Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Jim Pattison Hyundai Northshore

1.8

46 Lifetime Reviews

Northshore Auto Mall, 855 Automall Drive, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3R8 Directions
Sales: (866) 634-2954

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

46 Reviews of Jim Pattison Hyundai Northshore

Sort by Write a review
September 04, 2019

"Overpriced and Rude"

- Simil

The service here is very overpriced. I switched mechanics as this dealer wanted to charge me 1300 for a repair I got completes for 450 somewhere else. I brought my car here for years when it was under warrantee, they are fine for services but as soon as the car started to age and I needed real service and help I felt they gave me scripted responses and did not care about me as a long time customer. As with many Elantras I have read online the power steering failed on this car which in this model is particularly difficult to drive and very dangerous, they know this is an issue and several models had recalls. I was basically laughed at when they could not replicate the issue several times. Finally the power steering has completely faltered and the car is no longer drivable. If they had helped me mknths ago I could have planned for a new vehicle but now I am in a tough spot thanks to their lack of listening and customer service. My new mechanic feels the dealer is the best for this issue due to some issues that can come up with the computer, however the dealer is quoting over 3k for the repairs, online is quoting about 1100 for power steering replacement, pretty steep. I recommend going somewhere else.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
N/A I think usually it was Ronald or something similar I dealt with.
Sep 05, 2019 -

Jim Pattison Hyundai Northshore responded

Hello Simil, thank you for taking your time to provide us with this important feedback. Clear, concise communication is vital for an ongoing business relationship and having said so, it would be my pleasure to have you contact me at your convenience to talk further if you wish. I can be reached at mobile: (604) 830-2255 or email: marcg@jpautogroup.com. Sincerely, Marc Goodman, General Manager

May 01, 2019

"Service department is very bad"

- David

We had a very bad experience with them. Their service is bad and expensive. They charged us a lot and not doing anything. The oil light of our vehicle is coming on intermittently and we went there to see what is the problem. They did some inspection !!! and saying they do not know what is the problem. We spend $166 for nothing. Never back again. Very poor customer service. Wasting time and money.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
House
May 03, 2019 -

Jim Pattison Hyundai Northshore responded

Hello David, thank you for communicating your concern to us. I have had the opportunity to investigate the matter and my understanding is that you have an extended warranty. We would need to diagnose the car a little bit further to isolate the issue and we are fairly confident that the repair is war rantable and as such, we would at that point refund you the previous cost you have incurred. I am available to discuss the situation further if you want to. I can be reached at: (604) 985-0055, or email me at: marcg@jpautogroup.com. Sincerely, Marc Goodman, General Manager.

March 20, 2019

"Excellent Dealership "

- Nika

Excellent Service by sales staff and especially finance manager-Bryan. He explained everything to me thoroughly and made it easy to understand, he is one on those genuinely kind people. I would buy from them again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Bryan
Mar 21, 2019 -

Jim Pattison Hyundai Northshore responded

Hello Nika, thank you for the time you spent to write a review. We appreciate your business. Bryan takes pride in customer satisfaction and I am pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with excellent service. Thank you again. Best Regards, Marc Goodman, General Manager

October 28, 2018

"Recalls"

- Hyundai

I was asked to come to a recall, when my auto was new, on the Seatbelt. My car was fine but i was told that if I didn't replace it with Recall, it would not be under warranty. Ever since the replacement, the airbag light comes on, showing me that it does not work, as I had a computer monitor put on it at an independent mechanic and they told me the seat belt does not work, and that I have the same problem with the passenger airbag. We have been driving around for 10 years with no airbags. JIM PATTISON HYUNDAI has REPLACED OR REPAIRED IT "6" or more times, I have all of the receipts, but it still lights up, after every fix. I am in danger of no seat belt working. Now I have another dangerous driving problem with the sun visors coming down. They won't stay up and come down while I am driving. Does anyone else have that problem????? They have not been recalled, but they should be. Thank you for your kind attention, as when I went on the facebook site, to reveal this problem, I got hacked and I am getting a whole lot of problems now and will cost me a lot of money to fix my computer, as well as my sun visors and airbags. WOW! I just don't have the money to repair these things, so have bought some velcro to fix the visors to stay up, which will deface my car that only has 55,000 KM on it. Darlene Ross

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
I don't recall the people I have dealt with, over the years.
Oct 29, 2018 -

Jim Pattison Hyundai Northshore responded

Hello Darlene, seat belts and air bag operation is vital to the safety of both the driver and passengers and as such we looked into your file and noticed that the last time you were here was over two years ago at which time we replaced seat belt buckles under warranty. All was proper then. Please contact me so that we can have a more recent look at your airbags and belts. Your safety is very important to us. Thank you, Marc Goodman - General Manager (604-985-0055)

September 23, 2018

"Be Careful of what they promise"

- CarDriver

I had a deal on a new Elantra and then they tried charging more for the car and fees. The sales manager wouldn't even speak to me about it. He just hid behind salesperson and told me to take it or leave it. Open Road Hyundai happily took my business.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Misha
Sep 25, 2018 -

Jim Pattison Hyundai Northshore responded

Hello - Thank you for your comments. I have had the opportunity to review your interaction with our dealership. We do apologize for our communication error. If in the future you have any car-related questions it would be my pleasure to help you out personally. Thank you, Marc Goodman - General Manager (604-830-2255)

September 10, 2018

"Buyer Beware at Jim Pattison Northshore Hyundai"

- Turbogirl

I have been through a nasty ordeal since May 2018 with this Dealership where I financed a new vehicle purchased in 2014. There was fairly high turnover in staff at this Dealership between 2014-2018. This review is my experiences and opinions that can be substantiated. The highlights (or shall we say low lights): My Hyundai vehicle had a technical and/or mechanical breakdown on the repeat. I didn't know what it was and relied on the 'experts' here where I purchased the vehicle to figure it out. I say repeat as first I was told adamantly by Service that the compressor needs a full replacement (at my expense as warranty had conveniently recently expired). As such, it was replaced. However, the same original failure occurred again 30 minutes after picking up the vehicle with its new compressor! The second time I was told adamantly by Service it was not the compressor but, rather the vehicle's computer and that now that needed replacement also to be at my expense. I was not a gullible customer and asked many questions at this point about misdiagnosis #1 and how did we move from that to a vehicle's computer? Anyway my phone records can show the countless hours between the Dealership, Jim Pattison Group and Hyundai Canada on this matter and the push back I received. It was like how dare I challenge them on the Service, how long it was taking (weeks) etc., yet my safety was on the line when something on the vehicle is failing and they cannot get it right sending me away in what was to be a repaired vehicle. So get this. After the computer is replaced, once again I am assured by Service (and echoed by the GM) that they got the culprit and the vehicle is fixed. As such, I went to pick-up the vehicle. In the parking lot. An inspection at the invitation of the Service. I am peering over the vehicle's hood while he (Service) turned on my vehicle to illustrate the A/C turning on/off (you can see the compressor wheel under the hood) and next thing I hear is a loud hissing sound followed by a loud pop and smoke! At the hissing stage I ran away, but I could have been injured big time! Service was so shocked he threw-up his hands and said "I don't know...I don't know...we tested it over and again and it was fine." At this point we were in excess of one month on this repair issue. I was not given an apology that day and the Dealership down played the severity of this occurrence. I left again without my vehicle. We got to the point of negotiations by my persistence (and it was exhaustive my employer can substantiate all the time lost!) because enough was enough. Even at the point there was a contract to present to me issued by the Finance Manager there were typed errors in it including both the numbers and even my date-of-birth! Yet, he mistook me for being challenging when I refused to sign it (it was on a Saturday, no GM around) stating "there must be an alternative motive why you won't sign this" telling me to just leave then and I looked him straight and said I will not be pressured into signing a contract, there is no motive, the contract is wrong and I have a consumer right to information to what I am signing and a proper contract. I left and took the matter up with the GM and yet, another subsequent in-person appointment and more time. So, to conclude this... although there is more I could write...can you believe this 2014 vehicle that I contractually got out of the Dealership in turn, put this same vehicle back on their lot for sale!! I have the photo! I guess they are going to say to the new buyer they finally fixed it....

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
GM
Sep 11, 2018 -

Jim Pattison Hyundai Northshore responded

Hello Kate, thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review. We appreciated that you continued to have confidence in us and as such traded in the 2014 to get the 2019. As we had before on a couple of occasions do apologize for the time taken to repair the highly unusual problem on your previous car. We were glad that we were able to provide a free loaner car as well. Once again we thank you. Marc Goodman - General Manager

April 02, 2018

"Horrible - both sales and service!!!"

- sjd83

Terrible service experience and not a great sales experience either. Firstly - service: I have been getting my 2005 Hyundai Accent serviced here since I purchased it about 8 years ago. Service has always been 'meh' but acceptable until my most recent visit. I took the car in a little over 2 weeks ago for service and because it was occasionally making an awful clunking sound & would jerk/shudder at the same time. I dropped off the car after hours with a note detailing the problem and three possibilities that I though it could have been. The problem was not consistent and the service technician could not replicate it so they told me the car was fine. The issue continued. Now I am trying to sell the vehicle and took it in again so that I could be confident there were no issues only to be told it needs $500 worth of work and is not safe to drive!!!! And they found the issue was one of the possibilities I had listed when I first brought it in which means that they did not do a very thorough investigation simply because 'they could not replicate the reported problem' and did not look into all the potential causes or at least the ones I suggested. So, I have been driving an unsafe vehicle for several weeks based on their conclusion that the car was fine. Thank goodness I didn't have an accident while driving the car the past several weeks since they told me it had no issues!!! Now I am out even more money which is not going to be possible to recoup on the sale of the vehicle. I was offered a very small discount when I complained about them missing the issue even though I had asked them to look at what was ultimately the case - didn't make much of a dent in the cost of the service, and a bit of a slap in the face after my years of loyalty and spending a significant amount on a pre-owned vehicle just days ago. And considering the potential lawsuit they exposed themselves to had I been in an accident after they told me there was no problem with the car.... Sales: I was interested in a used vehicle on their lot. Made an offer, Hyundai did not accept so I went on my way. Received a call from the sales person a few days later with an offer for the car which I accepted after some consideration. However, all of a sudden they are insisting on a certified cheque right before a long weekend when banks are closed/have reduced hours and that I pick the car up by the end of the month...I already have prior commitments for the weekend and am forced to completely re-schedule so that they can book the sale by month end! They would not accept a personal cheque (even though their competitors do) nor an EMT, which is more secure and they would get the funds quicker! Completely wrecked my long weekend and the experience of purchasing a 'new to me' vehicle. In conclusion - avoid this service department and dealership. What little faith I had in them has been destroyed and I will be looking for a new mechanic to service the vehicle I just purchased from them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Various
Apr 03, 2018 -

Jim Pattison Hyundai Northshore responded

“Hello Shannon, Thank you so much for taking the time to reach out to us. We truly appreciate the continued business over the past years. I understand your car is in our shop today to get the rear brake shoes replaced. When we did a courtesy investigation a short while ago in fact they were okay and as you stated we could not determine the material separation. We sincerely apologize for any and all inconvenience this has caused. As far as not accepting a personal cheque for the purchase of a car we are sorry, however, this is something that is dealership process. We try our best to accommodate our customers but given the large amount of an automobile transaction we must adhere to process. If you would like to communicate further with me I will make myself available to you at a convenient time you can call me @ (604) 985-0055 and if you feel that you may want to continue with services from our dealership I would also be in a position to look after your future needs personally. Thank you again, Marc Goodman - General Manager.”

November 03, 2017

"Buying a car at this dealership"

- Teddy

Recently I purchased a2015 Hundyai. During the transaction my salesperson, the finance manager and the service person were very friendly. It was dark when I drove the car. The next morning I noticed that 2tires needed quite a bit of air and, once in the daylight, I saw 2significant chips in the windshield. I returned to the dealership, got the tires fixed but had to return the next day to get a new windshield. I, also, was waiting on a fob. While I was away, my car was returned to me. The fob didn’t work-it was for a Kia-and there were chards of glass all over the seats and floor. Once again, I returned to the dealership! Finally, I got my fob! I had to go again to get it programmed -6 return trips in all! I spoke to both the sales and general manager about the situation. The car should never have been sold like that. They did fix everything but it took a lot of my time. All I asked in return was a second fob but was denied. I love the car but not all the trouble I went through!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales-Rosie; Finance -Brian; Service-Scott. All very nice and helpful
Dec 11, 2017 -

Jim Pattison Hyundai Northshore responded

Valerie - Thank you for reaching out to us once again. We truly appreciate your feedback. When I called you about 10 days ago as a courtesy follow you told me you no longer own the vehicle. However, if you do it would be my pleasure to facilitate any of your future Hyundai automotive needs. Please feel free to call my cell number I supplied to you last time we spoke Marc Goodman, General Manager

October 31, 2017

"Service manager (house) is sooo Rude "

- Sun

Service manager (house) is sooo Rude He talks badly and he’s so rude he never help and just make people unhappy , we’re 3 person with three different Hyundai and we never go there again for our car service .

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
House
Nov 01, 2017 -

Jim Pattison Hyundai Northshore responded

Dear Customer, Thank you for reaching out to us today. Interpersonal communication is vital to our long term success. Please accept my personal apology and I ask you to contact me to discuss further at your convenience. Marc Goodman, General Manager.

April 14, 2017

"Excellence!"

- Don

Tom Cantley provided a surprisingly honest, open and friendly professional service in my purchase of a pre-owned Honda. The vehicle was better than expected with all records and work done completely to me satisfaction! Prior to arrival he provided timely and complete details for all of my questions and concerns. Tom even came to the ferry terminal to drive me an hour to the dealership. I will highly recommend him to any friends and family looking for an honorable gentleman to deal with for a very pleasant purchasing experience!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tom Cantley
1
...
1 - 10 of 46 results