Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Dealers, sign in to see your Dealer Panel.

Back

Guelph Volkswagen

Guelph, ON

2.2
33 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

359 Woodlawn Road West

Guelph, ON

N1H 7K9

Directions

Is this your dealership?

33 Reviews of Guelph Volkswagen

Sort by Write a review
October 26, 2020

"Worst Experience EVER!!! My sister is looking for a new..."

- mr

Worst Experience EVER!!! My sister is looking for a new vehicle. Since she doesn't know what she wants (car / SUV or brand) I suggested we just visit various car lots to test drive, get pricing and then she can make an educated decision on what is best for her. Guelph Volkswagen was the first stop. I was honest with the sales rep on what we were doing and letting him know this was the first car she is testing. After taking the car for a drive, we asked for pricing. This is where things went horribly wrong. The sales rep was trying to pressure her into signing for a vehicle without even seeing the price of the car. He said he wanted her to sign saying that if he provided a good price she would buy the car today. I was so angry at that high pressure sales tactic and told him it was so inappropriate to try and pressure a person into a sale especially when he knows we didn't know what vehicle would be right for her (car or SUV). I was even more angry when the sales rep left to talk to his manager and the manager came out defending this type of sales tactic. Keep in mind at this time we haven't even seen pricing. I asked for price comparisons on three different trim levels - again so she could make an educated decision on what was best for her. After the manager tried defending the tactic, I was so angry that I finally grabbed the price sheet, handed it to my sister and said let's go. I told the manager - you just lost a sale. Sadly, the only price they provide was of course, the highest trim level. How unprofessional. They didn't want her to go anywhere else, they didn't give her the price comparisons she asked for, and was trying to pressure someone into buying something that may not be right for the customer. We felt they had zero interest in the customer, they were only concerned with making the sale. Their excuse was because she wasn't from Guelph. That's right, she hasn't moved here YET!!! Me being from Guelph - I would never deal with someone who treats a customer like this. Good to know that not all new car dealerships in Guelph have such tacky sales tactics. After leaving Volkswagen, we went to other brands, test drove a few vehicles, got pricing on all variations possible and the sales reps simply said, when you are ready to make a decision, I'm here for you. Give me a call anytime. Exactly how a customer should be treated. All I can say is the Volkswagen team were totally unprofessional and displayed that they don't care at all about the customer's needs. They only see dollars!!! .

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Lawrence Bailey, Andrew Conrad
March 15, 2020

"Misleading and dishonest dealership "

- Normpy

Terrible Sales Manager; doesn’t care about losing a sale. Pleasant but inexperienced salesperson who has to run back to his Manager on every little thing.. Do not follow up on what they offer. Worst dealership experience ever.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales person and sales manager
March 03, 2020

"Treated despicably for warranty claims"

- Aidan

Long story short, I've been run around and treated horrendously by this dealership when it comes to service issues. I purchased a ~$1700+ extended warranty option (the in-house Volkswagen Assurance Premium) on a certified pre-owned Golf from Orangeville Volkswagen, but live in Guelph and therefore come to VW Guelph for my service issues. All of my experience has been with the service department and service issues, and not the sales department. I have spent probably 40+ hours, taken several days/half-days off work, and brought my car in at least a dozen times simply trying to resolve a few relatively minor issues with the vehicle. Every single time, without fault, the dealership has claimed that whatever the issue is, it is not covered by the "bumper-to-bumper" full extended warranty that I bought. The reasoning and excuses behind this have been different every time, which I will go into in detail. The first issue I had was with the keys not working at a range of more than ~5 ft, sometimes as close as 1-2 feet. I ended up coming back to VW Guelph probably 5-7 times for this issue alone. Every time they tried to charge me a "diagnostic fee" that I had to sign off on before they would even work with me. I only avoided this when I stood my ground and said that was despicable, and ridiculous, as I'm coming back in regarding the same issue. They also insisted this was not covered under my warranty for a number of reasons, ranging from the fact they can't produce a fault code, telling me the key range was normal and the range on these keys varies from car to car, etc. They had the nerve to continue saying this even after they themselves tested the keys and at one point couldn’t even get the keys to work while standing right next to the driver’s door. After months of bringing the car back, having to argue to avoid paying diagnostic fees every time, the issue was resolved by replacing the antenna unit (for which they tried to charge me for again, to which I had to stand my ground before they said they would do a favour and eat the cost - how nice of them…). I then had the same headache with three other issues: the automatic function on the front windows would never work, the entire layer of glass on the passenger side mirror fell off and smashed on the ground when I unfolded it, and the driver’s side dust shield came loose while driving on the 401, and started rubbing on the inside of the tire. The windows issue went similar to the keys, multiple times bringing it in, multiple failed attempts to fix it, multiple attempts to explain how it isn’t covered and they won’t do anything under warranty, until it was finally fixed by a simple replacement of the window motor. Again, attempts to charge me diagnostic fees, and to say any replacement will not be covered under warranty. The dust shield and passenger mirror I was told were not covered for numerous different reasons, ranging from the fact that they are wear and tear parts, to the fact that ice in winter can be the cause, to the potential of me hitting something. It was even suggested that I could have hit a curb, which could have caused the dust shield to come loose. How could I have hit a curb, with enough force to pull this metal piece off, with no signs of any damage to the underside of the vehicle, the wheel, the rotor that this piece sits directly behind, etc.? Well, apparently the onus of proof is on you, all they need to say is you could have, and they weasel their way out of a claim. I had already had the vehicle towed to the dealership for this issue, and unlike the first two issues, I could not operate the vehicle until it was fixed, so I had it towed to a private mechanic to have it replaced, as I could not justify paying to fix an issue with all of the issues they have put me through. Interestingly enough, the mechanic I took the vehicle to for this fix said it’s clear that this was not hit by anything, and its obvious to see that it was loose and from vibration over a long period of time, the bolt holes wore right through. I have pictures of the dust shield showing what it looked like after VW removed it as well, with no signs of damage that suggest it has hit a curb and ripped off like they try to say. Finally, I was told the same thing with my mirror. That maybe I hit something, or because of ice (whatever/however that would be the cause), that it is a wear and tear part, etc.. Again, I haven’t hit anything, and there are no signs of damage anywhere else on or around the mirror. The fact a mirror is considered a wear and tear part is also rather interesting. And if ice is a potential reason they want to use to justify their refusal to cover the fix, then perhaps they should understand that winter’s can be cold in Canada, and people will still drive their cars in the winter, and having a mirror fall off shouldn’t be considered a normal occurrence. So at the end of the day, I spent ~$1700+ on the best possible extended warranty, and it has done a combined total of nothing for me. I have spent 12+ visits to VW Guelph, taken lots of time off work, and paid for half of the fixes out of my own pocket anyway. And the things that I did not have to pay for, were only done so after multiple visits, failed fixes, and me standing up for myself and refusing to pay the ridiculous diagnostic fees and replacement costs that they tried to make me pay for. If my experience is in any way a representation of how VW Guelph and VW Canada as a whole like to treat their customers, then it is despicable and plain wrong, and potentially even illegal. I am at the point now where I will be seriously considering legal action, not even because I care about what I have had to pay for myself, but out of principle, because of how I have been treated and given the run around from day one. Consider avoiding the warranty, and definitely avoid bringing your vehicle to this dealer for anything warranty related at all, unless you’re willing to pay out of pocket, in which case they will be more than happy to help you. You’ve been warned.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Employees were polite, but of no help
December 11, 2019

"Took my sons 2011 golf in they said it needed a new..."

- Average joe

Took my sons 2011 golf in they said it needed a new transmission costing $5000 took it somewhere else for another opinion and it in fact did not need a transmission it needed a pan and filter so $500 instead of $5000. They charged me $300 to add 5 litres of transmission fluid after they emptied it to look at it. Only 3 litres came out at the other dealer 2 hrs later. The quoted 1hr of labour at $122 to diagnose when I got the bill it was $600 with half being that 5L of fluid.....brutal These are scammers and do not take your car there.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John
November 06, 2019

"I feel the Service Department of this dealer is..."

- Rob

I feel the Service Department of this dealer is unethical. I feel they do unnecessary work to inflate costs and this rips off customers. I just brought a car in with a flat tire and was told I needed four new tires, alignments, mechanical assessment fee. We were also told the car was ready at 6pm and there would be an “overnight charge” if it wasn’t picked up before they closed at 8:30pm. An overnight charge????? Please. They of course justify everything they did (and full out denied the overnight charge when I questioned them on it after the fact - with nothing in writing or the call recorded, it is simply my word against theirs - but who wants to work with a dealer where you need to record your phone calls?) but the fact remains that if they personally had a flat tire (or someone in their family did) they would not do all they recommended and think a $534 bill to repair a flat was a rip off. They wouldn’t do it because it was excessive and unnecessary. Best to find an honest mechanic and avoid these people.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Dept
May 22, 2019

"improper diagonisis parts installed did not fix problem"

- repair

after bill paid complaint made promised follow up then ignored will contact consumer relations car still shaking other work recommended but original repair shoddy thought they advertised experts not my experience will exercise my consumer rights

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
service advisors
January 29, 2019

"Amaing, Caring and Dedicated staff, Hassle free"

- Chrissy

The staff were absolutely wonderful, not only did they make sure that I got the best pricing (poor student), they also made sure that I was looked after quickly and hassle free! The one care representative sat down and walked me through line by line what my service was going to cost, why, and what they were doing to my car! And on top, they covered my rental car! I was skeptical to go to a Dealership for my service since I've had bad experiences with other dealerships, however this visit changed my mind completely!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Clarke, Bj (also a nice woman I forget her name)
December 24, 2018

"Exceptional service from start to finish!!!"

- IRP

I needed to make a vehicle change and end the lease on my current vehicle and get into something new. I bought a new 2019 Jetta from Guelph VW and the service was amazing! Alejandro listened carefully to what I needed and what my priorities were, he worked with me to get the price within the range I was looking for, he found me the car I wanted FAST. I loved that the communication along the way was honest and clear. My questions were answered and I was never left wondering what was happening next. I arrived to find my shiny new car all ready to go, accessories I ordered installed, snow tires on, and a big red bow on the top (nice touch)! I was in a hurry to get going so Maria showed me exactly what I needed to know to get started and encouraged me to contact her anytime with questions as I get to know my new car. As a woman, shopping for a car can be intimidating and you question if you are getting taken advantage ... Guelph VW has looked after my car needs with the highest integrity for years - I wouldn't go anywhere else! Thanks GVW ??

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Alejandro, Ron, Maria
July 27, 2018

"Friendly and helpful"

- carscarscars

I've been into Guelph VW a few times now (for service usually) but I do walk around the showroom while waiting sometimes and everyone I've dealt with is always warm and happy to talk to you! The sales people don't pressure you to buy a car when your servicing yours, they are happy to just have a normal conversation or answer any questions you have about new products etc.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Various Sales people/staff
June 22, 2018

"1-2 week wait for brake light!"

- Adele

I called today to book installation of a lightbulb and was told they can fit me in in either one week or two! That’s after waiting on the poor reception phone for 15 minutes.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
I don’t know
1
...
1 - 10 of 33 results