Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

London Honda

1.3

43 Lifetime Reviews

560 Wharncliffe Rd S, London, Ontario N6J 2N4 Directions
Sales: (519) 649-0889

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

43 Reviews of London Honda

Sort by Write a review
October 09, 2019

"Terrible Service Dept. "

- J & K Burrows

My husband & I brought our 2013 CR-V in a few days ago for a simple oil change, including air filter & cabin filter. We were tight on time that day & could not leave the car for longer than an hour, something we made very clear to the Service Advisor who assured us we would get our car in time for 3:15pm. We stressed to him that we needed to car to pick up our kids & the car had our daughter's car seat in it that we needed & it was something we were not willing to remove due to the perfectly tight install that was difficult to accomplish in the first place. Again, he assured us, it could & would be done by 3:15pm. Looking at our car's history with London Honda, he said it was greatly overdue for transmission & brake service. We explained to him that we were still relatively new to London & still took our car to our old dealership when we went back for visits. My husband assured him that the brakes were recently serviced as was the transmission but gave the okay to do a flush. The Service Advisor also mentioned replacing the wiper blades & I told him I had new wiper blades at home that we were going to install ourselves. Then my husband inquired about new all season tires for the car, if he could give us suggestions & prices. The three minutes he promised us it would take to go speak to a co-worker regarding tires turned into almost 15 minutes as my husband & I stood there waiting. He finally came back smelling of cigarette smoke & gave us one recommendation of which he highly recommended. At first we agreed to it but after a short time, I had my reservations & researched the tire - it came back with very poor ratings. (That & the fact that this dealership does not balance the tires using the powder method, as our old Honda dealership used & is far superior. London Honda still uses the old glue-on weights.) I tried to get a hold of the Service Advisor to let him know NOT to touch our tires, that we had changed our mind, but we could not reach him. After several failed attempts, the receptionist was able to get a hold of the Service Tech doing the work & informed him herself not to touch our tires. That was the first bad feeling I got from this visit. Next was the Work Order which missed a lot of pertinent info. * The "Promised Time" was left blank (instead of stating 3:15pm). * It was not noted that we had our own wiper blades - it simply stated "DENIED" * The car was not ready for 3:15pm. When my husband inquired about our car, it was literally still up on the hoist with the wheels removed & the Service Technician trying to convince my very mechanically inclined husband that it needed new brakes, DESPITE us telling the Service Advisior to mark down that they had recently been done & if anything, we will take it back to the mechanic who did them. But they weren't even supposed to take off the tires at this point. May I also note, the brakes work perfectly fine, no squeeking, squealing, grinding or delay. The Service Technician also tried to convince my husband that the serpentine belt was in poor condition, stretched out & cracked. This is also not true as my husband inspected it prior to going in for service. So, after all this, my husband finally got our car back, over an hour later than he was promised & with much frustration. The invoice for a simple oil change came to over $600. The work they WANTED us to do, & tried very hard to up-sell & pressure us into doing would've come to an extra $1,200.00 on top of that! And as if all that wasn't upsetting enough, the wording on the invoice added to the upset - rather than make notes to the W/O, with providing the history & info of service already recently done to the car, which we clearly gave the Service Advisor at the beginning of our visit was, what was written instead was: "DENIED" this & "DENIED" that, instead of perhaps "Customer will change wipers themselves" or "Customer has replacement wipers at home". Just because something was not performed on our car at London Honda, doe NOT mean it was not done at all. Because it seemed to us that that is exactly what this service dept. goes on - the service history of the car with THEM, not accepting that the customer took their car elsewhere & had some service done. And then, sell, sell, sell more unnecessary work. This has only been our 3rd service at London Honda & after this experience, it will be our last. The priorities of this dealership is not one of listening to their customers & respecting them. It is to up-sell unnecessary services & hope the customer is not car-savvy enough to figure that out. Shame on you London Honda!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
James Deveau
Oct 10, 2019 -

London Honda responded

Hello, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are concerned about your comments and would like to get in touch with you to discuss this matter further. Our Service Manager - Jim Ashton will be reaching out to you as soon as possible. We are here to help and hope to provide a resolution. Once again, we are sorry you had an unsatisfactory experience, and thank you for any opportunity you would allow London Honda to make it right. Regards, London Honda

September 23, 2019

"Worst managers ever"

- Camilo R

Horrible customer service !! Should have known from the beginning before even picking up my vehicle that the managers were going to be incompetent and rude. I've only owned the vehicle for 2 months and have already gotten into arguments with 2 managers. When asking for a manager, you would think the manager would try to de-escalate the situation instead of telling you they're getting " annoyed ". A week after the vehicle was picked up I had to bring it back in to have the filters replaced although on their report it showed them being done. 1st vehicle service 2 months after getting vehicle, spent 30 minutes running around trying to get answers as to why my brakes never got serviced before picking it up, even though the vehicle is 3 years old and was told I could pack up and leave. They already had taken the vehicle into the shop. Frustration at the highest and managers being helpless, giving attitude and being the worst managers I have ever dealt with finally decided they would as a " favour " do what they were supposed to do from the beginning and get the vehicle serviced. Will never even think about purchasing a vehicle from them. Wouldn't recommend them to my worst enemy

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris Butters, Matthew Jackson
Sep 23, 2019 -

London Honda responded

Hi Camilo, Thank you for your feedback. We do have concerns with your comments. First - Since you purchased your vehicle 2 months ago, you have driven 15,000 km and it is now calling for service. When it was sold to you, our technicians inspected and repaired the vehicle up to Honda Canada Certified Program standards. At that time, it did not call for a brake service as it is based on the number of kilometres on the car. Secondly – we do not stand for verbal abuse towards our employees. Yelling, screaming and being verbally abusive in front of other customers and towards our managers is something we take seriously. We tried to resolve the situation in a calm manner but after it escalated this is when we told you to pack up and leave the premises. In good faith, we serviced your vehicle free of charge. If we can assist you with any other matters, please reach out. Regards, London Honda

August 01, 2019

"Worst experience"

- Cwoods

We took a Civic for a test drive at this dealership. We had received pricing from another dealership and sent this information to the Sales Associate that took us for a test drive and asked if they could be competitive with the pricing. The dealership assured us they could, and we arranged to meet Saturday morning. Not only was the pricing they offered us more than the other dealership, the Sales Associated insinuated that we "owed" them the sale at a higher price or at the same amount provided from the other dealership because they had spent time with us on the test drive and through the negotiation process. The initial offer was not even remotely close to the numbers we had provided in advance and in the end only after we were getting ready to leave was it even mentioned about matching the number we had already received from another dealership. We were also told we could negotiate the purchase of the warranty from the business manager ourselves, because the Sales Associate did the best they felt they could. We wasted 2hrs of our time here, then promptly called the other dealership and arranged the sale over the phone. We would have appreciated being told up front that the number provided elsewhere couldn’t be matched instead of having us come in and waste time. This did not feel like a good faith effort and is disappointing. Convincing people to come in and not even using a competitors offer as a starting point seems like a waste of time for everyone involved. Inferring that 1) we should take the pricing provided because of the time spent with us and; 2) because the other dealership was out of town and “inconvenient” left us both questioning why we even bothered to go in. Needless to say the experience could have been better and we will go to a different dealership if we purchase another Honda in the future.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Hilda Olthoff
Aug 02, 2019 -

London Honda responded

Hello, We apologize for your negative experience. At London Honda, we are committed to fair, honest pricing. It’s unfortunate that there was miscommunication and you were unhappy after pricing was discussed. Although we try to accommodate the best we can, there are times we cannot meet customers certain expectations. If you would like to discuss this further or if we can assist you with any other matters, please contact me directly. Respectfully, Peter Park - Senior Manager 519-649-0889 ex 2035 or ppark@londonhonda.com

July 12, 2019

"Try PREVENTIVE MAINTENANCE "

- Don

Arrived first thing , 9AM, checked in and was told my check up would take only two hours so I decided to wait inside. At 1030 I noticed my car had not moved ; checked re ETA and was told that no work was getting done on my job nor could get done because the shop door was broken. I was then told they could not provide any estimate on when my job would get done.. I replied that was unaccepted, I recovered my car and left. Comment :What kind of automotive maintenance outfit can't manage their own shop door ? OR conversely if they cant manage their own shop how competent on autos are they likely to be.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Check in people
Jul 16, 2019 -

London Honda responded

Hi Don, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and feelings about the London Honda Service Department. Each of our customers is a valued part of our operation and should be treated as such. Your experience is not normal practice for us and we apologize that you did not receive the level of service you expected. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you regarding your experience. Please contact me at your earliest convenience as I would like to discuss your experience with you in further detail. Regards, Jim Ashton - Service Manager 519-649-0889 ex. 2048

June 24, 2019

"Honda needs to close this dealership"

- Ben

We purchased a used Honda and was promised to fix all the issues before delivery. After a week my brother picked the car and drove it to home which is 1.5 hours away. I examined the car and noticed that the car still pulsing while breaking. I checked the dents that they were supposed to fix. They used a different white color and just painted over them. The dents were so deep that it needed body shop according to Waterloo Honda that we took the car 4 weeks later and they said they could not fix it. In my mind, there was no way that they did not notice this prior to delivery. The did not even bother to uses a proper color. Color was different. Although, this was an intentional act, I offered to drive the car all the way to London ( 3 hours drive round trip) and leave the car there and get a loner car. The dealership said that they do not provide loaner cars and that I needed to take a day off, pay for the gas to go there and wait for the inspection/repairs to done. This would cost us a lot while it was an intentional shady repair from the dealer. To save my time and money, I asked them if they can authorize a repair at a local Honda dealership which they declined it. I offered them to have it checked at a local dealer and they pay for the parts only, but they insist that we should we drove the car and wait for them to check. I escalated the issue to the General Manager hoping he can help. It took 3 weeks for him to investigate. He did not respond to the emails and messages. At the end when I got hold of him, he asked for another week to investigate and get back to me. He never did. I got frustrated and left them a 1 star google review. They contacted me within an hour and arranged a visit to Waterloo Honda. The Waterloo Honda, examined the car and machined the rotors. This was the second time that the same rotors were getting machined. They said that London Honda did not authorized the replacement. They also buffed the rear bumper but unfortunately they were not able to fix the dents as they claimed it needed body shop professional help to complete the work. London Honda decided that it will be costly and did not authorize it. Before the sale, they promised to fix but now they said they do not want to repair. In the google review respond, they claimed that they responded to my posted email prior to my review. This was a lie. They also said they fixed my concerns which it was a lie also. The managements at this dealership, wan unprofessional. They do not hesitate to lie to hide their real face. They admitted that they were paying customers money if they wrote a good review for them in the past. There is no doubt in my mind the do another shady method if not the same to ask the customers to write them a good review. The management with this kind of behavior can not get good reviews otherwise. I do believe in this. Hope my story helps others to make an informed decision. Thank you for reading this review.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Peter Park, Chris Butters
Jun 25, 2019 -

London Honda responded

Hi Ben, Thank you for your feedback. We do have some concerns with some of your comments. Your family member purchased a used vehicle from us, which we have yet to hear from. As per our normal process, we confirmed everything at the time of delivery and your family member did not have any concerns at that time. Our Used Car Manager did reach out to you with every intention of helping you and has been in contact with a resolution, but you have not acknowledged this and turned down our offers and suggestions to fix the vehicle. Since this post, we have still reached out to you with a resolution. Hopefully, this still shows London Honda wanting to work with your family member in good faith. I’m sure you know; businesses may choose not to continue to “make it right” after receiving a “1-star” review. Regards, London Honda

May 16, 2019

"The Dealership that simply doesn't care"

- Trevor

We purchased our Odyssey from London Honda in 2014. We had issues with the salesperson who sold us the car, and almost went to another dealership. We should have. When your sales experience is less than ideal, don't be surprised when your experience with the service department sucks. Our third service visit was a disaster. We were quoted a time for all necessary actions to be completed on our Odyssey. Since we live in the North End of the city (the opposite end of town) I figured a 90 minute buffer would be MORE than enough to make sure I was back up north to pick my kids up from school. There were no surprises when they serviced my car. Well, unless you consider a 2 hour and 35 minute delay in returning your vehicle to you a surprise. I asked them repeatedly what the issues were, and never received a reply that told me exactly why they couldn't finish a service in the time quoted (or even the time quoted PLUS 90 minutes). I had to scramble to call a family friend to pick up my kids from school, and the dealership never apologized. I'm all for giving people a second chance, so I continued to take my Odyssey to London Honda. While they routinely missed their promised timelines (it happened EVERY service by the way) I figured 20 minutes here or there was a small price to pay for "Honda Service". Yesterday I had booked the Odyssey in for a simple tire swap and balance. That's it. No oil change, no recalls, nothing else. I was quoted 2 hours and 20 minutes on the phone. I got the rep to repeat the 2 hour and 20 minute time quote to me. THREE times. I booked my vehicle in for 10:30. AM. When I arrived (15 minutes early) I spoke with the service rep who ASSURED me my vehicle would be ready "well before" the time I needed it (3 PM). I had an appointment with a medical specialist that I'd been on the waiting list for seven months AND my daughter had a private sports lesson that we paid for out of pocket to prepare her for an invitational meet this coming weekend. Scouts from various schools from the US will be there. It's kind of a big deal. So when the service rep told me - sure, we'll have you out of here by 3pm, trust me, I did. Shame on me. DOUBLE shame on me. I ran some errands and returned to the dealership with my daughter promptly at 3PM. I was surprised that my Odyssey wasn't out front, but I figured the dealership is busy, they parked it in the back. I asked the same rep who checked me in, and he gave me a look like he had no idea what was going on. He walked to the back, and appeared a few minutes later. He told me - hey, they are just finishing up your service, it'll be 20 minutes. Well, I was not happy. I went to the lobby to wait. And wait. And wait. I called my wife, who tried in vain to reschedule my daughter's practise. This was a non-starter. I called my specialist to see if I could get my appointment moved back. Not happening since I was the last appointment of the day, and he wasn't waiting more than 15 minutes past my appointment time for me. Our van wasn't ready at 3:20. Or 3:30. Or 3:40. Or 3:50. 3:58 I see the service rep, calmly walking to see me. My car is ready. Well, by that point I was furious. He hadn't bothered to provide me with any updates. OR reasons why my car wasn't ready at 3:00 PM, as promised. Or 3:20 as HE promised. I was upset, and used foul language (I did not insult or curse the service rep, I merely stated in a loud voice that they had messed up (I used different language) my entire day. He was upset that I cursed at him. I apologized. I never got an apology for London Honda messing up my day. As for the appointment I missed; My specialist can see me. In four months. So thanks for that. My daughter missed her practise which we paid out of pocket for. At NO point did the rep or ANY member of the London Honda staff ask if they could help me. If they could drive me to my appointment. Drive my daughter to her practise. And then get my car to me in the north end. Any reputable company would have tried to fix their mistake. Instead, I got a condescending talk about how my language was inappropriate (it was - and again, I had apologized) and nothing more. I asked the rep - since I had received a text at 10:48 telling me London Honda was working on my van (and when I clicked on the link, it said WORKING under status) if they had started working on my car at 10:48. He said no. Not even close. I asked why the delay? He had no idea, he blamed the technician and took no responsibility whatsoever. On a related note, the van is the vehicle my wife drives. I took my Toyota into North London Toyota this morning. For the same service (tire swap, balance, and I also had to get the number 2 service which is the longer service). I received a call telling me my car was ready at ... 11:15. Which is 45 minutes before their estimate. And for what it is worth, my bill was $12 more at Toyota for everything I had at Honda, PLUS the number two service which is extensive. And my wife just called me, she's on her way home from work, and there is a rattling in the rear tire. She said it is extremely loud. I am beyond upset at this stage. Not only did you mess up my afternoon yesterday, now I'm forced to book the car in, as there is clearly something wrong with it. I will be calling Westgate Honda. And once my anger subsides, I'll be having my tires, which I paid to store at London Honda, moved to Westgate. Westgate is certainly not closer to our home, but if the service is good, it's worth the extra time. There's no way the service is worse at Westgate... As for this message, please don't reply, London Honda. It is clear that for whatever reason, you think it is fine to treat me like crap. I'm not sure if there is just some note on my file, and people think it is funny to keep screwing around with my time and car. But the treatment I have received at your location is ridiculous. And please don't try to comment about how you cared so much that the rep helped me out with my bill. That amount didn't even cover the money I spent on my daughter's non-refundable practise. That she missed.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Cory
May 17, 2019 -

London Honda responded

Hi Trevor, You told us not to reply but, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and feelings about the London Honda Service Department. Even though your comments did not shine a positive light on our dealership, it is helpful to us in finding out where some of our weaknesses lie, whether in our personnel or our processes. Your experience has been taken into serious consideration and has been handed over to upper management. Regards, London Honda

May 15, 2019

"BEWARE! Take your business elsewhere"

- Lganz7

Here is an email I sent to Perry Kantzas - Fixed Operations Director at London Honda. Email was sent on April 10th. After no response, I reached out again to ask if he had any intentions on responding to my email and STILL nothing. Maybe this might get one.. This is my experience: I had my 2014 Honda Civic EX in for an oil change on Monday, March 25th at 345PM. Service seemed as per usual, other than having a different Advisor than I usually have. Two weeks later, on the morning on Monday, April 8th, my car would not start. I had to get to work so I took an Uber to work and then home again ($30+) once my shift was complete. I then had a mechanic take a look at my car and the very first thing he noticed was the amount of blue acid/corrosion spewing all over my battery. There is no way that amount of corrosion should be on ANY battery, let alone on a vehicle that had just had an oil change 2 weeks prior. A battery clean is typically mandatory with all oil changes. Obviously very irritated about this, I called Westgate Honda to get a price on a new battery (considering LHSC employees get 15% off there and not at London Honda) and they also notified me that the car battery is cleaned off at every oil change. Needless to say, I took my business to Westgate Honda after spending $200+ on my car when it could have been avoided by simply cleaning it- a service I paid for. I will be letting any fellow Honda owners know to avoid London Honda at all costs (pun intended), as the service is clearly lacking and unacceptable.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Perry Kantzas
May 17, 2019 -

London Honda responded

Hello, Perry Kantzas has moved on from his position with London Honda and our current Service Manager - Jim Ashton will reach out to you (if he hasn't already) to discuss your concerns and comments. Regards, London Honda

May 10, 2019

"Poor customer service "

- Liz62

I do not get my car serviced at this dealership because I have a qualified mechanic. I just wanted to get my safety recall completed and a small rust spot repaired since I had purchased the paint protection. I was never notified that I should be coming into have the car inspected. So now I just wasted 1500 dollars. Good for you London Honda for making yourselves that money! Very poor customer service!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dave Pope
May 14, 2019 -

London Honda responded

Hello, We appreciate you leaving us your feedback. According to our service advisor who was helping you with your visit, he did everything he could to help you out with your rust situation. 2016 was the last year you were here for service and we had no records of inspection? When you purchased the car originally, your sales rep would have informed you about the yearly inspections required with paint protection. Ultimately, we do apologize for your customer service experience. If you require anything further, we can have the Service Manager reach out to discuss. Regards, London Honda

January 25, 2019

"Questionable Integrity"

- Ang2478

I brought my car in for service & was quoted thousands of dollars for unnecessary repairs & fluid changes. I took the car elsewhere. Won't return.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lesley Selbie
May 14, 2019 -

London Honda responded

Hello, Our sincere apologies that you feel this way and we would like to assure you that the only recommendations we make on any vehicle strictly adhere to the recommended maintenance schedule designed by Honda Canada. These recommendations are based on the vehicle’s year, mileage and condition and are intended to prolong the life of your vehicle and ensure it is running optimally. Sincerely, London Honda Service Department

January 09, 2019

"I would give it zero stars if I could"

- Just a girl

I made an appointment 3 weeks in advance to have my tires swapped out (which were stored at London Honda). When I got there, I was told it would take 2-3 hours. Meanwhile, people without appointments were having their vehicles serviced before me. I asked them to check the wiper blades on my CR-V, and they didn't check the rear wiper, which was hanging off the arm about 1/2". A couple months later, I called to ask them to retrieve my tires (I was selling my CR-V), and they told me it would take 24 hours to retrieve them. I went to the dealership two days later and they hadn't retrieved my tires. When I began to get frustrated at waiting, I got, "We have 1600 sets of tires". Not "I'm sorry" or "We dropped the ball" or even "Can you come back later?". Absolutely no accountability at this dealership and they couldn't care less how they treat you.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Natasha, Perry
May 14, 2019 -

London Honda responded

Hello. We would like to apologize for your frustrating experience with our Service & Parts Team. The situation you’ve described is not typical for our dealership, and your feedback has been taken into serious consideration. We do care about our customers and will review with our management team. This review will help us with new policies on improving our customer service experience. Regards, London Honda

1
...
1 - 10 of 43 results