Dealer Reviews

Find the best dealership for you.

Service Reviews

Find good folks to fix your car.

Cars for Sale

Find the right car for you.

Car Recalls

Make sure your car is safe to drive.

Search
Back
Write a review

GD Coates Suzuki

2.3

36 Lifetime Reviews

425 Dunlop Street West , Barrie, Ontario L4N 1C3 Directions
Sales: (705) 728-2422

Is this your dealership?

...and take advantage of all we have to offer with our Certified Dealership Program.

36 Reviews of GD Coates Suzuki

Sort by Write a review
April 24, 2016

"Do not buy here!!! Entrapment "

- Don't buy here

Bought many vehicles from here with there in house financing Klean Auto. Tried buying elsewhere but apparently I had 7 vehicles still financed with GD Coates. They don't send any info to credit bureau to clear past vehicles. So you are forced to buy here!!! Entrapment. They don't help your credit if nothing is filed with credit bureau. Just stay away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Barry Whitworth aka DEVIL
May 04, 2014

"They say one thing and do another"

- scammed01

Friend was looking at buying an affordable used vehicle, by trading in her luxury vehicle. She explained her situation that she still had a lien on her vehicle and that she needed to be able to be clear of this lien in order to purchase this vehicle as she didn't have the means to be paying for a new vehicle and pay the remainder of the lien, sale person mr. Ted Thorn understood and stated so. He did a vehicle check and came back and offered a certain amount for a trade it. My friend then gave him the amount of what was left owing on the vehicle. we asked him if the trade in amount was in addition to paying off the lien, he hesitated a bit and said yes they could do that. so in order that we were clear I asked him if then the trade in value was the amount of the lien plus the amount he came back to us with, he agreed. Then once documentations were being started and we got the amount the payments would be we could not understand why the bi-weekly payments were so high, he assured us the numbers were right never telling us that he had rolled the existing lien to her vehicle back into the price. I know this is standard practice for car dealerships but that was not the agreement that was agreed upon with the sale guys. When the day the trade was being done my friend went to finalize the deal, the documentation had an additional $7000.00 added to the sales price of the car and $7000 added to the trade it value that confused her being that she is not a numbers person. She asked to have it explained and after several times trying to understand what was done on the paperwork Mr. Jones was beginning to get irritated with my friend. With all the numbers being added and subtracted on the bill of sales for paperwork purposes and not having been explained what each number down the line being explained to her so she completely understood the amount that she was actually paying. The end amount of the paper work was over $41,000.00 for a 2011 vehicle with over 125,000 km on it. The price of the vehicle was $ 23 736.00 and she ended up with an ending cost of over $34,000. For the sake of all things that are good in this world she could have purchased a brand new 2014 to fit her need and would still come out with less of a bi-weekly payment. She called me the following morning to go over the paperwork because she felt that there was something wrong and was very upset. When called to discuss this with them, they were rude and defensive and denied what they had said to both of us on the first visit. She would have never agreed to trade her luxury vehicle for only a $5000 trade in when it was evidently worth far more than that. She was absolutely taken advantage of and I would never recommend this dealership to anyone.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ted Thorn and Duane Jones
July 18, 2013

"This was the first time I was treated like a valuable..."

- kgouther

This was the first time I was treated like a valuable customer. I am a female and have always been lied to by dealerships and mechanics and still feel I was not lied to. Gord had me look all around the car for damages, scrapes etc. and told me about the drivers seat ability to lift me up higher so I did not have to use a pillow, thank you. I rate this company now because I have had my used vehicle for a 1.5 years and have had no problems and the prices are very good.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Gord
February 23, 2012

"The customer service that I recived when I purchased my..."

- eva1986

The customer service that I recived when I purchased my vehicle 2 years ago was disgraceful. The man I dealt with was rude, and unproffesional when answering my questions. 1 day after I drove the car home the windsheild crack that was the size of pea cracked the entire wind sheild and the dealership refused to fix it stating that they had not noticed it, even though it was mentioned in their report. I have had nothing but problems with the car since I bought it. Overall it was a bad experiance.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Not sure
September 22, 2011

"I have purchased two Suzuki vehicles from this dealer so..."

- kiffer850

I have purchased two Suzuki vehicles from this dealer so far, a 2001 XL-7 and a 2006 XL-7. Both times I purchased them for a very good price, received good value for my trade-in and received excellent customer service. The sales person was knowledgeable about the product and was straightforward, honest and friendly. I dealt with him for both purchases and would deal with him again. Both vehicles were lightly used when I purchased them and have been very reliable, with no defects or issues that were not disclosed to me at time of sale. The service department is friendly, knowledgeable about the product, does not suggest unnecessary maintenance and is honest when reporting to me on work required and changes in work scope. I have had 95% of my regular maintenance performed there because of their service, and I live 50km away. I have never had to return to the shop due to mistakes - it has always been done right the first time. The only minor issue that I have with the service department is that if they need to replace anything other than a standard wear item, they may not have the part in stock. I have had to return after an initial visit because the part was not available. Personally, I don't mind this too much because I consider it a small price to pay for reliable service, but others may not think so. Overall, my experience with GD Coates has been excellent over the last 10 years, and I would recommend them to anybody.

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
Yes
Employees Worked With
Dan Snow, Darryl Dyck, Brian Coates
June 16, 2011

"Since purchasing a used vehicle in January 2011, I have..."

- Cheryl Hamilton

Since purchasing a used vehicle in January 2011, I have had nothing but problems. It's an exiting issue with the transmission. I have been dealing with OMVIC with no resolution offered. The Dealership is unwilling to correct the existing transmission problem. I now have a vehicle that should not be driven, no help from the Dealer, and not much help from any instituion, MFG., to resolve this problem. I am out of pocket getting the rest of the vehicle inspected, using extra gas due to improper function of the engine, and constant follow up with the various organizations I am dealing with to seek help. I've wasted time, money and effort in pursuing this problem. I feel like I have really been taken and ripped off! The GSM has basically washed his hands of it all, and I still have to deal with the transmission problem. It was established by OMVIC that it was a valid problem, however the dealer has all the rights and laws in their favour! Poor customer service, terrible reprsentation of Vehicles, along with many others who have had various problems and issues with this same dealership, only to find out they've been had! I found many new complaints online about this dealership. Unfortunately it makes all Dealers look bad, when buying new or used, to be representated by a company like GD Coates Suzuki in buying new or a used vehicle! Buyer Beware is certainly an understatement!

Read More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
Recommend Dealer
No
Employees Worked With
Ted Thorn/Sales Rep, Martin Woods/GSM
...
4
31 - 36 of 36 results