Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Barrie Volkswagen

Barrie, ON

4.2
199 Reviews

60 Fairview Rd

Barrie, ON

L4N 8X8

Directions

199 Reviews of Barrie Volkswagen

Sort by
June 01, 2021

"A/C not working on a 2015 VW Golf GTI.I am not happy..."

- Clark1600

A/C not working on a 2015 VW Golf GTI. I am not happy with the service provided – and I do not recommend this dealership. Background • I purchased my VW Golf GTI in August 2014 with the VW 5 Star Protection package for 120,000 km or 10 years at an additional cost of $2,000. • I have maintained a perfect service record at VW Oakville since the purchase. • Recently I noticed that the AC was not working (the first hot weather of the Spring 2021). • As I have recently moved to Collingwood, I called VW Barrie as the closest dealer and was promptly given an appointment for the next day, May 18. • On arrival, I was advised there would be a $191 + tax fee to ‘diagnose and report’. I was not advised of this fee when booking the appointment and, having driven an hour to get there, it was a bit late to tell me about this (FYI the equivalent fee at another VW dealership is $135!!) • I decided to proceed on the understanding that the fee would be rebated if an issue was found. • As the AC system is clearly covered under the 5 Star Plan, I assumed that if it was not working they would have to fix it and a claim would be made – so the fee was not an issue. Results • After a wait, I was advised the car was ready. The Service Advisor advised that the AC was indeed not working when I delivered the car but they were not able to find a leak. As a result, they charged the AC system, added a dye and asked me to monitor the system. • BUT – as they could not find the cause of the problem, I would have to pay the ‘diagnose and report’ fee (and an environmental charge of $4.99 plus tax). • When we discussed this and I questioned why, I was also advised that if the system leaked/failed in the monitoring period (undefined), I would have to pay another ‘diagnose and report’ fee of $191 to see what the issue was – and the fee I paid for this visit would never be recoverable. • In addition, because they could not find the cause of the leak, there was no basis on which to file a warranty claim! My Issue – and why I have a problem with this dealership • I own a car and I have an extended Protection Plan. • The dealership agreed that the AC was not working (evidenced by the fact that they charged the system and noted that the operation was ‘now normal’) – • The AC system is something that is covered under the Protection Plan. • BUT because the dealer was not able to find cause of the problem, I had to pay the ‘diagnose and report’ fee. (They also noted that I have not been charged to Charge the AC system.) • In all my years of car ownership, I have never had an AC system randomly discharge! In summary • I found an issue covered by warranty – they agreed but could not find the cause – no claim was filed - and I had to pay the service fee! Follow up I advised the dealership and VW Canada of my concerns and neither has contacted me to acknowledge or follow up in the week since I wrote.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Don't know
Jun 04, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Hello James, we have been informed our General Manager and yourself have been chatting. We hope this leads to a favourable resolution, have a fantastic day!

Jun 04, 2021 -

Clark1600 responded

The dealer has been in touch and we are working on a resolution - which is much appreciated.

May 14, 2021

"The worst dealership ever! We bought a 2016 Jetta back in..."

- SS

The worst dealership ever! We bought a 2016 Jetta back in November 2020. The vehicle was sold certified but the certification was outsourced to someone else and the vehicle has had issues from day one. The GM Jesse and the service Manager Dillon are two faced and dishonest and have no clue or care in the world how their customers should be treated. Here is a rundown of our issues. They handed us a vehicle with outstanding recalls even though it was in their possession for months before we purchased it. The drivers side mirror turn signal was burnt from day one. They ordered the part and being the geniuses that they are they put it on a different Jetta that they were selling. They ordered another light and many weeks later, I called to ask about the light and they said it was now in. Keep in mind, I called them , they did not call me: When the light was replaced, it started to take on moisture and it was replaced and yet the same problem and was told that is normal for LED lights! How the xxxx was it not taking on moisture before and since the shop replaced it, all of a sudden it is taking on moisture. They insist it is normal even though the service advisors who originally saw it told me they have never seen that before. That’s not even the worst of their sheer incompetence. The driver and passenger latches failed after 7 weeks and the doors would not seal properly. How can a true certified car have this issue. I replaced the latches and paid $650 dollars. But the true slap in the face is that they damaged the drivers door during the latch replacement (the outer shell was pushed outwards which means that as they were working in that area, they pushed too hard and and ended up causing the outward damage. Of course, they denied it and said our video shows we did no such damage. I told them to pull up the original pics of when the vehicle was traded in before we purchased it to see if that was existing and of course, they did not because that will prove their guilt. When you bring in a vehicle, they never do a walk around like other dealerships do for the very reason that if they damage your vehicle they can always say we did not damage it and we as customers have no possible way to prove it. This is a underhanded move by a sleazy and underhanded dealership. It starts at the top with Jesse and this dishonesty infects the entire dealership. The car even has rust bubbles forming after a month. Think about that, have you ever purchased a vehicle from a dealership and seen rust already forming after a month. That was probably a preexisting issue that they patched up poorly before selling us the vehicle. Again, this is a dealership that have no issue screwing over their customers. Do yourself a favour, avoid this dealership at all costs and go buy a vehicle from a dealership with honesty, integrity and customer appreciation. If I could rate this dealership and management a 0, that would be too high.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jesse, Dillon, Natalie
May 27, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Hello Samir, sorry to hear about the bad experience. Nearly $2,000 was put into the reconditioning of your vehicle and another $2,150 after the purchase. It is unfortunate you consider that “two-faced and dishonest” but the last thing we want is to deliver a vehicle with issues. Ultimately a warranty was recommended during your purchase, as you can imagine we can't tell which cars may have issues in the future. If a warranty was bought with your vehicle it would have avoided any additional charges. If we covered every issue after a sale it would not be fair to people who actually bought coverage.

April 22, 2021

"Excellent work by the service department, vehicle was..."

- lyndonmeredith

Excellent work by the service department, vehicle was ready on time, washed and everything fully explained. Unfortunately due to current covid problems no valet service available.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Adrian ?
Apr 29, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Appreciate the positive review. Thank you.

March 27, 2021

"Everyone was friendly and clearly explained what needed..."

- Jeff

Everyone was friendly and clearly explained what needed to be done with the vehicle. My car was ready well in advance of when I needed it and the service manager even explained a feature to the car I was unaware of!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Adrian humby
Apr 08, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

That's really great to hear that you had a positive experience with us. Thank you very much for your business.

March 26, 2021

"Ian Brown was freindly, knowledgeable and motivated to..."

- Psc

Ian Brown was freindly, knowledgeable and motivated to reach a fair price during negotians. Because of this experince i would recommend this dealer and i will be back for future purchases.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ian Brown
Apr 08, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. Here's to a long and satisfying business relationship together.

March 11, 2021

"Very caring and organized dealership. Took care of all my..."

- Mcrone33

Very caring and organized dealership. Took care of all my needs and I will definitely go back! They have a great support staff that help make the experience great.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ian. Natalie
Mar 12, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Thank you for the great review! We hope to see you soon.

February 21, 2021

"Excellent customer service, I knew my car was being..."

- Dp.bengert

Excellent customer service, I knew my car was being looked after by professionals. It was ready on time and service was completed to my satisfaction

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Devon kept me informed with the progress of my service. Thank you
Mar 05, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Appreciate the positive review. Thank you.

February 06, 2021

"Excellent customer service. Keane went above and beyond..."

- cmwhateley98

Excellent customer service. Keane went above and beyond and is a true professional. He responded to all our queries in a timely manner. We highly recommend this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Keane
Feb 08, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

We appreciate your feedback and would like to say thank you. If you need any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

January 27, 2021

"Awful experience with this dealership. Rude service..."

- VDub

Awful experience with this dealership. Rude service advisor and large scratch left on my vehicle after service. General manager acknowledged scratch on car and said he would take care of it. Have tried to contact several times since December and they will not return phone calls. Do not go to this dealership!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Rogers, Dylan, Jesse
Feb 08, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

We apologize you had a negative experience. We strive to create the best possible experience for everyone. With this in mind, please feel free to contact our Service Manager Dillon Gibson if we can be of further service in this matter. He can be reached at (705) 737-0100 or via email d_gibson@barrievolkswagen.ca

January 21, 2021

"Knowledgeable technicians, advisors and sales..."

- rylanboyd18

Knowledgeable technicians, advisors and sales staff. VW VW VW VW VW VW VW VW VW VW VW VW VW VW VW VW VW VW VW

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dillon, Shayne
Feb 08, 2021 -

Barrie Volkswagen responded

Thank you for the great review!

1
...
1 - 10 of 199 results