Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Southgate Volkswagen

2.4

254 Lifetime Reviews

1223 101 St SW, Edmonton, Alberta T6X 1A1 Directions
Call (780) 438-8888

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

254 Reviews of Southgate Volkswagen

Sort by Write a review
March 04, 2020

"Engine Oil Consumed"

- Amarpreet Singh

Bought a brand new Jetta R line. Never going to buy VW again. Car consumed Engine oil even before the first service. I know that customer is supposed to keep an eye on the oil level. But this is not normal, called them to talk about the issue and they said all they can do is get it serviced before 1000km and that is going on me to pay. They do not mean what they say while they sale the vehicles. DO NOT BUY ANY VW VEHICLES!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Evan
January 30, 2020

"This dealership is the best ! Very honest , very helpful..."

- Lara alhmidat

This dealership is the best ! Very honest , very helpful and they made sure I get the best car within my budget instead of ripping me off ! The manager, the salesperson and finance person were beyond awesome ! I’m sure now if I ever want a new car they will be my one and only destination.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Scott, Nicky and Svan .
January 20, 2020

"Worst customer service regarding service dept. Our..."

- Ming

Worst customer service regarding service dept. Our vehicle is less than a year old and has been on for countless recalls. I was left waiting over 2 hrs for a shuttle as the guy never returned. The next time they guaranteed me a loaner and I arrived to find out none were available. Would not purchase a VW again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service dept
January 12, 2020

"This is the third vehicle that we have bought from this..."

- Kszelewicki

This is the third vehicle that we have bought from this dealership. We will buy our next vehicle from there also. We had an excellent experience with everyone we dealt with!! Scott, our sales rep was amazing. He listened to our requests and met them head on. I would highly recommend this dealership!! The night we picked up our car, the sales manager was on his way out but came back to congratulate us on our new purchase!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Scott and Ethan and the manager.
August 28, 2019

"Efficient, honest, and good service"

- Brendan

Had a good experience. Came from out of town looking at a truck they had on the lot. It was exactly as I was expecting. They gave me a good deal on it. No bs. I was back on the road in my new RAM within an hour and a half. And they managed to clean it during that time. cheers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Scott, Veer
August 04, 2019

"HORRIBLE CUSTOMER CARE, COMPLETE FAIL FOR GM MARVIN HENSCHEL"

- albertaguy333

Unbelievably horrible service from Southgate VW. This place is a complete joke. SCOTT MCNAUGHTON the sales guy basically made me lose a car I was waiting for. Ive owned about 7 VW's in life and this place treats you like youre worthless. VEER the "sales manager" is should be fired imo, trust me youll know why if you ever have to communicate with the guy, there is absolutely ZERO follow up from any management including the General Sales Manager RYAN and even the GM MARVIN failed to follow up when i politely brought up my issue with SCOTT and VEER. It wasnt until I emailed the owner Jim that I finally got some follow up, it wasnt from him he didnt acknowledge it either but he got someone else to and I was assured that Scott would follow up with me in the future once another vehicle matching what I wanted came in. That was last week and I reached out today to check on things with SCOTT and guess what? No response.......Also this dealer has ZERO understanding for people that work in the ENERGY SECTOR that have schedules away from civilization/cell service/home. Plenty of other dealerships to choose from STAY FAR AWAY FROM SOUTHGATE VW. Also Scott shouldnt be posting vehicle sales ads for Southgate on Kijiji, Ill be forwarding those to AMVIC.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
SCOTT MCNAUGHTON, VEER, RYAN, MARVIN
July 25, 2019

"Great at selling- no continued care"

- Nicolio11

I bought a used GOLF from this dealership. I’m overall pretty happy with the car and had a super friendly gentleman sell it to me. However, anytime I return to the dealership with questions I do not receive good customer service. I feel they try to get as much of my money as possible instead of taking care of a customer who chose to purchase from them. The drivers headlight is almost impossible to change due to the tight configuration and they told me I would have to pay a minimum 1 hour service fee to get their help (takes 2 minutes) Biggest complaint is that the radio code wasn’t written in the owners manual when I bought the car. Now that I’ve had the battery replaced I need the code to use the radio or sound system. Upon making a trip to Southgate vw I learned that they intended to charge me $80 for this “service.” Uhhhhhhh I’m pretty sure I already paid for the car. I have a right to know the code. That’s the whole reason I bought used from a dealership- so there would be accountability. No such luck. They made it sound like retrieving the code was a long complicated process. Upon the recommendation of a fountain tire manager I took it to Norden vw to have the radio unlocked. When he called they said it would take vw 2 minutes to receive the code. So definitely not a service worth $80. They still charged me but guess what?!.... cost was $40. Simple process. Took them 20 minutes maybe and I’m not convinced they were even working on it the whole time. If you want a vw that bad go to Norden or buy on kijiji. No one in my family has had good service from Southgate after purchase.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Don’t remember
June 24, 2019

"They listened and worked with me"

- jbowkowy

I was searching for a vehicle for a few months talking with the other two dealerships. Southgate was the only one that listened and didn't harass me with things I was not looking for. I provided them with what I was looking for and what I wanted to pay and we were able to come together with a final price that worked for the car they had.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Scott
May 07, 2019

"The worst service I have ever experienced"

- elisa

Purchased a brand new 2018 Tiguan Highline and we had nothing but issues and problems. I was degraded by the Warranty Manager, who would only speak to my husband and refused to speak to me because I was a woman and didn't know anything. He claimed that my barely one year old Tiguan front grill that was said was showing rust stains was actually first from rocks, then from acid rain. I said he had to be joking, and that's when he refused to speak to me anymore. Issues continued.. That thing was in the dealership at least every few months for something. After a year, my husband and I were looking at getting rid of the vehicle, if only we could take the loss. Right now, we are almost willing to take the loss so that we don't have to deal with Southgate VW or that vehicle anymore. It has been such a disappointment with the amount of money we have put into it. The inconvenience, time off of work, tears, fighting and arguing is not worth it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Numerous.
November 14, 2018

"Too many chances"

- unimpressed1234

I have taken my cars here for several years, but I will not be returning. Twice they have guaranteed me a courtesy car and have not followed through. I cancelled my appointment yesterday due to this incompetence and won't be making a new one. Why give that as an option if you don't have them available? The last time I was here for servicing, I was waiting upstairs and they were too lazy to even come up and get me. They hollered at me from downstairs. This was also after waiting in the bay for ten minutes before anyone even noticed I was there. Each and every time I go to Southgate for servicing their customer service becomes worse and worse. I will gladly take my car elsewhere and support smaller businesses who are willing to go out of their way to help their customers. Do not bring your car here!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Several, I can't remember all of their names.
1
...
1 - 10 of 254 results