Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Southgate Volkswagen

Edmonton, AB

2.8
262 Reviews

1223 101 St SW

Edmonton, AB

T6X 1A1

Directions

262 Reviews of Southgate Volkswagen

Sort by
July 23, 2021

"Usually the thought of going to a dealership to buy a car..."

- Sean.Sinfield

Usually the thought of going to a dealership to buy a car evokes the same feeling as getting a tooth extracted, Painfull. Dan Heller was amazing to deal with. No pressure. And for me no anxiety. I highly recommend if you are in the market for a car to visit them.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dan Heller
5.0
July 04, 2021

"Dropped my car for repairs and once done only had a 1 km..."

- Sue

Dropped my car for repairs and once done only had a 1 km difference on mileage . That means no road test after repairs . Was told CV Boot starting to leak it is ripped open seems like the tech put his finger and ripped it . It's leaking grease . A month ago everything was fine now all other issues ? Left message for GM to call , no response .

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Holly Unger
1.0
June 25, 2021

"Very very bad service they just making money they change..."

- sukhdipbrar

Very very bad service they just making money they change new Jatta engine oil three time under 15000 km

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bil Benson
1.0
Mary Brown
1.0
Chris Krause
1.0
Ryan Roberts
1.0
Holly Unger
1.0
March 25, 2021

"Brought my vehicle in for Seasonal Tire Swap today. Both..."

- Mhvns

Brought my vehicle in for Seasonal Tire Swap today. Both the Service Advisor Rhonda and Service Manager Holly were great/very knowledgeable. Overall great service. Would highly recommend Southgate VW Service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Holly Unger
5.0
Other Employees : Rhonda Rysko
February 18, 2021

"The Service Department was awful to deal with, took more..."

- Joy

The Service Department was awful to deal with, took more than a few phone calls to get through and get answers about a really expensive quote, it cost me $387 to get my battery replaced, they took a half hour (on the invoice) and charged for a full unity of service & labour. My car ended up being 5 days later than expected due to a delay in their 3rd party suppliers shipping, which didn't bother me as much as how unhelpful the service department was in looking out for me as a customer. No offer of a loaner vehicle, I had to ask for my own ride home when I came in the day I had expected to pick up my own car and was told "its not ready yet, didn't you get my text?" they had the wrong phone number inputted, the area code wrong, go figure. Overall, I would not recommend anyone receive service here, reception was lovely though while taking my payment lol Go to Norden Volkswagen on the North end and save yourself the stress and poor treatment. I usually go there anyways, lesson learned about Southgate.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Holly Unger
3.0
Other Employees : Rhonda Rysko
October 20, 2020

"Horrible service, I regret I even visited them, even when..."

- z.vukicevic84

Horrible service, I regret I even visited them, even when I sent them email about bad service they ignored to even say sorry about bad service. I gave them THERE days after purchasing a car to detailed clean up and they couldn't do that like they promised, not even call and say listen we couldn't make it, and when I show up to pick up the car I was waiting for 15 mins and they told me that they literally forget and I gave them another 24 hrs and again, nobody called so I decided to go there and there was guy cleaning and he told me that he is 95% done. Inside was tiny paint marks on hand brake, steering wheel and curbs in cup holders etc. This is not how you serve your "valuable" customers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Nardeen/John
July 22, 2020

"Worst used car purchase ever!"

- Unhappy VW Owner

Bought a used TDI vehicle last summer from Southgate VW. The salesperson promised that ALL services and recalls would be done, and EVERYTHING would be up-to-date, when I'd take delivery. As well, it would be given a complete inspection, and be professionally detailed. I got a call from the salesperson, on pick-up day, saying "We need to keep your car another day, because the detailer put a small scratch on one of the doors, when driving through the lot." When picking up the car, the extra accessories (that had been negotiated for) were missing. The salesperson and parts guy scrambled to get these ready, while we waited, and waited! Minutes after leaving, I noticed that the promised "full tank of fuel" was less than half full. I called the salesperson to find out where I should fill up to have the cost billed to Southgate's account. Nowhere! I needed to return to Southgate, so their lot attendant could take it out for a fill. We had to wait again! Upon closer inspection, I found that the "small scratch" turned out to be a whole door repaint, with the old foam rubber wind seal torn off and reapplied using a hot glue gun! One would think this torn rubber would have been replaced with new, but I guess that might have cut into profits too much! Within one week and 1,000 kilometres of driving, we got a check engine light. I connected my own code reader and found we had a nitrogen/oxygen sensor fault. Called Southgate service, and was told that my reading could not be trusted, and they would have to do their own, and charge me $145 for their code reading. I took the car to Norden. Norden VW did the code scan, found "a nitrogen/oxygen sensor fault", replaced two sensors, and gave me a service loaner. I was charged ZERO, as it was all covered by VW's extended emissions warranty. We immediately noticed the VW in-car GPS system was not updated, as roads constructed three or four years ago, are non-existent. Now, almost one year and almost 30,000 highway kilometres later, we get a "Check Brake Pads" warning message. We happened to be near a Midas, who offer free brake inspection. They found that three of the four pad sets were worn to less than one millimetre. I contacted Southgate saying, there should be no way that after only 30,000 kilometres from having the services and inspection completed, 95% of which is highway driving, there should be that much wear, and asked what they were willing to do, to correct it. I was emailed a copy of the Vehicle Assessment Report, and reminded that I had signed off acceptance of it. I was told "Brakes are a wear item, not covered by any warranty, but Southgate can give you a 15% discount." How kind! (sarcasm) Southgate can give me a $390 discount off a $2600 surprise brake job! Upon looking closer at the Vehicle Assessment Report, I saw that I only signed off on having RECEIVED the report! I couldn't "accept" each item reported unless I were to inspect each point myself, and make a comparison with the Southgate mechanic's findings. As well, the assessment report was almost NINE MONTHS OLD! According to AMVIC, inspection reports are only valid for 120 days. My case is currently in with AMVIC, who is in the process of investigating Southgate VW. By the way, in my ratings, I give a 5-star on Friendliness. Everyone at Southgate is super-friendly (before you hand them your money.) This is because crooks and scammers all know that shafting people is much easier when you trick them into trusting you first!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Shade, Marvin Henschel
April 21, 2020

"I bought used ram 1500 in the month of January 2020. The..."

- luckyhundal

I bought used ram 1500 in the month of January 2020. The first time i checked the vehicle interior and went for a ride there was a check engine light on the dashboard. The salesperson said it will be fixed by the time I buy it. Next day I went to the Volswagon dealership again to see the vehicle and other finance formalities the sign was gone. Within one month the check engine light came back. I drove less than 500 kms at that time. I tried to call the same salesperson but later found that he already quit the job. Then I talked to the second salesperson and told him the check engine light issue. I dropped my vehicle at dealership first week of March regarding detailing and check engine light. The time I picked my vehicle there was no sign. I was told by the second salesperson if check engine light comes back come to dealership again as I didn’t drive much kms on this vehicle. Again within 2 weeks check engine light keeps coming back and forth for few days Then kind of permanent on the dashboard. I tried to call second salesperson and went to Volswagon and found that that guy too is not working there anymore. I talked to the third salesperson about the issue and he sent me to the dodge dealership. Dodge guys diagnosed the vehicle and found some problem related to fuel tank and costs around 600$. May be it was the same problem from the beginning which was never fixed by Volswagon because I drive only around 2000 kms in three months the time I buy this vehicle. Later I talked to the fourth person(sales manager) about this issue and according to him it is a used vehicle so all these problems gonna come anytime and I found that the codes and check engine light issue was never ever fixed just codes were cleared from the dashboard just to be looked ok. That was the reason check engine light keeps coming on the dashboard. I talked to few people including mechanics and they said that this would have been fixed at Volswagon coz i didn’t drive much kms and problem seems to be from the beginning. Thanks

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales
March 04, 2020

"Engine Oil Consumed"

- Amarpreet Singh

Bought a brand new Jetta R line. Never going to buy VW again. Car consumed Engine oil even before the first service. I know that customer is supposed to keep an eye on the oil level. But this is not normal, called them to talk about the issue and they said all they can do is get it serviced before 1000km and that is going on me to pay. They do not mean what they say while they sale the vehicles. DO NOT BUY ANY VW VEHICLES!

Read More
Quality of Work
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Evan
January 30, 2020

"This dealership is the best ! Very honest , very helpful..."

- Lara alhmidat

This dealership is the best ! Very honest , very helpful and they made sure I get the best car within my budget instead of ripping me off ! The manager, the salesperson and finance person were beyond awesome ! I’m sure now if I ever want a new car they will be my one and only destination.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Scott, Nicky and Svan .
1
...
1 - 10 of 262 results