Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Dealers, sign in to see your Dealer Panel.

Back

Clarington Hyundai

Bowmanville, ON

3.6
49 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

17 Spicer Square

Bowmanville, ON

L1C 5M2

Directions

Is this your dealership?

49 Reviews of Clarington Hyundai

Sort by Write a review
November 25, 2020

"Terrible communication, was told to drive out and talk to..."

- Able

Terrible communication, was told to drive out and talk to the GM of the store to make a counter offer against another dealership and was sent out as soon as we got their because they can’t make a deal with someone who’s already signed a bill of sale. Which is completely understandable but should have been made clear over the phone as they knew we made a deal at the other location. Furthermore they originally proposed a deal that included a admin fee of $500, come to find out that it is completely illegal for them to charge us admin fees. Will be looking further into contacting a higher power and making sure this doesn’t happen to anyone else. Very unhappy with this experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jim, Connor
November 06, 2020

"Ok, my brother is not an experienced car buyer so I went..."

- brianstevenson0125

Ok, my brother is not an experienced car buyer so I went with him. He had a budget of $250 per month. We met with a sales lady who told us about an Elantra Preferred with Sun and Safety with 11000 kms on it. So we took it for a test drive. Nice car. Sat down with her and she came back with a cost of $89 per week. Now I can do math and that works out to $385 per month. So we said no that is too expensive, perhaps an Essentials version. They had one and told him $125 bi-weekly. Again my math kicked in and not sure why she wouldn't quote him monthly but it would be $270 per month. He said that was ok and was ready to buy. The finance guy came out and indicated he only had room for 2 comfortably in his office so I let my brother and his wife go in to sign the papers. When he came out the monthly rate had climbed to $305. They sold him the extended warranty which I told him not to take as well they also tacked on $750 for a remote starter they said they were throwing in for free and $799 for 3 yr PLAT Pro and $169 for wheel locks. None of which he asked for! And after seeing his bill of sale they increased the MSRP of the vehicle by $374!! They clearly took advantage of an inexperienced buyer. I would never recommend or do business with this firm. Oh also, they told him if he didn't use the warranty in the 8 years he would get a full refund, looking at the fine print, the "refund" is only applicable to either a new vehicle warranty or credit at the dealership. He was not told that.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ian
October 30, 2020

"Our Tucson Luxury is the 3rd car we have purchased from..."

- chefkathleen

Our Tucson Luxury is the 3rd car we have purchased from Clarington Hyundai. We keep going back because Hyundai's have been the best cars we have ever owned. They include many options that are extras on other car brands, they are very dependable, and have outstanding warranties. The service department at Clarington Hyundai is also outstanding! You receive informed, courteous, and personalized service from every person in every department. You can't ask for a better dealership! Big thanks from Kathleen Morris

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rob Fodor and Steve Jimmo
September 14, 2020

"WORST EXPERIENCE EVER! Do not give this dealership your..."

- Regretful

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER! Do not give this dealership your business! They are unprofessional and do not want to be accountable for their actions! 1 star is too high of a rating. It's laughable reading the positive reviews since I must have been in the wrong dealership at the wrong time dealing with the wrong people during my purchase/delivery. The sales manager is a joke, the GM won't return your calls/email and the GSM won't even try to make it right. My car is already in the shop (a week after delivery) due to a "common problem" that only appears to exist at this dealership but is unheard of at 7 other dealerships that I called. Don't buy into the positive reviews, your business isn't valued here. As the GSM told me, they're all "about volume," evidently not quality or even common decency. I'm being "rewarded" for negotiating a great deal with the worst experience and made to feel unworthy of anyone's time or energy or effort. Biggest regret buying at this local dealership!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ian Hodgson, Andi McNamarra, Kyle Riggs
August 05, 2020

"My wife dropped her car off for oil change. Stated one of..."

- Mike C

My wife dropped her car off for oil change. Stated one of her wipers was not working. Any person with a little mechanical knowledge would look to see if bolt was loose first thing. Anyways, they said it took a half hour for there mechanic to find and tighten the bolt. Now I have had to do this windshield arm repair on previous vehicles I have had and really wish my wife came home first and told me before dropping off her vehicle. Anyways, I told the customer service that it’s doesn’t take a half hour to find and tighten a windshield arm bolt. They said it did. I gave 2 options 1) reduce the charge or 2) lose a customer. They chose to loose a customer. Basically, they took advantage of a woman and when confronted about the bull...t charge they kept up the bull...t. Please be aware of this dealership as they are ripping off customers. Mike C.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Customer service personnel
December 20, 2019

"Sales Review"

- Jennifer

Unfortunately I have to make sure everyone knows how this dealership does business. I am well versed in purchasing vehicles. I went to this dealership and purchased a used vehicle. Was extremely surprised when I was told by the sales person (mike) that Hyundai has a 5 year 100000kms warranty that covers everything. I was shocked and said that I have never heard of a warranty that was so long. He again said yes we have a great warranty and forgot to mention that this was only on certain items. This vehicle has had a blue tooth issue since it was purchased which we did not call about or address because it could have been dealt with when we got out first oil change. Well guess what the warranty is like any other make of car and its only 3 years 60000kms and lesson learned I should have taken the car in immediately to have this addressed. Buyer beware.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike Sear
June 28, 2019

"Great experience!"

- Gigi

This dealership puts customers first! I purchased a 2019 Elantra Luxury and picked it up today and my dealings with Alexis and Nick was outstanding. Everyone is super friendly including the service department. Every question was answered and I was never made to feel that it wasn’t important. I’m super excited about my new car and I will highly recommend Clarington Hyundai to all my family and friends. Thank you Gina

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alexis, Nick
March 03, 2019

"Had a great experience!"

- Tucson01

We met Stephen when we walked in the door. We were looking at the Tucson and The Kona. The Tucson was better suited for me. Stephen found us a 2018 that was brand new and fully loaded, leather, sunroof etc. Love the colour and the rims!! He walked us through everything when we picked it up. Been driving my Tucson all weekend and loving 🥰 it.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Stephen Osborn
February 11, 2019

"Sales team was fantastic. No pressure"

- Duniece

Josh was great! He asked me what I wanted and delivered. This is very rare to find in the car sales business. I just wanted everyone to know that I did visit 2 other Hyundai dealerships and yours rates higher than any others in my books. I will be recommending you to all my friends. Duniece Camplin

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Josh
January 28, 2019

"Quick and Friendly Service"

- Riverman

A simple oil change but a little extra attention by cleaning salt ridden floor mats and giving my windshield a clean swipe goes a long way.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tony and Brianna
1
...
1 - 10 of 49 results