Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Dealers, sign in to see your Dealer Panel.

Back

Norden Volkswagen

Edmonton, AB

3.4
197 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

14703 137th Ave NW

Edmonton, AB

T5L 2L5

Directions

197 Reviews of Norden Volkswagen

Sort by Write a review
October 17, 2020

"I live in Calgary and did most of my shopping and..."

- Micheal

I live in Calgary and did most of my shopping and communication over email. Saransh was exceptional and very professional. He went above and beyond in helping me get the best possible deal on one of the last remaining 2019 Beetles. This was my first Volkswagen purchase and he was very friendly and accommodating; he was able to answer all of my questions. James on the finance side were also a pleasure to work with. They took the time to go over the various options for warranty, coverage, and support. Very helpful. Overall it was a fantastic and stress free experience. I highly recommend Norden Volkswagen for your next car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Saransh Mehta, James Seniuk
October 05, 2020

"I traveled to Edmonton to purchase a car from Norden..."

- richardjbeeson

I traveled to Edmonton to purchase a car from Norden Volkswagen. At no time prior to travel did they indicate that 'all sales must be financed'! When I went to drive the car I had negotiated a price on, that was when it first was identified that all sales at Norden were financed. I could not believe it. We proceeded with the test drive, and at the end of the drive I said I would buy. The salesman got out the paperwork but said it must be financed. I said that cannot be true, and to get his manager. He got his sales manager, who confirmed that it was true. I said I would walk if they would not sell the car for cash. There was no reconsideration. I indicated cash is legal tender, and they were breaking the law. There was a reference to the layers likely having studied the matter. The sales manager did not wish to argue with me. If you want a full invasion of privacy - when it is unnecessary: shop Norden Volkswagen Edmonton. I recommend going anywhere that does not force credit upon you, and invade your private lives when it is unnecessary.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Max Durisic
4.0
September 13, 2020

"Tried to buy a used Subaru from here and was told since..."

- Andrew

Tried to buy a used Subaru from here and was told since March 2020 the only form of payment they accept is for you to take 6 months of finance. Would not accept cash,certified cheque or bankers draft. After talking to another dealer apparently this is legal. This is totally crazy, the reason is their margins are so thin on used cars they make their money on the finance. It is however totally immoral.Stay well away and avoid this dealer at all costs if this is how they choose to do business!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Unknown
August 18, 2020

"DO NOT BUY A VEHICLE FROM THIS DEALERSHIP!! My husband..."

- Natasha

DO NOT BUY A VEHICLE FROM THIS DEALERSHIP!! My husband and I were shopping for a new Atlas and decided to check out Norden because they had plenty of inventory on the vehicle we were looking at and now we know why. We found a vehicle and started to negotiate on it and quickly realized that they wouldn't sell the vehicle for the list price + GST which is what was offered. They kept tacking on additional charges for "anti theft monitoring" and "admin fees" which quickly added up to the car being close to $3000 more than the list price + GST. When we pointed out that this is illegal in the province of Alberta as AMVIC requires all-in pricing, my husband was kicked out of the dealership and they refused to sell to him. I have escalated this to AMVIC who agreed this is an illegal business practice. We ended up going to Sherwood Volkswagen and got great service from the beginning with no hidden costs or tacked on fees at the end.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Eric
July 24, 2020

"Worst vehicle purchase of my life, and horrible decision..."

- Alex

Worst vehicle purchase of my life, and horrible decision trusting Norden Volkswagen. I went here after going to several dealerships with the assumption this dealership could be trusted, boy was I ever wrong!!! I bought a used BMW after the impression that it would be mechanically inspected upon purchase. I left the lot after putting an 8000 dollar down payment which is a big down payment for a 22-year-old buying her first vehicle. Within a half hour of driving it off the lot, I received an "engine overheating" on my dashboard. FIRST RED FLAG! I had to pull over on the Anthony Henday and call my salesperson, he told me it must be because I had it in sports mode, NOPE, not that!!!! I drove my vehicle for several weeks and the engine overheating would not go away when driving on the highway. Another red flag was that the sunroof started leaking when raining! How do you sell a vehicle with a broken sunroof??? These incidents have left me feeling beyond anxious to go on a drive with my vehicle. I called Norden several times and they assured me a sales manager would call me back to discuss these issues with me. I had to call at least 8 times before I finally received a call back to discuss my vehicle with them. Now (July) I decided I would take my vehicle in for a second opinion to another shop, they told me my vehicle had a broken water pump and thermostat, this damage was estimated to be worth $2,200.00. How does a dealership sell a vehicle with a broken water pump and thermostat??? As well as a faulty sunroof??? I am beyond heartbroken and disappointed that I gave Norden Volkswagen my time, money, and trust. NOW, after finally taking in my vehicle for them to fix and me telling them I would NOT pay to have them fix my vehicle as these are problems that came with the vehicle upon purchase they insist I have a $1,700.00 bill. My car sat in the shop at Norden for nearly a full week untouched. They delayed my car by 3 days and told me it would be done by a certain day and it wasn't. Finally, I came to pick up my vehicle and the service reception handed me my keys and told me to have a "lovely day" and sorry for the inconvenience, and that there was no charge to my vehicle. I was happy to learn that Norden had covered the bill. BOY WAS I WRONG AGAIN! They are now harassing me and calling me to tell me I have a $1,700.00 bill when the service reception told me my car was fully inspected and paid for. All these problems with Norden has added an unnecessary amount of stress and mental headaches to the point where I do not want to drive the new vehicle that I have worked hard for. I am tired of the harassment from Norden Volkswagen and would tell people from my experience to stay away. They do not care for customer support, as Dylan told me" That's what happens when you buy a luxury vehicle." NO, this does not happen, a vehicle should have never been sold with a broken water pump and thermostat. It was suggested I trade my vehicle in, and renegotiate my terms at what be a worse rate and duration. Why would I want to trade in my car with you guys??? FIX AND LEARN FROM YOUR MISTAKES NORDEN, YOU SOLD ME A FAULTY VEHICLE... a lemon of a car. HOW DO YOU HAND ME THE KEYS AND TELL ME THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN COVERED AND CALL ME NOW??? I told this dealership I would NEVER pay for the repairs done to my vehicle as you sold me a car with so many problems on the day I drove off the lot. I'm at the point where I'm having anxiety attacks over there harassment. I've had to pay OVER $200.00 in Ubers to get to work the week my car sat idle in the service bay. The only nice person was Michael! He was kind and genuine the whole time. Dear Norden, stop harassing me and take ownership of YOUR MISTAKE. super unorganized dealership. Learn from my mistake and STAY AWAY.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dylan Feihle
1.0
July 16, 2020

"I went here to buy my very first car, and Andrew Hamilton..."

- Rebecca

I went here to buy my very first car, and Andrew Hamilton was absolutely amazing. He was the perfect person to help me through the process of getting my first car. Andrew was there to help and to answer any questions I had throughout the entire process. I honestly don’t think I would have been able to get the car that I got, the car that I really wanted, if it weren’t for him. I am so thankful for all his help, and highly recommend him for all of your future purchases.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Andrew Hamilton
5.0
July 04, 2020

"Sold Me Demo as a New Vehicle"

- Thomas T

I will preface this review by saying that I have tried repeatedly to speak to the General Manager about the following issue in the past few weeks. I called the dealership on 6 different occasions, and allowed several days to pass between calls to allow an opportunity for my calls to be returned. AT NO TIME, has anyone from Norden VW reached out to me to resolve this matter. On my initial three phone calls, instead of being put through to the GM I was directed to speak to Zach in the Service Department (who obviously had nothing to do with the situation), to Ella in financing (and credit where it is due, she was absolutely sympathetic and professional in our conversation but also had nothing to do with the situation), and to the Salesperson who sold me my vehicle, Andrew Hamilton, who denied any knowledge and did his utmost to pass the buck and did absolutely nothing to help. On my 6th and last call to Norden, I will admit I finally lost my composure and was very frank and regrettably angry with the young lady at reception I spoke with. I apologized to her during our conversation for being angry, but I was terribly frustrated at this point. I would like to publicly tender my apology to her again now, as she was only doing her job to the best of her ability. She should not be put in a position of having to deal with irate customers, just because the management is too gutless to speak to them. The following is a brief synopsis of the situation. In September of 2016, I purchased a Tiguan from this dealership. It was represented on their website as new, and my sales and finance contract also clearly describe it as being new. When delivered, it showed 128 km on the odometer, even though the sales and finance contract both stated 15 km. When I asked about this, it was accounted for as having been moved between the dealership and a storage lot. I didn't sweat it, it seemed minor. My wife and I have been very happy with this vehicle, but a couple of small issues presented themselves in recent months: The block heater failed and the ignition switch was acting up. I took this to my local dealership in Grande Prairie to be repaired, and when the service manager there put the paperwork through for warranty (which should be in effect until September of this year), he informed me that the warranty was expired according to VW Canada and that I should contact Norden to get this corrected (I showed him my sales contract with purchase date). On my first call to Norden to try and find out what the issue was, I was told my vehicle had been registered with VW Canada as a DEMO and put 'in-service' as of November 2015, and as such was no longer under warranty. So, a Demo vehicle was sold to me represented as new, and I paid a new vehicle price. The salt in the wound? I got shorted about ten months worth of warranty. I finally ended up contacting VW Canada, Customer Care about this issue, and sent them copies of my sales contract to corroborate. I spoke to them on 3 different occasions, the last time a few days ago, and they advised me that the GM of Sales, Dylan Freihle, would be contacting me to 'resolve' this issue by the end of this week, or today. I indicated that I had little faith in that happening, but elected to wait till the end of the week to hear from him. And, the dealership management now has a perfect record of ignoring not only myself, but VW Canada, because yet again nobody has contacted me at any point from the dealership. I can only assume that it is because they simply don't care to even speak to a customer who isn't happy about being cheated. The repairs on my Tiguan have been completed at a substantial cost, and paid for by myself, on a 'new' car that is under warranty only according to my fraudulent sales contract. I have now sent a communication to VW Canada to let them know the status of this. I have also retained the services of a lawyer today, because of the principle of the matter, and because I can afford to. I can only suggest that if you are considering buying from Norden, don't. Update: I was finally contacted by a Norden Sales Manager today, after leaving Google review and having had to go through VW Canada to get any response. They agreed to reimburse my out of pocket expense on the repairs, and extend VW Factory Warranty for a year. Basically giving me what I paid for and spent weeks trying to get resolved. The gentleman I spoke with with respectful and understanding, but this does not resolve the basic matter of committing fraud. I am still considering my legal options.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Andrew Hamilton
1.0
Mark Mounzer
4.0
June 15, 2020

"WORST CAR DEALERSHIP! We were buying a car from Norden...."

- Jessica

WORST CAR DEALERSHIP! We were buying a car from Norden. From the get go, the experience was subpar. Text and online inquiries were not answered. We went in, where frankly, we got the impression they could care less about selling to us. We negotiated a deal that we thought was fair, though the salesman claimed a $200 portion came out of his commission. We put down our deposit and we're going to pick up the car in a couple days. When we talked to the finance manager a couple days later the initial interest rate for the financing had changed (due to it being a used car- which they would have known earlier). When we went to pick it up, the deal had changed and no longer honoured the initial deals. After waiting over an hour we ended up walking away. John the sales manager was rude and condescending. Ultimately we decided that we didn't want anyone from this dealership to receive a dime from us. They operate by making you wait as long as possible, until you just agree with whatever they offer. Buyers beware! There are many one star reviews because of deplorable business practices!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John Mallari
1.0
Brandon Mounzer
1.0
May 23, 2020

"Disgusting service"

- Gary

Took my daughters Jetta in as the key got stuck in the ignition. The only way to switch car off was to pull the fuse, so we did and the car went in to limp mode. They sent me an estimate for nine thousand dollars saying it needed a tranny as it was making a noise, so we did some phoning around to ask people is this right. Bill from River City Motors said to get it towed to him so we did and he charged me 800 hundred dollars for a new ignition lock and 3 hours labour to recode the car. He said it was in limp mode and all is good. The dealer ship gave me to many excuses of why they did not look in to this and now I will not even send a wheel barrow to them to fix.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
service manager
May 21, 2020

"WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER! - BEWARE OF DYLAN FEIHLE"

- lazfa29

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED. BEWARE OF THE SALES MANAGER DYLAN. DO NOT BUY A VEHICLE FROM HERE UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE COERCED AND WANT TO BE DISRESPECTED AND TREATED LIKE TRASH. ESPECIALLY FROM DYLAN.I initially saw a car I really liked on their website and contacted the Sales Manager DYLAN about it. We talked about it and we agreed on a price. A couple of days later, I got a day off work to drive up to Edmonton from Calgary (where I live) and when I arrived DYLAN mentioned that they had sold the car 15 mins before I arrived. And conveniently waited 3 hours after I drove up to tell me, in addition to me wasting an entire day of work. A couple of days later a salesman called me and said the car was still available and if I wanted it I could send a deposit and drive up AGAIN. So i paid the $500 deposit and drove up. When I got there and we talked about payment, I mentioned I would like to pay CASH because paying interest is against my religion and i do not want to finance the car. They said they understood. I was told this cannot be done because the dealership did not trust bank drafts due to some fraud that had occurred in the past. I understood and mentioned that a salesperson or DYLAN could accompany me to the bank and actually see the bank issuing the bank draft. They refused. Again pushing me towards financing the car. Then i made another suggestion. Accompany me to the bank, get the bank draft with me, KEEP THE CAR AND THE BANK DRAFT until the bank draft clears, then release the car to me. As annoying as that would be to drive up again, I was willing to do it because i did not want to enter a finance or pay interest due to religion. They even refused that option. By then their intention was clear, they were losing money on the car so they needed me to finance for them to make some money. While all of this was happening, i kept asking to talk to the sales manager, DYLAN. He sat behind a glass covered closed door staring at us, but refused to come out. Instead the poor salesman kept going back and forth trying to get out suggestions across. Eventually DYLAN told the salesman to tell us, if we don't want to finance we can leave the dealership and they DO NOT WANT TO SELL US THE CAR. ALL BECAUSE WE WERE AGAINST INTEREST AND WANTED TO PAY BY BANK DRAFT? This was by far the most disrespectful and poor treatment me and my wife ever received at any dealership we ever visited in our life!! And all this while refusing to come out of his office. Eventually we ended up buying the car, had to finance, and even then DYLAN refused to honor the price he quoted me the week before when I drove up and he actually increased the price. When i showed the salesman the text messages about DYLAN'S PRICE he said THAT WAS NOT DYLAN, even though the name DYLAN was in the messages and the number was DYLAN'S. I ended up paying the finance off the next day so the dealership made an extra $7.55 off of me. To summarize, this was the WORST customer service I ever experienced. All the disrespect came from the Sales Manager DYLAN. DO NOT BUY A VEHICLE FROM HERE UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE COERCED INTO FINANCING AND WANT TO BE DISRESPECTED AND TREATED LIKE TRASH. ESPECIALLY FROM DYLAN.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Michael Achtaye
2.0
Dylan Feihle
1.0
1
...
1 - 10 of 197 results