Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Dealers, sign in to see your Dealer Panel.

Back
COVID-19
Response
  • No Contact Transactions
  • Vehicle Sanitization

Richmond Subaru - Service Center

Richmond, BC

3.4
35 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

35 Reviews of Richmond Subaru - Service Center

Sort by
December 12, 2018

"Subaru servicing department can do better"

- Reese

Recently had the 80K servicing done on my 2014 Subaru Crosstrek. Very disappointed. Excellent servicing past 2 years so expected the same this time. Dropped of my car for 9:30 am appointment, told it would take 2 1/2 - 3 hours and would be ready by lunch. Car not ready until 2 pm. Waited on sidewalk 50 minutes for pick up at mall 10 min. away without knowing it would take that long. No carwash or vacuum of interior. Miscommunication between front desk and mechanic as to some work that was/was not done on vehicle. Will not be using Subaru for servicing in future.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
George Stratila, service advisor, Richmond
December 04, 2018

"Worst Customer Service in Service Department."

- Rahul

Richmond Subaru Service is nightmare. I am not sure how they hire there staff I had three bad experience with them. Recent one I took appointment for 2:00PM for Car wash in the morning around 11:00 AM. When I reached service centre 5 mins before my appointment I come to know they hose is not working from morning so cannot wash. My point was how come no one called to inform or why did you even give me appointment when hose was frozen especially when they knew from morning. I drove from Burnaby that far wasting my gas. Then the guy was like may be I should call 4:00 PM appointment to cancel after this incident so unprofessional common cannot even see what appointments are there in day. Even in the past they were suppose to call me after taking pictures for fixing my alloy wheels paint never did after me following up for three months finally my work was done. Not sure if they have too many customers that they are willing to loose few customers. Only reason I keep going from Burnaby was good service at time of purchase but after purchase service is horrible. Should stop taking my car for service any more as I have options near to my place.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Not sure name of the employee
August 18, 2018

"Very happy with Car Wash Service!"

- K Tam

Brought my car in for a wash this week and was very happy with the result. My salesperson Austin helped to set it up and I was in and out very quickly. Thank you!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
June 12, 2018

"Worst customer services!!!"

- Mtran

1 star is too much for their services, i wish i can do 0 or even negative. Our car was got stolen from this dealership and they treated us like it's our mistakes and they have nothing to deal with it. Please STAY AWAY!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mathew Clapperton, Tim Tsang
May 11, 2018

"Service is questionable."

- Dani

Richmond Subaru has had my 2018 Forester car for over three weeks. It needs locks replaced because of a theft. They don't seem to have answers. They are not getting back at all. Very frustrating. Something definitely seems to be missing with their service department. Initially they said there was difficulty in getting parts. On the phone just now they said parts are "probably" coming from Toronto and they "may be back ordered" and that they would get back to me. If not back ordered does that mean the order was lost? If it was back ordered they should be able to give me an approximate arrival day. At the very least someone should be willing to talk to me. 22 days and counting and no answers! In the meantime I'm renting a car ! If this is their idea of 'service' then I'm not sure this is a place to take your Subaru.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jordan Lyons, Edwin Ho
April 13, 2018

"Fantastic visit to the dealership"

- Lucxiois

Today my parents purchased a 2018 Outback model Subaru with Mike Lee. He provided wonderful service, the entire experience was phenomenal. The place was very professional, I wholeheartedly recommend the dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike Lee, Michael Nguyen, Mathew Clapperton
August 28, 2017

"Poor Communcation!"

- Ken

A long and arduous story....My Experience with Richmond Subaru! Generally speaking, I am a very patient man, but this dealership (management)has pushed me to my limits. Some of this story is a venting session for me as communication is everything and the management lacks communication skills. I bought my 2016 Impreza from this place because of a positive experience I had with the salesman(Scott) later the sales manager (at the time of the sale). The sales process was less than great in my case, but it was resolved by someone (unfortunately I forgot his name, I was told the owner). The deal was already worked out. Just needed to complete the paperwork. My opinion is it was poor communication between a salesman over who gets to see the finance department people(I was not financing). ( I decline to name the salesman involved...its not worth the aggravation!My salesman was fine.) I was given, "Oil Changes for Life" as long as I owned the car as compensation for my fustrating experience. It took almost 3 hours to complete the paperwork. The owner told me you won't have to do a thing, we have a great service department and it would all be entered into their computer. Great I thought! I didn't even have to express my displeasure as he had witnessed it all. I thought this was not a pleasant experience, but he was being very generous to resolve this issue this way. I was thinking this guy knows how to communicate! Now, a year later almost and every time I go in, I get challenged on whether I should get a free oil change. They all say its part of a lifetime oil change service (paid service plan which requires regular service and then an oil change is free) for which a certificate is issued. The certificate explains the limitations and restrictions. Each time I ask then where is my certificate, if this is the case as I was never given one. Each time, I am told, I don't know. It was probably forgotten. On both occasions they say they will look into it and get back to me. Well on this second occasion, I asked for someone to specifically get back to me as I wanted this sorted out one way or the other. I just wanted to know what exactly I was supposed to get. I was told that day there were no managers present and was told to talk to someone named, Dicken Lau. This person shall we say lacks any customer service skills. We are standing in the service department and he is yelling at me and explaining to me about the lifetime oil change service. I keep repeating that I am not deaf and could he please lower his voice. (This was witnessed by all of the service staff) I told him, I did not buy this service and no one has ever given me this certificate. I ask him to please get me something in writing to explain what I am supposed to get to sort this out. This is witnessed by the service advisor, (Quinton who is probably one of the most professional persons I have dealt with there). He and the receptionist actually apologized to me and my wife for the yelling after. Anyways, long story short, Dicken promises to contact the owner/senior manager to sort this out and get back to me. I thought, ok sounds reasonable. Well, after 3 1/2 weeks nothing. So I call, No Dicken available. No managers available. I unfortunately tell the whole story to someone named "Jim". Not sure of the name and he said he would talk to Dicken to find out what is going on and get back to me within a few days. Nothing for 2 weeks, then I call again. No managers available yet again. I drop in while running some errands a few days later. No managers again. The kind receptionist and Quinton noticed that I am upset yet again with no returned calls by anyone. The receptionist takes it upon her self to ask for my information so that the service manager can contact me when he comes back. I get a call back later. At this time(in this super long story), I just want to say is that common courtesy is that if you promise someone something(like a call back)...follow through. If there is perchance an issue, then I would expect a courtesy call to atleast say there is a delay or explain the issue. We all know stuff happens, but to be ignored is outrageous! I talk to many friends who have bought subaru's in the last few years and I always used to tell people about my experience at richmond subaru minus the hiccups and how it was resolved, but I always said that they were reasonable. Unfortunately no longer! I also have to state at the best of times, I hate driving in richmond. the drivers are crazy...I doubt some of them have a license. (back to the story) After some telephone tag with the service manager(Mathew I think that name was), we talk (I tell the story yet again) and he promises to look into the matter and talk to the owner. I do get a call back and long story short my “free oil change” is subject to the certificate program. Ok. Not what I wanted, but atleast a decision finally. I accepted it. I asked if he could mail it to me. He said ok. It is now August 2017…this whole thing started in March 2017 and I still don’t have the oil change certificate information. Now I don’t recommend Richmond Subaru for anything…just safer that way!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
No point singling out anyone.
Jan 23, 2018 -

Richmond Subaru responded

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your experience. We appreciate all comments and are always striving to better our business. My name is Robin and I am the Service Manager here at Richmond Subaru. I would like to take this opportunity to discuss any issues you may have had with our service department and try to rectify things for you and perhaps for others in the future. Please call me at 604-278-6524 or email me directly at Robin@richmondsubaru.com. We can discuss your comments further.

Jan 23, 2018 -

Ken responded

I thank you for your response, but I find it pointless as another manager already tried to address this and I have been waiting along time for him to address a very simple matter and never heard from again. Continued poor communication by your fellow managers. I tire of repeating myself over and over. I have given up and moved on.

June 22, 2017

"Excellent Personalized Service"

- Bonnie Craig

Since I purchased my 2006 Forester from Richmond Subaru, Eugene Lee has been my "go to" person for service and advice ever since. Eugene is trustworthy, honest, and reliable. He ensures that I am aware of what my Forester needs and when. Estimated costs and the time my vehicle will be required for each service are explained to me before any services begin. He ensures the technicians working on my Subaru are prepped and understand the services to be provided. My Subaru has been very well maintained over many years and I credit this success largely to Eugene Lee.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Eugene Lee
Jan 23, 2018 -

Richmond Subaru responded

Thank you very much for the great review and kind comments. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you or your family regarding your vehicle needs. We hope that you are enjoying your Subaru Forester and look forward to seeing you in service.

June 20, 2017

"Excellent Service at Richmond Subaru"

- Mary Renaud

I purchased my 2010 Outback from Richmond Subaru and I am always impressed by the quality of customer care that I receive from Eugene Lee in the Service Department. He is knowledgeable and personable and due to his expert service, I will likely buy Subaru next time around. Highly recommend.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Eugene Lee
Jan 23, 2018 -

Richmond Subaru responded

Thank you very much for the great review and kind comments. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you or your family regarding your vehicle needs. We hope that you are enjoying your Subaru and look forward to seeing you in service!

February 25, 2017

"Wrong service, no set "

- Subie

Took the car in for an oil change. They told me I needed to do an A&B service but that turned out not to be correct. Didn't give me an estimate up front and sticker shocked me with $300. To their credit they reduced it to $250. They give the car a wash but a) hey don't do a good job and b) it comes out with scratches. Not taking car back.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Quinton Diep
Jan 18, 2018 -

Richmond Subaru responded

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your experience. We appreciate all comments and are always striving to better our business. My name is Robin and I am the Service Manager here at Richmond Subaru. I would like to take this opportunity to discuss any issues you may have had with our service department and try to rectify things for you and perhaps for others in the future. Please call me at 604-278-6524 or email me directly at Robin@richmondsubaru.com. We can discuss your comments further.

21 - 30 of 35 results