Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Clarington Toyota

Bowmanville, ON

5.0
9 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

10 Spicer Sq

Bowmanville, ON

L1C 5M2

Directions

9 Reviews of Clarington Toyota

Sort by Write a review
November 20, 2019

"Excellent Experience "

- Toyota1

The only reason we are now a Toyota customer is because of the great experience we had with Guy Jacob (salesman) and the team at Clarington Toyota. For some background, we were looking to purchase a new Rav4 Hybrid from inventory before the end of the year and we had very unprofessional and discouraging experiences at two Toyota dealerships. This included one at Woodbridge Toyota were the sales manager told us we had to pay full msrp AND a $1500 maintenance package AND $1500 for undercoating. In effect, he was telling us we had to pay $3000 over msrp to buy the car and that this was non-negotiable. Needless to say we left very quickly. We are easy-going, low maintenance people that realize sometimes "stuff" happens but at the same time we expect to be treat fairly, professionally and with respect when looking to make a purchase. After those two experiences, we were second guessing whether we would ever want to be a Toyota customer. We decided to try one more time knowing a "third strike" would mean we would avoid Toyota for any new car purchase in the future. That is when we met Guy Jacob and the team at Clarington Toyota. I phoned Guy to confirm they had a Rav4 hybrid in inventory and we arranged to meet later that day. A nice touch, he had car ready for us to look at the front the dealership when we arrived. Guy was down to earth, professional and very knowledgeable about the car. The negotiation process, in contrast to our previous experiences, was quick, straightforward and fair and that same day we became first time customers of Toyota and proud owners of a new Rav4 hybrid. We are very happy we made the trip out to Clarington Toyota. All of the people at the dealership we met and talked to we very friendly and professional. We will certainly recommend Guy and Clarington Toyota to all of our friends and family and Guy, we will come and see you when we are ready to buy our next vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Guy Jacob
November 09, 2018

"Review of Service Dept Only"

- poorservice loses customers

First off, I am very pleased with the sales staff, and with the vehicle. What I am dissapointed in is the service department. I have taken my vehicle there for every 8000 km servicing, and every time I bring it in it's always "toyota recommends etc" totally unneccesary work. I'm no mechanic, but know enough to do some research prior to authorizing work. Took it in for winter tire changeover ( part of the deal when I bought the car) and the service advisor suggested that my winter tires, which are on rims, and they installed, should be rebalanced! At 64000 Km was told new brakes all round, for $1500.00!!! Went to my trusted local mechanic, who quoted me $900.00, and said not to do them yet. Had them done at 76k. I could go on and on. In summary, liked buyting the car there, but from now on service will be done elsewhere.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
none
Dec 12, 2019 -

Clarington Toyota responded

Clearly we have not met your expectations with regard to service. Could please you call Jonathan, our service manager with your name and repair order information so that we can see exactly what happened here? 905-697-9555 or 1-866-697-9555 (Toll Free). Thanks so much.

September 10, 2018

"HOSTILE"

- Unhappy could have been buyer

Adam, the sales rep there was RUDE, HOSTILE & JUDEGY when not refusing to continue with the deal. When I had come in there APOLOGETIC & simply has stated what I was feeling & tried to explain my side of what had happened. Adam didn’t once stop to LISTEN to what I was saying. All he did was lose his professionalism. Got rude, hostile & gain attitude. He would speak with his arms crossed & with a glare look. He did not at all try and see if there was further assistance in fixing or maybe helping the situation but instead decided to try to be discouraging & blame everyone else around him but himself. He did not ONCE apologize or talk in a respectful way, especially it being my FIRST TIME as a car buyer. The ONLY person who was kind enough to speak and TRY to do something for me, was the manager who spoke with such professionalism and care. But ADAM, was outright rude, judgmental & not accommodating.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Adam
September 10, 2018

"Disappointed with service department"

- Nssarullah

Great sales staff. Pearl Rogers is a gem. However, the service department caught me off guard for not honouring my Prius C warranty with only 25k km. Reason provided to me was that I didn't drive the car for five months and appearently if you don't drive your car, you lose warranty I suppose? I was getting ready to upgrade to highlander with Pearl Rogers. And was gonna keep bringing my car here for service. But after this incident, I'm debating whether I should do any of that. It's a shame when dealership does not how much business they can lose over few hundred dollars. Not to mention the fact the questionable reasons for not honouring my warranty provided to me.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Jonathan, Steve
April 03, 2018

"Fantastic team!"

- David Kenneth Mann

I've just purchased my 6th vehicle from Clarington Toyota and they still impress me everytime! The entire team are excellent and continually go above and beyond my expectations. I'll never go anywher else and make a point of telling everyone to deal with them. SO IMPRESSED!! Cheers to everyone there and thanks!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Matt Gleed, David Bunn
March 24, 2018

"Great Staff, Knowledgeable and Friendly"

- Robert G

From the moment you walk in the staff is friendly inviting and knowledgeable about the vehicles they sell. Jim was a pleasure to deal with, knew about the cars and was very informative (and a good sense of humour). I also met with Matt, Don and David. I got a great deal and am very pleased with the price I paid. I'll be back the next time I need a new car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jim Wilson, Matt Gleed, Don Gleed, David Bunn
March 18, 2018

"ABOVE AND BEYOND !!!"

- alexdw

I returned to my new Toyota SE today which was parked on a Toronto street. I was dismayed to see that a driver had clipped the driver's side mirror enough to pull off part of the housing. Cars were whizzing by. I was struggling to replace it without success. Suddenly, a kind gentleman came walking along. It was none other than Donald Gleed, President of Clarington Toyota. He had noticed my predicament as he passed by and returned to help. Had it fixed in no time. Now THAT'S a Good Samaritan. Unbelievable service delivered by Clarington Toyota ... spontaneous and 65 km. from their dealership! Thank you Mr. Gleed! p.s. GREAT CAR!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mr. Donald Gleed
November 16, 2017

"Go to a mechanic you trust."

- MeganF

This rating is for the service department. We came to Clarington Toyota to have a review done of a used Toyota we wanted to purchase privately. We asked them to fully review the car to see if it was worth the purchase price. They did the 55 point inspection checklist and gave the car back. No comments of problems. Once we purchased the car we found out from our own mechanic that the was not driveable and should have been towed. It would also require over $4,000 in repairs. I corresponded with Matt Gleed of Clarington to resolve this issue. His final respones was 'We performed a 55 point inspection on the vehicle and the recommendations we made we believe to be accurate.' We have been dealing with Stouffville Toyota since it opened in 2010. We should have taken the vehicle there. Stouffville would have advised us to return the car. My suggestion, go to a mechanic you trust. Just because it says Toyota, does not mean you get get the service advice you need.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Matt Gleed
November 08, 2017

"Very helpful and friendly"

- patanddave

I went to this dealership while shopping for my first car and Ricardo Burns was extremely helpful. He helped us understand all of the financing options available and was very honest and easy to deal with.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Ricardo Burns
1
1 - 9 of 9 results