Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Steele Hyundai

2.7

83 Lifetime Reviews

3625 Kempt Rd, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3K 4X6 Directions
Call (902) 454-1000

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

83 Reviews of Steele Hyundai

Sort by Write a review
January 28, 2020

"xxxxty Service"

- Disgruntled

The fuel pump on my Santa Fe died on me last Wednesday. Fortunately I had roadside assistance and my vehicle was towed to Steele Hyundai. Unfortunately for me my vehicle was towed to Steele Hyundai. It took them a full day to determine that what they had been told was the issue when it was towed in was indeed the issue. The Tow Truck driver was an experienced mechanic and knew exactly what the issue was. It took him 5 minutes to figure it out just by putting his ear up to the gas tank hole and having me try to start it. At 3:50 p.m. the next day they called me to say "it looks like your driver was right, it's the fuel pump". Not surprisingly, they didn't have any fuel pumps in stock. I asked when they thought the replacement fuel pump would be in. They weren't sure, but maybe on Monday (it's still just Thursday when we're talking). I couldn't believe that and asked if they had any rentals or loaners. They very rudely told me that "no, they don't do that." They told me that they would call me when they had an update on the fuel pump. I waited all day Friday, Saturday, Sunday, still no word on the pump. I called them Monday morning to see if they could provide me with an update. The phone rang at least 20 times before someone picked up and asked if they could help me. They transfered me through to the service department where it rang at least 20 more times. The pump hadn't arrived yet, but it still might at some point. I called back a couple of hours later. Still no fuel pump. I called again at 1:00 and was told that the part was in and that my vehicle was in the "queue". I called back a couple of hours later and again experienced their "don't answer the phones" policy. At 3:15 p.m. I called back to see if they thought it would be finished today, or if i should just expect to get my vehicle the next day. I let the phone ring for 12 minutes straight and no one picked it up. As I was on the line waiting for someone to pick up, they left me a cryptic message on my other line saying that my car was ready to be picked up. I've NEVER dealt with a bunch of people as unprofessional as this group of people. If my car ever breaks down again, I'll pay several hundred dollars to have it towed to the Valley, which is where I purchased it. Compared to the service that I get in the Valley when I take my vehicle in for servicing, this dealership sucks butt!! I highly recommend NOT buying from or even visiting this dealerhip!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Zachery and a couple of other workers (don't know their names)
October 15, 2019

"Experience at Steele"

- coconut

Very pleased with my experience at Steele Auto. Kaylee McGregor was my sales rep and she did an excellent job of explaining everything to me. I highly recommend Kaylee.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kaylee
August 17, 2019

"2019 New Santa Fe Ultimate "

- Disappointed

Horrible experience, purchased a brand new top end Santa Fe and arranged for a date to pick it up. Vehicle wasn’t ready, not clean, still had stickers on it and none of the paperwork complete. Finance department was helpful. Purchasing this level of vehicle you would think customer satisfaction would be important. Every time we attended this dealership all staff were simply hanging out in the managers offices and walking around telling jokes. Seemed like a great place to work, if you enjoy zero stress or accountability. Lots of other dealerships around, save your time and pick one that actually cares about you and your hard earned money.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Managers etc
March 10, 2019

"Worst customer Service for new CAR SONATA"

- gagansandhuz

I had the worst customer experience with SteelHyundai, Hyundai. I bought a new sonata(2018) from steel Hyundai 2 weeks ago and as the part of buying car they told me that they will provide me Cargo trey and matts. Since the Cargo trey and Matts were not available in the inventory they told me that it will be available by Friday March 1 2019. I got a message from Troyce on Friday March 1 2019 that Matts are available, I replied to him asking to get me an appointment on Saturday 9:00 am but I didn’t get any reply from Troyce. So, I called Troyce again on Monday when he didn’t answer to my call I left a voicemail asking for an appointment for Tuesday 12:00 PM, Troyce again didn’t bother to call me back. I went to Steel Hyundai on Tuesday looking for an update and getting my Matts, since Troyce was not their in the office I had a conversation with LOUIS STEPHEN (Sales Manager) and I shared my feedback about the service they provided to me. He insured me that he will deliver the matts to me at my apartment on Thursday as they are not able to find them in the inventory.? On Thursday when I didn’t receive Matts from steel Hyundai and didn’t receive any call and message from them. I called Louis again. To which he respond something like this, Gagan Troyce was on vacation today thats why I was not able to deliver it to you but they will be delivered to you “by Friday evening at any cost”. On Friday same thing happened to me I didn’t receive any call, message and the matts from SteelHyundai and Louis. So, I though I should pay a visit to them since they have matts now and they will deliver them to me. Today I went to steel Hyundai again looking for my Matts and I was really upset about the whole service experience I got from steelHyundai and their sales team. Louis greeted me again and I shared my feedback to Louis again about their service and he welcome and accept my feedback and asked me to give him few minutes so that they can give the cargo trey and matts to me as they promised to me. After giving me Cargo trey they were not able to give me any Matts and when I asked them why, they don’t know how to answer this and promised me that they ordered them today and they will get them by Wednesday. I just wonder if they are treating 2 weeks old customer like this what sort of service they provide to a customer after one year. They don’t like to answer calls and replying message. If there is a delay on there side they don’t feel responsible to inform the customer. My recommendation to all my friends and family to never buy any cars from SteelHyundai and Hyundai. They should treat their customer with some respect.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Troyce, Louis
February 04, 2019

"A quick save when I was in a time crunch!"

- Ellie the Elantra

Great service! Quick, efficient and professional. I dealt with Mark. I’m from out of town, but I was treated as if I was a long time customer/friend. I would definitely recommend this dealership for their aftercare. I’ll be back!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mark
December 07, 2018

"Love the car but service here sucks!!"

- JC

Firstly they do not make appointments; you are given a "check-in time" which means you could possibly be waiting for hours. Had them fix my brakes to pass safety inspection. They were smoking & smelling afterwards so I brought it back & was told I had to now replace calipers. Not sure why this was not noted initially when they did the brakes. Bill over $1,000 for brake repair & I felt completely ripped off. I had considered buying another Hyundai since the car itself has been great but service here is terrible so think I will search elsewhere.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Josh??
September 28, 2018

"Not satisfied with the service provided"

- Vish

I had recently been to this showroom to order new hyundai elantra. The next day when someone named armstrong called me to inform that the credit check was not approved, she was not ready to inform me the reason why it was not approved. But later i came to know that the creditor always tells the dealer the reason. Then again when i called her and explained, she gave me a reason but I am not sure whtehr she actually looked at my file to let me know the exact reason.Not sure why the info was hidden from me.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
nA
September 19, 2018

"Broken brand new 2018 Tucson "

- Diablo866

COMPLETELY DISSATISFIED AND HORRIFIED CUSTOMER Purchased 2018 Tucson on August 25, 2018. After JUST leaving the dealership the vehicle started shaking, jerking, and shuddering on the highway. I immediately called Steele Hydundai on Kempt Road in Halifax where I had JUST purchased the vehicle to tell them of the problem. The told me to come back to have it looked at. I lived in Kentville NS and I am a single mother of a 4 year old boy so I was unable to turn around to have it fixed. I scheduled an appointment to have it fixed missing a day of work. I was told it was the spark plugs and coils. I left. Immediately after leaving the dealership AGAIN the vehicle acted the same way. I called and they asked me to come in again. I scheduled another day off work to have it fixed. I was told it was the fuel injector and they had ordered in a part and that now after nearly 6.5 hours of it being in the garage it was fixed. (I also had the rust proofing and paint sealant done). I was told my vehicle would be ready after no later than 330pm I never left the dealership until 415. I was nearly late to pick up my child from daycare. Which is why I stressed I needed to be leaving no later than 330pm. After immediately leaving the dealership for the SECOND time the vehicle still was NOT fixed. I called and was told by the manager that the service department only ordered the part and not fixed the problem. I was told be service it was fixed and never asked to schedule an appointment to have the part put on. Now I have a new vehicle that has been broken since day 1. This has been the worst experience buying my FIRST vehicle. I would not recommend anyone purchasing a vehicle from them. I was offered a rental until my vehicle was actually fixed and a $200 in store credit. I deeply regret purchasing this vehicle and can not believe I was sold a brand new BROKEN vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jim S, Chris, Zach, Kaillee
July 28, 2018

"Excellent customer service"

- Big G

Any time I have a problem, Jim Schimpf, Fixed Operations Manager, is there to take care of everything. Mark and Josh in the Service Dept are always obliging and make sure my vehicle is returned promptly and safe to drive. Paul, who also works with Jim, is very obliging as well. Thank you for having these gentlemen as representatives of Steele Hyundai. It makes me comfortable to know that my vehicle is in good hands with these associates.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jim Schimpf, Mark Dewolf, Josh, Paul
August 12, 2017

"Treated respectfully with straightforward talk"

- Ottawa Resident

I had every traveling visitors nightmare: Oil Light comes on and the vehicle has power issues. CAA had to tow my vehicle to the dealership. Had to do the drop off in the overnight box with details. As a visitor to Halifax and with a non-operational vehicle I was at the mercy of service department. Shout out to Mark who contacted me as soon as the service department had a determination as to what was wrong with my Santa Fe. His years of experience combined with his communications skills made for a informative interaction. I truly appreciated the straight upfront truth regarding the issue I was having with my vehicle. NO body wants to hear that they have to fork out a few hundred dollars to fix a problem with their vehicle while on vacation. Mark took the time to fully explain the full ramifications of why the work must be done and all the 'what ifs' if the work was not done. He gave me an estimate on the cost and time it would be ready. He was pretty much bang on. After further discussion with the Service Team I would recommend this service department for Hyundai vehicles.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mark DeWolf
1
...
1 - 10 of 83 results