Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Dealers, sign in to see your Dealer Panel.

Back

Mark Wilson's Better Used Cars

Guelph, ON

4.4
1,640 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

5055 Whitelaw Road

Guelph, ON

N1H 6J4

Directions

1,640 Reviews of Mark Wilson's Better Used Cars

Sort by Write a review
November 24, 2020

"Imagine having the cops called on you after you buy a car..."

- jonpike

Imagine having the cops called on you after you buy a car from ad ealership...thats what happened here. A couple of weeks ago I wanted to buy a new vehicle. I see in wilsons site that they have a journey with low kms and I email to have a look. That same night frank a salesman there emails me that tomorrow would be great. So Sunday it is!i meet with and ask to test drive it. Frank says sure, do you know where to go? I say no and he says "you have to make a right and then a right and then another right. I take the journey for a test drive just around the corner and come back in and ask if we could sit down and talk about a few things? He says that can't be done right now because of covid but what's the problem? So explain the tires look really used and not really happy with them. He says they just are dirrty their brand new tires so I ask him if it's possible to have them rotated? Answer sure no problem as well he tells me about a little mark on the back bumper he says that gonna fix that for me though. At this point he says we can go inside and talk to finance lady. So he takes me inside I sign a paper wash my hands and I am sat at a table with about 10 chairs around me that are empty. I wait here for about 15 minutes I which point the lady comes out and bring me back to her office. We start talking about the financing in the different numbers of the insurances that she offers the different ways that she gets it through the different banks. We go over the numbers a little bit and I decide that I'm gonna buy the car. She got me to sign some paperwork and told me to talk to my wife about the insurance that they offer. You take me aside and tells me that they will be in contact with me once they get acceptance. A couple days later she gives me a call...she tells me a couple places denied me and a couple places accepted me with conditions but ultimately one place accepted me with the way the application was. She then asks me if I talk to my wife about the insurance programs that they offer? I said yeah we don't really wanna do anyone of them as we don't think we would use them. She says well I'm just gonna add these 2 because u need them for acceptance. At the time I was excited so I said ok. Later I realized that was a lie and she just scammed me into doing it. Our conversation ends and she says someone will contact u with a time you can come in to sign the paper work. 2 days go by and I get a call saying I could come in. Upon arrival I call and let them know I'm here. About 10 mins goes by and a lady comes out bring me back in to the table they left me at in the beginning only this time she puts the paperwork at the end of the table where there are no chairs. I stand there and she says ok sign here sign here sign here sign here and so on for like 5 mins. Gave me no time to read anything. So I leave with a "frank will call u soon". 2 days go by and the car is supposed to be ready so I call the office to find out. Noone could help and I was told oh frank will call u soon. Around 230 he calls and I go to pick it up. I notice the tires are not rotated I asked him and he said oh yeah they did and look they are clean. Still not good tires. I also notice the scuff on the back is still there he says oh they couldn't fix it sorry. So I tell him ok I have my car here can I come tomorrow and get it. He says no has to be gone by 7pm no later. So I had to take a cab to get my old car after driving my new one home. As soon as I drive off I notice it's pulling to the right. So I contact frank and he says I need to contact Joe. This is where it all went down hill. I call Joe and explain whats going on. He asks when I can bring it in for an alignment I tell him I work until 4 Monday to Friday I can come anyday at 415 or so. He says that won't work we close at 5. I ask him what I'm supposed to do as they have to fix it and I work. I tell him I can't take a day off just to get the car fixed when it should have been done in the first place. We go back and forth him saying he can't and me saying it's his job. Ultimately he was useless and I ask to talk to the manager. Thats when he sends me to niel. At this point I'm pretty angry and probably took it out on him but at the same time Joe was basically telling me he's not gonna fix it. So niel tells me he will call me back. About 10 mins later he calls and leaves a msg telling me to be at wilsons at 415. They will look at your car. If there is a quick fix they will fix it if they need to order parts they will give me a rental for the night and have it fixed the next day. So I race to be there for 415 on the dot. Upon arrival I call in tell them I'm here. The lady says she will find Joe and send him out. 15 mins go by and she calls me back says go inside Joe will meet u and let you in the doors. So I go in. As I'm walking in I meet Joe. He says r u the journey guy u said yup. He said "give me your keys" very rudely. So I give him my keys and he tries to hand me a key and points to a dodge outside and says that's your car. I said wait niel told me u would look at the car. He said no I told u I'm not looking at it this late. So at this point I don't want to deal with Joe any longer. He's rude ignorant and doesn't care for customer service at all. I don't trust him with my families vehicle. So I take my keys and leave. The next day I call niel and leave a msg for him to call me back. A couple hours later Joe calls me. I explain to Joe once again that I don't want him touching my vehicle and I don't want to deal with him. He says ok and hangs up. I then call back to speak with niel. Niel says well you wouldn't even here Joe out. I said I don't want Joe being involved. Niel says well its his section so I don't have a choice. I say I'm gonna call the BBB and niel says ok well I guess we have nothing left to talk about and hangs up. So I email him and say. I will be there at 330 and someone better be ready to fix my car or everyone's gonna have a bad day. In turn they call the cops lol they say I threatened them. And now I can't go back there to fix my car at all. So if you want to be left outside, lied to, scammed into 2000 dollars like I was. And honestly just treated like you're nothing then buy from wilsons. Where all they care about is your pocket book. Worst customer service I've ever had.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Neil Plante
1.0
Scott Wilson
1.0
Iwona Bowman
1.0
Mark Wilson
1.0
Other Employees : Joe
November 24, 2020

"Imagine having the cops called on you after you buy a car..."

- jonpike

Imagine having the cops called on you after you buy a car from a dealership...thats what happened here. Lets back up a little bit. A couple of weeks ago I wanted to buy a new vehicle. I see in wilsons site that they have a journey with low kms and I email to have a look. That same night frank a salesman there emails me that tomorrow would be great. So Sunday it is! I'm pretty excited because I bought my current car from them 6 years ago and had a great experience. Very personal. Attentive to what we wanted and super helpful finding my wife the car she wanted. So Sunday comes and I go to the dealership. As I pull up I see a sign that says call upon arrival. So I park, call and get out of my car. I don't see the journey around yet. The lady on the phone says I will find frank and he will be right out. I weighed about 10 minutes and Frank comes out to meet me. I look around the car a little bit and ask if I could take it for a test drive. Frank says sure, do you know where to go? I say no and he says "you have to make a right and then a right and then another right. He goes inside gets the plate comes back out about 10 minutes later. I take the journey for a test drive just around the corner and come back in and ask if we could sit down and talk about a few things? He says that can't be done right now because of covid but what's the problem? So explain the tires look really used and not really happy with them. He says they just are dirrty their brand new tires so I ask him if it's possible to have them rotated? Answer sure no problem as well he tells me about a little mark on the back bumper he says that gonna fix that for me though. At this point he says we can go inside and talk to finance lady. So he takes me inside I sign a paper wash my hands and I am sat at a table with about 10 chairs around me that are empty. I wait here for about 15 minutes I which point the lady comes out and bring me back to her office. We start talking about the financing in the different numbers of the insurances that she offers the different ways that she gets it through the different banks. We go over the numbers a little bit and I decide that I'm gonna buy the car. She got me to sign some paperwork and told me to talk to my wife about the insurance that they offer. You take me aside and tells me that they will be in contact with me once they get acceptance. A couple days later she gives me a call...she tells me a couple places denied me and a couple places accepted me with conditions but ultimately one place accepted me with the way the application was. She then asks me if I talk to my wife about the insurance programs that they offer? I said yeah we don't really wanna do anyone of them as we don't think we would use them. She says well I'm just gonna add these 2 because u need them for acceptance. At the time I was excited so I said ok. Later I realized that was a lie and she just scammed me into doing it. Our conversation ends and she says someone will contact u with a time you can come in to sign the paper work. 2 days go by and I get a call saying I could come in. Upon arrival I call and let them know I'm here. About 10 mins goes by and a lady comes out bring me back in to the table they left me at in the beginning only this time she puts the paperwork at the end of the table where there are no chairs. I stand there and she says ok sign here sign here sign here sign here and so on for like 5 mins. Gave me no time to read anything. So I leave with a "frank will call u soon". 2 days go by and the car is supposed to be ready so I call the office to find out. Noone could help and I was told oh frank will call u soon. Around 230 he calls and I go to pick it up. I notice the tires are not rotated I asked him and he said oh yeah they did and look they are clean. Still not good tires. I also notice the scuff on the back is still there he says oh they couldn't fix it sorry. So I tell him ok I have my car here can I come tomorrow and get it. He says no has to be gone by 7pm no later. So I had to take a cab to get my old car after driving my new one home. As soon as I drive off I notice it's pulling to the right. So I contact frank and he says I need to contact Joe. This is where it all went down hill. I call Joe and explain whats going on. He asks when I can bring it in for an alignment I tell him I work until 4 Monday to Friday I can come anyday at 415 or so. He says that won't work we close at 5. I ask him what I'm supposed to do as they have to fix it and I work. I tell him I can't take a day off just to get the car fixed when it should have been done in the first place. We go back and forth him saying he can't and me saying it's his job. Ultimately he was useless and I ask to talk to the manager. Thats when he sends me to niel. At this point I'm pretty angry and probably took it out on him but at the same time Joe was basically telling me he's not gonna fix it. So niel tells me he will call me back. About 10 mins later he calls and leaves a msg telling me to be at wilsons at 415. They will look at your car. If there is a quick fix they will fix it if they need to order parts they will give me a rental for the night and have it fixed the next day. So I race to be there for 415 on the dot. Upon arrival I call in tell them I'm here. The lady says she will find Joe and send him out. 15 mins go by and she calls me back says go inside Joe will meet u and let you in the doors. So I go in. As I'm walking in I meet Joe. He says r u the journey guy u said yup. He said "give me your keys" very rudely. So I give him my keys and he tries to hand me a key and points to a dodge outside and says that's your car. I said wait niel told me u would look at the car. He said no I told u I'm not looking at it this late. So at this point I don't want to deal with Joe any longer. He's rude ignorant and doesn't care for customer service at all. I don't trust him with my families vehicle. So I take my keys and leave. The next day I call niel and leave a msg for him to call me back. A couple hours later Joe calls me. I explain to Joe once again that I don't want him touching my vehicle and I don't want to deal with him. He says ok and hangs up. I then call back to speak with niel. Niel says well you wouldn't even here Joe out. I said I don't want Joe being involved. Niel says well its his section so I don't have a choice. I say I'm gonna call the BBB and niel says ok well I guess we have nothing left to talk about and hangs up. So I email him and say. I will be there at 330 and someone better be ready to fix my car or everyone's gonna have a bad day. In turn they call the cops lol they say I threatened them. And now I can't go back there to fix my car at all. So if you want to be left outside, lied to, scammed into 2000 dollars like I was. And honestly just treated like you're nothing then buy from wilsons. Where all they care about is your pocket book. Worst customer service I've ever had.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Robert Harrison
1.0
Neil Plante
1.0
Iwona Bowman
1.0
November 24, 2020

"No sales pressure, great and friendly sales person but..."

- Moe

No sales pressure, great and friendly sales person but I ultimately didnt buy from them. I called for a test drive 2 days before and when I got there the car was not cleaned and had dog hair it ruined the whole experience. I think because they are so big and busy issues like this are not so important. The very least they could have done was vacuum all the dog hair. I understand they have so any trades etc. I didnt need a detailed car but at least somewhat clean would have landed them a sale. I bought from another dealer 1 week later.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ron Harris
5.0
November 19, 2020

"I had an excellent experience from start to finish..."

- Dquirke814

I had an excellent experience from start to finish purchasing my 2017 Acura ILX. No pressure tactics with friendly helpful staff. A big thanks to Alexa Walsh for her help getting me financed and answering my 25 emails. And a special thanks to Mike G. for all his help getting my car ready. I am so happy with my purchase. If you're thinking of buying..this is the place👍🏽

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mike Geofreda
5.0
Alexa Welsh
5.0
October 31, 2020

"The service was good, they have time for the customer..."

- Ama

The service was good, they have time for the customer listen and work with a customer. Overall excellent Services, I was pleased and will recommend the place to my family and friends.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Iwona Bowman
5.0
Other Employees : Peter McLean
Nov 03, 2020 -

Mark Wilson's Better Used Cars responded

Thank you! We appreciate your kind review of Mark Wilson's Better Used Cars and hope you will visit again soon. Take care.

September 22, 2020

"Bought a Chrysler 300 from Trevor in August, took..."

- Gourlay

Bought a Chrysler 300 from Trevor in August, took delivery on August 29, it was the best experience I ever had at buying a vehicle. Engine light came on Sept. 5, called & Joe gave me an appointment for Sept. 7. Joe & his staff were absolutely fantastic at diagnosing & repairing our 300 in a timely fashion. Not only that he gave us the shuttle vehicle to go up to Timmy's & have a hot lunch instead of potato chips from the vending machine while our 300 was being repaired. Mark Wilsons is the only dealership I would refer my friends & family to for the purchase a vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Trevor Hart
5.0
Other Employees : Joe, 30 day warranty service
Sep 23, 2020 -

Mark Wilson's Better Used Cars responded

Hey there! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We truly appreciate any comments we receive as it's a great way to gain unbiased insight on how we're doing. It's fantastic to know that you had a positive experience and we hope to see you again soon at Mark Wilson's Better Used Cars.

September 18, 2020

"I just purchased an SUV and had a seamless and..."

- kgreatorex01

I just purchased an SUV and had a seamless and exceptional experience. David Miller was very honest and helpful. It was a pleasure working with both David and Nicole Hoover who helped me navigate through the contract. Thanks so much and I will be recommending to my friends and family!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
David Miller
5.0
Nicole Hoover
5.0
Sep 23, 2020 -

Mark Wilson's Better Used Cars responded

Thank you! We appreciate your kind review of Mark Wilson's Better Used Cars and hope you will visit again soon. Take care.

September 16, 2020

"Had an amazing experience with Rod. Very helpful and..."

- Michellezacchigna

Had an amazing experience with Rod. Very helpful and supportive. 5 plus stars and will use him again. No pressure and team effort. Excellent service

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rod Sider
5.0
Jonathan Gardiner
5.0
Sep 23, 2020 -

Mark Wilson's Better Used Cars responded

We're happy to hear you had an awesome time with us at Mark Wilson's Better Used Cars! Thanks for sharing your experience. We hope you stop by and see us again soon.

September 11, 2020

"Just bought a SUV through Trevor and Iwona. Amazing..."

- christa

Just bought a SUV through Trevor and Iwona. Amazing service from both! Trevor was very patient with me as all I knew was I wanted an SUV. He gave me great options to try all within my price range. Iwona then took over for the finance part and was great! I did refer a co-worker who made a purchase also a day later so wish I had of known about referral rewards.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Trevor Hart
5.0
Iwona Bowman
5.0
Sep 23, 2020 -

Mark Wilson's Better Used Cars responded

Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you have nothing but amazing things to say about our team at Mark Wilson's Better Used Cars and what we offer.

September 06, 2020

"I took delivery of a 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport AWD on..."

- belltimothyd

I took delivery of a 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport AWD on Aug.5, 2018. The SUV was ready when promised, in excellent condition and had a couple of nice surprises: brand new tires were installed and received a full tank of gas! My Sales Rep. was Sam Belanger and my Business Mgr. was Sarah Breese! They both were very courteous and helpful throughout the entire Sales process and would highly recommend any person to buy from Mark Wilson's Better Used Cars!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sam Belanger
5.0
Sarah Breese
5.0
Sep 09, 2020 -

Mark Wilson's Better Used Cars responded

That is so amazing to hear! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with our team at Mark Wilson's Better Used Cars. It's great to know that we continue to provide our customers with everything they need. Have a great day!

1
...
1 - 10 of 1,640 results