Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Gateway Toyota

4.3

670 Lifetime Reviews

2020 103A St SW, Edmonton, Alberta T6W 2P6 Directions
Call (780) 439-3939

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

670 Reviews of Gateway Toyota

Sort by Write a review
January 14, 2015

"Dealership resolved minor issue successfully."

- Serrina

I am very satisfied with the resolution of minor issue promptly. The Dealership stands behind their word and customer satisfaction regarding purchases of the available product.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Neal
November 28, 2014

"Worst service ever"

- Holly86

The first time I took my car here should have been my last. The first time they were in there move transition so I made my appointment at one location and they didn't tell me they were moving. So I drive to the normal location only to realize they have moved without telling me. I had regular maintenance done on my car. They customer service was so bad I stood at the front desk while they chatted for 15 minutes while they ignored me. Then they directed me to my car which I ended up spending 20 min searching for as they sent me to the wrong area. I also got disconnected from their phone service 4 times that day. They tried to rectify this witha free detail for my car which was a very nice gesture. So on Sunday night I dropped my car off as they needed it the whole day as I was havin scheduled maintenance, 2 recalls and the detail done. On Monday I get a message at 7:20am telling me they have no idea what to do with my car or what I want done. I call them they tell me they know what needs to be done and don't know why Veronica called me. I call back at 1:00 to see when my car will be ready for pick up and ask how the service went and if they found anything wrong. I am told the service went great and nothing was found and that my advisor will call me back when she is off lunch. I call again at 3:30 as no one has called me my advisor tells me the car should be ready for 5:00. When I pick up my car they tell me there is no charge and I realize they never did the scheduled maintenance. No one can explain why and I just wasted an entire day with my car in the shop so they can clean it. I am pretty mad to say the least. To add insult to injury the front desk girls called someone for me to talk to about what went wrong. The person I spoke to was apathetic and said there was nothin she could do the service was deleted off my file and I could leave it for another day if I want. No apology or anything. I have since emailed and called Doris the service manager twice. She is always on lunch and I always leave a message and she never calls me back. I forgot to mention we just got 25cm of snow and they forgot to put my snow brush back in my car! Never go here there is no customer service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Doris, veronica
October 21, 2014

"Shuttle service was horrible"

- edmon2

I asked the driver to pick me up at 4 pm, but the driver came at 5.30 pm on Oct 20, 2014. I kept on calling from 4 pm to 5.30 pm and the driver always responded to wait for a while. I was unable to leave from my work place and I could not pick up my son from daycare on time. I phoned customer representative in Gateway Toyota, and I felt that he did not take this incident seriously.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
NA
October 16, 2014

"Internet price not valid wanted $5,000 more"

- akamela

My experience with Gateway Toyota Scion on October 15, 2014 was horrible. I am looking for a Toyota Yaris, did my research, found the best price in the city. Internet price was just under $15000 and when its time to settle on the price, the manger tells me that they made a mistake and the actual price is just under $20,000. Its a huge mistake don't you think. Anyway i said they should give me the car for the price from the internet. Treated me like crap and would not even have a decent conversation. Will never go to Gateway Toyota again and will tell everyone i know not to shop there. If you put a price on the internet the customer should be allowed to buy the product for that price. DONT SHOP HERE!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Daniel Moses
June 22, 2014

"Friendly, Knowledgeable and Professional"

- GregWoodard

My wife and I needed a new vehicle to replace her car that was "totalled" in a car accident. Richard Wong helped us. He was courteous, friendly and professional. His knowledge about the vehicles and his "no pressure" approach to sales was greatly appreciated. I would recommend that anyone considering buying a Toyota consider consulting with Richard.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Richard Wong
November 20, 2013

"Purchased snow tires and rims from the service..."

- tbak

Purchased snow tires and rims from the service department. The rims were quick to arrive but I was still waiting over a month for the tires. I couldn't wait any longer and got tires from somewhere else. I went to collect the rims so I could take them with me. I was directed to the far end of the building. After waiting, I decided to go in to see what was going on, the individual was sitting around talking to others rather than helping me. I took the rims....still in their boxes to where I was getting the tires and the mechanic discovered upon opening the boxes to find one of the rims with a sizeable dent in it....rendering it useless.....and discovering they were after-market rims that did not fit properly. Already angry about this, I took them back to Gateway Toyota Service Department, and explained that they were both damaged and wrong for my van. Again the same individual who sold these to me was indifferent to me about the situation, and was more interested in phoning around to look for a replacement rim rather than dealing with me. No apologies, no nothing. Poor customer service, selling me the wrong rims....whatever happened to 'Genuine Toyota Parts'? I will never go there again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jordan
May 14, 2013

"Service department screwed my oil change by not putting..."

- username2

Service department screwed my oil change by not putting the "o" ring back in the filter and therefore caused a leak while I was driving. Chris Schulz from Service department denied it being their fault when I do not have my car serviced anywhere other than to them. How the heck am I supposed to be responsible for that? A piece of rubber missed being put in a filter is not a customer's fault. Maybe its because all their service staff and mechanics are hurrying in their jobs all the time so they can service as many cars as possible which means their speed compromised the quality of their work. I even didn't know where the oil filter was located until I investigated where the leak was-- how much more would I be responsible for that o-ring not being there? Because of this reason, I would never go to them for any service whatsoever. Put your business to another Toyota dealer in the City or region. Good thing my car was a lease and so I just returned it. So my suggestion is, if any of you bought a vehicle there and got a deal, sure-- good for you. But DO NOT service your vehicle there.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris Schulz
March 02, 2013

"I've had a few experiences with Gateway Toyota but..."

- NSpiero

I've had a few experiences with Gateway Toyota but the most recent made me want to post some comments. These guys really go the extra mile to make sure you're looked after. Chris the Service Manager got involved with my Truck after I had some problems with another Dealer. The other Dealer told me I had no warranty on the rear diff as the part was a wrecker part? I was shocked as I had purchased the vehicle used and no one said anything about it being in an accident. Anyway Chris looked at it - identified the markings as original Toyota markings - not salvage ones as I was told by another Toyota store and looked after the repair, under warranty, as it should have been. Good thing I didn't listen to the first place. You know I've dealt with Gateway over a number of years and the faces are the same...I think they have long term staff members that know what they're doing.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Chris Schulz
January 28, 2013

"On Wednesday January 16, 2013 I went to Gateway Toyota..."

- michellenv777

On Wednesday January 16, 2013 I went to Gateway Toyota searching for an affordable used car I liked a 2003 Mazda Protege 5. With my driving history I called an insurance company before making a deal to buy the vehicle and I received an affordable insurance quote so I went ahead and purchased the vehicle. The insurance company got back to me after I sent my drivers abstract and driving exspirience letter and they would not insure me. The lowest insurance quote from companies that would insure me quoted $1000.00 per month. I went back to Gateway Toyota, haven"t driven the car off the lot yet, and asked to speak to the business manager Chad Anthony Conlon. I told him my situation and explained that there is no way for me to get insurance on this vehicle which means I can"t get registration or a license plate therefore it is impossible for me to take the car I purchased off the lot or in my possession period. Chad told me that its unfortunate for my situation but they have already paid the salesman that sold me the vehicle so they can"t go back on the deal. I called the finance manager into the office and he said no and kicked me out of the office. The only alternative they gave me was that we could go back from the deal if I traded that vehicle for another one. So they can go back on the deal but just don't care enough to. So I guess this car I purchased will sit on the lot with them since theres no way I can take it off the lot. I also recently found out my vehicle I purchased is only worth $2600.00 and Gateway Toyota started the price of the Mazda Protege 5 2003 at $7900.00. I paid $7000.00 without tax and fees. Apparently the prices at Gateway are ripping customers off, and their customer service/ management kicks their customers out of offices. If one vehicle was over priced that it was then I would definitely question the prices on all their new and used vehicles.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chad Anthony Conlon, Raymond Wong
December 16, 2012

"I visited to this dealership to buy a used car. I checked..."

- VSR123

I visited to this dealership to buy a used car. I checked the car, had test driven. I found that the rotor has grooves, they said that is within imits according to Alberta Law and our certified mechanic already checked and certified the car. I respected their reply. I was told the price as 'Negotiated price+299+6.25+GST'. Then I gave credit card to pay $500 advance. The sales guy(ZL) took the money from the credit card and gave me the receipt. Then he sent me to a lady who printed the bill of sale/contract got a signature from me. I signed it without checking the amount believing the sales guy and assumed that the Toyota dealer will not cheat me. Actually they added 395 dollars without telling me in the name of Antitheft protection. And the lady gave me another receipt. She didn't give the copy of the contract I just signed. When I asked she said that is all you will get for 500 dollars.Then she paged for the sales guy. He came and I told him that I didn't get bill of sale. Then he spoke to her and gave the copy of the contract. I came home and noticed it at 9 PM saturday. I am upset, felt cheated. I could not sleep. Now the time is midnight 12:36 AM. I am writing this at this time to relieve my stress. Now I realised the mistakes I made, I may avoid the same mistakes. But I may be cheated again by these kind of people in other ways which I may not think of. Monday I will go and ask them about this. If they dont waive my 395 dollars, this is the lesson I learned. There is no honesty even with reputed companys. This is a very bad experience. I have to share this with others, otherwise I can't sleep today. Thanks for reading this. Update on Sunday morning: The sales guy called me on Sunday morning, because I left a message at 10PM saturday night. He explained that the Antitheft Protection amount added in the contract will not be actually charged. It is just displayed over there. I could not believe this. However, I appreciate his courtesy to call me and tell something. I can sleep well today. I will update the final outcome, when I finish my deal. Thanks for reading this. RS

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
ZL
...
67
661 - 670 of 670 results