About Us
Copyright 2015 DR Media Holdings, LLC
Search

Crown Toyota Scion

680-1717 Waverley Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 6A9
Sales: (204) 269-1572
Service: (204) 269-9686
Parts: (204) 269-8246

Makes: Toyota|Service Center
Excellent
92% Recommend
4.7

238 Lifetime Reviews

Crown Toyota Scion
680-1717 Waverley Street,
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 6A9
Crown Toyota Scion Info
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.
Is this your Dealership?
Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Is this your dealership?

Learn about our award-winning Certified Dealer Program and claim this page.

Write a Review

238 Dealership Reviews
Filter Reviews By:
Liam K.
1/14/2015
Reason For Visit
Service

"Worst dealership experience of my life!!"

This will be long, but worth it, please read before going in for service!! I got a check engine light in the middle of September 2014, I had a friend read it with a code reader you'd get from any auto parts store, and had to Google the code to find out what was wrong. The code said that I had an "Air Injection System" problem, and everything I saw said the repair would be north of $4000. I took my vehicle to a local auto shop, told them the code and they checked into it more and said I needed a $500 part, but suggested I check with a Toyota dealer as they were sure this was a known recall issue and could be fixed at no charge to me. I chose Crown Toyota as they're the closest dealership to where I live. I firstly spoke to service advisor Josh Williams, seemed helpful but was away from the office for the few days after our initial meeting so he passed me off to Jordan Mikolash. As soon as I mentioned the words warranty or recall, both Josh and Jordan shot that idea down very quickly, didn't even entertain the thought. They performed a diagnostic, which didn't cost me anything because I had given them the error code, a nice gesture on they're part. I received a price quote on September 20, 2014. The quote was for 16 parts, and a total of $4062.33, before labour and before taxes, well over $5000 once both those are added. Somewhere in the next two or three days I went to the dealership and spoke to Jordan and a parts guy, whose name I don't remember. Another employee, whose name I also don't remember, overheard this conversation and he decided to go have a look into whether this could be fixed under warranty, he was gone around 20 minutes and came back to say that he found a notice and that him and Jen, the warranty administrator, would apply for warranty work for me. Jordan called me on September 29, 2014 to tell me that Toyota had approved my warranty work and that the parts order would be put in later that day. I waited 5 weeks before contacting Jordan again, I went to the dealership in the first week of November 2014 and Jordan told me that they were still waiting for the parts to come in from Japan, he also told me that he would be quitting later that week and I would have to deal with Josh from now on. I waited a few more weeks and went back to the dealership in the first week of December 2014. Josh wasn't at work that day, so I spoke to a parts guy named Matt and he found my name and my diagnostic and parts quote in the computer records, it took him a while to find everything and I finally asked him if he could see that the parts were at least on order, he said he could see that no parts had ever been ordered for me! I waited a little over 2 whole months, because Jordan kept lying to my face! If he was still working there, I would expect that he would be fired over this. Surely this dealership wouldn't keep an employee who lies to their customers, right? How many other people has Jordan lied to? I spoke to josh two or three days later, for some reason he again passed me off to another service advisor, Dale Stanley. Someone checked again and yes Toyota was still going to fix it under warranty and the parts were on order now and I got a scheduled appointment date. I dropped the vehicle off on the night of Monday December 29, 2014 and throughout this whole 3 month process was being told it's a 1 day job, foolishly I believed them, 2 parts ordering delays and 10 days later, I got my truck back on January 8, 2015. Yet there was more problems, the parts list on the invoice I received only came to 7 parts, less than half of the parts quoted to me when I was going to be the one paying. I went back to the dealership on Jan. 9 and spoke to Josh, he said he'd check with Dale on Monday and call me. No one called me so I went back to the dealership on Monday Jan. 12 and spoke to Dale. A parts guy, Blaine Unger, who I had spoke to briefly about this whole situation a month or so ago overheard and mentioned that the original parts list contained parts that were incorrect for my model of truck, so either Jordan requested pricing on incorrect parts, or a parts guy named Chris priced a bunch of unnecessary parts, either way, that doesn't give me confidence in the parts guys or service advisors abilities to do their jobs. Dale showed me the notice from Toyota regarding this known issue and I noticed that even that parts list contained roughly double the amount of parts than the service invoice did. I asked Dale why that was and he said that the notice parts list was a list of possibly affected parts, and that each individual repair of this issue was to only have the actually affected parts replaced. So Toyota recommends changing upwards of a dozen parts, and had I had to pay for this, I would have been told to replace all dozen parts, just to be safe. However, since Toyota had to pay for it themselves, they get to replace only the parts that are not working?!?! Dale told me that Toyota will not go above and beyond fixed only the affected parts, I responded by saying that going above and beyond was the only way you were ever going to come close to keeping me as a customer! If I had to pay the bill, Toyota would have insisted that I go above and beyond, as evidenced by the 16 item parts quote, for safety's sake, however they wont follow they're own recommendations and advice?! To me, Toyota has now knowningly left possibly defective parts in my vehicle, and I'm supposed to have faith in the repairs they did actually carry out? In summary Crown Toyota tried to sell me over $4000 worth of parts, when in reality they only replaced less than $2500 worth. What this dealership has gotten away with is disgusting and extremely disrespectful! I also did some research on the parts, the exact same 16 parts from the original September quote, if purchased from toyotapart.com, would have come to a total of less than $2000, the markup on parts from this dealership is ridiculous!! This issue cost me nothing, and yet I was treated very poorly. I never yelled or got angry, not at the price or the numerous delays in the repairs. I did get visibly disappointed and upset when discussing the differences between the warranty notice parts list and my original quoted list. I will never buy a vehicle from this dealership, if this is how they try to get extra money on a bill under $6000, I can only imagine what they'd try on a $30 000 plus vehicle!! After the way I was treated I will also never take a vehicle here to be serviced, I clearly caught them trying to sell me parts that either they knew I didn't really need and/or were incorrect for my model of vehicle.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Josh Williams, Dale Stanley, Jordan Mikolash

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
TheNeilsan
1/12/2015
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Crown Toyota Scion is phenomenal!"

I bought a used car from Nico Sanchez that turned out to be the 2013 showroom model of the Scion FRS back in August 2014. It was totally done up with every modification that i was thinking of putting on myself in the future anyways, what a perfect coincidence! LOVE the car! Totally enjoyed it in the summer time. She's parked quietly in a garage over winter now, but super amped to take it out again come spring time! Crown Toyota Scion customer service is phenomenal. Nico and the rest of the sales team as well as service goes above and beyond regular procedures to help me whenever I had any issues. Everytime i step foot in Crown Toyota Scion I feel like I am being welcomed as an honored guest in their home :) ABSOLUTELY recommend Nico and the team at Crown Toyota Scion, not just for buying a vehicle, but for ALL automotive needs in general!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Nico Sanchez

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
canadian8farmer
11/19/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Bad parts princing policy, if there is a policy"

I visited the store and asked the rim price for my winter tires. I got answer "$108 each for the steel rim just like that", the store person pointed the rim in the store. I said "that's pretty expensive for the regular rims." He answered, "I can sell you at $90 then.". So he tried to sell me rim of $90 for $108 first.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

unknow employee name from part department

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Marien.Mortel
10/01/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"As a salesman you are the best Nico!"

We bought a used car to this dealership and one of the salesman help us and served as excellent job. I do the same thing to my clients as a salesperson too. Our experienced to him is great! We highly recommend Nico Sanchez! Thanks, Andre&Marien

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Nico Sanchez

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Jeff Rempel
9/13/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Great Sales Experience"

Toyota has so many great products plus we were pleasantly surprised to have a wonderful experience checking out several models with Kathy Sullivan. She was knowledgable and listened to both of our preferences,and her easy going manner made the evaluation purchase process go smoothly. Apparently many others agree (check out the other reviews)! David in finance is a friendly and sharp individual, and considered our feedback fairly on all the options he is tasked with presenting. You buy from people you like and if these individuals reflect the dealership then we are looking forward to future contact with Crown Toyota Scion sales. I have taken my other vehicle for service and this has gone reasonably. Hopefully the issues in other reviews were learning and improvement opportunties for Crown Toyota Scion 2014-09-13

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Kathy Sullivan

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
1
Anatoly Vizel
8/11/2014
Reason For Visit
Service

"Bad customer service"

The worst service ever I had for vehicle service. I have received a recall note stating that my new Toyota has sort of issue with a seat belts. I have scheduled an appointment for recall service and have received 3 emails confirming my appointment date. Service department called a day before to confirm the appointment. When I came in to the service department, I’ve been told that they cannot see any appointment scheduled for me. Also they cannot provide any recalls related service on Saturday. They have asked if I would like to change the oil as it will take no more than 45 minutes include car wash. I got my vehicle back after hour and a half and not washed at all. So finally I have spent almost 2 hours on Saturday just for "express" oil change and I have to come back in the middle of the week for recall service. The left hand doesn't know what right hand does. Didn't expect to get such bad service from dealership with brand name Toyota.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Service Represantative

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
7
poolsidecentral
7/22/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (Used)

"Terrible Service"

Purchased a vehicle through this dealership in the Summer of 2013. Started off with Wade Knight in sales who did a decent job. Things were going smoothly with Premini Ismath until I purchased my vehicle and was sent the details of my insurance and loan. To make a long story short was told that I would have bumper to bumper coverage for the remainder of my pre-owned vehicle and when I received the papers, they knocked off a few years, so now I am only covered for half. I was shocked. Especially since my girlfriend and both explained this clearly to Premini that these were our wishes. Fast forward a year to 2014, when something breaks down with my vehicle and I am looking to use my insurance, I have to fumble around calling several companies as Toyota tells me the private insurance they sold me, they no longer handle, but am reassured that it is still valid, just I will have to handle things on my own now through the private insurance. Fine. The problem is, this was never explained or was I given step by step instructions that I was apparently supposed to get through Crown Toyota. I called to leave a message to voice my concern in their mailbox and no one EVER called me back. Called another guy in finance who replaced Permini twice, and after a week of no call backs, was told when I called back again that he was on holidays. Wow. I then called one of the managers,to vent my frustrations and do not hear back from him after four hours. I understand people are busy, but after leaving a frustrated voicemail, you would think customer satisfaction would be a priority. Unfortunately with this Toyota dealership, once they get you to sign the dotted line, they have in their minds, done all they need to do. You are on your own after that. Very frustrated with the service. Highly recommend not buying a vehicle through them.

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Wade Knight, Premini Ismath, Don Saranchuk

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
5
mohsen_ah
6/26/2014
Reason For Visit
Service

"Worst ever."

I have dealt with this dealership for 20 years and this was my last visit. Went for an oil change and repair of the command start. 3 hours later, I was told that they don't service the command start and they will start working o the oil change. Need to say more?

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: No

Employees dealt with

Don't remember their names

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
3
CarlsVenza
6/23/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"2014 Venza, Limited AWD"

My first five cars were Hondas. I then drove three Fords, but was ready for a change. When I entered the Crown Honda Dealership: I was ignored! Minutes after arriving in the Crown Toyota Dealership, I was pleasantly greeted by an individual that recognized me. After a short discussion, our uncommon commonality was discovered; that's how I met Kathy Sullivan. She proved to be very friendly and genuinely interested in what I was after, even when I was unsure what that was. We first spoke on a Monday and I'm sure Kathy stayed past closing. Kathy phone me on Tuesday as she had arranged for me to test drive a Honda CR-V & CrossTour. That was the singular event that pushed me to decide that I was going to buy a Toyota! Although the RAV4 did not turn out to be my car, it helped me narrow down my selection. Once I sat in the Venza, I knew I had found my choice. By Friday, I settled on the V6 Limited Venza AWD with the Technology Package. I've had the car a couple of weeks and am not disappointed!!! I have never been in a Dealership where every employee seems genuinely happy to be there. I have never been greeted by so many different people who took the time to say hi. Judy Zulak REALLY cares about how you feel and how you feel you've been treated. She is the heart of the dealership. She does NOT play games. She genuinely cares. The building itself reminds me of All-Inclusive resorts. No more bathrooms where you're afraid to enter, never mind wash your hands. You are even encouraged to visit the service garage. Certainly not the garage you grew up knowing!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Kathy Sullivan, Judy Zulak

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
2
swikjord
6/20/2014
Reason For Visit
Sales (New)

"Kathy Sullivan provides exceptional customer service"

Kathy took such a great interest in our family and our preferences in buying a new vehicle. She was the friendliest and most knowledgeable salesperson to sell our family a vehicle to date (all of which have been Toyotas). She stayed an hour an a half past the end of her shift to help us in our decision. I would definitely refer any friends or family looking for a new vehicle to her. Thanks for the new Highlander! Loving it so far!

More
Customer Service
Quality of Work
Friendliness
Pricing
Overall Experience
I Recommend This Dealer: Yes

Employees dealt with

Kathy Sullivan

Did you find this review helpful?

Yes
 
3
1
...
1 - 10 of 238 results

Need a new car?

Cars for Sale By This Dealer
Sort By:
View All Inventory