Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Otto's Subaru

2.6

10 Lifetime Reviews

225 Richmond Road, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 6W7 Directions
Sales: (613) 728-5813

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

10 Reviews of Otto's Subaru

Sort by Write a review
June 08, 2019

"Terrible service, scam artists"

- SubeeFan99

Lied over the phone and said car was perfect and barely driven Delivered a car with damage that was hidden on purpose Customer service is terrible, they will not stand up for their mistake and won't cover repairing any of the damage

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris, Bryan
May 30, 2019

"Terrible service, won't help you once they get paid"

- carguy123123

Delivered a scratched car like it was washed with sand paper. They parked it in the shade to hide the damage on delivery. Car was also missing major pieces that come with that model. Stay away from this dealership

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bryan
March 25, 2019

"Better service - Avoid Subaru Outaouais"

- JeanT

This place is great. Avoid Subaru Outaouais unless it is a drive test. Ottos is where I go for my Subaru. Subaru Outaouais are just a bunch of scammers who only cares about selling you a car, any car, then do not care about the rest.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John
September 17, 2018

"Terrble service, terrible mechanics "

- kds232

I read these reviews before booking an appointment last week and I was almost scared off. My 2008 outback has been properly maintained its whole life by a great local mechanic but since my Viscous Coupling (most notorious component in Subaru's AWD system to fail) is needing replacement, I wanted to treat my car and have this done by professionals as this is a job for a Subaru expert. I called Ogilvie and I called Ottos, explaining the issue and it should be obvious to anyone who knows/works on Subarus that during long drives, the steering , especially at low speeds becomes shuddery and binding, due to a viscous coupler that has destroyed/overheated silicone gel. It acts like a 4x4 engaged and turning on dry pavement. All Subaru technical documents confirm that this diagnosis is a bad VC. However, the service rep at Olgivie admitted that he's never heard of a viscous coupler, and that it sounds like a bad transmission :/ This has NOTHING to do with the transmission, I shook my head and then called Ottos, whos service rep said ahh, our best technician has actually done that job 2ce recently and he's the guy to work on your car. This made me feel a bit better, so I booked a time . The morning I dropped it off (8am), I confirmed my issue and the service advisor looks up my file and already off to a bad start, they have the car in as an Automatic transmission in question. I started to feel the anxiety of an incompetent dealership settling in. I politely asked that the work order be corrected to what I had actually described : Manual transmission, not a transmission problem, no poor shifts, no loose bearing noises, etc. It is simply dry steering after the cars differentials/ VC is warmed up. I then confirm that the right technician , the one i was notified about on the phone, would be looking at my car. Again, I was confirmed. I leave the keys and hope for a good experience. I get a call around 11:30 from a female technician ( I was told the expert in VC's was a male) who says she doesnt quite understand VC's and the replacement of them but that she notices oil on my engine block and that if I am experiencing rough driving, Its probably a bad head gasket and that Im also looking at a new transmission.... ARE YOU KIDDING ME ?! A head gasket is either blown, in which coolant is in the oil containment and I overheat. There is nothing wrong with my engine. Ive had to top it up with a bit of oil for 8 years..... And this has nothing to do with my viscous coupling issue. No one with true Subaru knowledge assessed my car and at the end of the day, other than a useless inspection with no outcome, my oil was overfilled ! I let Carla, the service manager know and she said, quote, word for word : " Mr santos you said it was wayyy overfilled but its only slightly overfilled" . I could not believe my ears. I said, overfilling, even slightly is excess oil being forced through the valves/seals and can destroy an engine. She then said someone would adjust the level ... I let them have the car for another 4 hours while I was at work because I went to pick it up at lunch and I noticed the overfilled oil. About 5mm above the"max" dot on the dipstick. After I raised this to carla, she said let us have it till 2 pm so we can adjust it. I walk back to work, arrive at 5pm and the oil is now between the 2 dots on the dipstick but they didnt even give me the carwash/detail i was supposed to get, especially considering my terrible experience. I cant believe they made me ay the $138 for diagnosis. I should be refunded immediately and I cant believe the incompetency of both Ottawa's subaru dealerships. TERRIBLE

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Carla, aaron, Jen
May 28, 2018

"Window Auto Up problem"

- Sold on Subaru

The service advisor came out to my car diagnosed the problem and got the tools to fix it on the spot. He answered my questions and made sure I had his contact info in case I had any future questions. No charge. Whereas Ogolvie service advisor presented with the same problem scheduled a service visit warning that I would have to leave the car for the day and be prepared for a big bill.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rick Giles
March 15, 2018

"Awful service experience "

- Asharma

Too bad there aren’t many more Subaru dealerships in ottawa. Seems as though otto’s Is the worst of the 3 in the region. I’ve been taking my outback here for the past 5 years for service. The service advisors are not only incompetent but try and take advantage of customers. Also this dealership probably has the most inconvenient hours of any dealership I have ever been to. Again they are probably laughing since there are not many more to choose from. Stay way. Worth not buying a Subaru than dealing with these guys

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Aaron Gabor, Carla, Brent, Suzanne
November 24, 2016

"Terrible Customer Service"

- dissapointed!

We have leased 3 vehicles from Otto's and every vehicle has had issues , our last vehicle was by far the worst for road safety , besides dangerous brake pedal issues which they deny, pre-mature wheel wear and wheel alignment issues plagued our last Forester, Either Otto's does not do or improperly does wheel alignment , the former is probably the case. I say this because I caught Otto's red handed on our second leased vehicle demonstrating they did not even open our vehicles engine hood during a scheduled maintenance, This might of been an oversight but it happened regardless. Anyway for the third Forester we ended up re-purchasing 2 sets of tires winter/summer from extreme pre-mature wear they claim is due to road conditions, road conditions would not wear out 2 of a set of 4 tires unevenly they would all wear out the same and not in under 6K of usage , a BBB complaint resolution is pending.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brent
April 04, 2016

"Very, very good experience"

- highmileage

Ottos was a very sincere, client-service oriented dealer. Caitlin at the reception desk greeted me right away with a smile as soon as I walked in. She got me connected with Jaques Campeau in sales right away and off we went. Jaques is very down to earth and eager to earn your business but not in the least bit rude or pushy. A very pleasant guy to deal with. As things progressed, he brought in Bryan Zhang who evaluated my trade and was prepared to explain in whatever detail was necessary to address any concerns I might have with respect to the trade-in value. It was fair--I'd already done my homework. As I sat at Jaques' desk, every staff member who walked by us smiled and said hi or nodded in a friendly manner. Once we'd agreed on everything, I was introduced to John Katchikian who patiently explained the warranty and financing, and answered all my questions about accessories, rust protection, extended warranty and so on. John is so knowledgeable about Subaru products and services, and has such a patient and pleasant demeanor that you can't help being impressed. So all that to say that I bought my car at Ottos and, while I haven't taken delivery or had any service done yet, I have a very good feeling about the client-service culture at Ottos Subaru.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jaques Campeau, Caitlyn O'Garr, Bryan Zhang, John Katchikian
Nov 19, 2017 -

highmileage responded

I'd like to post an update since I've owned my car for a little over a year now. I've had my vehicle in a few times for service at Ottos and this is what it's like: You walk in the door and there's a wall of service advisors! Imagine a dealer that actually has enough staff to handle the morning rush. And they're not a bunch of burnt out, complacent and disgruntled old farts either! Polite, personable and efficient. I was done and waiting for the shuttle in no time. There was even another lady in an Ottos uniform approaching people as they came in the door and directing them to the right line or to other departments of the dealership. Very impressive. The shuttle driver raked the tires of the van over a few curbs but he was very personable and arrived exactly when he said he would. He called me in advance and left a really nice, professional mesage on my work and cell phones. My car was ready, the work was done well, I didn't overpay and they even washed it. The way these guys are going I'll be buying another new vehicle from them next fall. Keep up the great work, Ottos.

January 05, 2016

"Solid sales customer service from Sami"

- chris999

I came in and test drove an Impreza with Sami Musleh. While in the end I decided on a different make altogether, Sami had a professional and a no-pressure approach which I appreciated while at Subaru. Worth leaving a good review.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sami Musleh
May 12, 2015

"Warranty and Stealership"

- Sylvain Cayer

Well, I just got back from the Stealership. Firstly, they didn't want to warranty the wheels, they are saying the "socket" caused the damage, even though it's impossible a socket can cause this extensive of damage. Then the Service Manger asked me if I had tracked yet, I told her, "No, not yet". The rep from Subaru said he was going to take my vin number and put down that "I will be tracking it" and that it's "detrimental to my warranty". As most of you know, my warranty is void for "TURBO" reason. But I could just imagine if I would not have my turbo how this would of pushed me over the edge of patience, telling me that you are putting my vin down as a track car because I answered "No, not yet"? Thinking that I will absolutely track it? Do me favor, stay away from Otto's Subaru, worst stealership I have had to deal with!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Carla Blacquiere
1
1 - 10 of 10 results