Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Otto's Subaru

Ottawa, ON

2.5
13 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

225 Richmond Road

Ottawa, ON

K1Z 6W7

Directions

Is this your dealership?

13 Reviews of Otto's Subaru

Sort by Write a review
February 04, 2021

"I had a wonderful experience at Otto's Subaru with James..."

- vincent.denadai

I had a wonderful experience at Otto's Subaru with James Hubbard buying a used Subaru Outback. From the first contact with James to the delivery of the car, everything went well. James was extremely helpful, honest and professional throughout the process. James knew all aspects of the car so much and you could tell he loved the car too. I asked several questions and requests, and he had no problem answering any of them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
James Hubbard / Joy Long
June 29, 2020

"I came in from Kemptville this afternoon to purchase a..."

- Fred

I came in from Kemptville this afternoon to purchase a new Impreza and it was not a pleasant or fun experience. This had to be the most unwelcoming dealership I have ever visited. I sincerely mean this. Nobody says hi, and everyone seemed quite miserable and on edge. The entire time I was at Joe's desk I had to watch some sales rep taking care of his personal hygiene at his desk clipping away at his nails and firing off pieces all over the floor. Like really who does this stuff?? The overall feel of this dealership was one of unprofessionalism and a complete lack of management oversight. Joe however was polite and helpful however there is no chance I will be returning.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joe
December 22, 2019

"Need more Subaru dealerships!"

- jambsi

Obviously Subaru is paying for its generous guaranteed territory some number of years back when they really needed dealers. Now although Subaru's are growing in popularity, one has to go to one of their monopoly dealers, like Otto's. My own experience with sales was very good but with service has been abysmal. I requested an audience with the Service Manager & was given a 'yah whatever attitude'. No contact from Service Manager ever came. The rest of the details of this review relate to 'service' - as I said the sales process was positive.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales - Chis B-M, Service - Jarrett Simpson
June 08, 2019

"Terrible service, scam artists"

- SubeeFan99

Lied over the phone and said car was perfect and barely driven Delivered a car with damage that was hidden on purpose Customer service is terrible, they will not stand up for their mistake and won't cover repairing any of the damage

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris, Bryan
May 30, 2019

"Terrible service, won't help you once they get paid"

- carguy123123

Delivered a scratched car like it was washed with sand paper. They parked it in the shade to hide the damage on delivery. Car was also missing major pieces that come with that model. Stay away from this dealership

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bryan
March 25, 2019

"Better service - Avoid Subaru Outaouais"

- JeanT

This place is great. Avoid Subaru Outaouais unless it is a drive test. Ottos is where I go for my Subaru. Subaru Outaouais are just a bunch of scammers who only cares about selling you a car, any car, then do not care about the rest.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John
September 17, 2018

"Terrble service, terrible mechanics "

- kds232

I read these reviews before booking an appointment last week and I was almost scared off. My 2008 outback has been properly maintained its whole life by a great local mechanic but since my Viscous Coupling (most notorious component in Subaru's AWD system to fail) is needing replacement, I wanted to treat my car and have this done by professionals as this is a job for a Subaru expert. I called Ogilvie and I called Ottos, explaining the issue and it should be obvious to anyone who knows/works on Subarus that during long drives, the steering , especially at low speeds becomes shuddery and binding, due to a viscous coupler that has destroyed/overheated silicone gel. It acts like a 4x4 engaged and turning on dry pavement. All Subaru technical documents confirm that this diagnosis is a bad VC. However, the service rep at Olgivie admitted that he's never heard of a viscous coupler, and that it sounds like a bad transmission :/ This has NOTHING to do with the transmission, I shook my head and then called Ottos, whos service rep said ahh, our best technician has actually done that job 2ce recently and he's the guy to work on your car. This made me feel a bit better, so I booked a time . The morning I dropped it off (8am), I confirmed my issue and the service advisor looks up my file and already off to a bad start, they have the car in as an Automatic transmission in question. I started to feel the anxiety of an incompetent dealership settling in. I politely asked that the work order be corrected to what I had actually described : Manual transmission, not a transmission problem, no poor shifts, no loose bearing noises, etc. It is simply dry steering after the cars differentials/ VC is warmed up. I then confirm that the right technician , the one i was notified about on the phone, would be looking at my car. Again, I was confirmed. I leave the keys and hope for a good experience. I get a call around 11:30 from a female technician ( I was told the expert in VC's was a male) who says she doesnt quite understand VC's and the replacement of them but that she notices oil on my engine block and that if I am experiencing rough driving, Its probably a bad head gasket and that Im also looking at a new transmission.... ARE YOU KIDDING ME ?! A head gasket is either blown, in which coolant is in the oil containment and I overheat. There is nothing wrong with my engine. Ive had to top it up with a bit of oil for 8 years..... And this has nothing to do with my viscous coupling issue. No one with true Subaru knowledge assessed my car and at the end of the day, other than a useless inspection with no outcome, my oil was overfilled ! I let Carla, the service manager know and she said, quote, word for word : " Mr santos you said it was wayyy overfilled but its only slightly overfilled" . I could not believe my ears. I said, overfilling, even slightly is excess oil being forced through the valves/seals and can destroy an engine. She then said someone would adjust the level ... I let them have the car for another 4 hours while I was at work because I went to pick it up at lunch and I noticed the overfilled oil. About 5mm above the"max" dot on the dipstick. After I raised this to carla, she said let us have it till 2 pm so we can adjust it. I walk back to work, arrive at 5pm and the oil is now between the 2 dots on the dipstick but they didnt even give me the carwash/detail i was supposed to get, especially considering my terrible experience. I cant believe they made me ay the $138 for diagnosis. I should be refunded immediately and I cant believe the incompetency of both Ottawa's subaru dealerships. TERRIBLE

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Carla, aaron, Jen
May 28, 2018

"Window Auto Up problem"

- Sold on Subaru

The service advisor came out to my car diagnosed the problem and got the tools to fix it on the spot. He answered my questions and made sure I had his contact info in case I had any future questions. No charge. Whereas Ogolvie service advisor presented with the same problem scheduled a service visit warning that I would have to leave the car for the day and be prepared for a big bill.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rick Giles
March 15, 2018

"Awful service experience "

- Asharma

Too bad there aren’t many more Subaru dealerships in ottawa. Seems as though otto’s Is the worst of the 3 in the region. I’ve been taking my outback here for the past 5 years for service. The service advisors are not only incompetent but try and take advantage of customers. Also this dealership probably has the most inconvenient hours of any dealership I have ever been to. Again they are probably laughing since there are not many more to choose from. Stay way. Worth not buying a Subaru than dealing with these guys

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Aaron Gabor, Carla, Brent, Suzanne
November 24, 2016

"Terrible Customer Service"

- dissapointed!

We have leased 3 vehicles from Otto's and every vehicle has had issues , our last vehicle was by far the worst for road safety , besides dangerous brake pedal issues which they deny, pre-mature wheel wear and wheel alignment issues plagued our last Forester, Either Otto's does not do or improperly does wheel alignment , the former is probably the case. I say this because I caught Otto's red handed on our second leased vehicle demonstrating they did not even open our vehicles engine hood during a scheduled maintenance, This might of been an oversight but it happened regardless. Anyway for the third Forester we ended up re-purchasing 2 sets of tires winter/summer from extreme pre-mature wear they claim is due to road conditions, road conditions would not wear out 2 of a set of 4 tires unevenly they would all wear out the same and not in under 6K of usage , a BBB complaint resolution is pending.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brent
1
1 - 10 of 13 results