About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

Midtown Honda

1.7

30 Lifetime Reviews

3400 Dufferin Street, Toronto, Ontario M6A 2V1 Directions
Sales: (416) 789-4101

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

30 Reviews of Midtown Honda

Sort by Write a review
July 22, 2017

"WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE WITH MIDTOWN HONDA"

- Bobby/Sam

Recently purchased a Certified used 2013 Honda Civic from MIDTOWN. Pleasure to do business with INDER, our salesman, and JOSH, Financial Services Manager. Both were pleasant, knowledgeable and very patient during our meetings in which we made numerous inquiries. Everything went smoothly. When we picked up the car several days later, INDER greeted us. We checked out the car together. He showed the various features. It was especially helpful that he set up the hands free phone system. We finished up the paper work with JOSH, who was very pleasant. We also went to the Service Department to familiarize ourselves with this section. Here again, they were knowledgeable and pleasant. Would recommend MIDTOWN to others.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
INDER, JOSH
July 14, 2017

"Worst Honda dealership and experience "

- Traciee

We came in October 2016 and wanted to get the new 2017 civic hatchback. We were told it would take 6 weeks to get the car since they were still being made. 6 weeks came and go and nobody called or informed is when our car would be arriving. We called to find out what was going on and were informed that our car was delayed until January but they didn't call to tell us bc they didn't think it would be an issue since we had a car. That was a huge red flag for me. Well January came and went and never heard anything called and was told the car was delayed again until March. I had to call the dealership everyday in March to find out the status. They had our deposit for 5 months until we finally got our car. Our sales rep never followed up with us it was like once he made the the sale he was done. I will never use Midtown nor recommend them to anyone. Sisley Honda is where all my other Hondas are from and I should have gone back there,

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Danny
March 28, 2017

"Very disappointing"

- Nhafezi

If I could rate this dealership lower than 1 star I would gladly do so. I went in with high expectations of your customer service and expertise, and I left feeling robbed. When I purchased my vehicle from this dealership I was conned into purchasing the extended warranty, known as "Honda Plus", under the pretence that it was something that would add value to my experience with Honda. I was told then that any manufacturer defect that was detected in my vehicle would be repaired free of any charge to me. I have had terrible experiences in the past with other dealerships using the fact that I am a woman to con me into spending $1000 on every service appointment. I made this concern clear to my Service Advisor Sean upon arrival at the dealership. Initially I came in to get my biannual rust check and, after speaking to Sean and thinking he seemed like a nice enough guy, I mentioned that I thought there was something wrong with one of my rear brakes. I explained to him that my private mechanic had looked at the brakes to assess their remaining life and noticed that one of my brake pads was wearing down at twice the rate of the other. He explained to me that the caliper on one side had seized and that this was something that needed attention at the dealership (as it should be covered under our warranty). An honest mechanic... rare, I know. Sean insisted that I pay $250 for a brake service during which they would check to see what the problem was. He also assured me that he would check the abnormality and that any defects on the manufacturing side would be covered under the extended warranty that I pay an extra $30 biweekly for. I left it in Sean's hands thinking that my car would be well looked after and that I would not be "bamboozled" in the same manner as I had in the past. I received a call a few hours later that they had found a problem with my brakes and that both rear brake pads and rotors required changing. I immediately asked if he had noticed that one of the rear brakes had deteriorated much quicker than the other. He brushed off my concern and insisted that both brake pads had completely worn and rotors had been damaged. I took his word for it and figured that perhaps my mechanic was incorrect in his previous assessment. I told Sean that if he was sure everything seemed kosher, he could move forward with the then $900 repair. I then went by the dealership to pick up my car and pay my hefty bill. *I would like to take this opportunity to thank the receptionist at this dealership for being so courteous in waiting until we arrived, minutes before closing* After picking up the car, I took the time to read the report that the technician had put together and realized that, not only were the brake lights and tire pressure not checked on my all-inclusive service, but it was clearly noted that my right brake had worn down to 0 mm, while my left brake still had 4 mm (half its life) left. I understand that, when changing brake pads, mechanics like to do both sides at once to keep things even - that I did not question. It was upon realizing that my brakes WERE defective that I became furious. Not only should my repair have been 100% covered, but no one had the audacity to explain to me what ACTUALLY went wrong with my vehicle. Instead, they charged me for 2 brake pads (fine), and 2 rotors (UNNECESSARY as one brake pad still had 50% of its life and would not have damaged the rotor). I made my complaints very clear to both Sean (who did nothing) as well as the management at this dealership. In the end I was offered a free $59 oil change, after having spent $900 on something that should have cost me $0 with my extensive coverage. Now, not only will I NEVER return to this dealership for service, but I will be making my experience here well known to my vast network of friends and colleagues. No one deserves to be taken for a ride at their local dealership and if I have to be the one to spread this information for the greater good, I gladly will. So thank you but no thank you Midtown Honda.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sean, Andrew
Mar 31, 2017 -

Midtown Honda responded

Hello Nhafezi, We're sorry that you are having problems with the brakes on your Honda. You purchased your used Honda May 2015 and since then the vehicle has not been back for required maintenance service. During these 22 months and 32,000kms the brakes should have been serviced two times. Lack of servicing will lead to the brakes wearing out prematurely and this can cause damage to the brake rotors. This is not covered by your Honda Plus warranty as brake repairs are considered normal maintenance. We hope this helps to clarify the owners responsibility when it comes to maintaining your Honda. If you would like further information please contact our service manager or customer relations at Honda Canada.

March 16, 2017

"So Dishonest "

- madeleine.lambert90

So my Honda Fit's engine was misfiring about 2 years ago and it was making me nervous so I brought it into Midtown Honda to get checked out. It was my second year living alone in Toronto and I told the guy that I was getting by but that my financial reality wasn't going to support any massive repairs at this point. I went back to work and I get a panic call from the guy telling me that we had to have a "sit down talk" about my vehicle and that it wasn't going to be an easy conversation. So I go in and the slap down a repair quote for $2800 and basically made me feel as though my car was going to explode if I drove off the lot. I said forget it I'll take it to my mechanic back in my hometown over the weekend. My mechanic replaced the spark plugs for $60 and my car has been fine ever since ( 2 years later! ) Very sad that I can't take my HONDA vehicle to a HONDA dealership and get honest service. I'll never go there again, what a joke!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
George
Mar 20, 2017 -

Midtown Honda responded

Hello Madeline, We'd like to explain what our technician found when you brought your Fit in and just replacing the spark plugs will not fix the problem this time. We scanned codes P0302 and P0304 which indicate misfire 2-4 cylinders, code P0133 - airflow sensor malfunction, P2A00 - A/F Sensor S1 Circuit problem and P0420 - catalyst efficiency below threshold. These codes are retrieved from your Honda and tell the technician what needs attention. At this point we provide and estimate and the customer needs to decide whether to proceed or not. We appreciate your feedback and if you would like more information please contact our service manager Andrew Lawrence at 416-789-6800.

March 01, 2017

"Shady practices"

- Asit Mohanty

We were pretty close to finalizing the deal when I mentioned that I had been to another dealership before. He asked if I had given my credit card at the other dealership. I said yes, but hadn't signed any papers and havent paid any deposit. The moment I said that, he was like 'we can't deal with you. if those guys have taken your credit card, then you have already bought a car from them'. Really??? And at the beginning of our discussion he wanted my credit card so that he can 'start the discussion with his manager'. Assured me that I wouldn't be charged and it's very safe. Kinda shady. Anyway, he went on arguing about how giving the credit card is committing to the purchase, irrespective of whether you sign or not. If you are shopping around, DO NOT give your credit card, till you see a printed bill of sale with the price you agree to. They WILL run the deposit without your permission and you will waste time recovering the charge. ######################################## Response to Dealer: Thanks for your response. You misunderstood what I said. Maybe I wasn't clear enough in my review. 1. Bill of Sale - NOTHING was signed. no bill of sale, no paid deposit, not even a random piece of paper. During our first discussion, the dealer asked for the credit card and it was in his possession for about 20 minutes. That's it. If you are telling me, handing over my credit card to a dealer means 'consent' to pay, I don't know what to say to that. 2. My complain (and hence a poor review) is the comment from your salesperson that 'If a customer hands over his credit card, he is committing to a purchase. Doesn't matter if he signs a bill of sale or not". And he himself at the beginning of our discussion asked for my credit card. When I asked why, he said it's just a formality and his manager wouldn't even talk about prices till he sees a credit card. And later on, he himself says that giving a credit card = committing to the deposit. Hope that clarifies what I am trying to warn other buyers about. for your information, I was going to sign the deal that day if not for this incident.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Prefer not to tell
Mar 14, 2017 -

Midtown Honda responded

Thank you for clarifying this for us. We have spoken to the salesperson in question and will provide training with regards to this incident. We sincerely hope that you are enjoying your new Honda and thank you for your comments.

Mar 01, 2017 -

Asit Mohanty responded

Hi, Thanks for your response. You misunderstood what I said. Maybe I wasn't clear enough in my review. 1. Bill of Sale - NOTHING was signed. no bill of sale, no paid deposit, not even a random piece of paper. During our first discussion, the dealer asked for the credit card and it was in his possession for about 20 minutes. That's it. If you are telling me, handing over my credit card to a dealer means 'consent' to pay, I don't know what to say to that. 2. My complain (and hence a poor review) is the comment from your salesperson that 'If a customer hands over his credit card, he is committing to a purchase. Doesn't matter if he signs a bill of sale or not". And he himself at the beginning of our discussion asked for my credit card. When I asked why, he said it's just a formality and his manager wouldn't even talk about prices till he sees a credit card. And later on, he himself says that giving a credit card = committing to the deposit. Hope that clarifies what I am trying to warn other buyers about. for your information, I was going to sign the deal that day if not for this incident.

Mar 01, 2017 -

Midtown Honda responded

Hello Asit, As per our dealer agreement we cannot advise or communicate in terms of negotiations with a customer if they have a deposit or signed bill of sale with another Honda store. We as part of the agreement can lose our licence and do not Ingage in this practice. We're sorry if the salesperson came across bluntly but we have to abide by the regulations. If you need any more please feel free to contact one of our sales managers at 416-789-4101. We thank you for your comments and hope you are happy with your new Honda.

January 23, 2017

"Warning!!!! Fraudulent Sales, Check your bill of sale"

- Jun

* Fraudulent sales by financial manager * Complete lack of legal mind and business ethics by general manager Below story sounds like businesses happening in 3rd world in 1960's, but this is what I have gone through for the last several weeks and still not fully resolved. Very hard to believe and deal with, but I am sharing this story with a hope that there are no more victims like me. If you already purchased car here and never reviewed your bill of sale, you better DO IT NOW!!! - My (father's) car was recently stolen 3 weeks after the purchase (this was my 2nd purchase at this location) - For the insurance claim, I reviewed the bill of sale before sending it to insurance company and realized that I got charged for a protection plan ($1,450.00) which I clearly declined at the paperwork stage. - During the paperwork session, the financial manager (Maria) tried to sell a protection plan (called Titan Coverage) and my father and I declined it. But then, she clearly said she will be giving the protection plan for free since I am repeat customer. Subsequently, she threw a very friendly (later turned out to be hypocritic) sales pitch, saying that "You should come back to us again in the future in return of my favour". - To get the 'stolen' money back, I went to the dealership and asked her about the charge. In summary, her response was "There might be a miscommunication, There is nothing free, If you want I can refund you the money". no apologies. - I brought it to the general manager (Brad) and did so for 2 reasons: 1.awareness & 2.chance for him to redeem her wrongdoing as her boss. However, it was very disturbing that his first question was whether or not I will be replacing (re-purchasing) the stolen car at his dealership, but he was co-operative enough to listen to me at the moment while being very neutral. It was about 2pm in the afternoon and he promised to provide more concrete answer regarding the refund around 8pm that night after further investigation on his end. He did NOT call at 8pm that night. - He did not call the next day either. - He called 2 days after and told me that he found 2 documents that my father signed. My father might have signed the paper (expecting it would be free as what she said), but never agreed to have the protection plan added at additional costs. His point was 'You guys signed the paper, legally she/we didn't do anything wrong'. Then he asked again whether or not I would be replacing the stolen car at his dealership. [Conclusion: Financial manager entices clients to give protection/warranty for free, but in fact add it on the bill and make him/her sign the multiple-page documents.] - As my answer was 'No, I am not repeating purchase from Midtown Honda', the general manager said he has to go back to third party to request the refund since Midtown Honda does not keep the money. It was Saturday afternoon, and he said he will get back to me with an answer by coming Tuesday. - No response on Tuesday. - On Wednesday, I got e-mail from the financial manager (who did the fraudulent sales), not by the general manager, telling me that the protection plan got cancelled. Then she asked when I can come by to pick up the cheque. I find this extremely rude as it sounds to me "Here is the money that I took from you without your agreement, anyways come and get it". - My response was "I don't want to go back to where I became victim of fraudulent sales. Mail the cheque". - The general manager replied shortly after, "You were not a victim of fraudulent sales with 2 different contracts signed by your father. Maria will mail your cheque." - No apologies or whatsoever...I find the general manager's such irresponsible response and his overall attitude/approach on this entire damage control process were even more disgusting and provocative than her fraudulent sales. - Today, 8 days after the conversation above, I still have not received the cheque yet. It should take only 2 business days as they are located only 9kms away from me. I regret I did not voice-record our conversation during the paperwork. I hate myself for giving them 100% of trust with no doubt. I wonder if I am the only target they use such sales tactics toward. Now I even feel thankful to the car thief who helped me see Midtown Honda's real face. Otherwise I would be paying the $1,450.00+tax throughout the next 72 months without even recognizing. It was the worst buying experience of any kind by far in my entire life. Lack of business morale and common sense from top to bottom. See you never.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Maria Hashemi, Brad Curtis
Mar 29, 2017 -

Jun responded

Nice job trying very hard to cover your lie/fraud with another lying - You guys know it wasn't misunderstanding. There is huge difference between misunderstanding and fraud. Maria Hashemi, your financial manager, said she will give the Titan Protection 'for free' after I declined the purchase of it multiple times. What was agreed upon was the Titan Protection Plan to be added at no additional costs (Maria said its her favour to repeat customer) But then, it turned out that she CHARGED. We call it FRAUD, not misunderstanding. - Come on, don't play innocent. You guys know the fact better than I do. If you have updated your process BECAUSE I brought this up 3 weeks ago, I cannot imagine how many more victims there are in the city that are not aware of your corrupted mind before then... One more thing - Don't try to earn credit for refunding the money, which you should have NOT taken out of my pocket in the first place. It's not your favour, but it's your obligation to give it back. Once again, this whole thing was FRAUD, not misunderstanding FYI.

Feb 10, 2017 -

Midtown Honda responded

We would like to apologize for the misunderstanding and confirm that funds were fully refunded. There was a lack of communication since these services were signed for and agreed upon with our financial manager. That being said we have since updated our process to ensure that every customer initials AND signs for any product or service that is purchased in the business office. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we thank you for your comments.

September 24, 2016

"CR-V shopping worst experience"

- Ed

We found a CR-V on Autotrader that was listed under Midtown Honda. We came to see the car, the salesperson was very slow to respond to our queries. He could hardly type, had no idea what the financing rates were and kept going "somewhere" to get info so we finally asked him to bring the resource person (sales Manager). Boy-o-boy, he was even worse, he was in no mood to negotiate and was in some sort of hurry to leave for home. very rude and unprofessional Although he boast of selling cars for 30 years. I wonder how did blue become a sales manger. Dont waste your time there.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike, Lucas
Oct 07, 2016 -

Midtown Honda responded

Hello Ed, Our sales rep stayed after hours till 6:50pm on Saturday to attempt to close the deal. Your expectation for the value of your two trade-ins were not realistic compared to the market. We do attempt to meet customer expectations on trades and time however we try to maintain realist work and family balance for everyone. Thank you for your comments and we will review these with our staff.

September 12, 2016

"Arrogant unprofessional salesman"

- hondadisppointed

I met the most arrogant unprofessional car salesman ever. He got very upset when I said I would continue looking because the price he gave me wasn't what I expected because it wasn't a competitive price or a bargain that I couldn't resist In fact, he took personally a comment I made about the car millage like if I was saying something about him instead on focusing on the car. This guy should be train in customer service of frankly change profession.what a petty someone with this low skills represents a brand like Honda

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
rodriguez
Oct 07, 2016 -

Midtown Honda responded

We try to exceed customer expectations however it’s an ongoing process. We will make sure our sales people are sympatric and understanding to customers’ needs and wants and maintain respectful to every guest. We apologise if your were not treated in a respectful manner and will improve in the future. Thank you for your comments.

February 02, 2016

"Unpleasant experience. Beware of signing form for test drive"

- rev4him

We came into the dealership wanting to test drive a particular Civic model we were interested in. The sales associate asked us to step into his office first before the test drive, but we indicated that we wanted to do the test drive first. He took our licence info and came back with the news that they did not have the model for the test drive we asked for, but the lower version was available. Fine. Then he produced a form he said the dealership required us to sign before doing the test drive, which, if signed would make us liable if anything happened to the test drive car up to a maximum of $7000. When we balked at signing such a document (NO OTHER DEALER, HONDA or OTHERWISE has ever required this in our experience), we were basically given the cold shoulder treatment, even though our previous car was bought at this dealership. Just as well we felt not listened to, because it made us go to another Honda dealer, where they actually had the demo model which we test drove, and ended up buying with a vastly more pleasant sales experience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Poya
Feb 24, 2016 -

Midtown Honda responded

We're sorry to hear of your experience at Midtown Honda. We have a test drive waver due to our insurance and sales person safety. We understand not everyone will agree however were a large volume dealership and want to unsure customers/salesperson safety at all times.

November 17, 2015

"Great new car buying experience"

- %c04mc03m

Best Honda Dealership hands down! I work in the industry and I am very familiar with the car buying process. But when I came to see Eli at Midtown I got something I never expected: a warm real conversation about my needs. It didn't feel like I was buying car in the normal sense. It felt like I was having a conversation with someone who genuinely cared.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Eli
Nov 25, 2015 -

Midtown Honda responded

Eli is a super guy that really does care. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in our service department.

1
1 - 10 of 30 results