Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Southtown Chrysler

2.4

156 Lifetime Reviews

4404 66 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T6K 4E7 Directions
Call (780) 490-3200

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

156 Reviews of Southtown Chrysler

Sort by Write a review
March 07, 2020

"I had an awful experience dealing with this dealership. I..."

- Jay

I had an awful experience dealing with this dealership. I am in Calgary and purchased a vehicle from this dealership that was delivered to me. I specifically asked if the vehicle had any scratches whatsoever and the condition of the headliner. The salesman explicitly stated that the vehicle was in "immaculate condition" and did not have a single scratch. He also said that the headliner was in immaculate condition. The vehicle was supposed to arrive before 6pm, but did not show up until after 9pm due to a snowstorm, which is understandable; however, once I cleaned the vehicle, there were three deep gauges from the bumper from the previous owner dragging something out of the back of the SUV. There were also 2 cigarette burns in the roof lining. When I spoke with a manager, Mr. Arabe, about this, he said if I wanted a vehicle that was in immaculate condition, I should not have bought a used vehicle. He said that they weren't willing to take the vehicle back or help with any costs to repair the damage. I should have known when I agreed to pay the asking price of the vehicle and they increased the asking price, simply saying that the salesman must have mis-posted the price of the vehicle. This whole car buying experience was terrible and I would never recommend this dealership to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
J. Arabe
February 23, 2020

"Worst car purchase experience EVER"

- gord.bosker

I was recently helping my daughter find a Jeep Patriot; after a short search we found one at South-town Chrysler. We agreed to a price and all seemed good. Several days later we returned to pick up the vehicle and met with our salesman (Ahman). We were left waiting for a few minutes and then a sales manager (??) by the name of Eddy showed up to say there was a problem with the loan application. My daughter is a recent university graduate about to start her first job.career as an RN, so admittedly her credit is quite new. I had told their finance manager (Heather Prato - a real piece of work, more on her later) that because her credit is new I'd be happy to co-sign the loan. My own credit is sold gold. Eddie specifically said that the bank (TD) would be more comfortable approving the loan if the collateral amount was higher - in other words...spend more money on an even newer vehicle. I was sort of stunned and upset by this; I've never heard of such a thing. Eddie left for a while and then came back and told us the real story...the vehicle had been double sold. This in spite of the fact that we had left a $500 deposit a few days earlier and had dealt with three different people there at the time of purchase. They are clearly clueless about their own operation and inventory. We were flat out LIED to. At this point I should have listened to my instincts and walked out the door. However they did have an alternative Jeep Patriot that was one year newer and lower mileage. After much discussion we agreed to take this Patriot instead at an additional cost of $500. Southtown agreed to repair some minor front fender damage and install an upgraded GPS/radio/screen to match it to the original Patriot we wanted to buy. On this point (although it took far too long to get the work done) we were ultimately satisfied. Which brings me to Heather Prato....pay close attention when you are dealing with her. Heather talked us into an extended warranty and Smart Care program, something I normally never do. But my daughter is moving out of the province and the peace of mind it brings seemed worth it. Especially when she told us the additional amount it would add to the monthly payment. It seemed reasonable and we went for it. . It turns out Heather lied to us...she got the final monthly payment amount right but gave us a false "before" payment amount. So the real cost is much higher. She also based our payments on 84 months when we CLEARLY told her 72 months. I will admit I was not at my best that day, that is entirely on me, should have reviewed the contract closer before signing. But she was completely unwilling to own up to her dishonesty and misrepresentation of the facts. I called her back the next morning but she ignored me until conveniently the contact had gone through with the bank. As I said WATCH this one. Sweet as honey but slippery as ice and a good example of why the used car industry has such a bad reputation. A snake oil salesman if I ever saw one. I did go back in person to complain and was eventually directed to Rob Horner (finance director); he did offer us some compensation and honestly was the only professional that we dealt with at Southtown. Sorry for the very long story but STAY AWAY FROM SOUTHTOWN. In particular Eddie and Heather.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Heather Prato, Rob Horner
January 26, 2020

"zero integrity. Get what is promised in writing."

- tyler.j.lawrence

I purchased a used truck from Southtown last week. Needless to say every step along the way was more painful than the previous. I first called to inquire about a vehicle and Max was extremely helpful. He was able to tell me the history of the vehicle and understand what I was looking for when it came to features and price. Then came the sales manager Eddie. Eddie was quick to see that the truck was what I was looking for. He wanted a commitment and a close. "So Tyler, what do we have to do to get a commitment from you today?" he asked. I replied "Eddie, that truck with a tonneau cover, and a price of $26000 off the lot." He agreed by replying "$26000 off the lot and I wont lose a deal over a tonneau." (We agreed before that I was ok with a used cover.) Fast forward two days later. I meet with Max and drive the truck. He informs me there has been some issues finding a tonneau but he is working on it. We drive the truck and I am happy with it. Its in my price range, and all the features meet my expectations. Eddie meets with us and asks us if we are ready to buy the truck. I am. He says alright $26000 plus GST and we will be ready to go. "Whoa whoa whoa, I thought we agreed to $26000 off the lot. Which means taxes in no?" I ask. Eddie replies "Off the lot still means plus GST. Had you have said "All in" I would have known you were including GST." They still agree to working on the tonneau. They walk away to try to talk about the price and get consultation from above. In comes Senior Sales Manage Mike. Mike starts by saying "He's not here to say no." Due to the condition of the vehicle and the extra cost with the GST, we asked if they would be willing to cover undercoating? Mike replied with "Absolutely not." When we ask about the price he begins to try to discredit me and calling me a liar that I can't even get my story straight. He then goes on to say the price is a great deal and that "He doesn't even want to sell us the vehicle anymore." If the truck wasn't everything I wanted I would have walked. I knew I was getting a good price however, I was promised a price and a tonneau over the phone. They didn't keep their promise on either. 0/10 would not recommend Southtown. 0/10 customer service for Mike. Max was awesome, did everything he could - 8/10. Eddie did what he could. I question if maybe he got ahead of himself on the phone with the deal he made. He could have been honest about that and I would have been ok with it and more understanding but he wasn't - 4/10. tl;dr All in all I do not recommend Southtown Chrysler. If you are dealing with them, make sure you get everything in writing because their integrity when it comes to what they say is worthless.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Max, Eddie, Mike
January 17, 2020

"Ever since I've talk to the agent he give me all the..."

- Ajhayeb

Ever since I've talk to the agent he give me all the propositions i needed to get a new car thanks to him. Everything went well and easy. And even thought I got the car now I still have his contact if I still have some issues and he respond to me fast and he do everything as what we promised too..

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sean Sumner
4.0
Sarah Donnan
4.0
Other Employees : Alexander menelik
December 20, 2019

"I Went to go auto Southtown Chrysler. This is your..."

- sj

I Went to go auto Southtown Chrysler. This is your typical go Auto Horrible dealership to deal with. I walked in to the dealership to see if I can get a lease approval on a new truck. I dealt with Tom P. the fleet guy and kevin the sales guy. I went in there on November 22 they checked my credit they strung me along for a month and multiple visits to the dealership, they just kept telling me the LEASE approval is well underway. Finally after being tired of being strung along for a month I told kevin and Tom if you don’t have an approval by December 19th I’m walking away. Then they go run my credit through 4 different financial institution to see if they can get me approved on a finance deal WITHOUT my PERMISSION and got an approval. I called to see what was going on, both kevin and Tom yelled at me on the phone and hung up. I called their sales manager Jay to complain, he said he will look into it. Never heard from him again. With this review I’m not looking for a resolution, but I just want people to know that there are better Chrysler dealerships in Edmonton who are not crooks. Stay away from Southtown Chrysler. They have no accountability, no honesty and no regard for people they will do ANYTHING to get a deal done including yelling at their customers

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sarah Donnan
1.0
Other Employees : Tom prepchuk and kevin
December 19, 2019

"Its all about Mr. Mike (sales manager)"

- Naveen Reddy & Sravanthi Nakka

BE aware ofMR Lier MIKE (sale manager), who is very dominant and changing words. I brought brand new jeep cherokee in september 2019, when the deal was made Mr. Lier Mike (sales manager) shook my hands and agreed on the deal for 6 oil changes, when i went on December 17th, 2019 to ask for the same, he simply ignores me and transforms into a whole new guy saying that i never said that and he offers me $50 on Go card, in return i said you can keep your $50 and left the place. Please try to avoid deals with this great lier and plate changer/word changer. Not a trust worthy fellow to deal with, but Jag Rai is a recommended sales guy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike and Jag Rai
November 22, 2019

"BE WARNED"

- mommy3

I needed a more reliable 7-8 seater as I have 3 young children and the salesman did seem to be genuine. The time it took to do the paperwork with 3 babies 3 and under was awful experience 830am to 12pm (they knew day before I was coming) I rushed into signing the papers bc my babies were screaming by the time it got to that point. The Finance person was not understanding my wishes to have it done quickly spent so much time on extras that were "required" to be added. But bc of all the extras tried to raise my biweekly payments by almost $140 which I never agreed too at the beginning. Only got it down to $90 more an hour later. I never seen the final numbers until 11:45 PM and by looking at all the numbers added in if I was by myself I wouldn't of been in this position I am now by signing. Not to mention being told a different bank was loaning me money then I imagined and interest rate was not the same as I was told either. Worst part I would say is afterwards getting my vehicle and having a problem with it within the week I received it, I came into the dealership as I refused to pay for anything this should not be happening to a vehicle I just purchased. I was shocked by the response of the "big man" in the office coming back with "its not our problem you signed the papers and purchased a "used" vehicle". I was so emotionally upset inside with the response I got. I said give me my old vehicle back then it had no problems. They said they can't do that bc all the paperwork done. Then agreed to pay 50% of the service charge if it wasn't covered under warranty. Luckily I got the extended warranty in the "extras" $800 driveshaft repair job I would of had to pay. I would say they need start listening to there customer reviews as they are very poor with customer service I just wish I investigated more before I went to them. from the Financial Manager to the Manager and the Managers "head man" I was not treated as a customer who was appreciated bc you know what I signed the papers and I got a "used vehicle" . Seemed like great group people until I did the purchase then I was a nobody to them. Service lady rude, service man was ok and the service forman was great! Other than that I will not be doing future business here!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Manager
August 02, 2019

"Stay away from Go Auto dealerships. "

- frustrated

Let me start and say that our sales person was excellent but once you get to the finance fraud team it goes down hill. They will have you sign blank forms, tell you things are included in all of the packages that you buy and do not disclose that each of them costs extra money on top of the initial package cost. After we emailed the finance person and the GM of the dealership with no responses. I think that this means the GM encourages this type of sales practice and is to slimy to even return the emails or calls. When we finally got the packages cancelled with the insurance company and Chrysler Canada they both were not surprised when we told them the dealerships name as it seems this has happened before with them. Stay away as far as you can and would even go to say stay away from any Go Auto dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sean Sumner
1.0
July 04, 2019

"Fraudulently misrepresent contract"

- Disatisfied customer

They sold us $1500 worth of extras and told us that it was included in the price. We specifically told her repeatedly that we didn’t want any package deals as this is a waste of money. She managed to sneak in a $1500 tire and rim warranty. She did her sales pitch for over two hours, it sounded exactly like a timeshare pitch. When we asked her to stop, she said that it was the law for her to explain our options. Having two small children screaming and crying, constantly walking out of the room, we were more than ready to leave when we signed the papers. She was very fast on this part. It wasn’t until two months later, that we realized this happened to us. The manager we spoke with, was unwilling to help. He openly admitted that he deals with AMVIC (a consumer advocacy group) on a daily basis. I have no idea how this business could’ve got such a high rating. We would’ve never gone. The finance manager that we dealt witH was named Khrystal. If you see her, watch out for this. She is shady and unscrupulous. When she goes to get you to sign the papers, Watch very closely that she hasn’t added in any extras. We are in the process of making a formal complaint with the consumer advocacy group.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Khrystal
June 25, 2019

"Worst customer service ever"

- Jen

Stay away unless you love horrible customer service!!!!! I was sent to them by go auto. Told them i wanted a 7 seater vehicle had a journey in mind told the sales guy he said it was only a 5 seater (found out after it was too late it was in fact a 7 seater with the 3rd row) so i was sold a jeep patriot. I like the patriots so fine i will take it. Get to the dealership to sign the finance papers, sitting in the finance office and the guy starts going over the "lease" um excuse me? I wasnt told that! So I got a big huge spiel about how with my credit my co-signers credit we had to do a lease blah blah blah, fine whatever I'm upset I wasn't told before I drove 2.5 hours there. Go and pick up my vehicle June 4th 2019 everything seems fine. They're mechanic inspections at everything was 100%. June 5th first thing in the morning my brakes start squealing. Call the dealership they said they'll look into it and get back to me on what they can do. Try getting a hold of them for 3 weeks keep getting told someone will call me back nobody ever calls me back. Finally after 3 weeks I get mad over no customer service they finally message me back saying they can't do anything about it. So my breaks are squealing less then 24 hours after purchase and they won't even look at them!!! STAY AWAY!!! NO COMMUNICATION OR CUSTOMER SERVICE AT ALL!!!!! ONCE YOU HAVE YOUR VEHICLE THEY ARE DONE WITH YOU!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ryan, Courtney
1
...
1 - 10 of 156 results