About Us
Copyright 2015 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Learn more

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick

4620 Blackfoot Trail SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 4G2
Sales: (403) 207-1028
Service: (403) 930-1656
Parts: (403) 243-1800

Makes: Buick|Chevrolet|GMC|Service Center
Excellent
92% Recommend

Overall Rating 4.6

109 Lifetime Reviews

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick
109 Lifetime Reviews
Call
Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick Info
Hours
Amenities
About Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick

Shaw GMC is committed to you by delivering unprecedented customer service both when you buy your car and when you return to us for scheduled maintenance service. History of Shaw GMC: 1962 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick began selling trucks at 4620 Blackfoot Trail. At the core of the business was medium duty trucks. 1971 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick began sponsoring the Stampede Queen and Princesses. 1985 First major building renovation. 1992 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick begins selling Pontiac and Buick car lines and renovated the building to create a car showroom. 1996 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick merges with Shaw Lease. 1999 Shaw Truck Rentals established. 2000 www.shawgmc.com goes online. 2001 Shaw was awarded the rights to be Calgary's only Hummer dealer, creating the present Shaw GMC Pontiac Buick Hummer. 2002 General Motors declared that Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick sold more trucks than any GM Dealership in Canada 2004 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick nominated by Calgary Herald readers as best dealership in Calgary. 2005 www.shawgmc.com is completely revamped. 2006 Major building renovation, expanding the showrooms and service area. 2009 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick becomes Calgary's newest Chevrolet Dealer. 2009 Shaw becomes an authorized dealer for Isuzu Medium Duty Trucks. 2009 www.shawgmc.com gets a brand new, modern look. 2010 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick gets the rights to sell Corvette.

About This Dealer | Hours of Operation | Amenities

About Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick

Shaw GMC is committed to you by delivering unprecedented customer service both when you buy your car and when you return to us for scheduled maintenance service. History of Shaw GMC: 1962 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick began selling trucks at 4620 Blackfoot Trail. At the core of the business was medium duty trucks. 1971 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick began sponsoring the Stampede Queen and Princesses. 1985 First major building renovation. 1992 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick begins selling Pontiac and Buick car lines and renovated the building to create a car showroom. 1996 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick merges with Shaw Lease. 1999 Shaw Truck Rentals established. 2000 www.shawgmc.com goes online. 2001 Shaw was awarded the rights to be Calgary's only Hummer dealer, creating the present Shaw GMC Pontiac Buick Hummer. 2002 General Motors declared that Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick sold more trucks than any GM Dealership in Canada 2004 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick nominated by Calgary Herald readers as best dealership in Calgary. 2005 www.shawgmc.com is completely revamped. 2006 Major building renovation, expanding the showrooms and service area. 2009 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick becomes Calgary's newest Chevrolet Dealer. 2009 Shaw becomes an authorized dealer for Isuzu Medium Duty Trucks. 2009 www.shawgmc.com gets a brand new, modern look. 2010 Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick gets the rights to sell Corvette.

Sales/Showroom

Monday 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Service

Monday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Sunday Closed

Parts

Monday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Saturday 8:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Sunday Closed

  • After Hours Drop-Off
  • Automated Car Wash
  • Cable TV
  • Customer Lounge Area
  • Drive-In Service
  • Express Service
  • Free Coffee
  • Free Drinks
  • Free WiFi
  • Instant Financing
  • Authorized Parts Store
  • Pet Friendly
  • Rental Car Service Onsite
  • Shuttle Service
  • Television
  • Vending Machines
109 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
jboyko
1/15/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Faultless! Get your new vehicle here!"

This has got to be the best dealership in Calgary with the hardest working staff! I've used their service department before and had a positive experience there, so we thought we would check it out for purchasing our new truck. We had an excellent experience from start to finish buying our 2014 GMC Sierra! Every member of staff played their part. The sales team were extremely professional and knowledgeable. They listened to our needs and made sure that we were 100% satisfied and confident in our purchase. The finance department made everything so straightforward and kept our best interests in mind. There is a very positive atmosphere within the dealership, every staff member was friendly, we never felt like we were put "under pressure" to purchase and we thoroughly enjoyed dealing with SHAW GMC. I cannot recommend highly enough!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

January 20, 2015

jboyko, I am happy to hear that your time spent at Shaw GMC was a pleasing experience. We pride ourselves on a high level of customer service. Congratulations on your new vehicle! If you have any questions or concerns regarding your new vehicle, please come back to visit us. We are eager to see you again in the future! Be sure to check out our Facebook and Twitter so that you can take advantage of our many great specials and incentives. Sincerely, Piotr Kulaga│General Sales Manager pkulaga@shawgmc.com

colleen.gray.3998
10/26/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Certified Used Vehicle Purchase"

I would highly recommend this dealership. I found the Terrain I was interested in online and sent a message to them. I was contacted the next day by JP and went in for a test drive and bought it the same day. The generous price they offered me for my trade sealed the deal for me. Francisco, who took care of financing, warranty and protection plans was super friendly and knowledgeable and took the time to explain all my options. I ended up purchasing the extended warranty and full protection plan because the price was very reasonable for all it offered me. Really impressed with JP and Francisco and this dealership overall. Would highly recommend to anyone!!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

October 30, 2014

Hello Colleen; Thanks for taking the extra time and posting a review of your experience here at Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. I'm very happy to hear that JP was able to help you out so quickly, we're so proud to have him and Francisco as a part of our team here at Shaw GMC, we hope your new Terrain treats you well! Contact us for anything, anytime. Dan Smith General Manager Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick dsmith@shawgmc.com

suzannew0374
10/16/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE "

We are 1st time GMC customers and I'm pretty sure this is the WORST customer service we have ever received from any company EVER! We purchased a previously-owned 2012 Yukon from Shaw on July 31, 2014 which we absolutely love. Our salesman was Gary MacDonald. We picked up the vehicle on Aug 2, 2014 and the gas tank was less than half full. Never have we picked up a vehicle from a dealership with less than a full tank of gas. We also were given 2 cracked remotes for the vehicle. Not impressed. Our major complaint is this - The Yukon was to have new tires put on prior to us receiving the vehicle. After driving it for only a week we noticed it shaking if driving over 100 km/hr. We contacted Gary regarding this and his response was tires were not covered under warrenty and to take it to any tire shop. Not what we expected to hear. Thank goodness I took it to Kal Tire the next day as not only were the tires unbalanced, but the 2 front tires were not even installed properly and it was UNSAFE to be even driving! So, Shaw sent us away in an unsafe vehicle and then we had to spend another $200 to have the tires balanced properly. This could have resulted in having a serious accident with our 2 & 4 yr old chlidren and Shaw did nothing about it and have not returned phone calls I have made. No apology phone call - NOTHING. I filled out the survey that was emailed to me by Dan Smith 6 weeks ago!! Even Linda at your Customer Care sentre in Toronto claims to have not been able to reach a manager at Shaw. What kind of service is this???? HORRIBLE and we would not recommend buying a vehicle from Shaw ever in the future

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

October 17, 2014

Hi Suzanne, My apologies for the problems that you have encountered on your vehicle purchase. This is not how we do business. Please send me a copy of the bill from Kal-Tire for the $200 you spent and I will re-imburse you. If you have any further questions, please contact me directly. You can reach me at my email address of dsmith@shawgmc.com or (403) 287-5984.

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

October 16, 2014

Hi Suzanne; I am sorry to learn of your poor experience at our dealership. This is not how we conduct business. As mentioned to you in our facebook response, please send me the bill for the $200 that you paid to have your tires checked and properly balanced. I will re-mburse you for this expense. Again, my apologies for the trouble you had and thank-you for the opportunity to address those troubles. Sincerely, Dan Smith General Manager dsmith@shawgmc.com 403-287-5984

blam88
10/08/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"easy going and friendly"

out of all the GM dealerships in calgary, Shaw GMC takes the cake. I have been truck shopping for over 6 months, trying to find the right truck for the right price. Chris Omeara is the man to talk to - hes respectable, honest, not pushy, and an all-around nice guy. when I finally purchased my truck, Chris would text me and update me on every single thing. the truck came in from okotoks so he notified me that he was on his way to get it, he also called me when the truck arrived at Shaw, he texted when the truck was getting detailed, and finally called me when the truck was ready for pickup. Charles Enns was my financier. he was accommodating, and very helpful and polite. he tailored everything he could to my needs, and made the whole shopping experience amazing and easy. I cant thank both of them enough. lets just say it was night and day compared to other dealerships in town. kudos to Shaw. dealers should learn from them.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
3

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

October 14, 2014

Blam88, I am happy to hear that your time spent at Shaw GMC was a pleasing experience. We pride ourselves on a high level of customer service. Congratulations on your new vehicle! If you have any questions or concerns regarding your new vehicle, please come back to visit us. We are eager to see you again in the future. Be sure to check out our Facebook and Twitter so that you can take advantage of our many great specials and incentives. Sincerely, Dan Smith, General Manager, dsmith@shawgmc.com

skitrees999
7/18/2014
Reason For Visit
Service

"Hard to make an Appointment"

I found that they never return calls if you leave a message to make an appointment. You need to call back many times until you get a real person and not an answering machine. If they are late in completing a work order, you will never get a call nor will they answer or return your call. That being said, once you have a booking they generally do a great job and if they finish as expected you will get a call. I've gone there for over 10 years, however they really need to improve this booking problem and not overbook their service bays!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Matt Glaves

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

September 02, 2014

Natmax, we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for your negative experience. We always want our customers to be completely satisfied, and we definitely want them to feel confident with the service we provide. We would like to discuss this situation further with you, and we encourage you to contact us. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to discussing this with you. Sincerely, Dan Katz, General Manager, dkatz@kaizenauto.com

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

July 21, 2014

Hello; Thanks for taking the extra time and posting a review of your experience here at Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. I'm sorry to hear about the difficulties you are having when making an appointment, We will definitely take reviews like these into consideration and work on a more efficient system! Thank-you again and thank-you for being a customer of Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. Dan Smith General Manager Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick dsmith@shawgmc.com

sirveigh
7/15/2014
Reason For Visit
Service

"Just can't seem to get things done in a timely fashion."

I used to use Shaw GMC to service a Pontiac Aztek that was still under warranty. I lost count of how many times the vehicle was dropped off in the early morning for something as small as an oil change. They would have it all day and when I would call in the afternoon they would tell me that they never got to it. Eventually I got fed up and took my business to another GM dealer. Shaganappi. Service was great there. I purchased a gift certificate for a detail service last fall at a charity auction. I was a bit skeptical from my previous experience with Shaw GMC but decided to give them another shot as it had been many years since I had gone there. I've now tried several times since last fall to book the truck in for the detail but continually get a run around as to when and if they will be able to do it. I contacted them last week to book an appointment. I was told that they would have openings later in the week. When I called back to book, I was told that they would not book me in for at least a month due to staff shortages. I suspect I will end up just walking away from this certificate. This place is just too frustrating to deal with.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Alia? in Service.

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
ltccarter
7/07/2014
Reason For Visit
Service

"A Year later and still fighting to get the problem solved."

In May 2013 My truck started burning oil so I brought it into Shaw GM to get the problem resolved. They topped up my oil and was told to come back when it started burning the oil again. I brought my truck in within 3000KM and they booked my truck in to get the pistons and rings soaked which we were told was a 6 hour job. I continued to call as time went passed and was getting no answer as to what was going on with my truck. After 3 weeks I had gotten my truck back and was only offered a rental the day before my truck was finished, as I was unaware I could get one while my truck was in the shop. When I left I was asked to do an oil consumption report so every other time I filled the truck with gas I would check the oil and mark it down with what conditions I drove in (highway or city) the oil level and the kms. After 3000KM I brought my truck back into Shaw and was told I wasn't allowed to fill out the oil consumption report and that we would have to start again and I would have to bring my truck in every fill up of gas. Once I finished this oil consumption report at another 3000KM I was told the service techs that were filling out the oil consumption report weren't allowed so that oil consumption report was also VOID so we would have to start it for a third time. The third time we did the oil consumption report I had to have the head mechanic fill out the oil consumption report. Once I was part way through the third consumption report and burnt enough oil to not show on the dipstick (2L) they agreed to take the truck in to replace the pistons unless they found scoring in the cylinder then I would get a new engine block. Over a year later and I finally got the new engine block a week ago. I brought my truck into Shaw GM in March 2014 because my engine light was on and was burning oil. They cleared the codes after the truck being in the shop for 3 days but didn't know what the codes were so it wouldn't be under warranty, so I was told I had to pay and they would figure out whether to re-reimburse me later. While my truck was in the shop I needed a vehicle to get to work and they rented me a truck saying if the issue wasn't covered under warranty I would have to pay for the rental. When I picked up my truck I noticed the check engine light was on before I could even drive away and went back in to be assured that it wasn't on when they pulled my truck around front and cleared the sensors again. After calling a few times and getting no progress, I called GM Canada. GM Canada told me it would have been covered under warranty as all sensor were covered under warranty and the rental should have been covered as well and asked Shaw GM to pay me back the cost. I have been speaking with Shaw GM for 4 months already trying to get them to issue the check. I just received a check and it is $200 short of what it is suppose to be.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Michael Tichbourne

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

July 21, 2014

Hello, I'm very sorry that this became such an inconvenience to you. Please contact me directly, Service Manager, Michael Tichbourne, (403)287-5952 or email me at mtichbourne@shawgmc.com Thank you

aidenjanessa
5/22/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"GREAT SERVICE"

We felt very comfortable at Shaw.....never felt "pushed"......exactly the way we like it.....left to make our own minds up. Thanks Shaw for your help. Ken & Lynda Hennessey.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

OLSON

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

May 26, 2014

Hello; Thanks for taking the extra time and posting a review of your experience here at Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. I'm very pleased to hear that you didn't feel pressured. We're proud to have Rick and Sean as a part of our team! I hope we helped you on choosing the right vehicle. Contact us for anything, anytime. We're here to help! Thank-you again and thank-you for being a customer of Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. Dan Smith General Manager Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick dsmith@shawgmc.com

isuzu
5/20/2014
Reason For Visit
Service

"Problems Solved "

I go to Shaw GMC for Regular Servicing & maintenance on my 2010 Isuzu Truck, and I have to say that Barry Wong always gives the best customer service, He understands the problems I've had in the past, there's been a few hiccups, but he handles them honestly and quickly, Barry always gets back to me right away, and I can see he really tries to correct things and really has done an excellent job. Thank you Barry Wong.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

May 26, 2014

Hello; Thanks for taking the extra time and posting a review of your experience here at Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. We're proud to have Barry on our team! Everyone loves him! I'm so happy to hear about the customer service you've received. I hope your Isuzu truck doesn't give you anymore troubles! Contact us for anything, anytime. We're here to help! Thank-you again and thank-you for being a customer of Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. Dan Smith General Manager Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick dsmith@shawgmc.com

Salonius
4/16/2014
Reason For Visit
Service

"Excellent Customer Service "

I cannot express enough how pleased I was dealing with Lisa Calhoun. What a nice surprise when customer service these days seems non- existent. Not only was it service with a smile, Lisa is knowledgeable she answered all the questions I had, she took the time to keep me updated on the status of my vehicle, went over all the details of the repair, ensured that a service car was ready for me while my repairs were being taken care of. Overall what a great experience we need more Lisa's working out there :) keep up the great work! Hope to deal with you again thanks Lindsay Salonius

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes

Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick responded to this review

May 26, 2014

Hello; Thanks for taking the extra time and posting a review of your experience here at Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. I'm so happy to hear that Lisa was able to help you out! We hope your service appointment went well. Contact us for anything, anytime. We're here to help! Thank-you again and thank-you for being a customer of Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick. Dan Smith General Manager Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick dsmith@shawgmc.com

1
...
1 - 10 of 109 results
Recently Reviewed Employees
Reviews of Francisco Hernandez
Francisco Hernandez

Business Manager

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Chris Omeara
Chris Omeara

Sales & Leasing Consultant

1 Lifetime Review

Read Reviews
Reviews of Piotr Kulaga
Piotr Kulaga

General Sales Manager

1 Lifetime Review

Read Reviews
Reviews of Jill Plewis
Jill Plewis

Financial Services Manager

4 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Lisa Rideout
Lisa Rideout

Service Manager

4 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Sean Spriggs
Sean Spriggs

Sales and Leasing Consultant

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Donna Rogers
Donna Rogers

Service Consultant

3 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Dan Smith
Dan Smith

General Manager

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Dave Mospany
Dave Mospany

Sales and Leasing Consultant

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
Reviews of Gord Betts
Gord Betts

Sales and Leasing Consultant

2 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory