Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Donnelly Kia

3.5

47 Lifetime Reviews

490 Terry Fox Drive, Kanata, Ontario K1V 0W8 Directions
Sales: (613) 733-4747

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

47 Reviews of Donnelly Kia

Sort by Write a review
July 15, 2019

"Dishonest and greedy"

- NathalieG

Worked with Brandon who was great and responsive with calls and emails. Not pushy and seemed very fair. Nice guy. A few days after getting our fees together, we went in to purchase the vehicle. That's when the sales manager John came in and everything went sideways. First he gives us a monthly payment that doesn't add up at all. We brought a laptop with a excel spreadsheet to calculate all costs ensuring the numbers matched. John did not seem to appreciate that we called him out on the price and could back it up with our data. He then offered us the most ridiculous offer on our trade-in telling us that's what it will sell for at auction etc. Complete pack of lies. Out comes our laptop once again to show him prices MUCH higher on auto trader than what we were asking for our trade. At this point, he's just embarrassing himself trying to justify his offer with ridiculous claims. So we go back to the vehicle price and all their fees. John won't take one cent off the msrp (even on a demo model) and insists on charging all his fees ($1400 worth). At this point we had enough and walk out. Brandon apologizes, likely realizing his manager cost him a done deal sale. 2 days later we go to another dealership. We walked in armed with our spreadsheet with the same offer we made to Donnelly. The sale guy there looked like he wanted to do backflips of joy realizing we had done all the work and he could sell a car under 5 minutes. We got money off the msrp, fair offer on our trade-in and no fees (that was part of our offer). Signed our bill of sale and went home. That's how you sell a car John. When people are smart enough to do all the work, negotiate fairly and make the sale. Easy! Our monthly payments ended up at $80, yes $80 less per month than what we would have paid with Donnelly. Oh, and our finance fee was $124 not the $500 "standard" fee the bank charges as John claimed. Just another lie.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brandon (great), John (not great)
June 29, 2019

"Best Customer Service!"

- LizB

Purchased my vehicle at Dilawri Hunt Club Kia in Ottawa. A few months after purchase, the vehicle was making noise going over bumps and then progressed to loud noises when turning the steering wheel. I took it for service at Hunt Club Kia and they promptly told me there was nothing wrong. They also stated, that since they could not find anything wrong, I should be charged for the visit (the vehicle was 4 months old). I decided to speak with Donnelly Kia over the phone. While on the phone, the service advisor could hear the noises while I was driving and suggested to bring the vehicle in asap. Within 20 minutes of my service visit at Donnelly Kia, the technician diagnosed that I needed a new steering column. The work was completed the same day - all under the vehicle's warranty. The customer service and workmanship were impeccable! It was humbling to be treated with such kindness and respect and applaud the staff.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John
January 19, 2019

"WARNING STAY AWAY- ONE STAR IS GENEROUS"

- NEVERAGAIN

I am 67 years old. I bought at least a dozen cars in my life from dealerships. I have never been treated this badly. Selling tactics are truly dishonest. I am first offered a low-balled amount of money on my trade-in and I am lead to believe that they will entertain an offer below the advertised price. I make an offer with a more reasonable trade -in as verified with autotrader and offer a price lower than advertised as I was encouraged to do. They come back with a counter-offer with no reduction in the advertised price. and claim they will give me what I want for my trade-in (which they don't -see below) and then add thousands of dollars for what they call Donnelly protection, some 700$ for the financing paperwork, which I don't need, 50$ for a tank of gas and another 10$ for whatever. Bottom line they still want the full advertised price for the car and MORE. I am told I am given a very good deal because the price of the car was reduced before I came in. Yet, it is advertised everywhere on Auto Trader and on Car Gurus and their own website at the "reduced price". They drag me into their dealership with a price and then expect me to pay more because they reduced the price. That is dishonest, false advetising. When they counter-offered they clearly said over the phone that they were giving me what I wanted for my trade-in and wanted me to come in to finalize the deal. SURPRISE - they were lying or at the least being extremely devious. When I got the details I found out they were still giving me the same low-balled trade-in value but because I would get a tax rebate on that amount they were adding it to their low-balled amount and saying I was getting what I wanted. HOW DUMB DO THEY THINK I AM. I wanted a higher trade-in value in order to benefit from the tax rebate, not to give it back to them - Every honest dealership knows that. They had the nerve to say that is how Donnelly does it, and that is bs and again verges on dishonesty. I, and i am sure you as well, want to deal with honest people when you bargain for anything. If you are told something, you want to believe that you are given the truth. That is not the case at Donnely's. STAY AWAY - DON'T BOTHER. They only look after themselves and in their case the MEANS ALWAYS JUSTIFY THE END. I can only hope the owner of this dealership reads these reviews. It is time to get your people trained in the art of negotiations and customer service. If you don't do it, your dealership may run out of customers. In marketing, I learned that for every customer that complains there are another ten that never do but will not hesitate to talk about their bad experience with family, friends and even anyone they meet socially when the subject comes up in conversation. That is really very damaging to a business.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Benoit and I presume his sales manager
January 11, 2018

"It was a Fun visit!"

- Cat Nip

Bought a new Sorento from Felina who was wonderful and very knowledgeable and easy going. Not pushy at all which I really liked. She definitely makes you feel like family. Thank you Felina Special thank you to Greg and Huseyn

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Felina, Greg, Huseyn
January 06, 2018

"Excellent All Around Experience"

- CoppFamily

Finally a car buying experience that felt like I was getting real information from good people, and we got a great car for a great price. Most importantly, Felina really made us feel that we were joining the Donnelly family with our purchase, and that they were always available to answer our questions. I would highly recommend Donnelly Kia.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Felina, John, Jim
December 15, 2017

"Excellent service even after buying the vehicle!"

- Sorentos4me

I am very satisfied with the people who work here and the vehicle I bought 2015 Sorento. Felina and Melanie were so helpful yesterday while I was needing an urgent service assistance they were able to fit me in and get me back on the road in only minutes.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Felina, Melanie
October 31, 2017

"Rushed and disorganized"

- ronars

My wife and I went in roughly two months ago in search of a minivan for our growing family. What had intended on being a trip to view the car ended in a hasty, pressured purchase as we were presented purchase papers before even before being shown the car in question. My wife was given a brief rundown on the prices while I handed our two and four year old in the dealers room, and only after she agreed to make a purchase were we even shown the options. I had to insist on taking a test drive after they insisted on taking a down payment. Now, we knew what car we wanted going in - and we ended up getting that car. But this dealership handled us like a teenager on their first day at a fast food restaraunt - as quickly as possible and without worrying about doing things correctly. They didn't get all our information. They lost our ownership. They agreed to include winter tires that, a month later, they admitted they don't know when they will be available. They lost the ownership a SECOND TIME. I had purchased my previous car at this dealership, and had an excellent experience. This time, however, was dramatically the opposite. I am frustrated and upset, even though the car is nice. I highly recommend not using this particular dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
At least five different ones. Most of whose names I wasn't given.
October 19, 2017

"Customer Service"

- Anne

We visited this dealership in mid August on a Saturday afternoon hoping to test drive a Forte. I checked out the lot to.see what was on site and then went into the showrom. There was no one at reception and no one milling around to greet us and offer assistance. After waiting for 10 minutes we left. I did purchase a new Kia vehicle elsewhere. I did eventually contact the dealer to share my experience and no one responded to my email.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
No One
March 06, 2017

"The worst car dealer ever"

- James

John the manager does not care about after service sales once you buy the car you're on your own. I would never recommend buying from this dealership

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John
February 09, 2017

"Felina was exceptional"

- kbbutler

I was shopping for a used car for my elderly father. Felina made this task so easy. I was allowed to test drive the car to show him. The bill of sale was done over the phone thus allowing only one trip to the dealership. She went above and beyond. I will definitely refer business her way as well as go back when I need a vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Felina
1
...
1 - 10 of 47 results