About Us
Copyright 2016 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Dow Honda

1 Colonnade Road, Ottawa, Ontario K2G 1E1
Sales: (613) 237-2777
Service: (613) 237-2777
Parts: (613) 237-2777

Makes: Honda | Service Center
Average
31% Recommend
2.5

39 Lifetime Reviews

Dow Honda
1 Colonnade Road,
Ottawa, Ontario K2G 1E1
Dow Honda Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Nearby Certified Dealers

Civic Motors Honda

144 Lifetime Reviews

Read Reviews
39 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
Nevolute
5-17-2016
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Ben Mc Coy, nuff said. "

My significant other and I had be been searching for a vehicle for quite some time while coordinating our busy schedules. We were greeted by Ben Mc Coy, a true family man and genuinely kind gentleman. I've come in contact with quite a few salesman in the past 30 years and have never been succumb to the class that emanated from Mr. Mc Coy. Simply put, there was absolutely no xxxxxxxx, no up-selling, only truth at its very core. Within the hour, we had purchased a white 2016 Honda Civic LX. What proceeded was a very smooth and easy transaction. I also got a free bottle of water - I call that a win. Thank you, Mr. Mc Coy. I'll see you in the near future for a second Civic!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Ben Mc Coy

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
Honda guy
4-17-2016
Reason For Visit
Service

"Definitely avoid this place for service!!!"

Made an appointment for a B1 service on my 13 Crosstour, booked for 5 PM. Dropped the car at 5, knowing it's a 2 hours service I said I'd be in the area waiting and would be back in about an hour to wait. Get back just after 6 to find the car is still not even in the bay. Sit in the waiting room and walk around a bit, finally the car is brought in at 6;20. I had asked them to check for a warped rotor while servicing the brakes (part of a B1 service), as I was getting a pulsation in the brake pedal. I was advised that I needed new brakes including front and rear rotors and pads. I found this unusual at only 56.000 km since I do mostly highway driving and had always got between 70,000 and 80,000 km between brakes on every other car. When I asked about turning the rotors instead of replacing them I was informed that "they don't do that"! When I asked why I was told they don't have a machine to do that and it's easier to just install new ones. Yes much easier to sell me new rotors for 110$ a piece then charge me the usual 20 or 30 bucks to turn a pair of them. Then I was told "besides the rotors come from Honda at the minimum thickness already so you can't turn them". I find that hard to believe since I had already had the front rotors turned at another dealer to fix the same pulsing issue at 25,000 km. (Any so called "service center" that does not have the proper equipment to do the job is simply a "parts changer" operation). I told them to just do the B1 service and I would do the brakes myself. Two days later I go out to my garage to change my winter tires over to summers and check the brakes only to find a small pool of oil under the car. Thinking that's unusual for a 2 and a half year old car I pull out my ramps to take a look. I drive the car up on the ramps to take a look and find a wet drip of oil at the drain plug. Grabbing a rag to wipe it I was quit surprised when the drain plugged turned simply by wiping the oil away. The service tech had not even bothered to tighten it! It could have fallen out at anytime if I had not checked it which would have caused catastrophic engine damage. Also upon checking the brakes I find that although the back brakes need new pads and maybe even new rotors, (due to a rusted area that may not cleanup when turned), my front brakes are still perfectly fine, with about half life left in the pads. They had also recommended a brake flush since Honda recommends it once every three years. They seemed annoyed when I told them I would require at least one and possibly two more services before the end of the three years so I would get it done next time. All in all I would avoid this place at all cost. I would rate it less the 1 star if I could!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Ian Hunter, Rob Drakos

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
6
James C
11-13-2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Worst service experience of my life - STAY AWAY"

2013 Honda Fit Sport, 18 months old, 45,000km Call to make an appointment, engine is noisy, gas smells and warning lights on. Explain in great detail all this. Arrived for appointment and nothing was recorded. Explained it all again, I'm told a 30 minute diagnosis and a call within the hour, I live out of town so I wait in the area. 1.5 hours later, no call, so I drop in to check. Seems the technician took the wrong car into the garage and, I guess, had been working on it for over an hour....not sure what he was doing. I then learn that none of the information I gave the second time was recorded, all the sheet said was "Check engine light", meanwhile my third service advisor states that a gas smell could indicate a safety issue and it should be recorded, I obviously agree. 3 hours later I get a call, the spark plugs came loose which caused in excess of $2000 in damage to the engine. Everything is covered expect the plug replacement ($300), I'm told that they are a wear and tear item. Surprised that this could happen on an 18 month old car with 45K on it I pay the bill as I have to get home (50km away, Russell township). Yes, I bought a car from a dealership 50km away but it's about 2 kms from work so it made sense. I get home only to find that the entire windshield wiper assembly is missing, arms blades, everything, they were sitting in the service bay. Rain is forecasted for the following day. At this point, quite upset, I call and tell them that a technician needs to make the drive to reinstall them. The assistant manager informs me that they can compensate me to make the drive myself back, that night. I explain that I would accept the refund of my bill, as I should not have had to pay for these items, she agrees. Upon arriving, the manager informs me that that was a mistake and that a refund was not possible. 20 minutes of heated discussion ensues, I ask specifically for the OWNERS information and find out the next day that it was not the owner I got but the GM. In the end I contact Honda Canada who are shocked to hear what I had gone through and genuinely surprised about the plugs not being covered in this situation, they request that Dow Honda cover them under their compassionate warranty. This is the GMs response right from his email to me, "We were not prepared to cover your repair out of OUR goodwill budget based on your service history with us (which is nonexistent) as the funds we are allocated by Honda for this purpose are limited and used for situations and loyal customers that we feel deserve extra help. He proceeded to respond with this in light of a Google review I posted, . I will post a reply with the facts as I see them, as someone who has worked here for 22 years and knows the commitment and integrity of the staff – not as someone who has never stepped foot in our service department and is upset that we did not give in to their unreasonable demands. As per his service manager Richard, the entire service department staff is two weeks old to DOW except the assistant manager, commitment and integrity after 22 years.....you've known them for two weeks. I'm also not entirely sure what was so unreasonable about asking for something that Honda Canada agrees I should have received. So in the end Honda Canada is sending me a cheque by mail and again where shocked when Dow refused to do this. STAY AWAY; read more than my review, you will see that this is one of the worst places to go. James C

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Andrew Bearss(GM), Richard Voskamp(Mngr)

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
8
LiamQ
11-12-2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Terrible customer service"

Worst customer service ever, very lazy staff never return phone calls or answer the phone.....only way to get ahold of them is to visit the dealership even then, they make you feel like you're interrupting them ...unless you leave a message stating you want to buy a new car. Cash grabs focused dealership, once they sell you the car you are nothing to them. Not even a loyal customer who has been with them for 15 years. Will I buy Honda again..maybe, will I recommend this dealership, not in a million years.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
7
NOT IMPRESSED
7-21-2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"xxx?!"

So, I bought a car from Dow in June 2013. I got a couple of emails inviting me to take advantage of the 2015 clearout. Okay, I'll bite. I went there today at noon. The showroom wasn't busy. I was looking at a Fit, and there is a shortage of them in Ottawa, maybe even in the world. After roaming the showroom for about 5 minutes without even a nibble, I headed towards the door, and finally someone approaches. He didn't introduce himself, so I didn't even know if he was a salesman, from the service department, or whatever. He did have a black Honda golf shirt and pants though, so I figured he represented Dow... He quickly advised me that Fits were hard to find. Apparently, the keys were hard to find as well, to the EX model on the lot. I sat inside and before I slid my legs in, he started asking about financing. I told him I had less than 6 years remaining on the car loan. Well, that pretty much ended the visit right there. Dow Honda, why did you invite me to take advantage of this loyalty offer in the first place? This wasn't the type of visit I expected. Why would I want to go back to buy a car at Dow? If there was a blank star to indicate a 0 out of 5, that would have be generous.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

I never even got a card!!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
8
Car Lover 25
5-28-2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Terrible sales manager"

Between employees who couldn't be ready for appointments to a sales manager that tried to make a $7000 discount look like $13,000 and telling me that a 2014 car was worth the same as a "new" car as they are rolling in the 2016 models to the icing on the cake - which was his insulting my purchase choice of the car I was trading in. Ya, way to enchant your customers. I would never recommend them for anything unless you are desperate for BS and run around with a touch of insult. Terrible experience and I was ready to buy. Needless to say I walked out the door and went and bought elsewhere the same day.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
11
pr13
5-06-2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Service wait too long"

I have always been pleased with Dow Honda service at the Carling location. Went to the Colonnade location for the first time yesterday for maintenance and tire swap. I was asked what time I wanted my car to be ready. I responded by 11:30 am (I had maintenance done on cars at the Carling location and it never took longer than 2 hours.) My appointment was at 9:30 am and I left there at 2:40 pm. I was told by Abby that my car would be ready by 2:00 pm. My car did not go in the shop until after 11:00 am. With the windows in the waiting room, you can see the mechanics working or from my observation talking. The mechanic who was working on my car spend more time talking to the mechanic 2 cars away. Not impressed with the service at the new location. There is no more parking than at the Carling location which is what I was told repeatedly was the reason for the move. On a more positive note, one of the receptionists offered me water over the noon hour. As it is more remote that the Carling location was, it is not convenient to run out and get something to eat. Erin was professional as usual and quickly checked me out. Not sure that I will return as the drive is further and the service is substandard.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Abby Bolton

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
10
familyof4
4-18-2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"horrible service, money hungry dealership"

Horrible customer service and worst Reception (don't ask them for help or to show you a department because they refuse to leave their chairs And don't know their way around). We bought our Van 6 months ago and we have had to service it 7 times for the same problem! Up to today (7th service) we were told they have no idea what's causing the noise and they have to get an engineer to look at! Oh but we can guarantee that the car is safe (hmm how can you guarantee if you have no clue what's wrong with it????). I suggest you take your money and invest it somewhere else! Don't get trapped in the nightmare we are living with right now

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Rubin

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
13
sainrob
3-28-2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Don't purchase your vehicles there!!!"

Very unprofessional, and they are not trustworthy!!!! I bought a car few months ago with tinted windows. Before I bought the vehicle, I repeatedly asked the salesman if the tints were in accordance with the law and He replied that they have been checked and are fine! I believed him until I got pulled over and received my first ticket... The cop told me to go back to the dealer to discuss that.. I contacted the dealer 2 times!!! And both times, the operator told me the manager would call me to talk to me the same day.. It has been a few weeks.. It's very unprofessional and they don't care about their customers. They are not very friendly either. I don't recommend anyone to do business with them..

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

amil

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
8
setterbob
3-03-2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Easiest new car negotiation ever!"

Excellent sales department. Made a deal quick and easy with no high pressure or tricks. Nailed our target price and even bought us breakfast. Easiest new car negotiation ever.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Robert Defarias

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
3
1
...
1 - 10 of 39 results

Need a new car?

The report has been submitted to DealerRater support. To view the status of the report at any time, save this link.