Dealer Panel | Are you a dealer? Learn more
Search
Back
Write a review

Bytek Volkswagen

2.4

31 Lifetime Reviews

1325 St Laurent, Ottawa, Ontario K1G 0Z7 Directions
Sales: (613) 745-6886

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

31 Reviews of Bytek Volkswagen

Sort by Write a review
March 20, 2019

"No complaints here - good service"

- VWowner

We bought our 2013 Golf Wagon from Bytek in early 2014 with 14K on it and have had it serviced by them since then. Our interactions with the staff have been positive, the work has always been done satisfactorily and the prices charged have not seemed unreasonable. I have to agree that getting through on the phone is sometimes frustrating, but I now use on-line booking to make service appointments and it works well.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Many
March 14, 2019

"Worst customer service ever (rust claim)"

- Bytek

RATING: 0 It’s now been a year. We’ve tried calling to find out what’s up with our claim. For the third time now, “no pictures and no claim on file sir”. ABSOLUTE xxxxING xxxxxxxx. VW customer service told me and my neighbor, “you should have a response within 3-4 weeks, if you vehicle will get fixed or not”. NOT with Bytek. I won’t be dealing with Bytek any longer. DO NOT, I REPEAT DO NOT GO TO BYTEK VW.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Joe Fresh
January 29, 2019

"TERRIBLE"

- FEDUP

DOES NOT MATTER HOW MANY TIMES YOU TRY TO GET THROUGH AND TALK TO SOMEONE, YOU NEVER GET THROUGH!!! CAN ONLY LEAVE MESSAGE AND HOPE SOMEONE CALLS YOU BACK. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE...... NOT TO MENTION HOW UNFRIENDLY THE RECEPTIONIST IS. ABSOLUTELY NO PHONE ETIQUETTE!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
N/A
January 16, 2019

"Cash grab for repairs "

- disgruntled client

Wanted to charge me for a $350 for defective seat belt? Really. This is is my fault? Also a number of other mysterious defects were found.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Not sure
November 20, 2018

"Worst customer service ever (rust claim)"

- Elisabeth97

In August 2018 purchased my car from friends who had been dealing with Bytek for a rust claim since January 2018. They tried following up many times, especially in the spring and summer 2018, but were repeatedly told they were 'in the queue, just waiting for parts'. Before selling their car to me, they were lead to believe, by Bytek, that their claim was approved and that it would be transferred to me. In fact we learned, after I bought the car, that the claim could not be transferred and I had to start a new one. In the process, I also learned that the claim was actually NEVER submitted by Bytek for the previous owners who had come in for pictures in January 2018. I came to Bytek in early August 2018, they took pictures, and after multiple follow-ups with the rust claim staff, and later the dealership director, all they could say to me was 'you are in the queue'. I was 'in the queue' until late October, then got fed up and approached another dealership (that submitted my claim and had it approved in 2 weeks). FOUR MONTHS after taking pictures of my car, they still did not submit my rust claim online. I will no longer do business with Bytek. This was the worst customer service I experienced, ever. PS Since it was impossible to reach the rust claim staff by phone (he never picks up), I tried coming by in person to gather information before we start the claim process. He was not at his desk. Despite many calls and paging by other staff, he did not show up for over an hour. I walked around the premises to find him chatting over coffee with colleagues in a different part of the dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Aldis Cisneros, Greg Taylor
October 11, 2018

"Byted 2016 Touareg Fiasco"

- gurban287

I am a Canadian Forces member with a valid CFOne card, and am eligible for the Canadian Forces Military Appreciation Program. According to the Bytek website, I am eligible for a 5% discount over and above any factory incentives at the time of purchase. As well as 10% off all parts and service, and access to VW's Volkswagen Plus Membership for free, which gives other perks and incentives. I made an appointment with JD Brown at Bytek VW, and informed him well in advance when I would be there. Just before the appointment, I told them I would be a little late, so they had even more time to prepare for the test drive. JD was friendly and courteous, but did not seem to know anything about the vehicle he was selling. I was interested in the 2016 Touareg Diesel Highline 3.0 TDI 8sp at w/Tip 4M. The picture shown on the website has the same vehicle, but the windows are all tinted on the website. When I arrived, the windows were only partially tinted in the rear. I looked around the vehicle, noticing light rust on the rotors, but that the calipers had been either painted, or replaced as new. There were also pretty bad rust colored stains under the front driver and passenger seats. This was on a titan black interior color, so it was pretty bad. The test drive was going well, but during the test drive, the tire pressure light came on. JD passed it off as "hot weather" causing the light to come on. In my 30 years of driving experience, I have never seen a tire pressure indicator tripped because of "hot weather". The fact that it happened during a test drive where they had plenty of time to inspect and perform maintenance tasks on the vehicle. I was slightly annoyed, but wasn't expecting much, considering my opinion on car salesmen was already very low. I also know that uneven tire pressure can lead to mechanical problems with any parts connected to the wheels, like the tie rods, sway bar, steering knuckle, wheel alignment, and many other critical parts can be affected. I put my hoodie in the back seat, asking JD to remind me to get it after the test drive was over. His lack of attention to this detail was a sign to me that he wasn't interested in customer satisfaction. I had to go out and get it, after I had gone through all the financing options with him and his associates. Also, during the test drive, JD pointed out that the Odometer reading was around 34000, which was lower than the actual 38,000 kms listed on the website. I think he thought this was going to impress me, so I acted impressed, but really thought that the dealership might be rolling back the odometer on it's used cars. This was clearly further cause for concern. During the discussion on financing, JD pulled up a worksheet showing 6.99% financing over 24 months. He then changed the 6.99% to 5.99% immediately, as if this was supposed to be some kind of deal for me. I knew that there was a 0% financing for 24 months on all new and used Volkswagen vehicles on offer through October 31 2018... There are also a large number of other financing offers that beat the heck out of 5.9 over 24 that I already knew about. I kept my mouth shut, because I figured if JD didn't know much about the vehicle he was selling, he would also not know much about the financing options. My suspicion is that he did know, he just didn't want to share those deals with me at the time. He didn't even know what DOHC stands for, which is extremely critical, because it means that you're getting 2 overhead cams, one for intake, and one for exhaust. SOHC only has 2 valves per cylinder in most case, and I had asked him which one this model had. He couldn't answer. I was then taken into an office by the financial adviser, who seemed to be intent on showing off her calculator skills. She told me that the Canadian Forces Military Appreciation discount was already applied to the vehicle, and was included in the $16,495 discount listed on the Bytek website. This is, of course, logically impossible. If the discount is $16,495, then that is the factory incentive discount for anybody who is going to purchase the vehicle. It then says, on the same Bytek VW website, that the CF Member Appreciation discount is to be applied ON TOP OF any other factory incentive discounts. This amounts to $2499.75 based on $49995.00 @ 5% discount. Which should have brought the total price of the vehicle to $47495.25. The lady told me that the CF discount was already applied, and that I would be getting $500.00 off, and then wrote "$500.00 off"on the copied version of the Volkswagen Plus information sheet she gave me. The actual contractual worksheet showed the Canadian Forces Military Appreciation Discount as $0.00... but she still insisted that I was getting $500.00 off, and that the $500.00 was included in the $16,495 already discounted for everyone. As you can imagine, I was completely unimpressed by this time, but I kept a smile on my face, and tried not to look completely dissatisfied. Further to that, I took the liberty of checking the CF Member Appreciation website, which has all kinds of special discounts for Canadian Forces members, many of which are way better than what Bytek was offering. All you have to do is log in there with your CFOne card number and password. They've got KIA, Nissan, Infiniti, Ford, and even another VW Dealership on there... Bytek isn't even listed on the CF Member Appreciation website. Which probably explains why they weren't willing to give me a deal on it... because the deal is complete vapor... and a total misrepresentation, in order to draw military members into the dealership, but then try to waffle on the CF Appreciation discount. Another associate named Lesley Drysdale, contacted me, to discuss financing options, after I expressed my concerns via e-mail to JD, after the fact, when I was at home. I told Lesley about the 0% financing for 24 months, and he insisted that the best he could do was 4.99%... this was immediately right after I told him about the 0% financing for 24 months that I found, and that I had had a friend who received 2.99% before the 0% financing option was available. Obviously, I was not impressed. My credit is fine, and I've paid my bills on time, and had very little credit card debt over the last 5 years, and have never had any problems paying any debt off. There is absolutely no reason why they couldn't find me a better deal than 4.99%, or why they couldn't offer me the 0% APR for 24 months that was on offer from VW, other than the fact that they just wanted more money, as is typical of car dealerships. Since I was reaching an impass with these people, and having to explain myself several times, as to the various issues here, JD forwarded me to Andrew Crowe... the General Manager of Bytek Volkswagen. Andrew asked me to explain the whole situation again, as he was too lazy to get the information from his associates, and present me with what he thought the facts were first. Even after explaining the whole situation to him, he still insisted on playing the broken record to me, where even he was still saying the $16,495 included the CF Member Appreciation discount. He never even bothered to address the 0$ APR financing for 24 months, and insisted that the vehicle didn't need any service. He insisted on assuring me that the vehicle maintenance records were solid, and that there were no major issues that they knew of. When I was in the dealership talking to JD, I asked him several times to forward me the maintenance record for the vehicle. He wrote it down on his notepad, and then promptly and conveniently forgot about it. I had to go to CarProof and pay $45.95 to get the basic maintenance record, and the approximate value of the vehicle. The maintenance record checked out, but that doesn't mean there weren't any issues with the vehicle. The vehicle was valued at $48258, without any discounts applied to it, according to CarProof, so basically they're just taking $16,495 off because it's a used vehicle. What a joke. Never, ever, deal with these people if you want to keep your sanity.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
JD Brown (Sales), Lesley Drysdale (Business Manager), Andrew Crowe (Gen. Mgr.)
September 18, 2018

"Have not used Bytek's service so we cannot truthfully answer"

- John1919

we made the purchase of an e-Golf in the spring of 2018 with the understanding that the vehicle would not be available until early 2019. After the cancelation of the Ontario Green Plan we thought that we would not be able to benefit from the government's incentive program. Fortunately VW Canada and Bytek were able to get the car from Germany and to the dealer, plated and PDI before the September 10th deadline. We are most grateful to both the dealer and VW Canada. Could not be happier with the sales agent, Mark Zinck and the finance manager Lesley Drysdale.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Mark Zinch and Lesley Drysdale
September 15, 2018

"Service Department "

- Betru

Don’t go here for your car service very unfriendly employees and horrible service I’m so upset never ever go back again unprofessional people

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Don’t know
July 04, 2018

"They just dont care"

- Ericthered

I came to the body shop for rust check in November 2017. They changed the staff shortly after and my submission was lost. April 2018 comes by and still nothing when they said the average wait time was 8 weeks. I go back and the staff does the check again. They assured me they would call VW to escalate and make it go faster. Today (3 months later) I still haven't had a response. ALL email towards Chad Johnson have been ignored and left unanswered. Ive gone 3 times to talk with him directly and each time he kept brushing me off saying "follow up next week"... Ive also had terrible Customer Service from the Service Department. My new car under warranty was making a sound and I called Bytek. They told me to come in. Jenna Leonce snapped at me and was acting weird; possibly high. Greg Taylor didn't seem to care and was trying to manipulate me not to leave a review. I can't believe he allowed his employees to insult paying customers like that without consequences. He followed up with me a few days later but it was a total waste of time. He then also didn't care when I told him I will be taking my business elsewhere from now on. He only used generic answers designed to brush people off. Judging on the other negative reviews Bytek has had lately; it seems that none of these will be fixed anytime soon.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Greg Taylor, Chad Johnson, Jenna Leonce
January 22, 2018

"Great Experience"

- Just a guy

No pressure, very good product knowledge, fantastic test drive, they actually refer to it as a Demo Drive. Form my experience the best place to buy a vehicle

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Sales
1
...
1 - 10 of 31 results