Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Smiths Falls Hyundai

4.8

7 Lifetime Reviews

247 Lombard Rd, Smiths Falls, Ontario K7A 4W7 Directions
Call (613) 283-5351

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

7 Reviews of Smiths Falls Hyundai

Sort by Write a review
December 30, 2019

"Smiths Falls Hyundai dealership is the best one I have..."

- abcsharon50

Smiths Falls Hyundai dealership is the best one I have ever dealt with! No high pressure, questions answered and respectful to the customer, regardless of which dept one deals with. Very knowledgeable and friendly. They are also very acomodating

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Keith Tisdelle, Kent Jeffreys, Eric Parish
March 08, 2019

"Smiths Falls Hyundai. "

- 3togo

This team was good the first time and greater the second time around, Each and everyone there (staff ) do their very best to make sure you are completely satisfied with any and all service that was carried out. The staff are polite and easy to take to and they have a sense of humour which makes it even more pleasant. Some even cheer for the right NHL team....

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
All the staff at Smiths Falls Hyundai are great and a pleasure to deal with.
November 19, 2018

"Sales and financial personnel went the extra mile for me."

- Music fan

Sales and financial personnel went the extra mile on my behalf. Over the past 2 months all were patient with my questions and requests. Thanks to Debbie and Sarah

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Debbie and Sarah
July 27, 2018

"TRULY AMAZING TEAM TO WORK WITH."

- VERY HAPPY CUSTOMER

We're very happy with the two new vehicles we purchased from Keith Tisdelle at Smiths Falls Hyundai. Wonderful people to work with. FIVE STARS !!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Keith Tisdelle, Sarah in Finance.
May 15, 2018

"AMAZING SERVICE"

- M & P

We have been dealing with Smiths Falls Hyundai for 30 years and their servicing of our vehicles has always been excellent. The desk guys, the service guys and the sales people are always pleasant and helpful. On this visit we had the winter tires replaced with the summer tires and they store the tires for us which is so helpful. They also did an oil change and maintenance check. The owner Steve LeBlanc is a special, caring and helpful person.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Eric, Trent and the special mechanic who has been working there for over 25 years.
March 28, 2017

"Revenge of the Service Advisor"

- Former Elantra Owner

It's been over a year since I've cut all ties with Smiths Falls Hyundai and traded in my 2010 Elantra for a far superior vehicle from the local Honda dealership. I could write a book detailing my time with S.F. Hyundai but instead, I will try to keep it short and briefly cover some of my experiences after buying the car new in 2010. If you are thinking of buying a vehicle from Smiths Falls Hyundai then please consider the following facts I have experienced. -If you require a loaner, it will probably be near empty of gas. Either bring a gerry can with a couple of gallons with you or head for the nearest gas station while the fuel light keeps blinking and beeping. Their motto "Home of the no charge loaner" should be "Home of the no gas loaner". -Their factory "all season tires" were useless in the snow and nearly caused what could have been a fatal collision. They were also worn out after 40,000 KM. I replaced them with Motomaster SE's which were far more superior in winter and got 70K out of them. -If you don't take the vehicle to them for service you wont know if there are any recalls. Of the many recalls I had, none informed me by mail, email, etc. I was told once over the phone while scheduling a service, otherwise I would be told while it was being serviced for something else so I'd have to either wait that much longer or re-schedule. Very inconvenient. -Dont fall for the "advisor" Eric bringing a worn out fan belt to you while you're in the waiting area and saying " oh look, you need a new one". A reputable garage will show you the part while it's on the vehicle, explaining why it needs changing. In hindsight, I should have made him put it back on and purchased one at Canadian Tire and changed it myself instead of paying 65 dollars labor to replace a 15 dollar belt. -If they forget to advise you that your tires are wearing unevenly even though their Tech noted it on their invoice and yet their advisor didn't note it on the customer copy and forgot to tell you, and then you don't find out until they are prematurely worn out, don't kick up a fuss. They are very vindictive and childish when you suggest they screwed up. You may find that future service visits are geared towards inconveniencing you as much as possible because you had the audacity to question their abilities at never being wrong. -I considered legal action for a very disturbing revelation I had after my final oil change there. Proving it would be difficult and I could not afford the time or money to go forward. I have done the next best thing and that is informing as many people as possible about my experiences there. So far I've had four acquaintances purchase their vehicle at the Honda dealership instead of Hyundai which in turn is a fifty dollar referral fee for me for each one. You may pay more for a Honda but I strongly proclaim that it is money well spent and the service at the Smiths Falls Honda dealer has been above and beyond S.F. Hyundai. -Another interesting note is that S.F. Hyundai has at least 8 service bays whereas the Honda dealer has 4. Hyundai's always seemed packed whereas Honda didn't seem overly busy in the few times I'd been there. My opinion is that it's a testament to the quality of the Hondas. Mine has been flawless since bought in December 2015. -In summary, I don't have an issue with their Techs but if you tend to believe (without question and with wallet open) everything your service advisor tells you then Smiths Falls Hyundai is for you, they will treat you like a King or Queen. However, if you, like me, tend to question things and stand up for what is undeniably right, then save yourself a lot of grief and avoid Smiths Falls Hyundai. -I've always admired when someone or a business takes responsibility for their actions. But when a business appears to initially take responsibility, then allows their service department to purposely inconvenience you at future service appointments, well, that is very disturbing. -I am amazed at how petty and vindictive people can be. And these are supposed professionals. I will never return to Smiths Falls Hyundai. Of the more than ten dealerships I have dealt with in my lifetime, they are by far the worst.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Eric
November 29, 2013

"Where to begin. Since the vehicle came out of warranty,..."

- chivalryinjeans

Where to begin. Since the vehicle came out of warranty, I have been at odds with the service department over the use of their resouces and their inability to deal with my complaints. In their defence, they have discounted many of the things I have complained in the ongoing issues, but they also continue to demonstate a disregard for concerns I have enlighted them on and indeed, dismiss my concerns and would just rather I don't do business with them. Now I am not an easy customer. When I spend hundreds, if not thousands of dollars on anything that I would prefer NOT to spend it on, then you better have answers to my detailed questions and be prepared for responses. I will only get upset when your answers do not make sense. So let's continue. Todays 2 examples are with my 2008 Elantra which has 300,000 km on it. The car has been more than acceptable. Indeed the sales staff was brilliant and accepted my rather hard line questions and dealt with them very well. You can see from the milage, that the manufacturers warranty expired long before the financing was completed. This is not the fault of the manufacturer and I acccept that there are consumables in the life of a car, but my first concern was that every 2nd or third oil change interval, that a brake inspection and service be performed. Apparently the design of the caliper brakes leaves it open to debris buildup that retards the travel and return operation of the calipers. This leads to premature wear and sticking and premature replacement. Everytime I have needed pads, the rotors are also beyond saving...this is a $500.00 each time and add the periodic brake service and there is at least another $200.00 in additional maintenance. I still say this is a design flaw. In my youth, I have worked on brake calipers and have NEVER heard this being an issue before this car. OK, the dealership have discounted my brake service after Hyundai instructed the dealership to INCREASE this cost. Good on them and I will continue my diligence when it comes to the brakes. I am just not happy. Now the Timing Belt.... I had the 2nd timing belt done at 240,000, at 295,000, the belt tentioner and the belt idler were making noise and had to be replaced. Now I was at fault for not asking, but I would have expected some expertise to lead me to replace parts that have a service life close to the time of the timing belt replacement. $500.00 later and I also find out one of the bolts has disappeared from the timing cover. I identified both of these issues and after some heated discussion, the service rep says that they replaced the bolt at no charge...DUH, I stated had they torqued down the bolt properly the first time, that the bolt would probably not have fallen out in the first place. Their response was that no one uses torque wrenches anymore. I stated that this was a quality control issue. They disagreed and became flustered that they seem to never get it right in my eyes. I just told them that incidents like this means that indeed, they are continuing to make mistakes and they are mad I am catching them. I would have replaced the tentioner and idler when the 240,000 timing belt was replaced, gladly...why do it twice, like I had to. If I was going to do it myself like I used to, I would not want to spend more time under the hood. Their motivation is somewhat different I guess and they did not like it that I knew their game plan and had the evidence to support my opinion. I am wiening myself off this dealer and because of the experience, will NOT buy Hyundai again, despite the good performance of the vehicle. I believe it is my service diligence that this vehicle is in as good a shape at 300,00 that it is. So here we go again with a dealership that relies on service for their operating costs, which I have issues with. What is at issue is the cost of this is too much to bear for their own design flaws and errors. Their blatant disregard of my distain and indeed their own disdain, has motivated this review. If I am being unreasonable, then I guess I am, but you better have a good reason not to do the job right the first time and quit blaming the customer for the problems.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Rep un-named
May 30, 2014 -

chivalryinjeans responded

I am not beyond responding with solutions and answers. I do believe however, that this should have come from the Manufacturer or the dealership long before May 2014. Regards. Through a third part service outlet, I FINALLY had the issue explained to me and I thought I'd pass it on, in good faith, to maybe avoid further issues with customers on this problem. The issue now, is the melting salts and suspenders they are dissolved in, like beet juice, that create an additional adhesive property that does not "wash away" as rock salt in a brine does. The commutative effect keeps the solution on the components, like the brake slides, for a much longer time and will attract sand and grime over time. Knowing this, it makes sense why in todays vehicles, used in winter climates, should have periodic brake maintenance. Explained this way, it would have made the transition much easier. I said before, I am not beyond helping you prevent a customer service issue in the future and I also believe you'll accept this in the spirit delivered.

1
1 - 7 of 7 results