Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Barrie Volkswagen

Barrie, ON

4.2
201 Reviews

60 Fairview Rd

Barrie, ON

L4N 8X8

Directions

201 Reviews of Barrie Volkswagen

Sort by
August 03, 2021

"Beware this location. Check the reviews from just 4..."

- hasan.amali01

Beware this location. Check the reviews from just 4 months ago. Lot of bad reviews. Seems like they are making up their own reviews or chasing people to give them better reviews. This location in Barrie – man this business is shady and look forward to seeing it on CBC marketplace for their questionable business practices. If you have not experienced, it or have not yet consider yourself lucky. And I hope it stays that way. From charging me a higher interest and chasing them to correct it, to lying about the parts and maintenance of my Certified Pre-Owned being done as it is standard, to even correcting their own errors on my paperwork they will say and do what they can to get you to sign that paper. Came to this location cause the average reviews was like 3.5 out of 5. Seemed fine and the recent reviews looked great but in hindsight I should have looked further and read between the lines. Honestly figured I better to go with a dealership since they are more legit also cause of the name Volkswagen - I figured all dealerships of Volkswagen must be the same as I had a great experience at another one. But they are not, VW logo aside their sales practices are like a local used car dealer, only difference is it is just cleaner. Vulture-like practices just desperate for a commission. They will flat out lie just to make a sale, don’t know how this is tolerated but apparently it is, I was told about the brakes on the car being brand new, the washer fluid being replaced, engine oil etc as it is a certified pre-owned vehicle. Well that was a total lie. Found out couple weeks later when I get notifications on my car saying this needs to be replaced and that. I went out of my way and confirmed with them several times “Are the brakes going be replaced with new brakes, the engine oil, windshield fluid” And I was given assurances by the rep Gupta of this because its Volkswagen and that is a normal practice for them, seemed like he would say anything to get me to sign the paper in hindsight. He just seems all over the place and is trying ground himself but lying that is not okay. He just said to me something along the lines of “because you are buying it from Volkswagen and we’ll take care of it” When someone looks you in the eyes and says it will be done and this is correct and week later you find out otherwise that is deeply upsetting. Once you sign you will be at their mercy for the most part so I would think twice before signing anything they put in front of you here. After the papers signed don’t expect too much cause when you sign a and the car is delivered, don’t expect them to be very accessible or helpful. They made an error with my paperwork when they put biweekly and not monthly payments which they acknowledged as their error but said sorry about that man cant do nothing. Even when I spoke to them about it namely the finance manager Paul I was told something along the lines of “you signed the papers so too bad” no compassion no working with me no resolution, nothing. I’m surprised these practices are tolerated here but to each their own. Also they do not seem to have an understanding of how rebates work, they will flat out say sorry it doesn’t qualify, even when I showed the Rep Gupta a paper from another dealership as giving the rebate and even their website confirms it – I was told it must be an “error and needs to be updated”. Apparently, the sales rep thinks the website is wrong. Ha. If you love the brand Volkswagen for any reason, check out the Volkswagen Villa at 212 Steeles avenue W. They are professional, prices are on the lower end and are the top selling Volkswagen in Ontario or something. So I came in to this dealers dealership and I dealt with Gupta told him I wanted the grad rebate he says that it does not qualify on used vehicles but I told him it's a certified pre-owned not only a used car he was adamant that it does not apply and for some reason says that we do not make much money off our cars and he showed me the car I was buying which is about 31,000 plus tax and said they make less than $1300 which he showed me his screen which said “gross net sales” or something on that car and if I got the rebate they would be making $500 less, minus further cleaning and detailing so they profit less than $600, I told him that's ridiculous and he said yeah bro we just move cars here we also need to fix up the car a little bit so that costs money so our profit margin is very small which I find hard to believe but if a person is looking you in your eyes and saying that you take them off their work which was my first mistake taking anyone from this dealership off their word. Anyway I said OK. I showed him a “offer to finance” its like a sheet with the car info and pricing from another Volkswagen dealership and he said that no they're wrong other Volkswagen dealerships overcharge and then and we keep the costs as low as possible by having no admin costs so they were probably overcharging you and giving you rebate on top to offset that - that's why I can't get the rebate but I mentioned to him even on the Volkswagen website it says that and I showed him and he actually told me verbatim the website is “WRONG and outdated and needs to be updated. I was shocked to hear that but I have to convince this person because he is the sales rep who needs to click the button on the screen. So naturally I spoke to his manager Paul the finance manager, and explained it to him and even he said no. Called him back the next day cause it didn’t sit well with me, and he's like no that's wrong you don’t qualify and he was very adamant and rude telling me I am incorrect and I should let it go. It's 500 bucks I’m not letting it go. So I implored him to go and speak to his superior, he hesitated so when I mentioned I will reach out to them myself he agreed. Reluctantly he did, an hour later he got back to me shortly after and just like that the rebate was applied. But no apology no professionalism and no accountability. I even spoke to corporate to make sure this was followed up on and they advised me Keane the Assistant store manager had spoken to his staff and had a full meeting to tell them how rebates work. Great! My hope was just to make sure these predatory sales practices do not happen to anyone else walking into there. Hope that would be the end of it but when I was initially talking to Gupta I had asked for monthly not biweekly payments his answer to me was that it will be monthly I know I know and you kept pushing the paper in front of me to sign I said the paper says its biweekly I want monthly and he says that no at Volkswagen it “comes out like that but il get the monthly date for you” seems odd, but personally I've only bought a car once before so I was taking him off his word. I repeated my concern to him a few times during our conversation and he assured me its monthly. Great. we finished up and then spoke to the financing manager Paul – He spends 90% being pushy to get a spray done on my car for the bottom and why I should, when I told him I was not interested he just looked miserable about it. I said sorry man he’s like alright but and kept talking about it. Eventually we moved on and he said sign here and here, advised him about wanting monthly payments and is it correct that it generates that way on the paperwork as Gupta told me and he cut me off half way through and said “Everything is as you agreed to with Nishant, I have not made any changes” I was satisfied cause that is what I agreed to with the sales rep, and any other question I had he repeated the same line “everything is as you agreed to with Nishant”. Okay fast forward week or so later to when the car got dropped off, and Nishant just gave me the paperwork just telling me to sign here and there and that was the extent of the paperwork and I mentioned to him before signing that hey so just to confirm the brakes are replaced, car oil, washer fluid etc. Which I had actually asked him initially he said yes when you buy a certified pre-owned car with at Volkswagen it is like new and we replace the breaks and everything I said okay and when dropped the car off was said confidently the same. A week later a “Inspection is due in 29 days” came up and “Please add windshield fluid” and on the car inspection I had done with them came back to me it says, “brakes are at 50%”. And as for the paperwork he said repeatedly yes, its monthly payments Ill get you the date when I get back to the office, and don’t worry “I’ll fix it up” when I send you the final paperwork in the mail. It’s a month later and I spoke to the assistant store manager Keane, and he said he will not need me to chase anymore and will get this resolved and help me out. I’ve had to call back repeatedly to get an answer and I found out he had Paul look into the monthly payments which was the same guy who was not so knowing about how rebates work and told me “No you signed the papers sorry we are not changing it”. I was frustrated to see the same person looking into this like you think someone will throw themselves under the bus especially a guy like that. Integrity ? Good faith? You will not see much of that here. So I asked Keane can he check with another financial manager at his location or at another Volkswagen dealership to confirm this. No response so I called back, and he just did not answer and responded to my email and said as per our Vw Canada finance rep there’s no solution. I spoke to Volkswagen Finance and Volkswagen Canada, and they said it is still at the dealership level and they can make the amendments as it is an after sales matter and they are unable to but were certain and surprised the dealership could not.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gupta, Paul, Keane
July 21, 2021

"I’m only giving one star because I can’t give zero. I had..."

- Rob Crews

I’m only giving one star because I can’t give zero. I had a very bad experience at the service department recently - I was told I needed a $4,600 (plus tax) repair, which I declined, and was able to do the repair myself at home for $20. Furthermore, I was charged and paid for a “diagnosis” that was clearly wrong. To make matters worse, I have sent 2 emails to the General Manager of the dealership, providing them an opportunity to discuss my concerns, and completed the online survey request that was sent to me, and haven’t even had the decency/courtesy of a response. Very disappointed, and will definitely not return or recommend this dealership to anyone else.

Read More
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Specific employees are not the issue.
Jul 23, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Hello Rob, we apologize for this matter and understand your concern. However, we provide genuine automotive parts and our trained technicians are highly knowledgeable to ensure your vehicle is serviced well. We will look into this matter to ensure all our customers are taken good care of.

Jul 27, 2021 -

Rob Crews responded

Although I appreciate that you responded, unfortunately I have to say it’s a somewhat disingenuous response. My issue is that you tried to sell me a “genuine automotive part” that I did not need, and your “trained technician” was unable to recognize that I needed a software reinstall (not even an upgrade), which I did myself. Furthermore, despite “looking into this matter”, and the fact that I have emailed the General Manager twice, no one has contacted me directly.

Jul 30, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Hello Rob, we appreciate the honest feedback and would like an opportunity to clear this up. Certain repairs require certain steps as per the manufacturer (VW Canada). Unfortunately they do not allow us to use what is essentially pirated programing from the internet. This could result in major fines for the store and a fraudulent reputation. They recommended we upgrade to the new model of that radio and we pass that information along to the customer as per VW standard guidelines which is exactly what we did. I hope this offers some more incite as to how we approached this situation and translated it to the customer. Have a great day Rob and all the best!

Aug 09, 2021 -

Rob Crews responded

First of all, although I understand the explanation you have provided, I have no way of verifying that it’s actually true. Secondly, it doesn’t address the bigger issue, specifically that the recommended repair was to install a $4,600 head unit (stereo/nav etc), when a $20 software reinstall fixed the issue. Your explanation just passes the blame to VW Canada, instead of the dealership, and as noted, I can’t verify if it’s truly a VW Canada issue or a dealership issue. The software to make this unit function properly was part of OEM when this car was purchased, so it defies logic that it’s not available to VW Canada or to dealers to perform a reinstall. Your choice of the word “pirated” to suggest wrongdoing by me is disappointing. And finally, this explanation (be it true or untrue) was only provided to me after 2 emails to the General Manager, a bad rating on Google (and an unsatisfactory response) a bad rating on this site (and an unsatisfactory response), and FINALLY, an email and phone call from the Service Manager. Clearly, to state that providing me with this explanation is “exactly what we did” is a bit of a distortion of the truth. I stand by my zero star rating.

June 01, 2021

"A/C not working on a 2015 VW Golf GTI.I am not happy..."

- Clark1600

A/C not working on a 2015 VW Golf GTI. I am not happy with the service provided – and I do not recommend this dealership. Background • I purchased my VW Golf GTI in August 2014 with the VW 5 Star Protection package for 120,000 km or 10 years at an additional cost of $2,000. • I have maintained a perfect service record at VW Oakville since the purchase. • Recently I noticed that the AC was not working (the first hot weather of the Spring 2021). • As I have recently moved to Collingwood, I called VW Barrie as the closest dealer and was promptly given an appointment for the next day, May 18. • On arrival, I was advised there would be a $191 + tax fee to ‘diagnose and report’. I was not advised of this fee when booking the appointment and, having driven an hour to get there, it was a bit late to tell me about this (FYI the equivalent fee at another VW dealership is $135!!) • I decided to proceed on the understanding that the fee would be rebated if an issue was found. • As the AC system is clearly covered under the 5 Star Plan, I assumed that if it was not working they would have to fix it and a claim would be made – so the fee was not an issue. Results • After a wait, I was advised the car was ready. The Service Advisor advised that the AC was indeed not working when I delivered the car but they were not able to find a leak. As a result, they charged the AC system, added a dye and asked me to monitor the system. • BUT – as they could not find the cause of the problem, I would have to pay the ‘diagnose and report’ fee (and an environmental charge of $4.99 plus tax). • When we discussed this and I questioned why, I was also advised that if the system leaked/failed in the monitoring period (undefined), I would have to pay another ‘diagnose and report’ fee of $191 to see what the issue was – and the fee I paid for this visit would never be recoverable. • In addition, because they could not find the cause of the leak, there was no basis on which to file a warranty claim! My Issue – and why I have a problem with this dealership • I own a car and I have an extended Protection Plan. • The dealership agreed that the AC was not working (evidenced by the fact that they charged the system and noted that the operation was ‘now normal’) – • The AC system is something that is covered under the Protection Plan. • BUT because the dealer was not able to find cause of the problem, I had to pay the ‘diagnose and report’ fee. (They also noted that I have not been charged to Charge the AC system.) • In all my years of car ownership, I have never had an AC system randomly discharge! In summary • I found an issue covered by warranty – they agreed but could not find the cause – no claim was filed - and I had to pay the service fee! Follow up I advised the dealership and VW Canada of my concerns and neither has contacted me to acknowledge or follow up in the week since I wrote.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Don't know
Jun 04, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Hello James, we have been informed our General Manager and yourself have been chatting. We hope this leads to a favourable resolution, have a fantastic day!

Jun 04, 2021 -

Clark1600 responded

The dealer has been in touch and we are working on a resolution - which is much appreciated.

May 14, 2021

"The worst dealership ever! We bought a 2016 Jetta back in..."

- SS

The worst dealership ever! We bought a 2016 Jetta back in November 2020. The vehicle was sold certified but the certification was outsourced to someone else and the vehicle has had issues from day one. The GM Jesse and the service Manager Dillon are two faced and dishonest and have no clue or care in the world how their customers should be treated. Here is a rundown of our issues. They handed us a vehicle with outstanding recalls even though it was in their possession for months before we purchased it. The drivers side mirror turn signal was burnt from day one. They ordered the part and being the geniuses that they are they put it on a different Jetta that they were selling. They ordered another light and many weeks later, I called to ask about the light and they said it was now in. Keep in mind, I called them , they did not call me: When the light was replaced, it started to take on moisture and it was replaced and yet the same problem and was told that is normal for LED lights! How the xxxx was it not taking on moisture before and since the shop replaced it, all of a sudden it is taking on moisture. They insist it is normal even though the service advisors who originally saw it told me they have never seen that before. That’s not even the worst of their sheer incompetence. The driver and passenger latches failed after 7 weeks and the doors would not seal properly. How can a true certified car have this issue. I replaced the latches and paid $650 dollars. But the true slap in the face is that they damaged the drivers door during the latch replacement (the outer shell was pushed outwards which means that as they were working in that area, they pushed too hard and and ended up causing the outward damage. Of course, they denied it and said our video shows we did no such damage. I told them to pull up the original pics of when the vehicle was traded in before we purchased it to see if that was existing and of course, they did not because that will prove their guilt. When you bring in a vehicle, they never do a walk around like other dealerships do for the very reason that if they damage your vehicle they can always say we did not damage it and we as customers have no possible way to prove it. This is a underhanded move by a sleazy and underhanded dealership. It starts at the top with Jesse and this dishonesty infects the entire dealership. The car even has rust bubbles forming after a month. Think about that, have you ever purchased a vehicle from a dealership and seen rust already forming after a month. That was probably a preexisting issue that they patched up poorly before selling us the vehicle. Again, this is a dealership that have no issue screwing over their customers. Do yourself a favour, avoid this dealership at all costs and go buy a vehicle from a dealership with honesty, integrity and customer appreciation. If I could rate this dealership and management a 0, that would be too high.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jesse, Dillon, Natalie
May 27, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Hello Samir, sorry to hear about the bad experience. Nearly $2,000 was put into the reconditioning of your vehicle and another $2,150 after the purchase. It is unfortunate you consider that “two-faced and dishonest” but the last thing we want is to deliver a vehicle with issues. Ultimately a warranty was recommended during your purchase, as you can imagine we can't tell which cars may have issues in the future. If a warranty was bought with your vehicle it would have avoided any additional charges. If we covered every issue after a sale it would not be fair to people who actually bought coverage.

April 22, 2021

"Excellent work by the service department, vehicle was..."

- lyndonmeredith

Excellent work by the service department, vehicle was ready on time, washed and everything fully explained. Unfortunately due to current covid problems no valet service available.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Adrian ?
Apr 29, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Appreciate the positive review. Thank you.

March 27, 2021

"Everyone was friendly and clearly explained what needed..."

- Jeff

Everyone was friendly and clearly explained what needed to be done with the vehicle. My car was ready well in advance of when I needed it and the service manager even explained a feature to the car I was unaware of!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Adrian humby
Apr 08, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

That's really great to hear that you had a positive experience with us. Thank you very much for your business.

March 26, 2021

"Ian Brown was freindly, knowledgeable and motivated to..."

- Psc

Ian Brown was freindly, knowledgeable and motivated to reach a fair price during negotians. Because of this experince i would recommend this dealer and i will be back for future purchases.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ian Brown
Apr 08, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. Here's to a long and satisfying business relationship together.

March 11, 2021

"Very caring and organized dealership. Took care of all my..."

- Mcrone33

Very caring and organized dealership. Took care of all my needs and I will definitely go back! They have a great support staff that help make the experience great.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ian. Natalie
Mar 12, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Thank you for the great review! We hope to see you soon.

February 21, 2021

"Excellent customer service, I knew my car was being..."

- Dp.bengert

Excellent customer service, I knew my car was being looked after by professionals. It was ready on time and service was completed to my satisfaction

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Devon kept me informed with the progress of my service. Thank you
Mar 05, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Appreciate the positive review. Thank you.

February 06, 2021

"Excellent customer service. Keane went above and beyond..."

- cmwhateley98

Excellent customer service. Keane went above and beyond and is a true professional. He responded to all our queries in a timely manner. We highly recommend this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Keane
Feb 08, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

We appreciate your feedback and would like to say thank you. If you need any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

1
...
1 - 10 of 201 results