Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

John Bear Pontiac Buick Cadillac Ltd

2.8

41 Lifetime Reviews

1200 Upper James St, Hamilton, Ontario L9C 3B1 Directions
Sales: (905) 575-9400

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

41 Reviews of John Bear Pontiac Buick Cadillac Ltd

Sort by Write a review
September 17, 2019

"Corvette repair"

- Dan

Went in with the engine light on and it turned out to be the fuel pump.The dealership right away stepped up and did the repair at a much reduced rate because of the low km. Sean and his people did all they could for me to make sure I was happy after having such a costly repair .

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sean, Thomas
September 12, 2019

"Awesome experience!"

- Chris Reading

Buying vehicles for over 40 years and always dreaded the process. Went in to price out a 2019 Chevy Silverado and was super impressed with the sales staff. While I mulled it over went over and chatted up the service department and was super impressed with them as well. Bought the truck 2 days later and while I've only been back twice, the service has remained the same.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Victoria Johnson, Dave Elliot
September 12, 2019

"Excellent Service!!!"

- Brodie M.

I just bought a new vehicle from Tom A. And I couldn't be more happy! He is very polite, and answered all my questions. Prompt service, knowledgeable, very professional and accommodating! Exceeded my expectations. His service is fantastic. Highly recommended. If you're looking to buy a vehicle from the Johnbear dealership on upper James in Hamilton ask for Tom Athanasiou. Thank you Tom, for your help and professionalism! - Brodie M

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tom Athanasiou
August 27, 2019

"Very disappointing "

- G

I have been going to John Bear in Hamilton for quite a few years,never had a problem.I had the weather stripping on my 1998 Corvette replaced last week,the technician did a great job as usual.My car was washed and brought up for me,all looked well until I got in and went to drive away and noticed the driver mirror had been damaged.I went inside,voiced my complaint and after about 15 minutes the Service Manager came out.He immediately accused me of dropping it off damaged and trying to blame them.(NOT A GOOD START) then says this car has been worked on before.(IT HAS'NT AND THAT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH IT) then says looks like tape under mirror base(ACTUALLY IT IS A RUBBER WASHER) then proceeds to grab and push passenger side mirror(REALLY NO NEED) He then sarcastically says he will review security video and call me.Well I had to call him and he was to busy to review the video.All in all I paid $513 for a new mirror and they didn't charge me to install it.(GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE) Catherine at the service appointment counter is exceptional at her job,the service techs,top notch,the Service Manager is the worst I have ever dealt with,Ignorant,arrogant and absolutely no client care skills,so,because of this Manager I will not come there again. Thank you Catherine and all Techs who worked on my vehicles over the years.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Manager
August 17, 2019

"The serivice advisor "

- Kartik

I have been to many dealerships GM and non-GM. But this dealership has Dave Elliot. The advisor saved me from lot of worries about my recent company car problems. Dave cleared all misunderstanding about my service issues because he is not just an advisor but also an ex-mechanic at the same dealership. Highly experienced on all aspects of car issues- specifically GM cars. He is invaluable to any customer doing business with the dealership. He has exceptionally great people skill. My car ended up with engine light right after the service for coolant leak. The original adviser Thomas was of little help (lack of experience). Next day when I contacted the dealership, Dave happened to be there. He asked me to come in the afternoon. He plugged in his code analyzer and assured me that it was a minor issue and he asked me to continue driving until next week for service on the car. The entire visit took less than fifteen minutes. I was now driving without worrying about the engine light. Most of the GM dealerships may not have the benefit of an experienced service advisor like Dave. I Strongly recommend this dealership for sales and service because of Dave.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dave Elliot
August 02, 2019

"Many Years of Good Service and Excellent Sales Experiences "

- ilspark

I have enjoyed many years of excellent service on GM vehicles purchased from John Bear and others. This is my third car purchased with the help of Tom Athanasiou. He is a great salesman - no pressure, honest and very informative. I would recommend Tom to anyone who wants to purchase a new vehicle. Shirley and Catherine have been very helpful in service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Tom Athanasiou, John Misener, Shirley Elliott, Catherine Ribeiro
July 25, 2019

"1988 to 2019 worth of good service on 6 vehicles purchased."

- Bobby2019

Six pre-owned vehicles purchased and cared for by J. Bear plus service on a Ford Escort that was left to me, and all at what I consider excellent service and cost for a retired pensioner on a fixed income. I think some of the 'unhappy' customers would complain if the Queen of England personally served them lunch or dinner. My service reps have always advised and/or questioned me on any parts or problems required and often advised that with the low mileage I put on a vehicle, have advised if I didn't really need some part or procedure. I will stay with this kind of service as long as I continue being able to drive.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
John Scott, Shirley Elliott, Dave Elliott, Sean Smart (plus a couple more from earlier years.
June 26, 2019

"Horrible customer service"

- Smcgee

Terrible experience with my husbands 2017 Malibu. Nothing but problems since we have had this car. We purchased it brand new and the check engine light has come on about 9 times. We always get the run around when bringing it in for repairs. The staff is very rude over the phone and not much better in person. We wish we would have never stepped foot in this place and could return this car and go somewhere else. Do yourself a favour and DO NOT purchase a car from this place.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service dept, customer service
May 07, 2019

"I have been having service done at John Bear for years. "

- Blackie19

I have usually been happy with the service over the years. The service done was what needed to be done nothing more nothing less. Thanks.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Catherine Ribeiro
March 30, 2019

"Bunch of liars!"

- tylermadd

Everything they seem to say or do is misleading. After I bought my truck it was only a couple of months later that they were already threating me with service visits that needed to be done to keep my warranty intact. I'd get repeated calls from people who clearly knew nothing about cars telling me I needed to have my brakes cleaned at 5k, or wheels rotated in the first 2 months of ownership. It's all commission based, and when I recorded the call finally and shared it with GM headquarters they agreed and gave me a coupon for free oil changes and service visits for almost 2 years! This place is full of snakes, if your elderly parents have a vehicle with them, I'd STRONGLY recommend looking into what work they are saying is needed on the vehicle. I compared the GM warranty and service guide to the guide they printed for me and it literally doubled up the service visits from what GM recommended. I'd still buy from them, but I'd take it somewhere else directly after to avoid their crap and annoying phone calls from pushey threating maintenance salespeople.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
They're all snakes
1
...
1 - 10 of 41 results