him before the warrantee expired and I had the emails to prove it. Brad made all kinds of excuses why he didn't answer me such as "I was out of town, I was in meetings, and the day you called and were told I was in, I went for lunch then returned....." Then Brad went on to argue with me that my car was no out of warrantee and they weren't going to cover the Sync issue because of it. I argued that they knew about the issue and book service appointments two weeks later and that was not my fault if the appointment can't be booked within the warrantee period because of their availability? And the warrantee had just run out on April 17 and they were aware of the problem in March? Then he went on to make more excuses that it was a Ford issue and it was my fault for doing the recommended update and the situation was similar to be going to the parts department and buying something "extra" for my car and that being dysfunctional and then complaining about it. I was livid! The recommended Sync update was not an extra that I purchased and I treated the "recommended update" request just like my Apple products when Apple issues an update for their IOS systems. You either do it or get left in the weeds in a few months. Brad did not listen to my concerns and kept looking at his emails for my email and avoided eye contact. He raised his voice to me and kept saying that they were not going to cover it under warrantee and that his service department was "#1 for customer satisfaction! I told him that I recorded the entire conversation on my iPhone and I was NOT going to be posting any positive reviews of my experience dealing with him and I asked him who his boss was? He told me HE was the boss..... I then asked him what number I was suppose to phone to complain about the Sync update and he gave me the Ford consumer number and I left his office. Brad was confrontational, raised his voice and was unapologetic, unfriendly and perceived to be hiding at the beginning to avoid speaking to me. I then went to get my keys from the service desk and was told that my beautiful Mustang was parked in the rear of the lot. I went outside and saw a young man beside my car in red coveralls. I asked him what he was doing beside my car? He said he was going to "wash it". I told him I didn't want it washed! And I walked a little closer to my car and saw that there had been oil sprayed all over the driver's side door, driver's side rear quarter panel, convertible roof and rear drivers mag. I asked what the xxxx happened? The young employee said that he was putting used oil in the container and it sprayed up. I told him to go and get Brad RIGHT NOW! I took pictures of the oil running down my paint and on top of my convertible cloth roof. I then saw Chris and called him over to my car and told him it was covered in oil! Chris came to look and apologized and offered at once to clean it up. Chris then went to the back door of the service department and spoke to the young man who did it. Brad was there as well hiding in the bay speaking to him. Brad did NOT come out to my vehicle to see the damage, nor did he speak to me or apologize about what happened. They offered to clean it off my vehicle and I told them I didn't want them to use their dirty brushes to attempt to get all the oil off my car! Chris then told me he was going to have it professionally cleaned and told me to take the courtesy car home for the weekend. All this is unbelievable and horrific. I understand accidents happen. That is not why I am upset with this service department. I am upset that the manager has no people skills, conflict management skills and gave me the worst customer experience I have ever had! And to top it all off, hid again to avoid engaging with me when they spilt all the oil all over my car! I have worked in the public service area all my life. A good manager would have answered his emails and not offered excuses. A good manager would come out in a timely manner, extend a hand for a handshake to establish a rapport, offer to listen to my concerns and collaboratively come up with a solution rather than engaging in a shouting match and being stubborn! I hope that the professional detailing shop gets off all the oil from my Mustang!!!!! What a disaster!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brad Wilson, Chris Alpine and David Coughlin
April 25, 2019

"Highly recommend ford Magnuson for its owesome service to us"

- Bentley12

brand new Ford Escape and I was so pleased with the service specially John Wayne who is always there helping us to find new Vechicles

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John wayne
April 15, 2019

"Came for an Oil Change, Left with Dry soap marks on my F-150"

- ford150black

Came for an Oil Change and noticed that they had left dry soap marks on my Ford F-150 when they were washing it. I told the manager at the time about the soap marks and he took pictures of my truck and the dried soap marks and agreed to fix it next time I brought it in. So the next time I took my F-150 to the shop they said that they didn't have enough time to fix the dried soap mark and next time they will fix it. So recently I took the truck in expecting for it to get fixed and the manager completely denied the whole situation and said that he never had any pictures from before. This is a really frustrating situation where my truck was damaged by Abbotford Magnuson Ford and they are refusing to fix it. There is another review similar to mine saying his truck rim was scratched by the dealership and they refused to fix. Wouldn't recommend unless they owned up and fixed the wrong.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brad
December 14, 2018

"Poor Service "

- FordTruck

We wanted to purchase a tonneau cover for our pick up. The parts department advised us that they had one in stock and the service department booked us in for installation on a Saturday morning. We arrived 15 minutes before our appointment. The service department said it would take about an hour to install the cover, so we ran some errands (on foot) while waiting. We were walking back to the service department an hour later, when our phone rang. It was the service department advising us that they did not have the cover. When we got back to the service dept. we asked why it took an hour to let us know they didn't have a cover. The service advisor told us that they had just started the job, and realized they did not have the cover in stock. He seemed to think it was okay to have had us walking around in the cold for an hour for nothing. He then proceeded to blame everything on the parts salesman and told us we would have to wait until next week to find out what went wrong. We asked if he could call another Ford Dealership in town to see if they had one, and he told us he could not because he was a service advisor, not a parts salesman. He offered no apologies. The Service advisor told us that someone would call us Monday morning to let us know when they could get another tonneau cover in for us. We left, and drove straight to their competing Dealership and had the tonneau cover we wanted installed within 45 minutes. We never received a follow up call from Magnusson Ford. Needless to say, we will never return to Magnusson Ford.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Unkown Saturday Dec 8th 11:00 a.m.
March 14, 2018

"Excellent attention to customer satisfaction."

- TG

We went to Magnuson from Nanaimo and were exceptionally happy with the service. It was certainly worth the trip for us, excellent no pressure service and great prices, I am sure we will be back for our next vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
JP
November 28, 2017

"Overall great staff! "

- Martin & Samantha

The staff was so friendly and personable and not at all pushy like most dealerships. 10/10 recommend these guys. We are very happy with our experience

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Eric
November 04, 2016

"Fantastic customer service"

- Amoni

I am impressed with the customer service I got from the service department . Chris was very helpful . He was updating us about the procedures and the steps for the service of the truck.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris
1
1 - 10 of 18 results