Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back

Colonial Honda

Halifax, NS

2.2
15 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

2657 Robie St

Halifax, NS

B3K 4N9

Directions

Is this your dealership?

15 Reviews of Colonial Honda

Sort by Write a review
July 01, 2020

"Will try to sell you cars they don't own, and ignore you!"

- grichardson1999

I booked an appointment with the sales manager Anthony to view and buy a vehicle, they still made the appointment for me knowing the car has been sold for days. Then they proceeded to tell me that there is another model similar to that one but that car wasn't on the lot, nor even on their inventory. The customer service was disgusting I waited for an hour to even be spoken to if I didn't walk in an office that the staff members were chatting in I would not have been "taken care of". I even asked the receptionist if she knew where the dealer was and she said that she didn't know his number. People came in, went on test drives and came back before I was helped. Very unprofessional, unorganized and rude staff.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Anthony Stundon, Ryan Rogers
November 08, 2019

"STAY AWAY! Disappointing for a professional dealership "

- Tobias

The service I received was textbook of a stereotypical used car salesmen. The main issue at first was that when I came to get my car they "didn't have the ownership on hand" (sketchy). I was assured that this was just an administrative issue and that they would have them to me within a week. After almost a month of repeated calling they had the papers ready. During this month my license plates expired (which I couldn't renew without ownership papers) and I was promised I would be compensated for this which I never was. The second issue I experienced with them was that they signed me up for an "extra insurance package" when I later looked at my paperwork the box agreeing to the insurance had been check and initialed by the guy in finance, Chris, and he had explained my absence of a signature by noting that the car was purchased over the phone ... which it wasn't... everything else had original signatures. Clearly he signed me up for this after I left cause he gets a pretty bonus on it. When I confronted him about it apologies were made and I was told I would be refunded but again that was almost a month ago and despite repeated follow up's they have not refunded anything.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Chris and Ryan
June 25, 2019

"Great place to buy a new Honda"

- HondaGuy

Very accommodating and knowledgeable. I had a great experience. Best place in HRM to buy a new Honda. My Sales Representative set up my phone, Apple car play, customized my vehicle. Outstanding service!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Luc Arcand
September 14, 2018

"Very Bad Service"

- venk

Capless gas tank is a failure for Honda Civic 2017. During winter the gas tank flaps freezes and its so difficult to removes the ice from inside the flaps. When asked the service about this, they replied " use a plastic bag on it so that water or ice doesn't enter your gas tank anyways NOTHING WRONG IF WATER GOES INSIDE THE GAS TANK". Feeling very upset after buying from these guys. Will never go for COLONIAL HONDA again in my life.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Brian Vickery
June 21, 2018

"Great team!"

- Newcargal.

My experience when purchasing a new Honda Civic SE at Colonial Honda was great. What was most meaningful about this experience was the help from Ryan. As a young adult who is still in school it really went a long way that Ryan tried to get me the best deal possible. I had gone to both HRM Honda dealerships to ensure that I was getting the best deal out there since funds are a little tight right now and my experience with Colonial was so much better than with Portland. While Portland street is a bigger location with new looks and more to offer in the way of amenities, my customer service experience was much more enjoyable with Colonial. While at Portland I felt like just another customer to them and was rushed into buying. We were discussing numbers and once we agreed upon an original number for him to bring to his manager I had assumed he would come back saying this number was approved or disapproved and ask how we wanted to proceed from there, however when he came back he congratulated me on my new car. His instructions were very unclear and rushed and I had no intentions of buying that day, I just wanted to see what the bottom number would be so I could go home and think it over. Once he congratulated me I felt pressured to continue on and next thing I knew I was meeting with the finance manager discussing what I would need in order to proceed. I did not put a deposit down or sign any papers but had assumed that was that. In the meantime, I had to cancel the upcoming scheduled meeting I had with colonial and upon cancellation they offered me to beat the price of Portland. Of course as a young adult I was interested in hearing what they had to offer. I called them and explained the situation and asked if I was locked in. They explained that I was not locked in because I did not sign the lease agreement or put a deposit down so I went in to see what they could give me. I worked with Ryan and he was very understanding and patient and offered for us to take the night to think about everything. The following morning I had explained the deal that colonial had offered me to Portland and the sales rep that I worked with prior to quickly called me expressing his embarrassment and anger that we had talked with colonial and that he now has to go back to his manager and present a new deal. He was very passive aggressive over the phone and completely steered me the wrong way. I was so taken back by his approach and I knew that he immediately lost my business as I felt attacked and disrespected. Customer service to me means you meet the client where they are at and do whatever you can to earn their trust and business. Because I was already so far in with Dartmouth I probably would have went with them if he had just said yes we of course can beat the deal they presented you and will do what it takes to earn your business. Instead, he lost all my respect so I immediately called Ryan to see what he could do for us as I wanted to give him our business. Ryan's approach was much more appropriate and meaningful and I felt like he truly recognized what it might be like to buy a car for the first time, showing me extreme patience and understanding. I never felt rushed or pressured to purchase by Ryan but still felt like our business would mean a lot to him and he would do what it took to get us the best deal. Ryan was also good to clearly explain what was happening and check in with me to make sure he knew where I was at in the buying stages, curious about what I was needing from him. I felt as though this experience was truly about me and not just about Ryan moving me along quickly to meet his sales expectations as per my other experience. He truly earned my business. He was quick to respond to any questions or concerns I had and on top of this was very knowledgable. I would HIGHLY recommend working with Ryan and the colonial team as exceptional customer service is much more important to me than the physicality of Portland Street. Additionally, Alysha the finance manager was so kind, approachable and met all my expectations despite the quick time crunch she was under as I wanted the car by a certain date. Her smile and fun-loving personality is sometimes hard to come by in the business world!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ryan Rogers, Alysha MacPherson
May 08, 2018

"Awesome service "

- Jess123

Our visit to Colonial Honda was exceptional! I highly recommend when buying a new car to go to see George! George takes stres off anyone buying a new car! He made the experience so comfortable! Elliott in finance was also over the top! These people push for you to have the best and they don’t leave you hanging! I highly recommend

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
George MacDonald, Elliott Thorpe
May 03, 2018

"Exceptional customer service "

- Deb123

I’ve owned my CRV for a little while and have been looking to upgrade . I have been dealing with a salesman who has gone above and beyond to ensure I get the right vehicle to suit my lifestyle and budget. Very friendly and efficient without being pushy.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Greg Patterson
April 07, 2018

"Great service from the service department"

- Hatch1986

I've been taking my Civic to the Honda dealership in Dartmouth for several years but found the service has been in decline the past few visits. I took it to Colonial and was very impressed with the friendliness if the staff. They got my car back to me ON TIME and did a great job reviewing everything they did. Will definitely return.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Cheryl
December 12, 2017

"VERY slow service"

- sickofwaiting

Waited 2.25 hours to get a key made and programmed. I made an appointment for 1030am and got out at 1245pm after paying $162.00. Others who arrived AFTER me were in and gone as I waited and waited. When I finally asked about the wait I was told they were very busy... Could not recommend unless someone is desperate for service. Everyone who was finished before me was also told they needed more than what they were scheduled for in terms of service. HMMMM...

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
don't know
September 15, 2017

"New car sales"

- CRV owner

I just bought a new CRV. On a scale of 1-5 where 5 is "exceeds expectations ", I would rate Elliott Thorpe, our sales person, as a 5+. As a buyer, the whole process went very smoothly with Elliott's help. Furthermore, as a senior citizen, I appreciate the way Elliott presented all the new technical specs in a way That was easy to understand..

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Elliott Thorpe
1
1 - 10 of 15 results