Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Dealers, sign in to see your Dealer Panel.

Back

Medicine Hat Toyota

Medicine Hat , AB

2.2
36 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

1400 Strachan Road SE

Medicine Hat , AB

T1B 4V2

Directions

36 Reviews of Medicine Hat Toyota

Sort by Write a review
February 18, 2021

"Not recommended. Lack of basic professionalism and..."

- shfqrkhn

Not recommended. Lack of basic professionalism and expertise. 8000km: complained about the battery being dead once. Had to jump it myself. ~16000km: battery was dead again. 3rd time now. They didn't have one in stock. They changed the battery at a later date. Mileage was too close to the 16k mark so they also did the regular servicing under an extended warranty. Had to take the car into the dealership many times since then for the same battery drain issue. So much so that the servicing staff know me by now. Not my objective, regardless of how nice they are. Told them that other 2020 RAV4 Hybrid XSE owners were having the same issue (google 2020 RAV4 Hybrid XSE battery issues) and that Toyota issued a firmware update for it. Was like talking to a brick wall. ~25000km: the battery is dead again. They blamed my dashcam this time and charged me for "troubleshooting". They disconnected the dashcam and I removed it from the car completely. Mileage was too close to the 25k mark so they also did the regular servicing. Less than 25200km: the battery is dead again. They don't have one in stock. Why are these batteries flying off their shelves like hotcakes if everything is so perfect? Now they finally want to put a firmware update, except they are saying it's for a 2019 RAV4. Mine is 2020. I've decided to cut ties with this dealership and this automaker. My patience and agreeableness were taken advantage of. I left feeling defrauded because all I got was a flea circus when I paid for the Cirque du Soleil. This seems to be a theme across the dealership because they tried to sell me scammy extras like windshield "diamond" coating and cathodic protection on top of the extended warranty that I was already paying for. I'll be telling everyone in my professional and personal circle to stay away from this Toyota dealership. PS: If the folks downstairs are not getting it done for you, talk to the top boss upstairs. I didn’t even know it was an option until I did. From the sound of it, she didn’t even know that there was a whole flea circus going on right under her nose.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Erin Bailey
1.0
Feb 19, 2021 -

Medicine Hat Toyota responded

Shafiqur, This situation has been incredibly frustrating and I have expressed my apologies and taken responsibility for our oversights. After speaking with you, the diagnostic time you previously paid for in relation to the dashcam as well as the cost of the battery booster pack you purchased were reimbursed to you. As we discussed, I chose to do this because looking at all of the events, it was the right thing to do. I cannot change the past events but take responsibility and become better. I stand behind my staff and realize that mistakes do happen, I will not make them feel like complete failures but rather take the opportunity to improve process and gain knowledge and experience. They are good at their jobs and care about customers. It was never our intention to have you in for repeated visits and not solve your issue. We tried to decrease the impact of the number of dealership visits you had to make by driving the one hour round trip to pick up and drop off your vehicle – I’m not implying we should get praised for this but simply showing we weren’t complacent and chose to do nothing. We made mistakes but we did try, it wasn’t enough and I acknowledge that. Your comment regarding the diamond product that you felt was a “scammy extra”, this was simply communicated to you that we offer it, you declined and was not sold to you. When it comes to not having the battery in stock, this servicing occurred during the drastic drop in temperature when batteries are replaced most often. COVID definitely doesn’t help inventory supply. None of my comments are meant to excuse your negative experience but rather take accountability and give information. Amanda VanderMolen – General Manager

Feb 19, 2021 -

shfqrkhn responded

Firstly, thank you for everything. I agree, let bygones be bygones. I was happy with all of the above until you mentioned the extras. Those two products don't do what they claim to do. For cathodic protection, anyone with high school science knowledge would tell you - that physics doesn't make sense. Not at that price point, especially. It is a product that's made for marine applications, not for metal boxes that are riding on not very conductive rubber tires on not very conductive asphalt. Also, and I should have mentioned this before, some of your staff don't wear masks around customers. I'll refrain from naming names, but I'm sure you have the means to find out. Not very indicative of caring for customers. Lastly, I don't think the remedial actions you took would have happened had I not escalated the issue first to the General Sales Manager and then to you (General Manager). I believe I would have gone on to my 15th visit, and nothing would have changed. You are misrepresenting the facts when you say that you picked up my car as if you've done it all along. You didn't. I had to insist on that only on my last visit because I was sick of this. In the earlier visits, they didn't even tell me that ride home was an option while they were working on my car. I had to wait there in the dealership. Only during my very last visit, after I decided I had enough and I let them know, was I offered a loaner and they picked up my car both ways because that morning I had to jump my own car to get to work, and I couldn't wait for the whole circus to get into the session. Again, excellent experience with you, and thank you for listening. PS: if you have scientific literature or published papers showing the efficacy of those scammy extras, I'd be very interested to know. I am always open to change my mind based on the best available evidence.

November 03, 2020

"Service manager leaves a lot to be desired. Poor customer..."

- corybaksa

Service manager leaves a lot to be desired. Poor customer relations. I think service rep was Jim or James. Brought vehicle in for oil change at11:15 am and it was not done until 3:30 pm. I live out of town so feel I was treated badly.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kim Hubert
September 24, 2020

"I have been to this dealership a number of times, great..."

- reiffern

I have been to this dealership a number of times, great service and nice people. Very accommodating staff. Work completed when promised and done well.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Service manager
November 09, 2019

"Very disappointed with the service at Toyota. This is the..."

- Raymond

Very disappointed with the service at Toyota. This is the second time we asked for work to to be done and Toyota did not do the work that was requested. They try to do all kinds of other work but not the work that was requested. Would not recommend Parkcity Toyota for any work.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service department
March 18, 2019

"Toyota Loyalty"

- Nopenotthisguy

I walked in after convincing my wife that we should test drive a Tacoma, I have been wanting one for years now, and now we are in a place where we could responsibly afford one. We drove around, looked at a couple and parked, and then stood in the front entry way for 15 minutes without anyone approaching us, asking if we needed anything or even if we were ready to buy. After playing around in the blue Tacoma in the dealership, I had finally had enough, and said let’s go. If I buy a Tacoma, it sure as xxxx won’t be from the park city dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Not a single one
August 30, 2018

"Second purchase/lease"

- Bets

We have now purchased/ leased two vehicles from this dealer, plus we have a third one serviced at this dealer which was imported. Sales and service staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and we trust the service department.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Cindy Chapman
5.0
Erin Bailey
5.0
August 30, 2018

"Traded in lease"

- Gn1000

From start to finish everyone was helpful and saw to all the details. Very professional and easy to deal with. Will be back again in the future.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Cindy Chapman
5.0
Erin Bailey
Other Employees : Gayle Gagley
August 25, 2018

"We just bought a 2018 C-HR"

- imaleo

The experience was fantastic, Cindy and Erin were both very informative and helpful in the purchase of our new Toyota. I would highly recommend purchasing a Toyota vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Cindy Chapman
5.0
Erin Bailey
5.0
August 25, 2018

"Great experience buying a used car here"

- Larry schalk

We bought a 2017 Hyundai Sante Fe from Craig Duclos over the phone. We are from RedDeer and found the listing on auto trader. Craig was fantastic to help me see the condition of the car. He took pictures and videos for me and answered all the questions I needed answered, it couldn’t have been easier or less stressful!! Then we worked with Erin in finance to iron out the details. We drove to Medicene hat a couple days later to pick up the car and it was cleaned spotless! Services, fueled and ready to go! I would recommend this dealership to anyone. It was well worth the 800km round trip! 5 star experience for sure Larry Schalk

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Erin Bailey
5.0
Other Employees : Craig Duclos
August 04, 2018

"Shopping at Toyota"

- Jane

They were friendly and asked us what wanted in a vehicle. Then they came up with options that we were happy with. The sales person did a great job telling and showing us all about the RAV4 we decided to lease.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Cindy Chapman
5.0
Erin Bailey
5.0
Other Employees : Kimberly Hulbert, Kerri Gagley
1
...
1 - 10 of 36 results