Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Dealers, sign in to see your Dealer Panel.

Search
Back

GD Coates Suzuki

Barrie, ON

2.2
39 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

425 Dunlop Street West

Barrie, ON

L4N 1C3

Directions

Is this your dealership?

39 Reviews of GD Coates Suzuki

Sort by Write a review
May 05, 2020

"The home of the sleezy car salesmen!"

- mads

Since the day I purchased my Jeep I have had everything you can imagine go wrong with it. It has needed over $4,000 worth of work put into replacing severe issues in less than 9 months of owning it. The power control module, tie rod, brake pads, rotors, calipers, suspension, battery, oxygen sensors, balljoints, shocks & struts, YOU NAME IT. It also seems that some parts such as the battery are far below the market quality level. My Jeep only had 75,000km on it so the majority of these parts were potentially near the end of their lifetime and G.D. Coates didn't care to replace a single thing. Also not sure how it was certified? Been back and forth with Dean Coates in emails and have not gotten a clear response or solution to this (also, no reply since March). I have taken my Jeep to multiple mechanics for quotes and each one is in absolute shock that a vehicle in that shape was able to be sold to a customer. An absolute embarrassment on G.D. Coates' end. PLEASE purchase your vehicle elsewhere, I beg of you.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
JIm Hillock, Dean Coates
January 12, 2020

"Bought my 2013 Ford Escape from here I Love it! The staff..."

- KM

Bought my 2013 Ford Escape from here I Love it! The staff were welcoming, the sale was quick, easy and affordable! I received my car the next day!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gord Jackson
November 22, 2019

"Please do not buy from this dealership. I do not recommend!"

- Tammy-ann

Do not buy from GD Coates. I've had nothing but issues with them and this car. It's been escalated beyond what I could have imagined. I don't wish this upon anyone. They have an F rating on the Better Business Bureau for a reason and they have a 2.3 Rating on this site for a reason. I'm really surprised that they are still in business. I don't know how they can be because what they are doing is so wrong on so many levels. If you look through Google reviews they do have a higher rating but it's all 5 stars with no comments or very very little. Please rely on the bad reviews as I have experienced very similar if not worse. The bad reviews are way more in depth than what I'm reading here - from the transmission failing within a year to ongoing brake issues that eventually led to them failing and more. My car continues to have problems to this day and has been in the shop over 20 times in two years (not including maintenance).

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian, Darryl, Dan Snow, Duane
May 23, 2019

"Run away fast"

- Biggy G

Purchased a mini van 15 months ago and 30k kilometers.. Have spent $6500 in repairs since purchase.. Emailed in regards to why I was sold a mini van with a used transmission in it and not informed 5 weeks ago and no response... have tried to get some form of an answer and no luck.. their policy must be pretty it up, sell it and forget it..

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ted Thorn
May 10, 2019

"DO NOT BUY FROM CD COATS!!"

- Rispetto

If I could give GD Coats a 0 star rating I would. Hands down the worst experience I've ever had dealing with a company, let alone a car dealership. I would not recommend buying a vehicle from these people for any reason. I had multiple issues with them and they didn't even care to call me back. Short version: they sold me a truck with the muffler held on with a plastic zip tie. Trying to get them to fix it was like trying to bleed a stone. They only admitted it was their fault and offered to fix it after I threatened to return the car under the 30 days Buyers Remorse return allowed by law. Long version: bought this truck for my mother. Paid $10k cash and drove off happy. 3 weeks into owning it, the muffler hit the ground while she was loading up the bed. Turns out they had used a white plastic zip tie to hold the muffler in place. I called them, furious but restraining my anger, and was met with cold responses with answers like "well I seriously doubt that" and "we would have caught that". Brian, the service manager, was EXTREMELY rude - more on him later. He told me "we'll get to it when we get to it, we're busy here" and I replied with "if you don't fix this in the next 24 hours, considering it never should have left the lot in this condition, I'm returning the truck and filing a complaint with any company that will hear me". Only then did he prioritize the repair. The funny things is they sourced it to a third party muffler company in town anyway. I asked to speak to the General Manager of the dealership, and left my information multiple times. At the time of writing this review it's been 10 days since everything happened and I still haven't received a phone call. Their Sales Manager called me and finally admitted to their fault. "It must have been missed during the inspection". If you're able to miss something as blatant as a zip tie holding the muffler together, what else did you miss? I told him I want the dealership to do a bumper to bumper inspection and replace any other zip ties they may have hidden under there. After he was done laughing in my face he said, and I quote, "that's not going to f&^king happen". At this point I'm finished with this company. I'll be filing a BBB complaint as well as Google and Suzuki home office. DO. NOT. BUY. From GD Coats. You WILL be sorry.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian (Service Manager), Sales Manager
April 24, 2019

"Worst of the worst!!!! Bad bad bad people!!"

- Lisa

If they gave you a quote ask it in writing cause they will charge you 50% more and blame it on taxe!!! They use to be decent 10 years ago not anymore!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
No name
October 13, 2018

"Stay away!!"

- Beaverton426

The worst possible place to buy a car from. The customer service is horrible they never return your calls and I went 2 weeks with out hearing back from them... the complete worst dealership I have ever felt with wouldn’t recommend this place to my worst enemy.. they don’t work with crappy credit at all it’s all a bunch of crap run far far away worst dealership and sales service ever.. cars are also way over priced and they low balled my trade in... never going back there again

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ted
August 16, 2018

"Efficient Service All Round - Love My Newly Purchased Car!!"

- Lisa M

Being a relatively new driver, I was pleasantly surprised how quick and easy the process was to find a vehicle along with a finance plan that fit all my needs. They also worked a nice warranty in to give me assurance over the next few years. My SX4 suits me perfectly and I've had tons of positive feedback from friends and family.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dan Snow and Martin Woods
March 28, 2018

"Great sales Customer service! HORRIBLE AFTERSALES CS!!"

- Derron

Something must be wrong with me? After reading all these reviews, it must be something wrong with me. i purchased a truck from them last February, i financed half of the vehicle. i got into an accident over christmas and my vehicle was written off. They have got payment for my vehicle over 3 months now, after numerous calls and being mislead i still haven't recieved any payment, or even a breakdown of my payments cant be provided to me. They were excellent when i bought my vehicle, but this has been a horrible experience. Please beware before purchasing anything from them. Wouldnt want this to happen to anyone. Luckily i had an extra vehicle!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dan Snow
February 14, 2018

"Understanding and great customer service"

- E&DB

My wife and I drove onto the lot after having asked the Lord to provide us with a certain vehicle with certain features. The salesman (Dan Snow) came out, asked if he could help us, to which we said yes and then told him what we were specifically looking for. He said he had exactly what we were requesting. He did an excellent job in presenting the vehicle. I picked up the vehicle a few weeks later as we're not from the Barrie area. We did have a few small problems over the next month or so (just some minor bell and whistle stuff.) I stayed in contact with the Sales Manager (Duane Jones) and they took care of the problems without any fuss about it. 7 months later, a major component went out on the vehicle. I wrote to the Sales Manager and asked if they could help us out on this as that part should have been good for most of the life of the vehicle. He wrote back and asked for a verification that it had been repaired and said that they would partially reimburse us as a goodwill gesture. I sent him the work invoice estimate. After having it repaired at the Jeep dealership, the cost was below what had been previously quoted. GD Coates honored their commitment without question to which we are greatly appreciative. I have learned in life that there is no perfect vehicle and no one can foresee the future problems that will come with the purchase of a vehicle. I believe that these folk will work with us if we work with them. They have been very kind and considerate with us. The sales manager calls it, "understanding and great customer service." I must agree.and therefore I must give GD Coates a high rating...not perfect....but they treated us like valued customers.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Duane Jones, Dan Snow, and a special thanks to mechanic Adam McGilvary
1
...
1 - 10 of 39 results