Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Back

Summit GM

Fort McMurray, AB

3.3
48 Lifetime Reviews Review Dealership

530 MacKenzie Blvd

Fort McMurray, AB

T9H 4C8

Directions

48 Reviews of Summit GM

Sort by Write a review
March 03, 2021

"Needed a replacement vehicle due to an accident and..."

- Steve Reimer

Needed a replacement vehicle due to an accident and Summit GM had the best vehicle for the best price! Being in Edmonton, they made extremely easy to verify everything was just right to my satisfaction before I made the trip up.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dennis Garcia
5.0
Dave Bosma
5.0
Other Employees : Kim Hennessey
February 17, 2021

"I bought a couple trucks through Melissa.. she made..."

- Jeepjeep780

I bought a couple trucks through Melissa.. she made everything easy. She had the trucks cleaned..delivered to Edmonton, inspected at great price. Appreciated everything and recommend to anyone in town or out of town. Will defiantly buy from her again.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Melissa Lauzier
5.0
Mar 04, 2021 -

Summit GM responded

What a great review to read! It sounds like Melissa went above and beyond. We take pride in giving our out of town customers an experience that is as close to being here as possible, and with her thorough product knowledge, pictures, and videos I know Melissa has a lot of customers who feel the same way that you do. We appreciate the opportunity to earn your business, and we appreciate you taking the time to leave such kind words for our team! Sincerely, Dave Bosma, Sales Manager.

February 11, 2021

"I had an awesome experience with sales rep Gary he was..."

- sunnyjames73

I had an awesome experience with sales rep Gary he was excellent to deal with.He seemed to care about my daughter driving a reliable vehicle and at a good price. I most definitely will refer him to family and friends .(Thanks again Gary )😊

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gary Andreassen
5.0
Mar 04, 2021 -

Summit GM responded

Thanks for the review! Gary takes pride in his customer service, and a lot of that is finding the right vehicle for your needs, not just your budget. He is usually able to do both. We would love to work with you again, and I’m confident Gary and our team can live up to what you expect of him. I hope your daughter has a safe, and wonderful experience with her new ride! Sincerely, Dave Bosma, Sales Manager.

Mar 04, 2021 -

sunnyjames73 responded

Thanks again and see you soon

February 08, 2021

"One of the best car buying experiences I've had so far...."

- Cloveless

One of the best car buying experiences I've had so far. Took some time to reach the deal I was after, but with the help of my salesman they were able to get me into a New toy for the price I wanted.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dennis Garcia
5.0
Khloe Hur
5.0
Mar 04, 2021 -

Summit GM responded

Hey Colton. Thanks for the review, we appreciate it. It was great working with you on this deal, and even better that we were able to earn your business, and a 5 star review. I am going to miss looking out my office window at where your Camaro was. We have a Spark there now, and it just isn’t the same. Sincerely, Dave Bosma, Sales Manager.

February 05, 2021

"Easy to deal with. Friendly and knowledgeable staff and..."

- s.smith777

Easy to deal with. Friendly and knowledgeable staff and all around great service. The cafeteria is a nice feature as well with good foodI will continue to buy vehicles from this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dennis Garcia
5.0
Mar 04, 2021 -

Summit GM responded

That is fantastic news that you had such a great overall experience. Dennis has a lot of customers who feel the same and we love when they take the time to leave a review to share it. We appreciate the shout out to our in house restaurant as well. I think you were here for lunch, but they do have a terrific breakfast too. We hope to see you around when you are looking for wheels, or meals. Sincerely, Dave Bosma, Sales Manager.

January 20, 2021

"I was hesitant, being from out of town, however, my best..."

- Don

I was hesitant, being from out of town, however, my best expectations were met by Gary Andreassen and Dave Bosma. The purchase of my Enclave was flawless and was completed in record time. Delivery to my door was clean and smooth. I would certainly have no issue in dealing with these folks again. Don

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gary Andreassen
5.0
Dave Bosma
5.0
Other Employees : Manon Toms
Jan 29, 2021 -

Summit GM responded

Hey Don, thanks so much for the kind words. I know when we first spoke you had your reservations about a sight unseen purchase, and I’m proud of Gary for living up to our standards, and making you feel like you were here at the dealership yourself. Manon, Gary, and I all enjoyed working with you, and you ended up with a great deal, on a really nice vehicle. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us this review. Sincerely, Dave Bosma, Sales Manager.

January 04, 2021

"Just purchased another vehicle from Summit in Fort..."

- Frank

Just purchased another vehicle from Summit in Fort McMurray. Great experience but I'm not surprised as all of my purchases have been a good experience. Have dealt with other dealerships in town and Summit is the only one I recommend. Thanks to Myron, Mike , Manon and Trevor also everyone else at Summit, class job all around.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Trevor Christensen
5.0
Myron Melnychuk
5.0
Michael Duncombe
5.0
Jan 29, 2021 -

Summit GM responded

Good day Frank. Thanks so much for the business. We hope your son is loving his new vehicle, and we hope that you and your family continue to enjoy working with us as much as we enjoy working with you. We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave such a flattering review. Sincerely, Dave Bosma, Sales Manager.

December 21, 2020

"DO NOT PURCHASE A VEHICLE FROM SUMMIT GMC IF YOU ARE AN..."

- Dale

DO NOT PURCHASE A VEHICLE FROM SUMMIT GMC IF YOU ARE AN OUT OF TOWN BUYER !! I purchased a used 2016 GMC from Summit 2 weeks ago. (Around Dec.2, 2020). I am not from Fort McMurray and was not real comfortable buying this truck only ever seeing it in pictures and talking to the salesperson. I’ve driven many of these very similar trucks and I knew exactly the kind of truck I was looking for. This truck looked great, so I inquired. After talking with the salesperson, I was assured that this truck was in Mint condition. I specifically asked if there were any dents, scratches, rust or anything on the body of the truck. I had the vehicle Carfax and the AMVIC mechanic fitness test and all looked good. I asked about the body of the vehicle several times and was very specific if there were any thing other than the typical wear and tear like some minor rock chips. I was again assured that there was nothing wrong with this truck and that it was in mint condition. I purchased the truck sight unseen and it was delivered to me early one morning. Right to my door which was nice. It was dirty from the delivery so at noon on that same day I washed the truck to check it out with my own eyes. I was very upset to see 2 decent sized chips on the doors. One on the driver door and one on the passenger door. Both the size of a dime and down to the primer. I was also very disappointed to see that down the driver side of the door, from the front of the front door to the back of the back door there were 3 or 4 decent scratches running at least 4 feet long. You can only see these scratches when it’s clean and if you are within 3 feet of the truck, but non the less this is exactly what I asked about and was told there was nothing wrong. One manager even told me that the truck was good when it left their shop and wondered if in the 4 hours that I had the truck, if something happened to it. I said oh ya, 2 decent rock chips, one on each side and a 4 foot scratch happened to me all in 4 hours when I drove it for 10 minutes in total. He said they never saw anything wrong with the truck. Then after talking to a higher manager, he admitted that they did notice these things but called it normal for a used truck. I disagreed but said even if it was normal in their eyes, those things should have been disclosed to me as I specifically asked about that. I gave them a chance to fix the truck. I took the truck to a local Edmonton GM dealership and got a quote to fix these issues. $2,600 to repaint the doors. I then asked about only power polishing the doors to get the scratches out. That cost is $425. I asked Summit to at least cover the power polishing cost and they would not do anything. They have told me that this amount of damage is normal wear and tear and that is should have been expected. They then said that our business is not a fit and that I should not shop there anymore. And I never will again and strongly recommend that no one does. They took advantage as I was an out of town buyer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Kennedy Russell
3.0
Dave Bosma
1.0
Jan 19, 2021 -

Summit GM responded

Hey Dale. Thanks for the feedback. I’m sorry we weren’t able to come to an agreement on this, and like I had mentioned to you, the thoroughness of my Salesperson, and reviewing through the communication I was scratching my head at the end of this deal as well. I certainly don’t feel as though this is a situation where we were trying to take advantage of a customer, in town or otherwise. Not every dealership and every customer have the same interpretations, and this is a reminder that we need to be even more thorough in the future. You did get a great truck, and an amazing deal, and I’m hoping that once the dust settles you can be focused on having a truck that you love, at a great price. Sincerely, Dave Bosma, Sales Manager.

Jan 19, 2021 -

Dale responded

Hi Dave. We will have to agree to disagree. When I asked specifically 3 times about any scratches, dents, rust etc. etc. and was told this Truck was mint and there were no scratches, dents or rust etc. Upon delivery I find 2 nickel sized rock chips in the doors with paint bubbling, meaning the start of rust. PLUS, the 4 to 5 foot long, 8 inch wide multiple scratches down the driver side doors. I don't care if we disagree or not if this is wear and tear or not. In my mind this is beyond wear and tear. But the fact that I specifically asked and your dealership personnel specifically lied is the issue. I had GM estimate the repairs. $2,600 to get it like new. $425 to try to power polish most scratches out. Then to have you tell me that you would not even cover the $400 power polish just showed me that you fully intended to screw me over. Yes it is a nice truck but the price was too high considering what I now have to do to fix it. I would have offered less or not offered at all. There was a private truck in Edmonton I could have purchased for $1000 less. (Same year, millage and trim, except the GFX package) but I decided A) I liked going through a GM dealer for piece of mind. and B) I liked the GFX package. But the GFX package was not worth the extra cost now that I have to spend $2,600 more to get this truck in a condition I was told it was already in. I would have even been happy if you covered the $425 power polish, but no, you instead tell me there is nothing you can do and that we should not do business together again. YOU GOT THAT RIGHT. What frustrates me the most is that GM Canada puts up with this kind of service from one of their dealers. I'm a die hard GM guy, but this really makes me question why.

December 15, 2020

"Worst experience ever. Purchased a lightly used vehicle,..."

- DTR

Worst experience ever. Purchased a lightly used vehicle, engine light on after 10km, general manager rude & abusive when approached to sort this out. BUY ELSEWHERE

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Devon Andrews
3.0
Michael Duncombe
1.0
Jan 29, 2021 -

Summit GM responded

Thanks for the feedback on your experience. I know that the issues were off a warranty extension nature, and and that we had helped as much as possible with getting the work done as quickly as possible, even though it wasn’t our shop, and made sure you had a loaner while the work was being done. We’re sorry the experience left a sour taste for you, but we hope you are now enjoying your Ford truck, and we’ll do as much as one dealership can in the future if something else may arise. Sincerely, Dave Bosma, Sales Manager.

November 24, 2020

"DO NOT BUY FROM MIKE MAHONY. This salesman is a complete..."

- B-Line

DO NOT BUY FROM MIKE MAHONY. This salesman is a complete joke and was dishonest about the trucks condition and potentialy the service done to the truck. Was the worst vehicle purchase transaction I've ever had and keep in mind I buy a new (although this one was used) truck every 2 years. With covid going on this was a used truck sale that went on over the phone with pictures. I asked him to make a detailed visual inspection of the truck and take pictures of anything that may be wrong with the truck or anything that I should see before driving several hrs to the dealership. Asked him to pretend it was a truck he was going to buy, don't show me the good but show me the bad. This truck being 3 years old I did expect to find some minor things wrong with it that would need attention. He sent me many pictures but only one picture of the bad explaining there was paint chip and told me the rest of the truck was "100% Mint" so I jumped on the deal after he agreed to fix the paint chip. Asked him to order me mud flaps to match the back which were installed and weather tech floor mats and to deliver them with the truck. We met in a town that was half way for both of us. When I was going over the truck. I found that there were large gobs of mud on the carpet on both the passenger and driver's side(new floor mats and mud flaps were not installed). Which was there from the windshield Installation apparently. Asked him if that's how he delivers a truck to a new costumer!? He didn't really have an asnwer. I found the tail pipe to be bent as if someone backed into something. They removed some of the 3M from the front of the truck without telling me. The front bumber was clearly bent and cracked. Also the outside of the truck was not detailed and had iron specs and tar specs all over the truck. I asked him why he didn't take pictures of all that and he said that he didn't see any of it. When I sat in the truck, I noticed that the oil life was not reset. I was told this truck had a full service prior to making a deal yet the salesman cannot find any record of this service but tells me it was done. I told him this truck is NOT 100% mint and I was walking out on this deal unless he makes it right. He called his boss and he said that they would fix everything and to get quotes to them asap. I decided to take the truck since they were going to make it all right. Once I got home I realized that the mud flaps he sent were not the same as the back and the floor mats were not weather tech. At this point I had a chat with the general manager and then the sales manager Mike Duncombe he made it right by paying for the truck to get detailed, carpets steam cleaned, new exhaust tip, new 3M and spent $985.00 on the front bumper. He was going to get weather techs and proper mud flaps sent to me and also comped me 2 oil changes for my troubles. Then I ran out of DEF after 1500km of highway driving not pulling anything. Strange how this shouldve been topped up during the service i was told was done but yet they can't find a record of it. Fast forward 33 days (today, a Wednesday) I havent received my mud flaps or weather techs yet, the salesman tells me he is going to ship them out on friday, when I talked to him 9 days earlier and they were on his desk I told him that they need to be sent out asap. The sales manager Mike Duncombe told me this is not how they do busniess, he was going to have a serious talk with Mr.Mahony and tried to make it right but I am completely dissapointed and Summit should be embarrassed Maybe I shouldn't have bought a truck from a dealer this far away, covid or not. Maybe I shouldnt have let them make it right after viewing the truck. Maybe I shouldve returned the truck. I was just going off the word of a shady salesman and then the word of a solid sales manager. I'd reccomend buying a vehicle from any other dealer than Summit GMC. Such a poor transaction on many levels. UPDATE: it's now been 7 weeks and still no mats or mudflaps. Have left 3 messages for the sales Manager and 3 for the General Manager, neither have replied.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mike Mahoney
1.0
Jan 13, 2021 -

Summit GM responded

Good morning, First I wanted to start by apologizing for your experience. I wasn’t the manager involved in the deal, but I am the Pre-Owned manager, and there is nothing worse than when we don’t live up to expectations, let alone fall well below them. Mike Mahoney has an army of customers who swear by his customer service, but with that being said, every person in this building has made a mistake at one point or another, and it sounds like Mike made more than a few on this one, and it was magnified by the fact that being an out of town customer we weren’t able to address it in person. There are more than a handful of dealerships out there who will wash their hands clean of a customer who isn’t standing in front of them, but I want to make sure that this has been resolved to your satisfaction. We pride ourselves on out of town customers feeling like they are here shopping themselves, and this is a sharp contrast that is incredibly disappointing; not just to you, but to the entire management staff. I wish we had been able to provide the level of customer service that we expect from ourselves, but given that we weren’t, I appreciate the feedback. If we don’t know where we fail, then we don’t know where to improve. I have spoken to Mike Mahoney on this, and let him know that this is unacceptable, and as a staff we are using this incident to develop stronger, and more transparent communication processes. Please E-mail me at dbosma@summitgm.ca with any additional information, and I’m confident I can work with you to make sure everything is resolved to your satisfaction. Dave Bosma Sales Manager Summit GM

1
...
1 - 10 of 48 results