Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Back

Subaru of Niagara

St. Catharines, ON

2.3
10 Reviews

375 Lake Street

St. Catharines, ON

L2N 4H5

Directions

Is this your dealership?

10 Reviews of Subaru of Niagara

Sort by
July 27, 2021

"bought a car from this dealer, and wish i never did. they..."

- Roy

bought a car from this dealer, and wish i never did. they are rude and nothing but pressure. no follow ups to see if your happy with the new vehicle; now that i finally traded the car i will never go back again.good ridance ya you got one sale from me but let me tell you, thats the only one you will have.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
not important
July 26, 2021

"Great experience dealing with the sales department. The..."

- Mars

Great experience dealing with the sales department. The problem is they are selling more cars that they can service. It takes 3 weeks to get an appointment even for something like to change a battery. Those are the problems you face if you buy there. For me service is a priority so I switch to another dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Otto is a good salesman.
April 22, 2021

"We bought our first new car ever. We reasearched for..."

- Simon

We bought our first new car ever. We reasearched for months and came to the conclusion that a 2018 Subaru Outback was the best car for us. Definitely not the cheapest option, but you get what you pay for. Or so we thought. Subaru of Niagara has been nothing short of awful to deal with. It has been my experience, that if you need a service appointment, you will need to book at least 3 weeks in advance, that is what the service technician said. It’s hard to know when your car will break down, but I digress. Since day one we have had battery issues. The battery would randomly be dead when trying to leave for work. we Then started to have issues with the radio / Infotainment unit. The sceen would go black and not function. After waiting 3 plus weeks for a service appointment, It was diagnosed as needing a new radio system. (A recall on the part) After scheduling an appointment, when we arrive the service department installed our radio into another vehicle. No fix This time. We were assured that we would get a call back when the part was in, and the issue would be corrected. The screen randomly started to work again. No call back. After becoming frustrated with the lack of service after the first few months of ownership, I decided to start to do my own oil changes and still do 3 years later. Now the battery fails again and after cleaning the battery terminals again, the rear lift gate no longer works. After countless hours of research on how to reset the power lift gate, I have no luck. the lift gate was working fine in the morning before the battery failure in the afternoon. I call for service, again and am told it will be about 3 weeks to get in. They also mention that there is a recall on the radio. I thought great, we will get that fixed as well. I explained the previous issue and the technician assured me they would try an update for the radio, check The battery and reset the radio. After returning later for pickup, the tech explained that the radio has been reset, but the lift gate motor is burnt out. That will be over $1000 to fix as we are just outside the warranty. We have 63,000km on the vehicle and the warranty is up at 60,000. Strange coincidence in my mind that a battery failure and burnt out liftgate Motor happen at the same time with no correlation, and just happens to be just out of warranty. Then to top it off. The trim panel was broken off by the service tech when diagnosing the lift motor issue. The dealer contacted Subaru to see if they would cover any cost. No luck. Lastly, the radio that was supposedly reset, is randomly raising and lowering the volume by itself now and giving me weather alerts every five minutes. Maybe it needs to be replaced after all. I’m more than frustrated with Subaru of Niagara. The lack of customer service has been unbelievable to be honest. We wont be buying or servicing any vehicles from Subaru of Niagara again. I guess thats the thing about lemons, they leave a sour taste in your mouth. I suggest looking elsewhere, especially when service is valued.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kyle
December 10, 2020

"My experiences getting my 2017 Outback serviced has been..."

- Rick McIntosh

My experiences getting my 2017 Outback serviced has been awful. This is the absolute worst dealer I have ever dealt with. Up sell pressure is non stop. Latest service bill was $2050.00. Outrageous . Anyone looking at Subaru's be aware that the service costs are very high. Especially at this dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Elaine
January 24, 2020

"New Car Purchase"

- shafiq.moorani

Great experience dealing with Otto, Sean, and Devin. Would recommend this dealership if buying a Subaru. Got a price that could not be matched buy another dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sean, Devin, Otto
October 21, 2019

"Bearings Disaster"

- Jennefer70

This fiasco began when I needed a bearing replaced. I dropped off my car on Thursday and expected to pick it up the next day. I was given a rental for the day from Enterprise. Usually, the Innisfil Subaru I'm used to dealing with would give me a loaner of there own. This resulted in me having to pay for insurance coverage for the day for the rental. The next day I was called and told they would have to keep the vehicle for the weekend as the ABS sensor was on and wouldn't come off. They had to investigate why. So I stayed in the rental over the weekend, but was clear to confirm that I wouldn't be paying for any extra days. That was agreed. Monday morning comes and my vehicle is still being kept because they still couldn't determine what the problem was. Fast forward to that Friday (now my vehicle was in for a week) and they are still no closer to figuring out what was wrong, and would call me Monday. Second week, and mid week they discover it is a bad bearing lot. They will have my vehicle over another weekend while they wait for another part. Start of the third week, I finally get my vehicle back. Full charges, not even detailed for my trouble. I also had to come back twice to get products out of my car to do my job. Complete hassle, no consideration for how frustrating it is to not have your own vehicle. Oh and kicker? I had to call enterprise back because of excess charges. Result? I will never bring my vehicle back. So many things could have been done that weren't. Some of the labour charge waived and paid by Subaru Canada as they were already covering excess charges for all the parts used to try and fix the issue. How about a recall of the bad bearings so they weren't even used in the first place???? Horrible.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Gary, Amanda
October 18, 2019

"Excellent vehicles, poor management"

- FormerSubaruDriver

Fell in love with my Subaru Impreza (from another Subaru dealership) six years ago. Fast forward to today & I'm in the market to buy a replacement car. I visited Subaru of Niagara to see what they could do to help me get behind the wheel of a 2020 Impreza since I loved the car so much. I genuinely wanted to continue my business relationship with Subaru. Translation : I really had my heart set on a newer Impreza! That's why I went to them first! I was really looking forward to trying out their Eye Sight technology. I took my car in for an appraisal so I could apply the trade-in value towards the purchase of a newer Impreza. But the trade-in value Subaru of Niagara quoted me seemed quite low. So like any diligent person would do, I visited a few other dealers & got their appraisals as well. The unfortunate part (for me) was that Subaru of Niagara offered me the lowest trade-in value, so I had to take my business elsewhere. No matter how much I loved my Impreza, I have to take care of my wallet as well. I've got a family, so money is always a concern. I won't pretend to understand how each car dealership comes to their trade-in value assessments & I'm not knocking Subaru of Niagara, but I think it's kind of humorous that Subaru offered the lowest amount on their own make of car & I got a great trade-in value from another car make dealership. FWIW, their staff is friendly & they sell *amazing cars* to help navigate our harsh Ontario winters. I used to get stuck every winter for twenty years driving various makes/models of FWD cars. But *not once* did I get stuck in the past six winters in my Subaru Impreza. I already miss my Subie. :( I had an opportunity to communicate with their Sales Manager, Devin, via e-mails, but unfortunately we were unable to reach an agreement. He thought it was perfectly acceptable to provide me a LOWER trade-in value for my Subaru, whereas a competitor (TOYOTA) offered me a better trade-in value....for a Subaru car. LMAO, yeah. You read that right. Toyota offered me MORE for my Subaru, than Subaru was willing to offer for my Subaru. Keep up the great work Devin.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Devin Kaulback
May 15, 2019

"Amazing sales service and after service"

- Rachcha

This was the best car buying experience ever!! I bought a Subaru Forester Sport!! The sales team was amazing!! I bought tire warranty .... and thank goodness!! I ran over debris and ruined my tire! The road side assistance that came with my new vehicle purchase saved me that day! The next day Subaru got me in right at 8 am!! Amanda was amazing!! In no time a new tire was ordered the warranty wasn’t questioned!! No hidden costs!! I walked away once again as a happy Subaru customer!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sean, Otto, Amanda
September 12, 2018

"Nonstandard part???"

- Windshield

Maybe too late with this review but i need to share my bad experience with this car dealer. I bought a used 2016 forester early this year. Only this month i noticed there is a big gap in the windshield frame. Im pretty sure it was replaced because you can still see the markings of the old frame in the wind shield. The frame or panel below they installed is smaller for the windshield. This resulted for the opening or gap in the bottom part of the windshield....i was in good faith that i was provided with standard parts even car i purchased was used. NEVER AGAIN

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Zach
August 08, 2018

"Close to the pleasant Saturn experience..."

- FreddyTheK

Back in the day, I enjoyed the the non-stressful experience at the Saturn dealership. This Subaru dealership was pretty close. It started with sales person Steven Makerewich. He was a joy to deal with, starting with the test drive. He prepped a similar Forester to the one I was interested in and let my pal & I go off on our own! On delivery, he explained all the various functions, although much of it didn’t sink in, as my car has a ton of new tech to get used to. He Bluetooth my phone to the vehicle and downloaded my contacts, so I’d be good to go. I was also introduced to General Sales Manager, Devin Kaulback, on delivery. The dealership is currently under renovations, so staff are working out of trailers, and the lot is a bit cramped. I look forward to service, when it’s completed. On signing, I did get the usual up-sell for various products, such as electronic rust control (snake oil in my estimation from research), scotch guard, etc. But it was a “soft sell”, as I was allowed to sleep on it. I did get the extended warranty. The complete warranty goes for 3 years and 60K km. The extended runs to 7 years but only 80K km. I figured it was a reasonable expenditure given the cost of the Eyesight cameras, infotainment system, and insurance about CVT and head gasket problems of previous year cars. Overall, a very good experience and would say it was an honest dealership with some quality people!

Read More
Customer Service
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Steven Makerewich, Devin Kaulback
1
1 - 10 of 10 results