About Us
Copyright 2014 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Learn more

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick

4620 Blackfoot Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 4G2
Sales: (403) 207-1028
Service: (403) 930-1656
Parts: (403) 243-1800

Makes: Buick|Chevrolet|GMC|Service Center
 
Excellent
92% Recommend

Overall Rating 4.6

105 Lifetime Reviews

Write a Review
Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick
105 Lifetime Reviews
Call
Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick Info
Hours
Amenities
About Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick

Shaw GMC is committed to you by delivering unprecedented customer service both when you buy your car and when you return to us for scheduled maintenance service. History of Shaw GMC: 1962 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick began selling trucks at 4620 Blackfoot Trail. At the core of the business was medium duty trucks. 1971 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick began sponsoring the Stampede Queen and Princesses. 1985 First major building renovation. 1992 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick begins selling Pontiac and Buick car lines and renovated the building to create a car showroom. 1996 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick merges with Shaw Lease. 1999 Shaw Truck Rentals established. 2000 www.shawgmc.com goes online. 2001 Shaw was awarded the rights to be Calgary's only Hummer dealer, creating the present Shaw GMC Pontiac Buick Hummer. 2002 General Motors declared that Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick sold more trucks than any GM Dealership in Canada 2004 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick nominated by Calgary Herald readers as best dealership in Calgary. 2005 www.shawgmc.com is completely revamped. 2006 Major building renovation, expanding the showrooms and service area. 2009 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick becomes Calgary's newest Chevrolet Dealer. 2009 Shaw becomes an authorized dealer for Isuzu Medium Duty Trucks. 2009 www.shawgmc.com gets a brand new, modern look. 2010 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick gets the rights to sell Corvette.

About This Dealer | Hours of Operation | Amenities

About Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick

Shaw GMC is committed to you by delivering unprecedented customer service both when you buy your car and when you return to us for scheduled maintenance service. History of Shaw GMC: 1962 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick began selling trucks at 4620 Blackfoot Trail. At the core of the business was medium duty trucks. 1971 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick began sponsoring the Stampede Queen and Princesses. 1985 First major building renovation. 1992 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick begins selling Pontiac and Buick car lines and renovated the building to create a car showroom. 1996 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick merges with Shaw Lease. 1999 Shaw Truck Rentals established. 2000 www.shawgmc.com goes online. 2001 Shaw was awarded the rights to be Calgary's only Hummer dealer, creating the present Shaw GMC Pontiac Buick Hummer. 2002 General Motors declared that Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick sold more trucks than any GM Dealership in Canada 2004 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick nominated by Calgary Herald readers as best dealership in Calgary. 2005 www.shawgmc.com is completely revamped. 2006 Major building renovation, expanding the showrooms and service area. 2009 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick becomes Calgary's newest Chevrolet Dealer. 2009 Shaw becomes an authorized dealer for Isuzu Medium Duty Trucks. 2009 www.shawgmc.com gets a brand new, modern look. 2010 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick gets the rights to sell Corvette.

Sales/Showroom

Monday 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Service

Monday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Parts

Monday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Saturday 8:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Sunday Closed

  • After Hours Drop-Off
  • Automated Car Wash
  • Cable TV
  • Customer Lounge Area
  • Drive-In Service
  • Express Service
  • Free Coffee
  • Free Drinks
  • Free WiFi
  • Instant Financing
  • Authorized Parts Store
  • Pet Friendly
  • Rental Car Service Onsite
  • Shuttle Service
  • Television
  • Vending Machines
105 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:


Reason For Visit
Service

"Hard to make an Appointment"

I found that they never return calls if you leave a message to make an appointment. You need to call back many times until you get a real person and not an answering machine. If they are late in completing a work order, you will never get a call nor will they answer or return your call. That being said, once you have a booking they generally do a great job and if they finish as expected you will get a call. I've gone there for over 10 years, however they really need to improve this booking problem and not overbook their service bays!

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Employees dealt with

Matt Glaves

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

September 02, 2014

Natmax, we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for your negative experience. We always want our customers to be completely satisfied, and we definitely want them to feel confident with the service we provide. We would like to discuss this situation further with you, and we encourage you to contact us. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to discussing this with you. Sincerely, Dan Katz, General Manager, dkatz@kaizenauto.com

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

July 21, 2014

Hello; Thanks for taking the extra time and posting a review of your experience here at Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. I'm sorry to hear about the difficulties you are having when making an appointment, We will definitely take reviews like these into consideration and work on a more efficient system! Thank-you again and thank-you for being a customer of Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. Dan Smith General Manager Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick dsmith@shawgmc.com



Reason For Visit
Service

"Just can't seem to get things done in a timely fashion."

I used to use Shaw GMC to service a Pontiac Aztek that was still under warranty. I lost count of how many times the vehicle was dropped off in the early morning for something as small as an oil change. They would have it all day and when I would call in the afternoon they would tell me that they never got to it. Eventually I got fed up and took my business to another GM dealer. Shaganappi. Service was great there. I purchased a gift certificate for a detail service last fall at a charity auction. I was a bit skeptical from my previous experience with Shaw GMC but decided to give them another shot as it had been many years since I had gone there. I've now tried several times since last fall to book the truck in for the detail but continually get a run around as to when and if they will be able to do it. I contacted them last week to book an appointment. I was told that they would have openings later in the week. When I called back to book, I was told that they would not book me in for at least a month due to staff shortages. I suspect I will end up just walking away from this certificate. This place is just too frustrating to deal with.

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Employees dealt with

Alia? in Service.


Reason For Visit
Service

"A Year later and still fighting to get the problem solved."

In May 2013 My truck started burning oil so I brought it into Shaw GM to get the problem resolved. They topped up my oil and was told to come back when it started burning the oil again. I brought my truck in within 3000KM and they booked my truck in to get the pistons and rings soaked which we were told was a 6 hour job. I continued to call as time went passed and was getting no answer as to what was going on with my truck. After 3 weeks I had gotten my truck back and was only offered a rental the day before my truck was finished, as I was unaware I could get one while my truck was in the shop. When I left I was asked to do an oil consumption report so every other time I filled the truck with gas I would check the oil and mark it down with what conditions I drove in (highway or city) the oil level and the kms. After 3000KM I brought my truck back into Shaw and was told I wasn't allowed to fill out the oil consumption report and that we would have to start again and I would have to bring my truck in every fill up of gas. Once I finished this oil consumption report at another 3000KM I was told the service techs that were filling out the oil consumption report weren't allowed so that oil consumption report was also VOID so we would have to start it for a third time. The third time we did the oil consumption report I had to have the head mechanic fill out the oil consumption report. Once I was part way through the third consumption report and burnt enough oil to not show on the dipstick (2L) they agreed to take the truck in to replace the pistons unless they found scoring in the cylinder then I would get a new engine block. Over a year later and I finally got the new engine block a week ago. I brought my truck into Shaw GM in March 2014 because my engine light was on and was burning oil. They cleared the codes after the truck being in the shop for 3 days but didn't know what the codes were so it wouldn't be under warranty, so I was told I had to pay and they would figure out whether to re-reimburse me later. While my truck was in the shop I needed a vehicle to get to work and they rented me a truck saying if the issue wasn't covered under warranty I would have to pay for the rental. When I picked up my truck I noticed the check engine light was on before I could even drive away and went back in to be assured that it wasn't on when they pulled my truck around front and cleared the sensors again. After calling a few times and getting no progress, I called GM Canada. GM Canada told me it would have been covered under warranty as all sensor were covered under warranty and the rental should have been covered as well and asked Shaw GM to pay me back the cost. I have been speaking with Shaw GM for 4 months already trying to get them to issue the check. I just received a check and it is $200 short of what it is suppose to be.

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Employees dealt with

Michael Tichbourne

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

July 21, 2014

Hello, I'm very sorry that this became such an inconvenience to you. Please contact me directly, Service Manager, Michael Tichbourne, (403)287-5952 or email me at mtichbourne@shawgmc.com Thank you



Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"GREAT SERVICE"

We felt very comfortable at Shaw.....never felt "pushed"......exactly the way we like it.....left to make our own minds up. Thanks Shaw for your help. Ken & Lynda Hennessey.

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

May 26, 2014

Hello; Thanks for taking the extra time and posting a review of your experience here at Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. I'm very pleased to hear that you didn't feel pressured. We're proud to have Rick and Sean as a part of our team! I hope we helped you on choosing the right vehicle. Contact us for anything, anytime. We're here to help! Thank-you again and thank-you for being a customer of Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. Dan Smith General Manager Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick dsmith@shawgmc.com



Reason For Visit
Service

"Problems Solved "

I go to Shaw GMC for Regular Servicing & maintenance on my 2010 Isuzu Truck, and I have to say that Barry Wong always gives the best customer service, He understands the problems I've had in the past, there's been a few hiccups, but he handles them honestly and quickly, Barry always gets back to me right away, and I can see he really tries to correct things and really has done an excellent job. Thank you Barry Wong.

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

May 26, 2014

Hello; Thanks for taking the extra time and posting a review of your experience here at Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. We're proud to have Barry on our team! Everyone loves him! I'm so happy to hear about the customer service you've received. I hope your Isuzu truck doesn't give you anymore troubles! Contact us for anything, anytime. We're here to help! Thank-you again and thank-you for being a customer of Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. Dan Smith General Manager Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick dsmith@shawgmc.com



Reason For Visit
Service

"Excellent Customer Service "

I cannot express enough how pleased I was dealing with Lisa Calhoun. What a nice surprise when customer service these days seems non- existent. Not only was it service with a smile, Lisa is knowledgeable she answered all the questions I had, she took the time to keep me updated on the status of my vehicle, went over all the details of the repair, ensured that a service car was ready for me while my repairs were being taken care of. Overall what a great experience we need more Lisa's working out there :) keep up the great work! Hope to deal with you again thanks Lindsay Salonius

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

May 26, 2014

Hello; Thanks for taking the extra time and posting a review of your experience here at Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. I'm so happy to hear that Lisa was able to help you out! We hope your service appointment went well. Contact us for anything, anytime. We're here to help! Thank-you again and thank-you for being a customer of Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. Dan Smith General Manager Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick dsmith@shawgmc.com



Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Compliment for Sean Spriggs"

My experience when buying my new GMC Sierra was the best ever, Sean Spriggs was very Informative and helpful, he listened to what I was interested in and found the right one for us, He also made sure all of my questions were answered in complete detail, he then drove us to see the new vehicle and was such a pleasant person to be with, Showing us the vehicle and explaining all the different things it could do was so very helpful. If I ever buy a new vehicle I will be sure to call Sean for his help and if I know anyone who is looking for a new vehicle I will be sure to give them Sean's name and number and tell them he is the best salesman for the job.

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

May 26, 2014

Hello; Thanks for taking the extra time and posting a review of your experience here at Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. I am very happy to hear that Sean Spriggs was able to help you with your new GMC Sierra! We're proud to have him as a part of our team! We hope your new truck treats you well! Contact us for anything, anytime. We're here to help! Thank-you again and thank-you for being a customer of Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. Dan Smith General Manager Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick dsmith@shawgmc.com



Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Thanks for the Chev!!"

Sean, Jamie, and all at Shaw. Thanks for the great experience on the purchase of my new 2014 Chevrolet 1500 "lifted"! I absolutely love it although it was tough to see the Hummer go I am so happy with my purchase!

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

May 26, 2014

Hello; Thanks for taking the extra time and posting a review of your experience here at Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. I am very happy to hear that our team was able to help you choose your new 2014 Chevy Lifted truck! We hope it treats you well! Contact us for anything, anytime. We're here to help! Thank-you again and thank-you for being a customer of Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. Dan Smith General Manager Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick dsmith@shawgmc.com



Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Bad experience "

This dealer gave me the worst experience in purchasing 7 new vehicles in the last 15 years. In my opinion this dealership is only out to make as much money as they can and the customers expense. I had to tell the finance department 9X I DID not want the extended warranty and finance staff still worked the warranty into the sales agreement and miss directed me into trying to sign it. This dealer over charges on dealership upgrades by 3X. Rock protection was $1500 while outside specialities companies install for a 1/3 the cost and mine is falling off. Every time I inquired about upgrades I was quoted a different price. Sent numerous emails to Shaw GMC management with no reply. That's because they had my money. Do your research or stay away from this dealer. READ THE FINE PRINT!! This dealer changed my opinion on owning a GM. Dave M if you leave this dealer call me and we can do business in the future.

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Employees dealt with

Sales manager,finance department and General Manager

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

April 15, 2014

Hello, I very sorry to hear about your recent experience with our dealership. These issues should not have happened. Please contact me directly to see what we could do about this. I am sincerely sorry about the service you received. Thank-you, Dan Smith General Manager Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick dsmith@shawgmc.com



Reason For Visit
Service

"Rob was very friendly and called me all throughout the..."

Rob was very friendly and called me all throughout the day to tell me how the car was coming along. And they installed the pink hubcaps on my car for free

More

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

March 31, 2014

Hello; Thanks for taking the extra time and posting a review of your experience here at Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. I am very happy to hear that our service department was able to help with your vehicle maintenance. We try to accommodate the best we can for each customer. We’re proud to have Rob as a part of our team. We pride ourselves on Customer Service, so it makes me very happy to learn that he was able to help you out! Contact us for anything, anytime. We’re here to help! Thank-you again and thank-you for being a customer of Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. Dan Smith General Manager Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick dsmith@shawgmc.com

1
...
1 - 10 of 105 results
Recently Reviewed Employees

Barry Wong

Commercial Center Manager

10 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Phil Schmidt

Sales and Leasing Consultant

5 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Myranda Cook

Service Advisor

5 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Jill Plewis

Financial Services Manager

4 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Lisa Rideout

Medium Duty Service Consultant

4 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Lisa Calhoun

Service Advisor

4 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Sean Spriggs

Sales and Leasing Consultant

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Donna Rogers

Service Consultant

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Dan Smith

General Manager

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Dave Mospany

Sales and Leasing Consultant

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory