Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Subaru of London

2.3

18 Lifetime Reviews

675 Wharncliffe Road S, London, Ontario N6J 2N7 Directions
Call (519) 455-5985

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

18 Reviews of Subaru of London

Sort by Write a review
December 13, 2019

"Another Unexpected Adventure"

- ahshapiro

A change from all-season to winter tires was a big problem for my new Crosstrek. Subaru had stored the winter tires from my traded-in Forester and a routine tire switch to winter tires, I was told, was very hard to do. The service people told me that they did not have the right nuts to put the winter tires on. I was told that the winter tires were not put on Subaru rims. The Subaru service center themselves had put the tires on those rims. The "correct" nuts for those rims had, apparently, disappeared with the Forester I had traded in for the new Crosstrek. Despite words of caring on the London Subaru site, my experience in this Subaru dealer Service center has been very unpleasant. The service provider eventually put on an entire set of new nuts for these rims. They did not charge me extra for doing this, but blaming me for their oversight was not called-for. Each time I need service at this dealership, I feel as if I am going into battle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joan
November 04, 2019

"Fourth Subaru......Subaru London"

- WayneO

Great customer focus at all levels. Very pleased with the response and attention to detail. The Operations Manager and her Service Team are excellent. Our sales experience has always been very good.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Anne Mansel and her Service Team
August 19, 2019

"Do Your Homework First"

- Bertie

Our first experience with Subaru hasn't been a pleasant one thus far. We have advised many people to avoid the brand and the dealership here in London for a few reasons. One, this is the first car we have ever purchased that provided a defect at the outset. And this dealership needed at least 4 visits to rectify the situation. And, on occasion, the GPS has been locking up now, Potential purchasers of Subaru products should heed some warnings: one, although Consumer Reports rates the vehicles highly, that doesn't mean trouble free. Secondly, ask them to outline what the service costs will be before buying. I have had Toyota and Honda products and I have NEVER had service bills as high as this dealership. Next, as much as possible, avoid brands with only ONE local dealer. These types of monopolies feed the very high cost of service. As well, you can sometimes have very long waits to get appointments, especially if there are recalls.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
NA
June 06, 2019

"Went for an alignment, ended up with a damaged car"

- souparu

Took my Subaru Forester XT to the local Subaru dealership for a 4 wheel alignment and impromptu denting of my hood... Awfully unprofessional, rude, and incompetent service department. Not only did they damage the hood of my car, they didn't even understand what aftermarket work was done to it, despite me letting them know. For whatever reason, service staff kept assuming that wheel spacers were installed. It should of been glaringly obvious when doing the alignment that this was not the case - I've never even bought "wheel spacers", much less have any intention of putting them on my car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tim McDonagh
March 06, 2019

"Not nice I buy cross trek in Guelph, nice."

- Padma Booter

My english is not very good. Joe make fun of me 5 time not nice. Think i am poor. Go to Guelph 1 time nice. Buy white Subaru. Subaru is good. Subaru service London = bad. Not nice Thank you

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joe
November 16, 2018

"Conflicting info. Also, Basic Manners?"

- Dontbringmedown

Well, this is my first and last visit to the London ON Subaru service centre...I'm sitting in the waiting area typing this. I'm a fairly reasonable, easygoing person and I understand that employees get busy and there is a limit to the amount of multitasking an employee can do. However...when I arrived here, I walked past an empty service desk waiting area (apart from a couple of seated ladies chatting) and approached the desk. The fellow on the desk was talking with a client on the phone, so I stood to wait my turn. And stood. And waited. Minutes went by. Zero eye contact, zero acknowledgement he was well aware I was standing across the desk from him. A nod of the head, a half smile, a raised hand - nope. I would happily have waited quietly til the end of the call if there had been any hint of nonverbal acknowledgement. I started feeling annoyed by his choice of behaviour. Then one of the chatting ladies from the seats walked past me to behind the desk. Turns out she was an employee who had watched me walk in and stand ignored at the desk. I thought oh, good, she'll let me hand over my keys for the appointment, but - she ignored me, too. She called out a question to another staff member then checked something on the phone. I stood a little longer until it was evident both employees were quite ok with letting me keep on standing there indefinitely like a boob without acknowledging me, then placed my car key on the counter, slid it toward the middle, quietly said my vehicle was here for an appointment to no one in particular and walked over to a chair to sit down. At that point the female employee began to do an intake, came over to sit next to me to get a v.i.n # etc. I told her I was shocked by the counter service, particularly the rude male. She apologized and provided good customer service from that point. I wasn't charged for the service (ultimately a simple check of a recurring error message on car media screen). The mechanic was great. But I didn't want or need damage control, I needed a service desk person with basic customer service etiquette skills in the first place. Who the heck needs to be made to feel annoyed and upset simply trying to check in for a car service appointment in an empty room? It needlessly deflated my morning. Not acceptable, folks. Part 2 of my critique is that information I was given when booking the appointment regarding what servicing was in order was directly contradicted during the intake discussion. It became apparent I had been over-booked for points of inspection/diagnostics that didn't actually exist. I find this disturbing, as I had a fairly long and detailed conversation regarding my concerns and what should be done on booking the appointment. Luckily for me, the scope of the inspection was reduced from an all points inspection to focus on a recurring media screen error message ($200 to $70). I try to be thrifty and buy only used vehicles. Before I bought a used 2015 Subaru Forrester this summer I retired a used 2001 Toyota Highlander I'd had for many years. When I took the Highlander to the south London Toyota dealership service desk, literally every employee I ever dealt with there was friendly, pleasant, attentive, knowledgeable, honest and professional. The contrast of these experiences with my perplexing visit to Subaru London today is a bummer and makes me miss my old Highlander even more.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Two service desk people, one make one female, mid morning on November 16, 2018
February 16, 2018

"Uninformed, arrogant, apathetic Service CSR"

- SUV Owner of Southern Ontario

By now, anyone can Google "2014 Subaru Forester front door mouldings coming off" and find many references and pictures attesting to this EPIC DESIGN FAILURE by Subaru Motors. I’ve had this problem with my door mouldings peeling off of my doors like banana peels since the winter of 2015/2016, but nowhere could I find a solution. I did a lot of highway driving and my Forester was out of warranty by the first time that I discovered this problem. I lived with it by gently placing the door moulding back onto the door and gingerly closing the door each time. The issue never happened in the summer, but if the temperature dropped below 3 Celsius … the moulding always stuck to the body when opening the doors. … A royal PITA. I’m connected with Forester owners and knew the door moulding problem had become an epidemic, but I figured by July, 2017 there would have been a "Service Bulletin" or "Secret Warranty Extension" announced by Subaru to fix the issue. One sunny July day in 2017, my girlfriend and I stopped at LONDON SUBARU to see if they could fix the problem for me before Winter 2017/2018 arrived. No word of a lie: When I explained the problem to the young guy at the Service Department desk that day, he looked at my girlfriend and I said: "That happens to all cars." Standing beside me, my girlfriend laughed out loud and repeated the phrase "… happens to all cars" while giggling and motioning to the other customers in line behind me at the service desk. When I asked if he wanted to see pictures, he replied he used to work at a Ford Dealership and had seen the same problem all the time. When I asked if there were any extended warranties or CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT regarding this particular problem, with this particular Subaru (that could easily be referenced ALL OVER THE INTERNET) he said "No" and told me I would have to pay for any service fees to repair the issue because my car was (at 100,000Km) outside of warranty. Dumbfounded, I shook my head and walked out, NEVER TO RETURN AGAIN TO LONDON SUBARU. Yesterday (Feb. 15, 2018) I just happened to be driving by Kitchener Subaru (Gemini Motors) and had some time to kill, so I dropped in to ask the same question. The young lady working at 1 of the 2 Service Department desks INSTANTLY ACKNOWLEDGED THAT THEY KNEW OF THIS PROBLEM on the Forester, but that Subaru Motors had not even issued a service bulletin yet and were providing no direction on this problem. Instead, she came outside with me to reattach the door moulding for me, only to be assisted moments later by a mechanics' apprentice who was moving cars around the lot. The apprentice took over for the Customer Service Rep. (who returned to her desk in the showroom) and showed me how to reattach the moulding without tools and acknowledged that he had reattached the door mouldings for 3 other customers with the same problem in the last few days. So YAY friendly and smart Gemini Motors! BOO LONDON SUBARU disinterested, uniformed, arrogant CSR's.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Desk
January 17, 2018

"Easiest car buying experience"

- John G

Recently purchased a new Forester. Brent Erb was great to work with; no pressure, very professional and helpful, answered all of my questions. Overall, I would highly recommend this dealer and Brent in particular; the other staff I interacted with were also very professional and easy to work with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brent Erb, Jay Pinch
November 09, 2017

"Sold us a lemon Forester"

- GR

Sold us a lemon engine that needed replacing at under 115000 km. Sold us a reliable car that would have a long life and good resale value. Engine dies and they won't admit it's a problem. At $130 per hr mechanic rate they offer to fix it for $7500 - the price of the car's worth. Customers are being screwed. Don't fal for the nice smiles - their product is flawed and that's why their warranty is now 7 years. Take your money elsewhere

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ann nice lady for bad company
August 19, 2017

"Problem fixed by Patrick!"

- Satisfied with Subaru

We have had our side mirror detection light continue to go off. It took us 4 visits to Subaru to have the problem solved (fingers crossed). The third and fourth visit, our car was handled by Patrick, the new Service Manager. He was recently hired and has bent over backwards to make sure Subaru is providing improved service. He offered us a loaner vehicle of our choice which was perfect since we were in the market for a new car and wanted to get a feel for a Crosstrek. After visit 3 the problem returned right as I left the dealership. I returned for our 4th attempt to get the side mirror detection to work properly and was offered another loaner vehicle for a week. We chose a brand new Forester this time as our loaner. We were driving to Toronto and had to use the 407 on the weekend and Patrick assured us we could go over our kilometer limit in the Forester and he would cover the cost of the 407. Turns out, after a week enjoying the loaner Forester, our problem was fixed, and we liked the Forester so much, we ended up buying one. Brent Erb was our salesperson and he also was fabulous. He never pressured us, and gave us the time we needed to make a decision. And was always considerate to our kids as they waited for all the paperwork to be signed.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Patrick Lafond, Brent Erb
1
1 - 10 of 18 results