About Us
Copyright 2017 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search
Back
Write a review

GD Coates Suzuki

3.0

27 Lifetime Reviews

425 Dunlop Street West , Barrie, Ontario L4N 1C3 Directions
Sales: (705) 728-2422

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

27 Reviews of GD Coates Suzuki

Sort by Write a review
June 03, 2017

"Awful"

- Nothingmoretosay

They advertise they help everyone. That's false! They screw everyone that has enough to pay! When they "in house" it's with a company called klean auto leasing which is in the building. Klean leasing treats you like garbage and take payments whenever they feel like. Something dated for the end of the month they may feel like taking at the start. When you try and confront them there's nothing they can do for you they don't know what's going on. And be ready to make a massive down payment to be left with. High buy out and high monthly payments.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Manager
May 03, 2017

"You are far FAR better off buying elsewhere!!"

- 2017Express

In the process of trying to buy a used truck from GD Coats (it won't let me spell Coat-e-s properly) Suzuki right now. We love the truck and truly hope to buy it (a used 2013 Dodge Ram 1500 Laramie, truck is in great shape and is priced okay for the higher than average mileage on it…), but we hate dealing with the sluggish, lack-luster efforts of the sales and financing department. Not sure why the dealership has voicemail, they never return any of our calls. The salesman let our calls go to voicemail and then turns around and leaves for the day without getting back to us. Nice. The times you're lucky enough to talk to the person you're looking for, you get the distinct impression you're doing THEM a favor by being their customer. What ever happened to customer service?? They screwed up our initial application for financing and the deal got denied flat. They submitted my wife’s name but used my SIN and income figures to give the impression of a great credit application. They submitted the app to 6 banks! The banks aren’t stupid and they immediately called us to warn that someone was trying to commit fraud by using our info to buy a truck. When we asked what happened and why, the dealership tells us, "Oh? Well, that's new information… we’ll re-submit it properly and don’t worry, we have a great relationship with the banks", only to leave us waiting and wondering what the xxxx is going on. We were also told they are a full-disclosure dealership and will get us any and all details about the repaired accident damage on the truck. Still waiting for that even..... They have until close of business today to figure out if they want to sell this truck or not, but we have doubts we’ll hear anything unless we badger them continuously. There are plenty of other folks out there that will happily take our money with gratitude instead of indifference and annoyed inconvenience. Update #1: They finally managed to get a hold of the previous owner (great friend of the general manager apparently, sure…sure he is) to tell us what damage was repaired on the truck. We have to settle for third-party word of mouth, and trust that the minor rear bumper repair was the extent of the damage listed on the Car Proof report. Well, that was a waste of everybody’s time and energy. Doesn’t mean a darn thing. Update #2: Here we are two weeks later and finally got the news that their financing department can’t get the deal done at all, and to come get our deposit. Frustrated and hugely disappointed, we decided to go next door to Barrie Chrysler Dodge Jeep. Guess what? I’m now driving a brand new 2017 Dodge Ram 1500 and for almost the same damned price! Yup, THEY give a xxxx about their customers, and went the extra mile to sort out the horrible mess the last clowns made with our credit (which was fine before this whole thing got started…) and at an even better interest rate! So: Save yourself the grief and go see Gary and Christine and get the vehicle you want and the financing too. You’ll leave there feeling like a valued customer and even human! Don’t waste your time anywhere else, especially at GD Suzuki Steal-r-ship.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ted Thorn in sales, Martin (?) in the business office and the General Manager who was a ghost.
March 05, 2017

"bunch of crooks"

- yousuckGD

We bought a car there, they make lots of promises, but when tranny goes a week later, their whole story changed. I elevated it to the so called Management level, what a joke. Do not waste your time with these crooks. Oh and the $300 for admin was just added on the bill.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
D Snow and his Manager
February 28, 2017

"Terrible service"

- cargirl3347

I bought a car from them late 2016 and I absolutely would NEVER suggest buying a car from them. I've had nothing but problems with my car from the day I got it. I was promised that everything would be in tip top shape for me to take it off the lot but it has been far from that. With in the first week, I had multiple issues and was unable to even drive my new car. After having my car in several times and being so done with them telling me it was fixed and having to come back in. I had asked and begged and cried and wanted some sort of customer service, I didn't want the car. I knew I was going to have more problems but I was turned away by the general manager Dwayne and service guy telling me I was just young and things would get better and there was nothing wrong with the car. I was completely exhausted with trying to get help that I stopped calling. Now today I still continue to have electrical issues and motor issues with my vehicle. Another few weeks, a day before going in elsewhere for my recalls, my engine light is on and multiple codes are running through my car. It sounds terrible. after more investigating there is shifty after market parts in my car and found out that emissions service and injector flush had not been done in a long time. This is all ridiculous. I'm have now been in contact again with service department and regular staff and I'm getting no sympathy. They are rude and condisending. UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES SHOULD YOU BUY A CAR FROM THEM. NOT TO BE TRUSTED. People are rude and have so concern for my hard earned money. I'm only 23 and may be worked up but going higher up about this. I i I I hope nobody ever has to go through what I have. Not to mention I haven't even had the car for more than 6 months. hate my car :(

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Dwayne, Darryl, Gord
February 10, 2017

"Crooks"

- Pissedofflady

What a horrible place. I took my car in with an ignition module issue, I was given a peice of wire from the mechanic that was burned and freyed. I was told that the wire was cut out of one of the wiring harnesses below my dash and that was the route of all my problems. They stated that it was fixed and charged me $700 for their time and a new ignition modual. 2 days later, I was on the side of the road. I took my car to my brother this time (he's a licensed GM mechanic). There was absolutely no evidence of any wiring being cut out of any wiring harness and they had wired the ignition modual to direct power vs. Directing it to a fuse, thus causing another ignition modual to blow. When I called DG Coates and spoke to the manager, he flat out denied that anything like that would have happened at his shop. He was rude and belligerent towards me and would do absolutely nothing for me. He only said that I could bring it back in, but by that time the issue that they had cause had been fixed by my brother. I deffinatelt didn't have another $700 to throw away in xxxxxx service. I will never be back.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
N/A.
February 07, 2017

"Bad service , Worst financing company in barrie "

- Christopher John Bellefeuille

Never finance threw clean auto, Terrible service , Terrible pricing , People running it now are con artists now that gorde is no longer there. This dealership has gone down hill terribly since gorde stopped running the show. Want to be hurrassed every chance they can , want them in your buss as often as posible ... then this is the location for you .. they like to mess with people lives.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
John
December 11, 2016

" Hard work pays off"

- Jeepers

Jacqueline hall had no problem braving the weather to accommodate my curiosity with a used jeep on the lot. Her patients payed off and I got my dream machine. She's was very pleasant and straight forward.I felt comfortable with my transaction between G.D COATES and Martin made it happen on the financial side quick and seamless. Jacqueline has followed up on my purchase making sure that I'm satisfied. It's great to have a sales person that goes above and beyond. Love the JEEP.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jacqueline hall
December 08, 2016

"Great service, great car and amazing savings!"

- Vic Toffan

We recently purchased a car through G.D. Coates Used Car Superstore. The entire experience from start to finish has gone above and beyond my expectations. Dean, Duane and Martin made us feel so comfortable, and they were all hilarious! We did not experience any pressure to buy, and they presented us with many great options and deals. I would recommend G.D. Coates Superstore to anyone! They will make you feel like family. Great service, great car and amazing savings! Thank you again, we love our car!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dean, Duane, Martin
November 23, 2016

"Excellent service, very honest!"

- Kerry

I dealt with Graham and he was very thorough and honest. Since I was making a deal from 5 hrs away I had to trust and rely on the dealer. He told me every possible thing he could about the car and even went above and beyond to make the distance transaction to go smooth. When I got there they were extremely friendly and everything was exactly as discussed with no surprises. I would strongly recommend them for a vehicle purchase. Thank you for a great experience. Kerry

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Graham
November 20, 2016

"Good Deal / Great Salesman"

- Dakker

Met Brandon Johnson who is a new addition to the sales dept. to help us with our interest in a 2009 Nissan Murano. Found him to be sincere, honest and above board in negotiating a fair deal for this vehicle. Any questionable items were addressed and handled with a professional attitude and feel confident we were treated fairly and with great respect. He has an upbeat friendly manner which is refreshing to see in the auto sales industry. Martin looked after the sales contract final invoicing and was straight forward and helpful but not pushy in the aftermarket add ons that were available if desired. Best regards and wishes to your new career Brandon. Keep up the good work. Dak & Donna Perry

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Brandon Johnson / Martin
1
1 - 10 of 27 results