Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Dealers, sign in to see your Dealer Panel.

Back

Bytek Volkswagen

Ottawa, ON

2.2
44 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

1325 St Laurent

Ottawa, ON

K1G 0Z7

Directions

Is this your dealership?

44 Reviews of Bytek Volkswagen

Sort by Write a review
November 23, 2020

"Took my Vw Golf in for rust repair at Bytek. Super..."

- Ivan

Took my Vw Golf in for rust repair at Bytek. Super disappointed with the service I was provided. They replaced the rear hatch and front fenders. The work was done fairly quickly which was a positive. After receiving my car back the driver's side door did not close properly. This was not a huge concern to me but a small issue. After about a week of driving my car the rear glass(hatchback) literally shattered on it's own. I brought my car back to them and the body shop manager literally took no responsibility. He admitted they swapped my rear glass but said there was no way my glass shattering while driving could have been caused by them doing the work of removing and re-installing my glass on the new hatch. I never had any issue with my rear glass during my ownership. They change the hatch/glass and after a week of me driving it shatters. He said maybe something hit it while I was driving which DID NOT HAPPEN. He then said he would not do anything about it and that maybe I should call my insurance. I have contacted VW Canada about my situation and hopefully they will help me.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
BODY SHOP MANAGER
October 15, 2020

"I want to thank you for all the trouble I caused trying..."

- Louiseboyes

I want to thank you for all the trouble I caused trying to pay my bill. You had so much patience with me. I have been with By-Tek since 1980 and have such great people service me. I stand by By-Tek for my Passat and many other cars in the past. You are the best and most of you are still working there and also some great new people. The old ones still recognize me and talk to me. That is such a nice gesture. Sincerely, Louise Boyes

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Service crew and clerks at the front desk - Especially Andy Crowe.
October 02, 2020

"If you are thinking about Bytek or VW, run away fast...."

- PB

If you are thinking about Bytek or VW, run away fast. Bytek messed up a simple oil change, I had oil leak in my driveway. Called, spoke to a manager, asked me to get estimates, for a repair. Bytek wanted the cheapest and when it came to pay the amount, they would not pay the entire estimate. My driveway will never be the same. Incompetent and cheap dealership and service. Do yourself a favour and go somewhere else!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Louis Boulanger
July 04, 2020

"Original buying experience was easy, and straight with..."

- JM

Original buying experience was easy, and straight with all costs associated. I purchased a 2019 golf. However, upon the first day of picking up the car (before I even got the car home) it started having problems with the check engine light coming on. Issues continued to appear almost every week with me bringing in the car for all warranty issues. Within the first 4 weeks, the car had 3 unprovoked problems: day 1 - O2 sensor broke. Issue 2 - EPC light came on, issue 3 - grab handle (which had never been touched) was falling off. Considering this was a brand new vehicle, I am very upset with this outcome. I have also been less than impressed with the service of trying to get these problems resolved - parts were ordered, and arrived yet I was never contacted when they were in stock again. I got a great deal on a new car, but considering it has never been in like new condition longer than a week for issues based on manufacturing quality, I'd would strongly recommend people to shop elsewhere for a vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Andy, Louise
May 30, 2020

"Brought my vehical here on May 6th for an issue with my..."

- Scott M.

Brought my vehical here on May 6th for an issue with my power window. First they lost the appointment I made a week in advance. Anyway i called for an update around 2:30 3 in the afternoon and was told my car was just brought in. At 4 i get off work and get a ride there and i noticed my car was still outside. So i called again spoke with service and asked for an update, to which i was told my car was in the shop and the issue was with the wiring. So I asked to confirm the car was 8n the shop and the door panel was off as we were speaking to which I'm told yes. So now im pissed and asked how is that possible when im standing outside the shop beside my car to which I hear a surprised "oh crap you are here". If I did not catch them it would have been a 230 dollar charge for work they did not do. Beware if you bring your vehical here for service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service manager, James.
April 26, 2020

"Bytek Volkswagen staff don’t know how to Give stamps for..."

- Karine

Bytek Volkswagen staff don’t know how to Give stamps for the loyalty program. Last time I got my oil change there I didn’t get my stamp.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dont remember
December 09, 2019

"ULTRA Incompetence"

- SW

I tried to book a service appointment by phone, but was directed to voicemail. I left a message, but no one called me back. AFTER FOUR DAYS, I tried again and was this time prompted to book service online, which I did, leaving e-mail, phone number, VIN, description of problem, etc. I received two confirmation e-mails, to the e-mail address I'd given. The e-mails showed all of my contact information, including my phone number. When I showed up for my service appointment, I was told by the advisor that "they" had been trying to reach me to tell me that because it was a Saturday, my particular problem could not be diagnosed: there was only one mechanic on duty for that kind of work. When I pointed out that they had not tried to reach me, the advisor said they did not have my contact information. I showed him the e-mail confirmation they had sent. He replied that they did not have access to the information in that e-mail !!!!! And then, instead of acknowledging that this was a major screw-up on their part and addressing my needs, he said, "you can leave the car if you want to and we MIGHT be able to look at it." My experience with VW dealer service has generally been very, very poor, but until this point, I thought Bytek was exempt from this. I would urge all VW owners to use an independent mechanic for anything except warranty work. P.S. Hilarious!!!! I've just received an e-mail from Bytek to say that I missed my appointment.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Service Advisor
November 13, 2019

"Nothing but great service from Rawad for over 5 years,..."

- Lovin My Bug

Nothing but great service from Rawad for about 5 years, which brought me to purchase my first new car ever. Thank you Dilhan, Lesley, Rawad!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dilhan, Lesley, Rawad, and entire team of friendly staff
October 16, 2019

"Great experience with the body shop"

- Barbra

No one ever wants to have to go into a body shop because their vehicle gets damaged, however the staff at Bytek helped make our experience as painless as possible. They were very wonderful with keeping me in the loop as to how my repairs were going and I was so pleasantly surprised when my Golf was ready in 4 days instead of the 10 days that my insurance company said it would take and it was perfect. They even went the extra mile to clean my car on the inside and out. I highly recommend this body shop if you ever have the misfortune of having an accident.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Rawad, Bruce
September 11, 2019

"Consistent issues with their servicing"

- Ab

It's has been my 5th visit to this dealership in 2019 so far. 1. Regular checkup - the service department advised to change the brakes. 2. Had to go back again because the oil light came back on 3. Oil light came back on again and had to replace something (kept the car for a month) 4. A week after I got the car, EPC light came on. The diagnosis was that there was an animal in the hood (which probably got in when the car was sitting in VW dealership lot for a month) 5. The sensors were not functioning. Diagnosis - there are signs that an animal is there. After the first animal incident I have put oil every weekend in the hood to keep animals away and check for any signs of animals, not once did I find anything. This is just ridiculous. I see that this dealership has got 5 stars as well but after looking at the reviews it seems that all the high star reviews were from sales. Very poor service, it seems that they have monetary targets they need to meet and in order to meet them they are lying and / or servicing the car poorly.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
N/A
1
...
1 - 10 of 44 results