About Us
Copyright 2018 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Dealer Panel | Are you a dealer? Learn more
Search
Back
Write a review

Cowell Volkswagen

3.2

14 Lifetime Reviews

13611 Smallwood Place, Richmond, British Columbia V6V 1W8 Directions
Sales: (604) 273-3922

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

14 Reviews of Cowell Volkswagen

Sort by Write a review
June 25, 2018

"Great sales experience"

- B and B

We purchased a new Atlas from Nick in February 2018 and have had nothing but great experiences with the dealership, both sales and service. Thanks everyone!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
nick
Jun 28, 2018 -

B and B responded

As a follow up to this sales review, I wanted to note that our experiences with Service department to be less than satisfactory. My main issues have been around trying to reach them! I am on hold for extraordinary lengths of time when I call. When I contact them via the online form, they respond via email, rather than phone as I request. Then, when they do phone, they don't call the phone number I specified - very exasperating!

January 06, 2018

"Use extreme caution or stay clear "

- Advocacy for the elderly

Took advantage of elderly who doesn't fully understand what they're signing. They did not explain that the added insurance policies sold were optional. No one is willing to take ownership of what happened. Use extreme caution or stay away from Cowell altogether due to unethical practices and poor services. These people have no conscience.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Phil A, Mark H, Alex L
December 30, 2017

"Shady business, use EXTREME Caution"

- private2017

These folks took full advantage of elderly people, charging them MSRP rates, $500 doc fees + $500 Prep fees, and selling them useless additional insurance policies. Buyer beware; very dishonest and untrustworthy. Have someone knowledgeable look over the final doc before signing. No one mentioned that the insurance ($3000) is an option and snugged it in there. When confronted, no one takes any responsibilities. General manager Phil A. and sales manager Mark alike, shady, unethical practices, and poor services. Sales manager Mark is unapologetic and on the defensive; has no idea about the products that they sell. They should be ashamed of themselves for taking advantage of the elderly who has little knowledge of what they're signing. USE EXTREME CAUTION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mark (sales manager), Alex (car salesman), Jen (business manager)
December 16, 2017

"Great Service from Jon Fishman"

- L Tse

I would like to install front view camera to my new car because when I bought it, it was very rush and the salesperson was no good, liar and pushy. Therefore, I passed by Richmond Cowell VW and would like to get a quote. Jon was the representative to help me, he is nice and absolutely great. I also asked him about dash cam information, he gave me good information where to look for. Second time, I could not open my trunk in the morning, I went there again. Maybe because of the weather was too cold, I parked outside, When I got there, he could open it right away. I think I am going to do my warranty there instead of Open Road Lougheed VW where I bought the car.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Jon Fishman
August 16, 2017

"Guys, thank you so much for the fantastic service.!"

- Guywheelhouse

I was schedule in to replace my window switch, right on time, as my warranty was going to expire in the next days. Thank you!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Service manager
August 15, 2017

"Excellent dealership. superb and honest sales team. "

- Walid

I can`t be more satisfied, before walking into Cowell VW I did my homework very well and asked assistance from an outside expert , Walked in on Sunday July 16th 2017, greeted very professionally by a sales consultant ALEX, shook hands with him in five minutes, got a very good lease offer , was not pushed to buy any other unnecessary packages , Bought the lease protection as I asked for it . Drove the car off the lot in a considerable time . ALEX and the team at Cowell did an amazing job to make me happy as a customer . Thank you awesome team

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
ALEX
June 14, 2017

"Service a bit unnecessary and pricey"

- Qdude

We have a 2014 Jetta, gas model. Have taken it in a few times for the "recommended " service. Each time we pay way too much for an oil change and tire rotation, and the silly checklist. ( I think two times they never even topped up the washer fluid, contrary to the check list...) What else is really needed in the first few years? Then they want to do a brake fluid flush on a 2 year old car? I think dealer service are all in trouble these days as cars need less and less. Plus they can't charge everything back to the manufacturers anymore, so warranty work is fading back as well. All they have left is to terrify you into paying each year to keep your warranty. The extortion is over for me, car runs great and warranty is nearly up, change my own xxxx oil! Most of the positive reviews here are a bit too "glowing" if you get my drift.....

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
I forgot
May 17, 2017

"Best to keep an eye on your car while in for service"

- KiaGoodProductBadService

Car for service, Saw employee, probably a lot guy, racing my car around the Richmond automall lot, Disappointed, rather good customer service, just uncultured employees (lot guys/car washers).

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
cathy
October 14, 2016

"Cannot trust the dealer, Check everything before signing"

- db73961

The following email was sent to Cowell 10 days ago with no response at all except email from Nadia acknowledge that she had received the email. ______________________________________________________________________________ Last month, we purchase a demo Touareg diesel from Cowell Volkswagen in Richmond, BC. Upon receiving an email from Nadia Chung, Business manager of Cowell Motor. Me and my wife went to meet Mark Hansford today (Tuesday October 4, 2016). To my surprise, Mark request us to sign another form for extended warranty. Staying that the original one my wife signed when we pickup the car last week was a mistake that Nadia gave us the “5 Stars” warranty. And the one that we are suppose to have what should be a “3 Star” warranty. We were very surprised, we refused to sign such document. On the first day when me and my son came to the dealer to test drive the car and sign the contract, the only document I received after paying the deposit was the one page contract with the final price as $48,000 plus tax including 7 years, 140000km warranty and I have to finish the deal on or before September 30, 2016. This is not the first unwanted surprise. The first surprise we encounter is the contract Nadia email to my wife, Judy, was not the one we signed on the first day. This emailed contract added $495 for documentation which was not on the original contract. This was finally adjusted after speaking to Jimmy. What happen if customer do not check their document. Back to the warranty issue. When we negotiate for the price, we finally agree on the price of $48,000 plus tax, including 7 years, 140,000km extended warranty. This deal was done with Jimmy, the salesman and the manager, Aaron Blitzolein. At that time, I was expecting that should be extending the original 4 years warranty to 7 years and 140,000km. No one told me (and my son, Justin) that this was not the case. No one told us this is a warranty package that is difference to the original factory 4 years warranty. No one told us there are difference warranty package. We never heard the term “3 star” or “5 star”. When we pickup the car, Nadia request my wife to sign a few document and one of them should be the extended warranty. She gave us a small booklet that concern the extended warranty. At this point, we still do not know this is not the same as the original 4 years warranty. Not until today when Mark request us to sign a difference warranty that we learn what we’d got was not same as original factory warranty. Also the first time we learn difference package of warranty is available. I was very frustrated. Feeling being tricked. Not once, but three time within one week on buying one car. 1. The documentation fee 2. Getting not the original factory extended warranty 3. Trying to trick us to sign into a lesser warranty package. Another very frustrated issue is concerning the manager Aaron. He keep telling me he is selling the car to us at a lost. Be honest, the car original MSRP was only around $52000 in 2015. One year later, I pay $48,000 for that car. Everyone told me I pay too much for an one year old car with higher then average mileage. Does Aaron think he can drive a brand new car for one year and 24000km for free. Or will he take my car as trade in within one year and 24000km at 8-9% off the MSRP. My question: is this the normal practice of Cowell or is this normal way to sell a Volkswagen. I have the car for about one week now, took it for a long distance trip already. The car is great. Perform exactly as I expect. Quality is better then I expect. Too bad, cannot say the same about the dealer. I want to keep the car for 5 to 6 years. I hope these are the last disappointment with the dealer.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Mark Hansford, Aaron Blitzolein
May 30, 2016

"Horrible Service "

- Nav08

I purchased a new Jetta from this dealer ship in 2013. The car has about 55,000 kms and all services and oil changes have been completed on-time by Cowell VW. The car began to act up and would jerk while driving. I took it in to tell them about the issue. They kept the car for about a week and did some work then told me it was fixed. A few days later the car began to act up again. I took it back and this time they kept it for two weeks and told me nothing was wrong with it. they cannot help me. They told me I don't know how the car drives. I own three Jetta's. I know how they drive. I gave up on them and took the vehicle to Jim Pattison Volkswagen in surrey and they identified the problem they day I dropped it off. They had the car fixed and back to me in less than a week. I Suggest if you want hassle free service deal with Jim Pattison Volkswagen not Cowell. I would never recommend this dealership.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
NIck
1
1 - 10 of 14 results