Dealer Panel | Are you a dealer? Learn more
Search
Back
Start your review of Doug Airey.
Doug Airey
Doug Airey, General Manager, Western GMC Buick
4.7

Doug Airey

General Manager

Western GMC Buick

18325 Stony Plain Rd NW
Edmonton, AB T5S 1C6

Contact Me

I'm Doug Airey, General Manager of Western GMC Buick. I've been in the automotive business since 1984 first working for General Motors Corporation in the Service department then taking on a wide variety of assignments until 2008 when I joined the team at Western. Over the years there have been some great "favourite" cars including 1968 Pontiac Firebird, 1987 Buick Reatta Convertible, 1988 Pontiac Fiero GT and the 2009 Pontiac G8 GT. For current vehicles, my favourites are anything with "Denali" -- what a great package and the all-new line-up of Buicks including the fabulous Encore, Envision and the all-new Enclave. I also love any vehicle that is "Sold"! When I'm not at Western, you can likely find me at the golf course, ski hill or working on my model trains. I'm actively involved in a wide range of community and industry organizations including Special Olympics and our local ski racing club.

Dealership Experience

12 yrs, 7 mos

Industry Experience

34 yrs, 11 mos

Languages Spoken

English English

Call
Email

37 Reviews of Doug Airey

March 23, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Best Service in the City"

- Bianca

I've been a client of Western GMC Buick for several years. Most recently, I chose to purchase a new 2019 GMC Terrain from Megan, and every step of my interaction confirmed why Western GMC Buick is the only dealership I will use for auto purchases. This was my first new car and I was a little apprehensive about such a large investment. Megan was so knowledgeable, friendly, and patient with me, and really helped me understand what I was getting. Chantal was equally helpful and courteous in helping me navigate the financing options of my new car. Overall, I can't recommend Doug and the team at Western GMC Buick enough. They are so friendly, knowledgeable, and great to work with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Chantal Geddes, Megan Drier

February 28, 2019

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Amazing service and a great atmosphere "

- Aaron Z

We knew what my wife wanted, The salesman spoke to my wife and not me as much. My wife loved that. the financing was easy and very well explained. I would recommend them to everyone

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

October 01, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Another Purchase"

- PontiacG8

I have purchased multiple cars from Western and have recommended the dealership to friends who have gone on to purchase as well. The entire dealership continually exceeds expectations; be it sales, service, parts or finance.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Alan Walker, Jamie Brandt, Chantal Geddes, Aaron Peterson, Ashley Brewer

Oct 09, 2018

Western GMC Buick responded

PontiacG8, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience, it's a pleasure to have you as part of the Western Family! We look forward to seeing you again soon! -Team Western

May 28, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Excellent service"

- NeilC

Just bought my first GM product and couldn't be happier. Aaron was able to answer all my questions honestly and sincerely as he helped me choose my new truck. As a new GM customer, I couldn't be more impressed with the service and would recommend Western GMC to anyone looking to buy a new vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jun 07, 2018

Western GMC Buick responded

NeilC, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience, it's a pleasure to have you as part of the Western Family! Enjoy your new GMC Truck and we look forward to seeing you again soon! -Team Western

April 28, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Amazing dealership awesome service!"

- Christine

After having loyalty to another brand for 20 years I decided to take a look at Western GMC Buick’s vehicles. From the moment I started my search, I experienced a level of service that I’d never experienced before. Simply said, excellence! I found the perfect vehicle for me! There is no doubt I’ll continue to have all service work done at Western and will highly recommend any family member or friend to call Aaron for their new vehicle search. Thank you! Christine

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Aaron Peterson, Ashley Brewer , Ashley Brewer

May 14, 2018

Western GMC Buick responded

Christine, Thank you very much for choosing Western and taking the time to share your experience. It was our teams pleasure to provide you with the needed information to make an informed decision! We're looking forward to seeing you and your new Buick in the near future! -Team Western

February 25, 2018

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Excellent service"

- Lbrandt

Friendly staff & competitive pricing, easy from start to finish. Thank you for making this purchase enjoyable & exciting! I am very happy with my new purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Jamie Brandt, Chantal Geddes, Karen Adams, Drew Ellingson, Walt Price

Mar 28, 2018

Western GMC Buick responded

Lbrandt, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience, it's a pleasure to have you as part of the Western Family! We look forward to seeing you again soon! -Team Western

December 12, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Absolutely Phenomenal Experience for years!"

- Chris.S

I've been a Western customer since 2012. Absolutely phenomenal experiences every time. I've been in 15 odd times; oil changes, new accessories, everything. Truly a top dealership. I absolutely recommend Western! Thanks very much for the excellent service Doug and team!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Jan 11, 2018

Western GMC Buick responded

Chris, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with our Certified Service Department! We look forward to your future visits! -Team Western

December 12, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Best experience I have ever had"

- Cath123

We decided that we would trade in our two older vehicles and buy a Sierra Denali. I have never had a dealership that did not play games - was asked what I wanted and looked for what I wanted and they provided it with an outstanding deal first time around. No fuss no muss - I highly recommend this dealership to anyone. Good credit bad credit they will be honest with you and work for you to get you what you need. Both Aaron and Doug were outstanding

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Aaron Peterson, Matthew Winterhalt

Jan 11, 2018

Western GMC Buick responded

Cath123, Thank you so much for sharing your experience. It was our pleasure to provide you with a outstanding deal with no smoke and mirrors. We believe it's about being transparent and fare to both parties. We're looking forward to seeing you and your Sierra Denali in the near future! -Team Western

December 10, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Dishonest. Intimidating. Unreasonable."

- Afed

On Saturday October 21, 2017 I went to GMC western Buick. I found a 2017 GMC Terrain which I was interested in potentially purchasing. I was speaking with Jamie (used car sales manager) and Brian (used car sales person) about the vehicle. At the end of my visit, Brian had a deal summary printed up from his computer which outlined the details of the purchase including price of vehicle, the after market leather package I had inquired about, and the interest rate which was being given to me, 6.99%. Although I thought an interest rate at 6.99% was a bit on the high side, I was willing to make it work. The only other option I had found was at a different dealership, exact same vehicle, roughly the same price , about the same interest rate (5.99), however they were unable to have after market leather done. So I believed getting the vehicle at gmc western would get me the most for my money. So I signed the deal summary in Brian’s office and he escorted me to the financing department where I was introduced to Chantal (financing manager). There she asked me to leave a deposit for the vehicle while I was making my final decision on the vehicle. Word for word I asked Chantal, “will I get my deposit back if for any reason the deal does not end up going through?” She said, “of course, we’re not in the business of keeping deposits.” She explained to me, her job in the financing department was to get me the best interest rate possible. I filled out my credit application with her, handed over my $1000.00 in cash and received a receipt for my deposit. As the office was going to be closed on Sunday, she told me she would give me a call on Monday to let me know how everything was progressing and which bank she had found to give me my car loan. I thanked her and left. On Monday morning I received a phone call from Chantal informing me that the best interest rate she could find me was 9.9%. I told her I was most definitely not going to pay 9.9% interest on a vehicle. I asked her if there was anything I could do on my part to convince the bank to give me a better rate for example; providing them with recent pay stubs, tax summary, letter of employment. She was unwilling to take any of these documents. We ended the conversation. I had my brother give her a call to see what was going on with the deal and if that’s the best they could do interest rate wise. She confirmed with him that was the best they could do and he said exactly what I did, that at that rate, there was no deal. On Tuesday, I phoned Brian and asked him to email me a copy of the details of the agreement because my brother and I were still completely confused as to why they were offering me a whopping 10% interest rate. During the phone conversation, he mentioned that he was booking my car for leather installation that day. He wanted me to make a decision ASAP so that the vehicle could be sent in for leather and it took approx 48 hours to have installed. I asked him to wait to send it in for leather until I went over the details in the email with my brother and he agreed. About 20 mins after our phone conversation ended, I received an email from Brian stating, “Hi Astra, please see the offer to purchase as you requested along with lien holder information. I have your car booked today for solid black, heated perforated with black stitch leather package. Thanks very much. Talk to you soon.” I was confused and felt pressured by this email because I had just spoke with him and told him to hold off on the leather. So I immediately emailed him back, saying “I asked you to wait please, until I went over the details in the email with my brother.” He responded “okay. Sorry about that. They have not come for the car yet.” That Was the last of my communications with gmc western team on Tuesday. On Wednesday morning, I phoned Jamie to tell him unfortunately I would not be buying the vehicle. I apologized if he felt like I had wasted his time and we ended the converstion. On Thursday morning, I called Jamie to let him know that I would be coming in to the dealership to pick up my $1000.00 deposit. He told me that the dealership would not be refunding my deposit because the vehicle had been sent in for leather and the upholstery was all torn up. I told him that not only did I not agree to the higher interest rate, I specifically advised the sales team NOT to install the leather. AT NO POINT DID I VERBALLY AGREE OR AGREE IN WRITING to a 9.9% interest rate. He didnt care that I had email correspondence between Brian and I regarding the leather. He told me that it was my responsibility to pay for the leather and that is why they are not returning my deposit. My next step was to contact the general manager Doug. I explained exactly what happened to him and he has been completely unwilling to do anything for me. Instead, he’s wrongly accused me of lying and being misleading. He has threatened to SUE ME for the cost acquired for the leather installation. He’s saying the reason why the interest rate is so high is due to my poor credit history. That is completely untrue. I have since bought the exact same vehicle at a different dealership at an interest rate of 5.99%, and I will gladly show that documentation to anyone who would like to see. So after getting nowhere with the general manager, I contacted amvic. Amvic unfortunately does not have any jurisdiction over deposits. However, in many of Doug’s emails to me and my lawyer, he has stated he will respect amvics decision and act accordingly. Amvic Tried to contact Doug however and Doug refused to answer amvics questions and passed amvic on to Jamie. Amvics reccomendation after reviewing ALL the documents regarding the matter is to refund my deposit, but they still are refusing to do so. I have had my lawyer contact them and Still nothing. This is the only reason I have now taken to social media to make sure my story is heard and to ensure this does not happen to anyone else. I am shocked and disgusted by the gmc western team, as is my family and friends who have witnessed me battle this dealership over the last few months. I feel so disrespected, and taken advantage of.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No

Other Employees Tagged: Jamie Brandt, Chantal Geddes, Brian Mahoney , Brian mahoney

November 15, 2017

Dealership Rating
Employee Rating
Employee Rating is a new feature allowing consumers to rate their experience with individual dealership employees

"Great working with Walter great guy. "

- Jmfhunter

Dealership in the city great feeling really down to earth. And you don’t have to go to Wetaskiwin for great sales and service... Thanks again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Rebecca Gottfried, Walt Price

Nov 20, 2017

Western GMC Buick responded

Jmfhunter, we're pleased you had such a fantastic experience and decided to share it with us in this review. We hope you enjoy your new vehicle and we look forward to seeing you soon! THANK YOU! -Team Western

1
...
1 - 10 of 37 results

Dealership Inventory (363 Vehicles)

2018 GMC Sierra 1500

$73,480

2019 GMC Yukon

$93,430

2018 GMC Sierra 1500

$71,965

2019 GMC Sierra 3500

$93,182

2019 GMC Sierra 3500

$93,102

2018 GMC Terrain

$32,420

2019 GMC Sierra 3500

$102,215

2018 Buick Enclave

$56,840