Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

Jack McGee Chevrolet Cadillac Corvette Ltd

2.8

20 Lifetime Reviews

1053 Clonsilla Ave, Peterborough, Ontario K9J 6Z6 Directions
Sales: (705) 741-9000

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

20 Reviews of Jack McGee Chevrolet Cadillac Corvette Ltd

Sort by Write a review
June 20, 2019

"Doesn't stand behind product!"

- Jeff

I bought this $55,000 truck 30,000 kms ago brand new. I recently had to do the front brakes on it, they were non existant. The inner front pads were completely gone and rotors all scored. I went in to the dealer and spoke to the the service manager and was told that was a common problem. Only covered up to 27,000 though. GM nor Jack McGee will even come good for the parts let alone the labour. I feel a dealership with a known problem on a new truck would at least want to make sure the customer was reimbursed for the parts so they would come back and buy from them next time. NEVER again after this will I go to Jack McGee after this problem. They have lost a customer for life and hopefully everyone I know will stay away from them as well.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tony
January 16, 2019

"Honest sale, horrendous and incompetent service "

- Happy to spend my

My wife and I Bought a used equinox June 2018. Sales experience was great! Patrick the sales guy really went to bat for us and delivered on all promises. Even ensured we had transportation when the alternator of the vehicle died ten minutes after driving it off the lot. 2 months into ownership I noticed a fluid leak from the engine compartment. Needed vehicle in good shape As I was getting married in 2 weeks and my brother and his wife were flying in from Whitehorse and would be using my car while my wife and i were on our honeymoon. Also needed vehicle to transport most of our wedding items. Took vehicle in for assessment. My assumption was transmission fluid but I was not concerned as I had purchased a warranty, and previous interactions had been great. Booked service with a representative who had previously serviced my last vehicle with ignition switch issues. Was told upon arrival that the rep I booked was on vacation and Matt would help me. Matt’s first comment was that I should “feel lucky” that I got this long out of the transmission. Car had fewer km’s than the standard Powertrain warranty all GM vehicles come with and only 2 months new to me. Not impressed. Needed to be at work at 8 so had arrived early and was in the shuttle first. Was dropped off last 20 minutes late for work. first contact after assessment, was told transmission is leaking and repair is 1600. I inquired about warranty coverage. I was told I had no warranty. Odd since I had purchased the warranty at that dealership 2 months ago with the car. After some back and forth Matt said he would “look into it and get back to me”. When I returned from lunch I had two messages on my phone. First message indicated Matt had located my warranty after all and they were covering all but the deductible. In the Second message Matt explained the claim had been denied and repair would be full price and delayed as the parts had been sent back. I contacted manager Tony at this point, having lost all faith in Matt. I explained the situation in a voicemail message and requested callback before close of business. Had not been contacted by end of day and called manager for the 3rd time. Was told I wasn’t outside when they sent shuttle, and was explained that claim had been resolved and warranty would cover work. I explained that I would prefer another service tech as I had lost confidence in Matt. Was told they would accommodate this but could not get me in until 2 days before my wedding. I Explained this was not going to work due to needing the car that evening to pack up wedding items, in order to make our rehearsal the next day, and to ensure my brother had a vehicle to use while down from the other side of the country. I Was assured it was a one day repair and would not impinge upon my abilities to make my rehearsal. Was also contacted separately by the owner of the dealership who offered apology and to cover the deductible. Although I was concerned about the timeline I felt as though my concerns were being taken seriously. When picking up the vehicle that evening Matt joked about my experience and berated the girl at the counter for doing a poor job, prompting a written complaint from me to the manager indicating he should be aware of the poor customer service demonstrated by his staff. I Was told by the manager that he discussed the situation with both staff and they indicated Matt was just joking around. Manager Tony indicates he’s a good kid and he would speak to him about customer perception. Also reiterated promise that repair would be done in time for wedding, despite the fact that he would be away that day. He assured me he would explain to staff the situation and sensitive timeline. Dropped off the car for reapair (2 weeks since booking original appointment and 1 week since disastrous first attemtp by incompetent service department). Service rep who I spoke with has not been notified of the issue/previous situation/sensitive timeline. No notes on my file in the computer system. I Explained the manager and owner promised repair would be completed same day. Rep said they would “do their best”. Asked if I should cancel and reschedule as I need the car tonight for my wedding rehearsal tomorrow? I Was told it would likely be done same day and parts appeared to be in inventory. I hesitantly left vehicle for servicing. Was once again first in last out with shuttle despite explaining my need to be at work before 8am. Was called at 2:30 (when there is 3 hours left in the advertised hours of the service department). Was told vehicle would need to be held overnight as repair could not be completed same day. Was offered rental car, but declined as I was not about to load up a small car I couldn’t use for longer than 12 hours with all the wedding stuff, only to transfer it to my suv the next day. Implored that surely something could be done given my known circumstances and time left in the workday, citing promises made by manager and owner. Felt horrible for the woman I spoke too as I was rather livid at this point. Apologized and requested to speak with the owner or manager. They were not available and poor woman apologized while explaining nothing could be done. I Apologized again but expressed my extreme displeasure. Did not get car back till 1:30 next day. Work order receipt clearly states 5pm previous day was “promised delivery”. When I entered the dealership to pick up my vehicle I was told that I could not collect my key until I had spoken to the manager. Manager Tony went on to chastise me for “the way I spoke to his staff”. He said I could speak to him anyway I like in his office but not to his staff. I explained that I had been upset but was apologetic to staff not involved in the repair and not abusive in any way to any of his staff, and my only regret was that he was not around to truly feel the brunt of my anger. I reminded him that I did not have time for this bs and I demanded my keys and this farce to be over. I Was late for my own wedding rehearsal. 4 months later The transmission started leaking in the same location. I Would never return here for service but emailed to request details of my warranty, specifically was it valid at other dealerships. Here is a short excerpt of Tony’s email response. “As a result of your continued petulant emails and previous verbal tantrums directed towards our staff there is no foreseeable circumstance that you would ever be welcomed back at this dealership. We have purged you from our data system and ask that you never contact us again.” This was only my third email ever to this establishment, and first since the repair so “continued” is certainly a stretch. I was not given an answer to my question. I never used foul language around or towards his staff. I was certainly upset, but I feel as though most would be. The lack of empathy and downright rude responses are indicative of what you should expect from this service department. To top it all off the above excerpt makes it clear they will not honor the warranty for the repair they botched. I am considering my legal options at this point. Speaking with other locals I have come to understand that this is far more typical of jack mcgees service department than expected, and that my story is one among many. Many will never set foot in the dealership again. I will reiterate that the sales team was amamazing and if I was welcome at the dealership again I would still consider a purchase from this location, I just wouldn’t subject myself to the disgusting treatment of the service department. If you buy there, plan on getting your car looked after somewhere else.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Tony
September 26, 2018

"-Compete incompetence- "

- Stuck With Truck

Didn't even get the time of day, and rushed though the meeting; Spend your life savings on a place with no back bone. Did not listen to my issues with the vehicle and service and passed the ball again. Vehicle sold to me without any issues being corrected as per the deal. The vehicle was sold to me with all issues as the day it went on the lot, total BS They will not take the truck back because we had a "DEAL" and the deal was a truck with no issues and it did it had multiple , and now I am stuck with it coming back and forth to the dealership to fix issues that should have been dealt with from the get go

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Sales.
September 24, 2018

"I had a wonderful experience with purchasing my new car"

- New car, Kim333

It was my first time purchasing a new vehicle and David Smith made my experience fantastic! He was very knowledgeable in my vehicle choice and answered any questions I had. I would recommend Jack McGees to others. Thanks for a great experience Dave, I love my new Terrain. Kim Sampson

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
David Smith, Larry Downer
June 28, 2018

"Great Service"

- Lee

Always a pleasant experience dealing with Doug Evans from whom I have purchased 3 vehicles. I always recommend Jack McGee Chevrolet for the best service.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Doug Evans, Jaqueline, Kristie
May 11, 2018

"Don’t go to this dealership. "

- Boogie

We purchased a 2010 Cadillac SRX from McGees on May 23rd 2017. They safeties and tested the vehicle and said everything was good. They wouldn’t even give us a thirty day warranty and the salesman said they would come good if anything went wrong. We purchased the vehicle under his assurances. Within two weeks, the headlight had moisture in it and burned out. We went back to McGees and they wouldn’t come good for it and quoted me a cost to replace it around $2500.00. First I agreed because I felt I had no choice and they wanted $400.00 deposit. I changed my mind and called to cancel. They said they couldn’t cancel because they had already ordered it. I asked them to send it back and they said it would cost almost $600.00 to ship it back. I told them I would pay the extra to send it back but I was never going to deal with them again. They dropped the price to send it back to the $400.00 deposit that I gave them. So basically, I gave them $400.00 for nothing. I contacted GM Canada and asked if the dealerships could sell their cars without a warranty. Are they justified in the cost of the headlight. Are they allowed to charge me for sending the headlight back. I then wondered what was wrong because the dash kept telling me there was something wrong on the drivers side indicating wheel bearing. I took it to another place for a safety at my cost. Turned out, it needed a front wheel bearing so safety wasn’t even done properly. The response I got from GM Canada was a burned out headlight was not a safety issue. Never again will I deal with them. Betty

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Maurice Knight
March 26, 2018

"3rd Vehicle"

- Gary&Shelley

This is the third vehicle we have purchased, no pressure dealt with Kevin very Curtious. All the staff treated us with respect. Vehicle was cleaned and ready.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kevin Evans
November 21, 2017

"Honest and straight forward.. "

- tj

Bought an used 2016 Camaro from McGee. I didn't feel pressured to buy the car. The Saleman and finance person were extremely helpful. I was honest and up front with them and the did the same for me. I found the staff that I encountered to be friendly.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Kevin and Jacquiline
November 19, 2017

"Time for this dealership to be shut down!"

- Roxy

If you are looking for a dealership with a friendly atmosphere but who also incorporate honest and ethical business practices, DO NOT waste your time at this place. This dealership is totally unprofessional and lacks any type of integrity. I am surprised it has stayed open this long. 😝

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
McGee
July 13, 2017

"Unprofessional and Ignorant liars."

- Morgan Wilson

What a waste of time...was told I was approved for an 84 month term on a used vehicle, and that to get there ASAP as they had other buyers for he vehicle, I was at work so had my 9 month pregnant wife go down (to show our trade in), it was an hour and a half drive, and upon arrival, no one even greeted her, she had to search for an employee, they then asked her to bring the car closer to the front door for them to look at it? Isn't that there job? Then we were told it is a 60 month term on the vehicle, even after I had asked twice for them to confirm that it was 84 months before we made the trip down.... the Sales Manager Adam Mcgee or whatever he is was ignorant and lied to my family, lies of which were even on text message, when confronted he simply denied this.Typical greasy sleepy salesman looking for a quick sale, any way possible, they are not upfront and clear, read the fine print, better yet just stay the xxxx away from these dirt xxxxx.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Adam Mcgee
1
1 - 10 of 20 results