Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Star Motors

3.4

28 Lifetime Reviews

400 West Hunt Club Rd , Ottawa, Ontario K2E 1B2 Directions
Sales: (613) 737-7827

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

28 Reviews of Star Motors

Sort by Write a review
July 12, 2019

"I think this Dealer is a rip-off "

- Wolf

I had the rear springs replaced on my 2012 Ml350 . They were completely broken which never happened on my Honda and Subaru SUVs. I think this should be a recall. I also had the side warning Lights problem for my cost from Mercedes $5500. and Mercedes will cover $2000. This should also be covered by Mercedes. It took over 3 weeks to get the car back just for the spring replacement. I’m not happy with the dealer and Mercedes. This is my third and last Mercedes

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Marco Campbell
May 06, 2019

"Terrible Experience"

- Samantha1605

Terrible overall experience. Here’s a glimpse into my deadline with the dealership. - leased a NEW 2018 c300 April 2018 - during the buying process, everyone was great (rightfully so, they're trying to close the sale) - they kept pushing me to add a review within the week of purchase, etc. They even went as far as telling me which ratings on a scale of 1-5 or 1-10 to give them. They asked for both a Google review and a MB automated survey review that I would receive via email. I found it quite odd that they felt the need to tell me what ratings to give them, but nonetheless, at the time, service was good. ISSUES on a new vehicle: - had to bring the car in for service/repairs around 7-8 times for the brakes. Brake pedal was sticking and grinding. Brakes were making a very loud squealing noise no matter the weather or driving conditions. - they ended up replacing the brakes THREE TIMES, keeping in mind I have had this car for less than 7 months at that time. - once we finally fixed the brakes, or so it seems, now the check engine light is on and I'm waiting for parts to be ordered so they can repair this issue as well. Almost every time when I brought it in for repairs it was a struggle for me to get a loaner car that they advertised like no tomorrow during the sale process. It was either they didn't have one for me, or they gave it away to another customer 5 minutes before I walked in to drop off the car (which is doubtful), etc. Imagine going in at 7am to drop off your car to get repaired for the same issue 5 times, and realizing you have to find another way to get to work for the few days they need to keep the car there. It wasn't until after I escalated the issue to the manager that I discovered the loaner car program is only if they're available, which is not something the sales rep or finance manager told me at the time of sale. So, selling based on false promises... That's great customer service! In addition to all this, the MB head office isn't any help when it comes to dealing with issues. When I would drop the car off for repairs, it would be for days. As you can imagine they need to replicate the issue in order for them to work on or repair the car. When I dropped it off, I had one bar less than a full tank of gas and when I picked it up one of the managers, Patrick, said he” threw $20 in there to cover me” for him driving my car to Stitsville a few times to replicate the noises. I explained to him that it wasn’t about penny pinching, it’s about the principle. My car was almost full and I’m expected to accept $20 of premium gas… Patrick was not helpful and was very defensive. He also explained it’s not protocol for the dealership to replenish your gas after bringing it in for repairs. The Finance manager, JP, is hard to get a hold of when I had questions for him about the warranties and extended coverage, etc. The Sales manager, Ghislain, was relaying information to me that wasn't correct, and this was confirmed via their head office. The sales rep, Alan, mistakenly called me before all the brake issues were happening and told me there's been a recall on the c300 brakes. When I called him back to get more information, he pretended like he never called me or said anything of that nature, which again, is very strange to me. I have a feeling there was a recall on the brakes and it was an internal FYI that wasn't meant to be shared with customers. Marco and Trevor have been the only helpful ones during the whole process, so kudos to them for having to deal with disgruntled customers passed off from their colleagues. All this being said, I understand we all have jobs and rules to follow in our companies, however, the way everyone involved went about this has been very disappointing, especially for a luxury brand. I wouldn’t ever recommend this dealership to anyone in my network.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Alan Tian, JP, Ghislain, Trevor, Karen (head office)
January 27, 2019

"New car purchase"

- Gurvinder Basi

Made buying a car easy and stress free, Star Motor gave the best customer experience and I would definitely recommend others to come and visit this dealership. Sal and Adam worked very hard to ensure that I would get the right vehicle for my needs. Jean Pierre Guay explained the finance side and added some great add ons which will give me a great peace of mind. The delivery was conducted by Chloe who explained the App Mercedes me she had it all ready for me to setup email sent prior to me walking in. Overall such a smooth experience thanks to the team work displayed by all mentioned

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sal Ghadie, Adam Assiri, Jean-Pierre Guay and Chloe Proulx-MacNeil
November 01, 2018

"Update re Watchout"

- Pitou

I wanted to update my previous bad review. Trevor Button got involved and there was an immediate change in attitude. He appoligized and took responsability for the dealership. Took the car back and made it right. What more can I say, as long as he is there we will be happy to deal with Star Motors.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
TREVOR BUTTON
October 10, 2018

"Service center"

- Moe Baksh

Had my c300 in for repair to the eco start stop function . The work took some time but the communication was great,the work performed under the hood and in the vehicle was clean and professional.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Marc Campbell and Geordie Tam
August 18, 2018

"Watchout"

- Pitou

I would leave less than one star if I could. I took my car to star motors to diagnose a problem with the convertible top, sometimes it would stick when opening and On at least one occasion it opened on its own. They were authorized to diagnose the problem only. They went ahead and tried to fix it, they forced the roof and damage the cables beyond repair then told me I had a choice. Pay them $3675. to repair the roof or take it as it was. So I drove the car home with the roof open and now cannot use the car in rain or cold weather. How is this right. Not only that but the headliner is now probably ruined, they left it’s so filthy. It’s a white headliner with Grease and finger marks all over it, they left the greasy cable laying on the carpet in the back, one of the motor covers off. Then they had the nerve to charge for diagnosing the problem. This car was impeccable when they got it, it had been babied all its life, it had less than 40,000 km now due to their negligence I’m looking at almost $4000 in repairs possibly more with the cost of the headliner.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Patrick Picard
August 14, 2018

"doesn't meet expectation. "

- michael

I guess I can take five minutes of my time to write a review since they wasted one and half hours of my time, and mess up my whole day schedule. Never had any issue before, until today. I was planning to drop off the car and take the shuttle. They were able to bring my car in right away, told me if I want to wait, because it will only take 30 minutes. I agreed. After 1 hour and 30 minutes, my car is finally ready, they told me the delay was because they were having issue with the car wash. No one came to give me any updates. I certainly would not wait for the car wash. Not the level of service I would expect from a Mercedes dealer. Apologizing doesn't help making my day any better.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
patrick picard
August 04, 2018

"Customer service"

- Tony2012

I brought my car in to have scheduled maintence performed as well as having a major vibration repaired. Car was in the shop for 10 days. The service department told me that the vibration was dangerous and not to go on any long drives.. 10 days and my car is apparently still dangerous to drive. I have placed several calls to see how this is going to resolve the vibration and star motors is not retuning my calls. Do not bring your car to this dealer as they do not care about customer service nor can the properly assess and repair as required.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Martin Roy
March 14, 2018

"Thieves and Liars"

- Jens Altmann

We own a C300 and are customers for a long time (7+). All services (A and B and what else becomes necessary) are being performed by them. Last months my wife brought the vehicle in for service again. She was told it will be only an hour and she could wait. Even with an appointment it became three hours. My wife asked them to look for the reason why the engine light is on. Here starts the trouble. Even though the reading out of the error codes should be mandatory they charged her an hour (!!!) of labour for it. Then they told her they can't turn it off and gave her an estimate for $2,000 plus to fix the problem. We then went to an independent Mercedes Shop and the kind gentlemen turned the light off and told her it was just a flap that was stuck open, which happens with this model in the winter occasionally. It opens up to blow warm air over the engine and shuts when the temperature increases. Occasionally it freezes open and causes the engine light to come on. Not just took they advantage of a woman, no, they also tried to make us pay for something that was fixable AND they charged us a lot of money and refused to turn the engine light off. The independent mechanic also erased all the old errors that Star Motors left in the computer and he refused to take money from my wife for this service. That's it for us with Mercedes Benz and Star Motors. The next one will be a BMW.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service
March 09, 2018

"Terrific dealership and staff"

- Mercbuyer

Whole purchasing process was flawless, courteous, professional and attentive to my needs. Sal G. Was extremely accommodating and helpful as was R. Keene. Pricing was very competitive.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sal Ghadi (sales) and Robert Keene (finance)
1
1 - 10 of 28 results