Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Barrie Volkswagen

Barrie, ON

4.1
203 Reviews

60 Fairview Rd

Barrie, ON

L4N 8X8

Directions

203 Reviews of Barrie Volkswagen

Sort by
January 07, 2022

From our first visit to Barrie Volkswagen right through to pick up of our new Atlas Alex Moncayo went above and beyond. He made the experience easy and was very helpful. Alex came in on his day off to More

by Andrea J.
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alex Moncayo, Brad
October 12, 2021

Went in to this location to order a boot for an axle on a beetle. I had paid for the part by debit. Turns out they gave me wrong boot for the car. And that he can’t find the boot I’m looking for. He said I w More

by Fawk Volkswagen
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Doug
August 03, 2021

Beware this location. Check the reviews from just 4 months ago. Lot of bad reviews. Seems like they are making up their own reviews or chasing people to give them better reviews. This location in Barri More

by hasan.amali01
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gupta, Paul, Keane
July 21, 2021

I’m only giving one star because I can’t give zero. I had a very bad experience at the service department recently - I was told I needed a $4,600 (plus tax) repair, which I declined, and was able to do the r More

by Rob Crews
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Specific employees are not the issue.
Jul 23, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Hello Rob, we apologize for this matter and understand your concern. However, we provide genuine automotive parts and our trained technicians are highly knowledgeable to ensure your vehicle is serviced well. We will look into this matter to ensure all our customers are taken good care of.

Jul 27, 2021 -

Rob Crews responded

Although I appreciate that you responded, unfortunately I have to say it’s a somewhat disingenuous response. My issue is that you tried to sell me a “genuine automotive part” that I did not need, and your “trained technician” was unable to recognize that I needed a software reinstall (not even an upgrade), which I did myself. Furthermore, despite “looking into this matter”, and the fact that I have emailed the General Manager twice, no one has contacted me directly.

Jul 30, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Hello Rob, we appreciate the honest feedback and would like an opportunity to clear this up. Certain repairs require certain steps as per the manufacturer (VW Canada). Unfortunately they do not allow us to use what is essentially pirated programing from the internet. This could result in major fines for the store and a fraudulent reputation. They recommended we upgrade to the new model of that radio and we pass that information along to the customer as per VW standard guidelines which is exactly what we did. I hope this offers some more incite as to how we approached this situation and translated it to the customer. Have a great day Rob and all the best!

Aug 09, 2021 -

Rob Crews responded

First of all, although I understand the explanation you have provided, I have no way of verifying that it’s actually true. Secondly, it doesn’t address the bigger issue, specifically that the recommended repair was to install a $4,600 head unit (stereo/nav etc), when a $20 software reinstall fixed the issue. Your explanation just passes the blame to VW Canada, instead of the dealership, and as noted, I can’t verify if it’s truly a VW Canada issue or a dealership issue. The software to make this unit function properly was part of OEM when this car was purchased, so it defies logic that it’s not available to VW Canada or to dealers to perform a reinstall. Your choice of the word “pirated” to suggest wrongdoing by me is disappointing. And finally, this explanation (be it true or untrue) was only provided to me after 2 emails to the General Manager, a bad rating on Google (and an unsatisfactory response) a bad rating on this site (and an unsatisfactory response), and FINALLY, an email and phone call from the Service Manager. Clearly, to state that providing me with this explanation is “exactly what we did” is a bit of a distortion of the truth. I stand by my zero star rating.

June 01, 2021

A/C not working on a 2015 VW Golf GTI.I am not happy A/C not working on a 2015 VW Golf GTI. I am not happy with the service provided – and I do not recommend this dealership. Background • I purcha More

by Clark1600
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Don't know
Jun 04, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Hello James, we have been informed our General Manager and yourself have been chatting. We hope this leads to a favourable resolution, have a fantastic day!

Jun 04, 2021 -

Clark1600 responded

The dealer has been in touch and we are working on a resolution - which is much appreciated.

May 14, 2021

The worst dealership ever! We bought a 2016 Jetta back in November 2020. The vehicle was sold certified but the certification was outsourced to someone else and the vehicle has had issues from day one. The G More

by SS
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jesse, Dillon, Natalie
May 27, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Hello Samir, sorry to hear about the bad experience. Nearly $2,000 was put into the reconditioning of your vehicle and another $2,150 after the purchase. It is unfortunate you consider that “two-faced and dishonest” but the last thing we want is to deliver a vehicle with issues. Ultimately a warranty was recommended during your purchase, as you can imagine we can't tell which cars may have issues in the future. If a warranty was bought with your vehicle it would have avoided any additional charges. If we covered every issue after a sale it would not be fair to people who actually bought coverage.

April 22, 2021

Excellent work by the service department, vehicle was ready on time, washed and everything fully explained. Unfortunately due to current covid problems no valet service available. More

by lyndonmeredith
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Adrian ?
Apr 29, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Appreciate the positive review. Thank you.

March 27, 2021

Everyone was friendly and clearly explained what needed to be done with the vehicle. My car was ready well in advance of when I needed it and the service manager even explained a feature to the car I was u More

by Jeff
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Adrian humby
Apr 08, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

That's really great to hear that you had a positive experience with us. Thank you very much for your business.

March 26, 2021

Ian Brown was freindly, knowledgeable and motivated to reach a fair price during negotians. Because of this experince i would recommend this dealer and i will be back for future purchases. More

by Psc
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ian Brown
Apr 08, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. Here's to a long and satisfying business relationship together.

March 11, 2021

Very caring and organized dealership. Took care of all my needs and I will definitely go back! They have a great support staff that help make the experience great. More

by Mcrone33
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ian. Natalie
Mar 12, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Thank you for the great review! We hope to see you soon.

1
...
1 - 10 of 203 results