Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Crown Automax

Winnipeg, MB

N/A
59 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

1700 Waverley St

Winnipeg, MB

R3T 5V7

Directions

59 Reviews of Crown Automax

Sort by Write a review
December 09, 2018

"Disappointed...."

- CarguyHeero

Went there a couple of months ago..... Complete waste of time. I saw a vehicle that I liked on the website. Went there to check it out. Got to talk with Arlin (he was very rude by the way). Talked to their sales guy, then we found out the vehicle that I wanted was from Crown Nissan. So the sales guy showed me other vehicles from their inventory but I did not like them. So they said they will find a way to get the car that I wanted from Crown Nissan. After 2 hours of waiting at Automax sales guy said he will just give me a call asap so see how things worked out. So I waited 3 days no call... decided to call him and he said he still has no news regarding the car I wanted but he said he will call me back the next day. 2 days passed no call... i called him back maybe twice a week for 2 weeks but all I get is his answering machine. I left several messages asking him to call me back. At 3rd week my wife stopped me from calling them. It felt like I was waiting for a job interview or something... frankly they made me look like a fool or desperate. I was going to spend my money on them and this is how they treat customers?! What got me even mad was they collected all my details and got me pre approved (they did a credit inquiry).... all for nothing!!! Wasted my time visiting Automax... looked like a fool waiting for their call... wasted a credit inquiry that will now show on my credit history.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Crown Automax
2.0
November 16, 2018

"NEVER AGAIN. . .a lengthy review as so many things were bad!"

- Heybuddy

I was looking at a Kia Optima, sat in the car with the door open and the salesman standing right there. I moved the seat forward and heard a grinding noise. When talking to the salesman inside the dealership he asked how I liked the vehicle. I told him that my first impressions were favourable except for the “grinding” front seat. “What grinding?” was his response, he was standing right there when I moved the seat, selective hearing, perhaps? More issues to come later, but how did they deal with the front seat issue? I ended up saying that I was interested in the car, but that the front seat had to be fixed, “no problem” was the response. I have “back issues” and asked if I could take the car home overnight so that I could drive it the next afternoon when my back was less sore. They said this was okay, that was a plus in their column. The next a.m. the salesman called to see if he could come to pick the car up? Whaaaaaat, not what we agreed to, now a minus in their column. When he shows up he has a bill of sale with him and on this bill of sale, all “after sales”things like undercoating, extended warranty etc. were marked as “Declined”. We had discussed one of these items, none of the others had even been mentioned. I have bought many cars and the purchase process was NEVER like this. However, on the ride home in the Kia I had decided that I liked it, it had the amenities I needed and was at my price point. So here I take some of blame for giving him a deposit at that point without doing another “walk around” when I might have noticed the peeling clear coat and a left side quarter panel that was jutting out a bit. However, I did say that I would take the car on the proviso that the grinding front seat be fixed. That was agreed to and the car was taken back for detailing and to repair the front seat. So I’m picking the car up, the salesman and I were both in the car, I moved the front seat and guess what, GRINDING!!! I looked at him, as in “are you kidding me?” and he, rather sheepishly, said that they would not fix the front seat because of their “slim profit margin”!!! Why had I trusted that they would repair it, as verbally agreed to, because all other dealerships that I’ve dealt did what they said they were going to do as a condition of sale. When I said that I was going to the manager about this issue, they then agreed to fix the seat. A couple of months later, the salesman called to see how things were going, I said they were fine except for the peeling clear coat and the aforementioned left quarter panel. The salesman knew that I generally disliked my whole buying experience with Crown Automax, so to try to appease me he said he would ask about getting the body shop to fix the clear coat (it was only patches on the front of the car, not a huge job. I was pleasantly surprised that he would do this, sadly, things once more, went amok!! A few days later he left a message saying they had no record of my paying for “undercoat”. Whaaaaat, I had NEVER said undercoat, I clearly said clear coat. This salesman was very nice, tried hard, but was befuddled. At one point in the whole process I had asked him if he were new to selling cars, as that would have explained some of the ineptitude, but no he wasn’t new, just a little confused. NEXT ISSUE, I took the Kia to have winter tires installed at the auto service centre where I’ve had work done for over 30 years. He asked if I wanted the “winter inspection”? I didn’t think the car would need any work as it had just been safetied at Crown Toyota a month before I bought the car (I had driven 2,600 kms). However, I agreed to a quick “once over”. The first call I got as it was being serviced was to ask if I wanted to replace the cabin filter as it was “filthy”, thx Crown Automax, a nice touch. The next call was more serious, the rear brakes were seizing up and had to be taken apart and cleaned. Plus, the front ball joints were loose (no, I had not hit any big potholes!!!), and would have to be replaced. These are both SAFETY issues. The service manager where the car was having the tires installed, felt that this car SHOULD NOT HAVE PASSED THE GOVERNMENT SAFETY!!! I called the service manager at Crown Toyota where it had been “safetied” and asked if he would call the manager at the centre where they had discovered these problems. Then it would be a mechanic talking to a mechanic without me as a middleman. The service manager at Crown Toyota has not called the other manager and will not return my calls either. The manager of the service centre where the car was repaired, told me that in his 40 years in this field that dealerships (e.g. Crown, in this case) tend to follow pretty loose guidelines when doing their own safeties, turns out he was right, in my case. So a big thx to Crown Toyota for my, somewhat heftier than expected, repair bill. And lastly, I have to buy a new battery. So “BUYER BEWARE” was never more true than with Crown Automax, abetted in this case, by Crown Toyota. Oops, forgot to mention that their detailing was the worst I’ve ever seen from a dealership. I’m a 74-year old woman and I can detail a car waaay better than their detailing dept.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Bikram
September 24, 2018

"So unorganized "

- Anon

Iv been leasing a car with them for two years. Every time there’s an issue, Arlin is very rude. Whenever I call them they transfer me countless times and never communicate with each other the things we have gone over countless times, which leads to mistakes in taking out my payments and a lot of wasted time.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Arlin
May 11, 2018

"Prompt and a trulyIn great experience!"

- Gojetsgo!2018

In coming out of a situation i was at a point of renewal in many ways, and as i had an idea of features on my trade-in purchase...i was surprisingly presented with a find that was over and above and even met my ideal criteria in mind and more!...just love my High Altitude Compass that was priced right and great features shown to me the next day...its almost a month into it now and must say i am pleasingly still surprised of the find!...Bikram was very helpful in navigating through the process even as i was learning the ropes within...thankyou kudos to all!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Arlin Axelrod Janie Fisher Bikram Parmar
May 14, 2018 -

Crown Automax responded

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is appreciated and happy to hear of the thorough service you received. We look forward to your next visit!

May 16, 2016

"Nice try"

- Betterthenyourdealers

So after a month of wheeling and dealing my time was almost time to tak my vehicle home i negotiated everything separate price trade in every small detail asked for everythibg as all in price. So get the contract find all the feed still listed on bill of sale i told them explicitly no fees tgen tgey add them nice try and they thought oh we will just put into the contract to fibance through bank nice try xxxxxxx i am a contractor and know how to read one trying to up my cobtract finance rate to 5.2% when we agreed on 4.9% nice try again third time bill of sale clean and then they tried to inflate price to as they say float my bank loan to get more out of the other bank, basically told them no sale non negotiable and to turn in my deposit or idxreport them for fraud

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Alot
October 27, 2015

"Excellent customer service!!"

- Happy customer

My husband and I are really happy with this car buying experience. Patrick gets a A+ rating from us. He provided us with excellent customer service. He offered us lots of different options that were suitable for our needs and budgets. We dealt with bad salesmen before and hated the thought of car buying. Patrick completely changed our perspective and we are glad we met him.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Patrick Van Straten
March 15, 2015

"Extemely Satisfied!"

- Senior

I am a Senior woman that took the task, to find a car by myself. I had spent many weeks researching different vehichles online and I also went to 8 different dealerships. I wasn't quite sure what I was looking for ( I loved my PT Crusier, but since they don't make them anymore, I couldn't buy another one). I went to Auto Max and meet Patricik Van Straten, he was very unintemedating, friendly & extremely knowledgable. He helped me narrow it down. I ended up buying a 2014 Kia Forte, it was exactly what I was looking for, plus the price was right. I Love IT! And I am extremely grateful to Patrick, for making this an overall Excellent Experience. "OK, all you senior Ladies, (needing a new ride) I challenge you all to go to Auto Max on Waverley and meet Patrick and you will not need to look any farther, because I know he will look after you!" Game On!!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Patrick Van Straten
September 03, 2014

"A great dealership with honest, friendly and helpful staff"

- mah123

I just bought a used car yesterday and could not wait to write about the amazing experience I had with this dealership, I moved to Canada recently and it was the first time that I bought a car here. I worked with Scott Smith. He was such an honest, friendly and helpful person. He explained everything clearly and answered all my questions. I was not put under any pressure to buy a car unlike most of the car dealers out there. Cary (Financial advisor) and Scott told me right from the beginning that the car is still covered by factory warranty and I don't need to buy an extended warranty. This shows how honest they are, specially since I am a foreigner here in Canada and can be easily deceived. I will definitely recommend this dealership to all my friends and colleagues. I almost forgot to mention that Scott has a great sense of humor, which made my experience very fun and worthwile. I also got the car for a very good and reasonable price. Overall I highly recommend this dealership to anyone who wants to buy a vehicle based on my experience with them.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Scott Smith
August 22, 2014

"Gap coverage "

- Bigchop

Snowballed" into great news the bank accept all these coverages "even though I didn't ask for it. Saying it's not going to cost anything but yet on paper there was 4 thousand in additional charges. So they are very cleaver in that the make you sign everything then go over it. The gap insurance was to cover incase of a total loss accident the difference between what mpi will give u and the loan, in theory a good idea but I had put 8500 down between cash and trade. Well the low and behold I got my suv smoked by a dunk driver, so here I am thinking what ever total loss but I'm covered well read the fine print the down payment is now lost that's not in the coverage. So I call the gap provider and told them my situation and even the guy from them said that the finance guy shouldnt have sold u gap insurance with such a large down payment cause now mpi will give me what the loan is worth anyway cause I owed way less then what the suv is worth. So basically be very careful. Also watch cause they first said the payments were over 60 mnths which seemed great and he even pointed it out on the paper work till I got home I read that the term was 60 mnths but the amortization was 84 mnth when I went back I got well u signed it, so never finance through them ever . I will say that ryndel and the whole sales group are a great bunch of guys. But finance guy i won't ever deal with again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ryndel and kerry
May 08, 2014

"Buyer BEWARE!!!!!"

- kevindjr

I purchased a Mazda ZX-7 from automax. The second vehicle I purchased from this dealership. I was sold an expensive insurance package with my previous vehicle and the car insurance was set up in a way that of all the problems I had with the car the insurer did not cover any of it. And, it was sold with a promise of $1000 back if the insurance was not used. I was covered for 45,000 kilometers. When I passed that and attempted to claim my refund I was told over the phone that I had to call back in 2014 (it was 2012). I called back in January of 2014 and was told I passed my 90 day claim period (which started in May 2013). They thought of everything! I was needing a car very quickly. My car broke down. It was early December and cold and my wife had a vacation planned and would be driving to the US on Dec 17. We were in a rush to buy a car. So, this time I was not going to purchase auto insurance from Automax. In negotiating for the car, the person handling auto financing offered me a premium warranty that "would not cost you more." I understood that to mean it would not cost me more money. When I went to sign the papers there was a fee for $2500 for insurance. I asked what this was about. The finance guy traced his hand from the $2500 to where there was a $2000 credit and then to the total. I was confused. I also asked about a $399 "etching fee". They claim they mark all parts of the car to discourage auto theft. I asked to have this fee removed and was told they "we do this for all cars." I didn't ask for this, was never told about it, and only noticed it when sitting down to sign the purchase agreement for the car. There was another fee for a Premium Tire Insurance coverage for $399. I'd never heard of such a thing and didn't want this either. I was told basically the same thing "we do this for all cars." Me and my wife had spent a frantic week looking at cars and it was now less than a week before we would be leaving on our vacation. We needed a car and I felt pressured to sign "because this is on all car sales" and because wouldn't have time to look for another car. I was assured about the tire insurance that it would "literally cover any tire damage." I doubted I'd need it, but what choice did I have. And, in terms of the Premium Auto Insurance, itt seemed there was a $2000 credit towards that I trusted that all the fees and total were legitimate. I signed--BIG MISTAKE. While the finance person said it wouldn't cost me anymore for the auto insurance, it did. It cost me $2500. In reviewing the bill at home with my wife, we realized that what he was pointing to as a "minus $2000 amount" was my down payment. I felt stupid. I had been deceived. I called the company and explained how I had been misled and wanted to insurance for the car and the tired removed. I was told there was no reason to worry as this could be easily canceled through the insurer. I contacted the insurer and to cancel the auto insurance was easy but it cost me $100 to cancel something I never wanted and was misled into agreeing to. As for the tire insurance, I was told that this could not be canceled. At least I have the $2500, I thought and as upset and tired of this whole matter, I let it go. I was sure I'd never use tire insurance, but I had it if anything happened. Well, something did, and this is what motivated me to write about this horrible ordeal with Automax. One rear winter tire developed a bulge. I brought this tire in and had the tire shop call the insurer. It was over 2 weeks before hearing back and I was told that this bulge was not covered. While I never asked for this insurance, tried to have it removed and finally accepted it out of defeat, I still felt that what I had been told by the Automax saleman regarding the tire insurance coverage has some semblance of truth--that "it literally covered anything". Well, it didn't, and like the insurance I purchased before with Automax, it didn't cover any claims I made. As a note, one of the winter tires we purchased from Automax in December went flat while we were in Fargo! These were brand new tires I purchased out of safety concerns, especially since we have a new baby. My advice when buying from Automax: Buyer Beware.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Greg in Finance, Shawn "manger"
1
...
1 - 10 of 59 results