About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Doug Hawrelak
Doug Hawrelak, Pre-Owned Vehicle Sales Manager, Westgate Chevrolet
not yet rated

Doug Hawrelak

Pre-Owned Vehicle Sales Manager

Westgate Chevrolet

10145 178 Street Northwest
Edmonton, AB T5S 1E4

I had worked in the construction industry for the first part of my life (mainly out of town) and Westgate Chevrolet gave me an opportunity. I thought I would try it for a year. That was 26 years ago. This is a place that has made it easy for me with the basic philosophy of "Do the Right Thing"

Contact Me
Write a Review

11 Reviews of Doug Hawrelak

October 20, 2014

Dealership Rating

"Nancy Manke used sales- Westgate Chevrolet"

- gary.wurtz.180

Dealt with Nancy Manke. Nancy was very friendly and knowledgeable. Westgate is very lucky to have a individual like Nancy. Thank you Nancy, Sherri and Doug for all your help and assistance in the sale of my vehicle. :)

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Nancy Manke, Sherri Hughes

May 23, 2014

Dealership Rating

"Above and Beyond "

- terryknoop

We had sold our trailer and my job had changed - I was driving a much longer distance, so my wife and I dropped by Westgate Chev to see about trading in my truck for an SUV. I have bought 3 different used vehicles over the last 25 years from Westgate, so I drop by every once in a while to snoop around the lot. I saw a Dodge Journey in the price range we were looking for, so Riley took us for a test drive and I was sold. We dealt both with Riley and Lyle and they were low pressure, very helpful and genuinely interested in making sure the vehicle was right for us. We agreed on a price for my trade in and the new vehicle, and as in the past, it was not a high pressure sales pitch or trying to squeeze every last nickel out of us. After picking it up, I noticed that after a rain my floor mat was wet. I called back and Doug took over. We got the vehicle back in, and started testing to see where the leak was coming from. Doug and the technician Dennis took it as a personal challenge to find this small leak, and after much testing they found the problem and fixed it up - no charge. This kind of service is what I knew I would receive, and why I keep coming back to Westgate Chev. Give them a try, you won't be disappointed.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Lyle Graham, Sherri Hughes

March 22, 2014

Dealership Rating

"I went to Westgate to purchase what was the lowest priced..."

- Opus62

I went to Westgate to purchase what was the lowest priced vehicle in their inventory, a 2005 Tahoe. Most dealers simply wholesale such older vehicles. For such a low priced vehicle, I was treated as if I was purchasing a much more expensive vehicle. This impressed me a great deal, as I am sure that Westgate made very little money on this sale. I was taken care of like I was buying a late model Corvette, not an almost 10 year old SUV. Well done!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Nancy Manke

January 11, 2014

Dealership Rating

"My wife and I were looking for a very nice sports car..."

- stevepeddle

My wife and I were looking for a very nice sports car after we paid of our house. After consideration, we decided to go with a luxury SUV. A vehicle we could drive all year round. We went on the web and saw 5 quality used vehicles that we were interested in. We stopped off at the Chevy Farm first and Grant met us right at the front door and welcomed us. He offered us a coffee and we sat in his office discussing cars. As he was going through a list we came across a 2008 Cadillac Escalade ESV EXT. It was a little older than what I wanted but after taking it out for a test drive, I was hooked! What a ride! We sat back down and negotiated a fair price and we put a 1500 dollar down payment on it. We needed to get an independent inspection done on the vehicle and Grant drove it there and picked it back up. The inspection came back with 3500 dollars needed in repairs. After talking with Grant and Colin we had their peeps go over the issues and found out the "other dealership" was just trying to make a buck and the only REAL thing wrong was a slight oil leak and a washer hose that was cracked. So, Grant had the vehicle put up on a hoist and with myself, my wife and Colin present, we went over the issues. After checking everything over, we came to an agreement. After to coming to an agreement I asked Grant and Colin for another favor. I asked if they could do a Power Polish for me as I noticed a few scratches and some dull finishes on my baby. They agreed to that as well as putting about half on the purchase on my credit card (aka....rack up those points) I also noticed the front bumper was a bit worn and Colin suggested I get it painted in their paint shop. We agreed to do that for an extra 325 bucks. All good. Just unbelievable service from these two fine gentlemen. The Power Polish they did on my vehicle looks amazing! Its looks like a brand new SUV. And considering the original owner paid 96 grand for this vehicle, I think I got a great deal and my wife and I are very happy! Would recommend this dealership to all of my friends, family and colleagues. The Legend of the Chevy Farm continues...............

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Colin Heisler, Grant Dewar

December 02, 2013

Dealership Rating

"I was immediately put at ease by Doug and well served by..."

- doug54nelson

I was immediately put at ease by Doug and well served by Grant. Both Katherine and Brent made the financial aspect smooth. I really enjoyed the tour of the facilities and meeting the Westgate Family. The entire experience was was respectful, professional, and enjoyable. I asked for Grant's cards because I will be recommending Westgate to family and friends. Merry Christmas Dr. D.B. nelson

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Grant Dewar, Katharine Kabaroff

October 15, 2013

Dealership Rating

"You won't find a more devoted team of professional..."

- scarr2424

You won't find a more devoted team of professional staff, who remain committed to your complete satisfaction and overall buying experience, Nancy Manke is the consummate professional whose friendly demeanor and exceptional ability to look after the customers needs by listening to what they want and providing the solution(s) is supported by the management team in the used car department of Doug Hawrelak and Colin Heisler....add in Gary Ball and you have the best team assembled to look after your interests and needs with respect to the financing and purchase of a "new to me" vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

September 02, 2012

Dealership Rating

"This particular vehicle purchasing experience all started..."

- Lou / Helen Carbone

This particular vehicle purchasing experience all started w/ an inquiry we made after browsing the internet. Nancy's response was more than prompt and(the vehicle we were interested in had a deal pending)the next day Nancy let us know the vehicle was available. Nancy was not available the following day, but had all the arrangements made so when we showed up Art was there to take us for a test drive, took oodles of time to explain the features of the car(when you only buy every 5 years or so,some of the technology is intimidating)and then without any urgency worked out a better than listed price,and equitable trade allowance. Next was Doug - came away w/ a bruise or two here, but nothing that was not expected and still a good price. Brent, in finance, was more than helpful and again no rush. We came back two days later to pick the car up - Nancy had had it put inside the nite before, out of the hail - it was all polished up and ready to go. No rush though - met w/ Katharine, who again took all the time necessary to complete the bill of sale and to ensure we were satisfied. Nancy then spent time(even running over in to another appointment because we asked so many questions) going thru the On Star w/ both of us and then a tour of their facility - reception / offices / service department / body shop. Have to say - and we(seniors) have been around a bit - without a doubt,that we will refer Westgate to family, friends and co-workers. Everyone, - Nancy, Art, Doug, Brent, Katharine, Receptionists, all the Sales Staff we went by(each and everyone said hello), Service Department Staff - was cordial, polite, interested that you were being looked after, upbeat and cheerful. Not one time that we felt overwhelmed. The culture at Westgate is just great and someting you need to experience the next time you purchase a vehicle.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Nancy Manke, Katharine Kabaroff , Nancy Manke, Art Switzer, Doug Hawrelak, Brent Bowes and Katharine Kabaroff.

April 23, 2012

Dealership Rating

"Excellent service. Always the best. The staff goes above..."

- ed manke

Excellent service. Always the best. The staff goes above and beyound to insure I am taken care of. Excellent service. Keep up the good work. Ed

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Nancy Manke, Wayne Wood

February 12, 2012

Dealership Rating

"We have dealt with Doug N, Doug H,& Keith A on the..."

- Tannys

We have dealt with Doug N, Doug H,& Keith A on the last 4 vehicles and recommend them for great deals, great service. We have our service needs met there also. The service dept is great to work with! We give them 10* ++++ rating! Tannys & Craig Mulvey Edmonton

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Keith Allan, Doug Nicol , Doug Nichol, Doug Hawreluk, Keith Allen & Patti Kehoe

February 09, 2012

Dealership Rating

"Let me tell you about my car buying experience. It all..."

- gpatters

Let me tell you about my car buying experience. It all started when we hit that cold snap back in January. My vehicle at the time, a 2009 Dodge Dakota, was irritating me to no end with tires that kept going flat for no reason. I tried tire shops, Dodge dealers, etc.; nobody was able to fix the problem for me. I was already frustrated with the vehicle because of little things that kept going wrong with it, so I decided that perhaps it was time to look for a new truck. I stopped into the Chevy Farm because it is rather close to my workplace, and was introduced to Lyle. Lyle and I sat down and talked for a while about the vehicle options and other factors that were most important to me (a step I wish would have been done with me at Derrick Dodge when I purchased my last vehicle; it may have saved me a bunch of wasted test-drives and having to buy again just over a year later). Once we had an idea of what I was looking for, Lyle presented a few options for me to look at. We mulled them over for a bit, and one truck really stood out from the rest in terms of options and price range. We took it for a drive and I loved it! Needless to say, I put down a deposit and arrangements were made for me to complete the purchase the next day. Well, as luck would have it, mere hours before I was set to pick up my new truck, my old truck got rear-ended. Talk about perfect timing! To make matters worse, the driver of the other vehicle was not properly insured, so I wasn't going to see compensation any time soon. I discussed the problem with one of the used car managers though (not Colin; I apologize, but I can't recall his name), and he was able to give me a break on the repair price for the truck so that my trade in value was still reasonable. He even gave me a loaner to drive for a day because the tires on my old truck were all going flat every few hours due to the extremely cold temperatures. The next day I brought the loaner back, completed the financing and took posession of my new truck! While it seems that most dealerships simply give you the keys and send you on your way at this point, I was impressed to see that Lyle wasn't done yet. While I was completing the financing, he took the intiative to move all the belongings from my old vehicle into the new one, and he was waiting for me when I was done the paperwork. We both hopped into the truck and he spent another 15 minutes with me demonstrating how to use OnStar and all the other nifty "techno gizmos" that came with my new truck. I found this particularly beneficial because I had no idea how many cool things were involved with the OnStar program. A lady from OnStar gave me a brief description of all the things that OnStar was capable of, and provided a tutorial of how to use the different functions of OnStar. Just for fun, she even helped me use the navigation system to provide directions for getting home. After driving my new truck to and from work for a few days, I noticed that my cruise control and 12v power adapters were not working properly, and I was hearing a strange banging noise in the rear when I went over bumps. I took it in for service and determined that there was a brake switch malfunction, a blown fuse, and my rear shocks were worn out. None of these items were covered under the GM Optimum warranty program, but Colin in the used car department agreed to fix them free of cost; I didn't have to ask him to, and he didn't even charge me the $100 deductible! My front shocks are quite worn as well, but I don't feel so bad absorbing this cost myself knowing that the dealership has taken care of almost every other issue I have had. Overall, I have been very satisfied with my used car buying experience at Westgate Chevrolet. I have bought a number of used vehicles from several dealers throughout the city, and this experience was by far the best.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes

Other Employees Tagged: Colin Heisler, Lyle Graham, Katharine Kabaroff , Lyle, Colin, Kristina? (lady in the finance office; I'm terrible with names)

1
1 - 10 of 11 results

Dealership Inventory (200 Vehicles)

2007 Pontiac Torrent

$13,991

2007 Chevrolet Uplander

N/A

2010 Chevrolet Cobalt

$10,991

2009 Mercedes-Benz ML350

$36,991

2011 Chevrolet Silverado

$28,991

2011 Cadillac Escalade ESV

$49,991

2006 Chevrolet Silverado

$14,991

2013 Chevrolet Tahoe

$39,994

The report has been submitted to DealerRater support. To view the status of the report at any time, save this link.