Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Start your review of Mathew Gauss.
Mathew Gauss
Mathew Gauss at Whitby Oshawa Honda
4.1

Mathew Gauss

Service Advisor

Whitby Oshawa Honda

300 Thickson Rd S
Whitby, ON L1N 9Z1

Contact Me

Dealership Experience

9 yrs, 6 mos

Industry Experience

10 yrs, 6 mos

Text
Call
Email
Cancel

42 Reviews of Mathew Gauss

November 02, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Poor workmanship "

- Kypros Economides

My 2012 Civic required new front brakes as I was told they were worn beyond the minimum level. I couldn't tell because they worked perfectly and made no noise at all. Nevertheless it was clear they needed changing. I had them change the brakes and rotors. Within 1 day of driving I heard a loud, hollow noise following by squeaking. I'm not mechanic, but it seemed that something moved out of place or bent when I stopped. I then heard the brakes squeaking each time I used them thereafter with slight pulsation when pressing the brakes. No more loud hollow noises but sqeaking every time the car was driven for around 10 to 15 minutes. Was told by customer service that I needed to come in to see the same service advisor that I dealt with to fix the issue. I asked when the service advisor was going to be in, so I went several times and he wasn't working when they said he would be. Once they told me they were too busy as well. I found this to be extremely disrespectful. After showing up on 3 separate occasions they attempted to turn me away yet again on the 4th try but then finally came to their senses and at least booked me in for service within 3 days. 2 days later I receive a call to cancel the appointment because of being short-staffed. We re-scheduled and they offered a rental car while they looked at my car, which was fair. They then "fixed" the problem and said it was that one of the front brakes needed to be serviced. In other words, poor, sloppy workmanship because that's what I paid them to do in the first place. Seemed ok when I left the lot and I would have left satisfied if the work had solved the problem. Within 50 kilometres of driving, however, the same occurrence of squeaking yet again. I expressed my disappointment to the service advisor via text who was actually off that day. He asked me to come back again only this time conveniently I could see any service advisor. I expressed my disappointment to the service advisor and advised that I won't be back and I won't be calling Whitby Honda either as I had enough. If the on-duty service advisor wanted to call me they could. The service advisor apologized and said they would pass the information along to the on-duty service advisor and that they would be giving me a call. That was at 9:00am. The on-duty advisor worked until 6:00pm and never called me. I would like to thank Whitby Oshawa Honda for accepting my money and delivering poor quality workmanship. The final result is someone that wasn't bothered to call me back. A single brake job has not been performed yet I wasted my money on it. After 16 years of owning a Honda, I am thorough disappointed that it has come to this type of treatment. Again, thanks for nothing. I feel as if I have been robbed by a company that i trusted for 16 years and bought 2 brand new cars from.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

October 08, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great service"

- LSM

Jawed was an amazing sales representative who was great to work with. Peter explained the warranty in a way that was easily understood. Fara was very helpful, friendly, and shared all the key features of the vehicle before I left the lot. Thanks everyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Peter van Dorsser, Rebecca Howe, Fara Andrade, Jawed Karzai , Chuck (I think) from service was really on the ball and helped make sure everything was in order.

August 06, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Passport to adventure"

- AmandaL

Thanks again to everyone at Whitby Oshawa Honda. Ever since I saw it at the auto show I wanted one. Peter set up my deal and they had to get the colour I wanted that wasn’t in stock but they found it really quick since they have staff that make sure your not waiting long for your new car. The service department got it ready really quick and I was happy to pick up my new SUV. This is my second lease from Whitby Oshawa Honda and I’m sure I’ll be back for more!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

July 25, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Terrible customer service "

- Tlofun

Our motor for our sliding door broke on our odyssey (van only 3 yrs old). Not covered under warranty. We were treated terribly by Matt in service and basically completely stuffed off. Wanting to take our complaint higher, I contacted Tomy as I figured this would be the next step to get us some type of resolution. I sent him a long email explaining our circumstances and the experience we had thus far with their dealership. I also copied the General Manager of the dealership on the email. I didn't even get any type of response. Not even a "sorry you had a bad experience". Further to this, my husband also contacted Tomy by phone and left several messages. Never a call back. Goes to show you how much they respect their customers. Whitby Honda has lost our business. We will never go back there.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Tomy Karakolis

July 11, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"My Service and phone experience lowered overall rating "

- Mr R

Was in for after sales, Post Delivery Work Request. I Have been in the dealership business myself and I believe this is the worst service department treatment I have received. Abrupt, Curt and less than courteous service. I don't believe Matt even looked at the car when returned from body damage repair to see if done properly. My impression with each interaction was, your bothering me I'm busy. I feel like treatment by Matt in service ruiined any good will gained by the management and sales staff. I have a lot more to say but I think it will be a waist of time. This new customer does not plan on returning. By the way, the worst phone system/service any customer should have to deal with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Iftikhar Khaliq, John Baird

May 29, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Sweet/Bitter"

- ICAREABOUTPEOPLE

They are the sweetest bunch before you buy after you pay you may need Divine Guardians, Experience, and Knowledge if you need assistance with your purchase. I paid over Seventeen Thousand Dollars for a Honda Accord, over $17,000. Only days after I purchased and the first time I used the window, I notice the driver's side window was not working properly, it was moving sluggishly. I called the salesman from whom I purchased, H. Jay Abdul, and explained the issue to him, Jay Abdul the salesman put me on hold for about 75 seconds, came back and said "The Manager Said I Had No Warranty"," That He Could Not Help Me and that I must not call him back on his cell number" (that was printed on his business card). That was the first and last time i called him. I advised H. Jay Abdul that I will make a complaint to the Government. He then immediately said he will speak to the Manager again and that he will call me back. The next day Trevor Carew call and left a message for me. After following up with Trevor Carew for two days Trevor finally responded and advised me that Matt will call me. Two days later Mathew Gauss texted me and asked me to come in the same day so He Can Take A Look At It. I advised him that I was working, that I live in Markham and give him an appointment date and time. which he finally agreed with after a couple of reminders (Mathew Gauss said he will try to fix the window in one visit). On May 28th, 2019 I went in as scheduled at 1 PM. The receptionist (woman) said, " that Mathew was out to lunch and that he will be back in a 'couple' of minutes." And she showed me where I can wait (and have coffee). 20 minutes later, I approached her and she pointed and called out to Mathew Gauss who was behind a desk in plain view of her. Mathew Gauss told me to drive the car in. Mathew Gauss checked the window, sprayed Silicon Grease and advised me that it was fixed. Hopefully, the window is fixed? Pat.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Trevor Carew, Amy McBean, H. Jay Abdul

May 29, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Buying a car here turned out to be a nightmare."

- Mark D

TL:DR Even when you have things in writing you can get screwed. Dealerships talk the talk but never walk the walk. A lot of “we’re sorry” but they’re just platitudes and never actually mean anything or matter. Buying a car here turned out to be a nightmare. A co-worker had purchased a new car here and was happy with them. I live 68km away from the dealership, but they had a wide selection of used Accords. Went in April 10th to look at a few 2018 Accords. I wasn’t exactly sure whether I wanted the EX-L or the Touring. Met up with Matt Page and he was very pleasant and seemed like a nice guy. We took out an EX-L and a Touring for a test drive. While test driving the EX-L I noticed a rattling noise near the steering wheel when accelerating. I made note of it to Matt that if I decided on the EX-L that the rattle would be fixed. After driving the touring model, I decided on the EX-L because it had the features I wanted and the colour I preferred. We sat down to discuss pricing and warranty. We agreed on a price and that they would fix the rattle and detail the car. I even wrote on the bill of sale that the dealership would fix the rattling noise and clean some salt stains that were in the front foot wells. Fast forward to April 16th when I go to pick up the car. I met up with Fara Andrade and she took my bank draft and installed my license plates on the car. I open the car door and notice that the salt stains weren’t cleaned, and the car had barely been detailed. The windows were still dirty and there were stains on the console. To top it all off the rattle was still there and was louder than previous test drive. I contact Matt Page the next day to let him know that the deficiencies noted on the bill of sale had not been addressed. He apologizes and a week later he puts me in touch with Service Advisor Mathew Gauss. I receive a text message from Mathew Gauss asking me when I can drop off the vehicle. I advised him that I could drop off the Accord the next day but would need a loaner as I live 68km away and work 47km away. He then advises me that the next day was not going to work and that these repairs do not constitute giving me a rental. Bear in mind that these issues were supposed to be resolved prior to my picking up the car. I let him know in no uncertain terms that I was incredibly disappointed in his response. He advises me he’s booking for May 7th. I was leaving for vacation May 8th, so I had my son drop off the car in Whitby on May 11th giving them a full week to address the issues. On Monday May 13th they work on the car and I get a text message from Matt Gauss that the car is pretty much ready, and he just has to take a final road test with his Service Manager to make sure the rattle is gone. I respond to him asking if his team was able to clean the salt from the front footwells and he says yes, they were cleaned. So 4 days later (Friday) I haven’t heard back from him and I text him asking if he was still going to take a final toad test with his Service Manager because I would be picking up the car the next day and wanted to make sure the issues have been resolved. He responds that “yes the rattle is gone.” I return from vacation on May 18th and make the 68km drive to Whitby to pick up the car. I enter the car and my fears have been realized not only are the salt stains still there, but the rattle is still there!! I go back to the Service Desk and I’m livid. I ask to speak with the Service Manager Tomy Karakolis. I again must explain the whole situation to him and that Matt Gauss had the car in his possession for 5 full business days and only took it out on Monday and proclaimed it repaired. He asks how I know that the car sat in the lot for 4 days untouched. I told him I have a GPS tracker on the car. He then asks me to bring the car back on Tuesday (Monday was Victoria Day) for them to look at it again. He promised me a rental and that they would resolve the issues. So, we show up on Tuesday (another 68km drive) and we get a rental and they work on the car all week long. Friday morning I get a text that the car is ready. We make the trek back to the dealership and FINALLY the car is repaired, and the salt stains are gone. I must thank Tomy for owning the issue and following through. It should have been repaired the week before while the car sat on the lot for 4 days. Now the dealership is out $200+ for the rental because a salesperson and a service advisor dropped the ball. It only took a month to resolve what should have been handled before I picked up the car for the first time. So my advice is don’t hand over that cheque until all your concerns are addressed.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Tomy Karakolis, Matthew Page, Fara Andrade

May 24, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"It was an amazing experience "

- Ay.o

I must say I had an amazing experience and I am grateful to have done business with the Whitby Honda dealership. I want to appreciate the dealership for excellent customer service/ care, as well as also providing me with an awesome vehicle. Tony, Peter, Amy, Mat Gus, and Trevor are people I will highly recommend to any and everyone looking for an excellent/ honest service. At this point, I look forward to doing more businesses with these wonderful people and at this wonderful dealership. Oluwaseun Olaniyi (AY )

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Peter van Dorsser, Trevor Carew, Tony Ghowsi, Amy McBean

March 21, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"Great experience "

- ROOK E

John was very helpful with the purchase of my new CR-V. After just going through a bad experience with a 2018 GMC Terrain, it was nice to see John and his team get me the best deal on what I was looking for. Special thanks to David Takla for all his work, and Matthew Gauss for installing my snow tires. I would highly recommend this dealership and this team if your new car purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: John Baird, David Takla

March 11, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating

"A very memorable purchasing experience."

- S Bourque

Matt was attentive to our questions, thoughtful and knowledgeable about the vehicle and showed us a range of vehicle options to consider. No pressure.I had hoped to find a good demonstrator and had not shared that with him. In the end I got just that, an excellent vehicle that far exceeds my initial expectations. Having owned Hondas before I expect many wonderful adventures in the future with this one. It was clear that this dealership team is invested in our satisfaction and were supportive and answered all of my questions . The reception thoughtfully guided our selection of a salesperson and it was a great match Staff passion and genuine interest was clearly part of my purchasing experience. My 10 year old grandson thinks I am a genius and reviewed all the trucks features with my Tacoma driving son. He might be selling Honda's one day. He especially likes the little truck icon on the navigation map. Cool!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Kyle Thomas, Trevor Carew, Matthew Page

1
...
1 - 10 of 42 results

Dealership Inventory (438 Vehicles)

Used 2015 Acura TLX car, priced at $18,900

2015 Acura TLX

$18,900

Used 2017 Honda CR-V car, priced at $34,900

2017 Honda CR-V

$34,900

Used 2014 Honda Civic car, priced at $10,500

2014 Honda Civic

$10,500

Used 2016 Acura RDX car, priced at $21,900

2016 Acura RDX

$21,900

Used 2017 Honda CR-V car, priced at $23,900

2017 Honda CR-V

$23,900

Used 2017 Honda Pilot car, priced at $34,900

2017 Honda Pilot

$34,900

Used 2019 Honda CR-V car, priced at $34,900

2019 Honda CR-V

$34,900

Used 2018 Honda Pilot car, priced at $37,500

2018 Honda Pilot

$37,500