Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Sun Valley Honda

1.5

25 Lifetime Reviews

16 Strachan Court SE , Medicine Hat , Alberta T1B 4R7 Directions
Sales: (403) 526-0626

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

25 Reviews of Sun Valley Honda

Sort by Write a review
September 06, 2019

"Insurance Inspection for older vehicle."

- Ticked Off

Done with this dealership. Insurance vehicle inspection on low mileage Civic. Multiple fails, $2200+ work. Paid half inspection cost elsewhere and passed with $180 fix.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gord (Service Tech)
June 17, 2019

"Sales"

- Unhappy Customer

If You Want Sleazy Manipulative Salesman & Manager Shop @ Sunvalley Honda Otherwise Go Somewhere Where They Value Your Business,I Bought A 2018 CRV Touring And I Was Promised The same Deal As What Calgary Dealer Offered Me Which Was 2 Years Of Free Oil Changes If I Purchased From Sunvalley , After 4th Oil Change I Was Told I Would Have To Pay For The Oil Change I Told Service That I Had 2 Years Of Free Oil Changes, So Service Talked To The Manager And Salesman To Which They Denied Offering And Said They Could Not Find Any Documentation Just Wish I Had Listen To Other People Who Told Me Sunvalley Has A Reputation For Lies And Deceptive Tactics , So Much For Shopping Local , I Will Never Buy Anything From Sunvalley Ever Again All You End Up With Are Empty Promises.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lonnie , Marc
September 07, 2018

"Service"

- kg pantry 123

My wife and I bought a brand new vehicle with Sun Valley Honda in June 2018 We traded in our old Honda for a new one because we have always found that they are very reliable. When we went to register our vehicle, we were given the wrong Bill of Sale and couldn't register it. We had go back to the dealership and to get the right one. Also, when we went to the Registry the second time we weren't given the Nvis for new vehicles, so Sun Valley Honda had to deliver it the Registry. When we bought the vehicle we asked for winter Tires and Rims as well. We were told they were worth about $1800 total. They were only Steel Rims too. Today we went back and told the Service Dept. that we didn't want the Tires and Rims anymore and would like a refund. They had never been mounted at all. Kyle only wanted to give us back $800 to $1000, what a rip off. My wife and I are very disappointed with the Service and don't recommend

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kyle, Barry, Lonnie
June 05, 2018

"Oil change "

- Ashley2310

I had phoned the dealership to book an oil change for my vechile as well as a seat recall. We dropped my van off the night before and my husband took a cab to work so I could use his car. After work we went to pick up the van to find out they did not do an oil change and only the recalls ( a few others I didn’t know about). My soul purpose of my phone call was an oil change. It’s a simple fix but honestly it’s the principal, can fare, arranging rides etc. An explanation or apology would have been appreciated

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
I’m not sure
May 11, 2018

"Pre-owned inspection very poor!"

- Bowski

Got delivered a pre-owned vehicle sold as “MINT” condition with not a single defect reported on inspection. Ended up taking the Honda Pilot to a different local Honda dealership a couple days later as there were some red flags. The Service Manager, within 20 minutes and a short test drive found several unserviceable items. -A defective driveshaft! I had brought it to the attention of several employees at Sun Valley, including a Manager, and all of them brushed it off claiming it to be ‘a normal Pilot vibration’ - Warped front wheel rotors, local Service Manager found within 1 minute of test drive, even before a visual confirmation - Extra set of rims/tires (included in sale offer) sent different model rims with wrong size tires and TPMS sensors not compatible with vehicle. - No headphones with factory installed DVD player, recommended I buy a set off Amazon. Sales team pitched and promised a great sale until the cheque was delivered and then they were more than reluctant to make every available excuse away from the deficiencies. Eventually after multiple calls to the Sales Manager regarding the bad drive-shaft they agreed to pay for the driveshaft part ONLY, not even the labour. When I advised about tire size and TPMS sensors, I was told “it is very common not to include functioning sensors with a tire/rim package”!!!???? My local Honda dealership is so frustrated and embarrassed by the actions of this other dealership that they have gone out of their way to help get the repairs accomplished and back to a safe vehicle. This was our first dealership purchased vehicle and we paid a premium to have the peace of mind and confidence we were getting a safe vehicle with the utmost transparency. Unfortunately, this is your typical used car sales lot with the standard tactics and deception. Beware, get another inspection done before you buy from these guys cause once the cash is gone your just a sales number to them!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
RJ, Mark
October 15, 2017

"Excellent Service "

- KoleM

I have been going to this dealership for 6 years now and have never been disappointed. They are all very honest and trustworthy. They accommodate people the best they can and provide excellent service. And the tires are definitetely the cheapest in Medicine Hat. Nothing but good things to say about this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Can't remember
February 27, 2017

"Horrible service!!"

- jedlm88

This is probably the worst dealership I have ever dealt with. I'm not sure if it is due to the lack of competition for being the only Honda dealer in town which has forced people to buy here, or simply because people are just oblivious to actual customer service. I have given them my patience as well as the opportunity to redeem themselves, however they have failed miserably at every turn. Here describes my one year attempt at fixing an issue with my car from start to today: 1) The initial purchase of the vehicle did not start off on the right foot. Having had come from out east I am used to negotiations for vehicle purchases and thus was surprised to be low balled on both my trades. So when I visited friends in Edmonton I decided to compare their offer with another dealer. They offered me $8000 for both my cars compared to $6000 and were offering to ship my new Honda to me and pick up both my cars sight unseen to make the deal. I brought this to Sun valley Honda and after further negotiations they matched the deal and added a 4 free oil changes (btw, their actual cost for oil changes is not $24.99 but closer to $60 when you factor in the labour cost... another lie). I ended up taking their offer in the end with the managers convincing. 2) After picking up the vehicle I drove to BC for a road trip using the android auto (a feature which encouraged me to purchase the vehicle as it allowed me to save money rather than purchasing the top model). However, on the way back it stopped working due to a bluetooth connectivity issue and I could not use it anymore. Once I returned to the Hat, I brought this up to my salesman who quickly responded that if its android issue they could not do anything as they do not offer support for it (fair enough, can't provide repairs for an app you don't develop) however it was a bluetooth issue. They said it was the phone without looking at the vehicle and despite verifying that it was compatible with both the car and android auto. Despite this I got another compatible phone yet the problem continued. I kept going in and despite them checking the system and saying it was working, my phone would still sporadically disconnect while in use. They finally said that they were waiting on an update. 3) When they got the update, it still cut out. At that point I got fed up as it had been close to 7-8 months now that this issue had persisted so I ended up contacting Honda HQ which pretty much said to contact the dealer to resolve the issue. After fighting back and forth, they finally agreed to take my vehicle in to run diagnostics and lend me another vehicle to see if it worked with my phone (the manager was initially suggesting that I get a rental out of pocket for this and had to explain to him how this is not how other dealerships do business - I've had loaners when repairs were needed on my previous cars, xxxx, even had one dealership pay part of my vehicle rental cost because the repairs took longer than foreseen and impacted a personal trip). 4) When they were done with my vehicle they called me to pick it up. When I went, their service manager said, "If I would have known you were coming I would have cleared and heated your vehicle".... you called me?!?! Nonetheless, despite the then 10 months of waiting for a solution, they had finally agreed to order a new head unit for the vehicle and that they would call me when it came in. 5) It is now end February, 19 days short of my one year purchase date and I am still waiting on that phone call. The bluetooth is still cutting... At this point I've written these guys off and have chosen to warn people instead. Go to a bigger city where there are more dealers to compete with. It may be more time consuming, but in the end, you'll get a better deal, save money, and get treated better as a customer. Despite my almost one year battle with this issue, I gave them the benefit of the doubt and even let coworkers know that despite their initial shortcomings they gave me a good deal after negotiations in the end. They got 4 vehicles sold (including mine) in the past year thanks to me, yet I'm left with a still broken system with another compatible phone that i bought to replace the one they said was also compatible but might still be the problem. 6) If anybody else has experienced bluetooth connectivity issues and have found a solution, let me know, xxxx tell theses guys! A pissed off customer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
marc and manager
January 17, 2017

"Above and Beyond"

- primus

I bought a new Honda Accord in November of 2014. The car has worked flawlessly since then. I had the dealership install a remote starter. They recommended the Auto Start remote as Honda remotes have limited range. I agreed. In autumn of 2015 the remote failed. They replaced it with a new module under warranty. Because of winter travel by me, the install happened in February of 2016. In January of 2017 it failed again. I returned to the dealership, and they arranged an appointment. At that time, they informed me that they no longer handle Auto Start remotes due to issues like mine. When I arrived for the appointment, they requested the car for a longer time so they could change out the old unit and replace with a brand new Python remote. Which they did. At no charge to me. And they were polite the entire time. They took very good care of me, and on that basis, I heartily recommend Sun Valley Honda.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Don't know names, everyone was great.
December 14, 2016

"Good service "

- Lucasbryne88

Bought a 2014 ram sport from there in march this year you guys made it work with my budget by lowering the price an gave me free detail for my next visit

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Josh Bryne
December 09, 2016

"Awesome"

- Jordan

I had such a great experience at Sun Valley Honda, Everyone there was super kind and helpful. My salesmen Nathyn Mortlock was very knowledgeable and very professional when it came to picking the right vehicle for myself, i would highly recommend him.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Nathyn Mortlock
1
1 - 10 of 25 results